We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best of the worse” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Catherine Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Catherine Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Catherine Plaza Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Wadi El Raha St, Saint Catherine, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Saint Catherine
São Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The best of the worse”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

You are in de middle of nowhere. You went to this place to go up to hike the mountain, not to relax at the pool. Do not expect nothing more than a terrible mattres, but like I said, this is one of the best in the area. Very close to the entrance os the Monatery!

Room Tip: very close to the monastery!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    8
    14
    14
    27
See reviews for
16
17
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
Level Contributor
251 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

The hotel is actually an integrated 2 -3 floors bungalows without any lift or porter. Thus the guests will need to carry & drag their own luggages to their rooms. We stayed in this hotel just to clean up ourselves and get some rests after our trip from Cairo and before we started climbing the Mt. Sinai very early the next morning. There was nothing special with this hotel, but it seemed that we did not have any other choice. Most likely this is the best base hotel in the area for climbing the Mt. Sinai .......

Room Tip: Since there is no lift and porter service, if you don't have good legs or healthy enough, please...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chennai
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We (my wife daughter and myself) visited Egypt, Israel and Jordan as part a 30 member group from Chennai India. We stayed in St Catherine on our 2nd night at Catherine Plaza Hotel. Since there was no lift in the hotel, and nobody to help us carry our luggage, we had to drag our luggage over some very rough slopes which almost damaged the rollers on the suitcases.
The room was very small and with 3 beds, there was hardly any space to keep our luggage or move around freely.There was a musty odour in the room which persisted throughout the night.
The bathroom had just enough space to be comfortable. There was a swimming pool which none of us used because of the cold and the short time we spent there.
The spread at dinner and breakfast was just passable and the Management was very unfriendly, declining to offer us a 2nd glass of juice even though it was supposed to be a buffet. But since St Catherine is just a small town with only 5 or 6 hotels, we could not complain too much.
Though many members of our group wanted to go up Mount Sinai, the cold was so bitter that all of us opted to stay in the warmth of the bedrooms.
Please do not visit St Catherine on a Friday, since the Monastery housing Moses well and Burning bush is open only for an hour from 11-12 on Friday. We could not wait for the Monastery to open at 11 since we had to catch the convoy which was leaving for Israel at 12.30.
Catherine Plaza is a good hotel if you accept the fact that it provides some of the facilities comparable to the best which can be found in that location.

Room Tip: Get a Room as near to the ground level as possible since it will be tough to carry your luggage up t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We didn't really expect too much here as it is literally in the middle of nowhere. The food was good and plentiful. The staff were friendly and helpful - helped to celebrate one of our tour leader's birthday while we were there.
Rooms were basic, but clean. Beds a little hard, but after a 12 hour bus ride, we had no trouble sleeping.
The light in our bathroom wasn't working and it was fixed promptly while we were at dinner.
Close, but not within walking distance of St. Catherine's Monastery. Very friendly bedouin gave us a ride for E£50 (US $8.00) not bad!
No Wifi - didn't expect it.
Do browse the Bedouin shop next to the hotel. They have some lovely things (especially the scarves) and they are not pushy!
Travelled with a tour group, stayed one night.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kozhikode, India
Level Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for one time. From outside it looks very big and attractive but the rooms are poorly maintained and not at all cleaned. The villa type rooms which our group got was very far and there are steep stair cases which makes carrying baggage difficult. The bathrooms were very dirty and water comes only after 8 pm. The food was also not that good. The swimming pool was good and there some souvenir shops within the compound. Since the hotel options in the area is very limited, you can think of staying just for one night. But don't expect much...........

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu
Level Contributor
63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We were told that this was the BEST that Sinai could offer...but it didn't prepare me for THIS! Entering the room, I immediately smelled the sewage. The floor was stick, bed and sheets were of foul smell as well. The wall had a huge hole that they covered with sofa foam. The balcony door was defective so we couldn't lock it. This meant that all your belongings became free for all. Mosquitos and flies were our room companions. The bath tub would not drain so you had to shower with a pool of water at your feet. Food was just inedible and water was not free. Just forget about coffee at breakfast, or of BREAKFAST since food was just awful! Please, just skip Sinai altogether...no decent place to stay and security was questionable for tourists.

Room Tip: none, all are BAD!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Saint Catherine hotels

Eforie, Romania
Level Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

I didn't expect much of this hotel, previous travelers reviews were helpful.
I was happy that the bed sheets were clean, everything else in the room was awful.
Large gaps between the room door and the frame will give you a strange feeling.
Anti mosquito net on the window is useless, the room walls are "decorated" with blood stains from the mosquito hunting.
The way from reception to the room is on a rocky walkway, very hard to carry your luggage, fortunately there are bellboys that will help anyone in need.
Smiling but untrained stuff.
Poor TV channels options, no Internet in the room, can have in lobby but have to pay for it.
Breakfast and dinner was okay.
The only reason to choose this hotel is Mt.Sinai proximity.

Room Tip: Try to get a ground floor room and pray that all facilities are working.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Catherine Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catherine Plaza Hotel

Address: Wadi El Raha St, Saint Catherine, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Saint Catherine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Saint Catherine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Catherine Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Catherine Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catherine Plaza Saint
Catherine Plaza Hotel Saint Catherine, Egypt - Red Sea And Sinai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Catherine Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.