We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“i was there” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Coral Sun Beach

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Safaga
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Coral Sun Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Safaga, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 12 hotels in Safaga
Locarno, Switzerland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“i was there”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

yes i was there before and it was so nice.but this once was not .the staff not like before .the service the rooms.i hope its come back like before that we can come back again.we love this country.the the diving was so nice with the coral and the fish .it was very nice

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    23
    31
    13
    3
    6
See reviews for
14
44
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned after a weeks stay, overall we were very happy with this hotel, our room was number 420, on the second floor at the far end of the hotel, fantastic view of the beach and beautiful bay, the room was very clean and well equipped, cleaned and fresh towels daily, plus points: free safe, air con and fridge which is stocked with water, coke and sprite on your arrival for you to use free of charge.

The food is ok, not the best we've had in Egypt but we didn't go hungry, it is buffet style, breakfast was best for me, freshly made omelettes, there is quite a good choice with the usual continental feel, lunch and dinner very similar hot and cold choices and a good choice of desserts. All inclusive drinks until midnight.

All the staff are very very helpful and yes at first they do greet you in German but when they realise your english they converse very well, and make a fuss of you, I didn't feel like they were lecherous( as i read in a previous review) at all just friendly and liked to have a laugh and joke.

The hotel is in the middle of the desert and no public transport, hotel has a very helpful chap, Mustafa who will organise taxis to Surfaga and Hurgharda (€30 each way) or mini bus if a group of you and works out cheaper, also trips, we went to Luxor for the day, interesting but be prepared for a long day.

The beach is great lots of beds and sunbeds, free towels provided daily via card system, beach boys will look after you bringing you mattresses for your bed, 2 beach bars so not far to walk to either but the waiters do regularly come round taking orders, we even had fresh fruit 1 day. The snorkelling is very good although the sea was a bit rough some of the days so probably not as good as it could have been, we took our own equipment but the hotel does hire it, if you want to go diving the next hotel along the beach( coral gardens) has its own dive centre.

The hotel has a shop which stocks soft drinks, snacks and gifts, it is pricey, but you can barter. Water is provided free at the outside pool bar 1/2 litre bottles(another plus).

If you've done your homework and read these reviews you know that this hotel is very out of the way, 1 hour at least from the airport, not really much to do for children, there is an animation team which try and get you to do some activities but not to pushy, it is a hotel mainly booked by germans and if the lack of manners doesn't really bother you then apart from that its great and we would defiantly go back.

One last thing if you have not flown into Hurghada before you do have to pay for the visa £13.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverhill, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Just spend 10 days at the coral sun beach enjoying a nice winters break.

Hotel in around 60 minutes drive from the airport and is around 23km from Safaga.

The hotel is small but has the quality of a large chain.

On arrival we were meet by the reception team, Aladdin and Taha and treated with respect and had all aspects of the hotel explained to us before being shown to our room.

The rooms are fully equiped with a kettle, free tea and coffee (take coffee mate with you) a fridge, a safe and a hairdryer for the ladies, all for no extra cost. There is a TV but sadly lacks english programmes but i am sure this will be sorted when more brits go. The air con has heat as well as cold air but all power works on a card system. At 10am and 10pm the power cuts out for 20secs so if you go to bed before 10pm, unplug your TV or it will come on once power is restored.

The hotel is directly on a sandy (but course) beach with free beach towel (card system) and free sunbeds. The pool is small with only 17 parasols and 34 sunbeds but the beach has loads to make up for it. There are beach boys who will bring you a mattress once you have found the spot you want to laze for the day.

There is a designated entrance into the sea to protect the coral and looks a good place to snorkel and dive with the hotel having a dedicated team to help and give advice. The sea was warm once you were in and fish were in abundance.

There is a bar area around the pool and the water is free via 1.5litre bottles, the waiters will also serve you on the beach and around the pool to save you from moving.

The food was good, yes breakfast is the same but its the same in most hotels, lunch was plentiful and varied and the evening meal never dissapointed. Again the waiters tend your every need, clearing your plates quickly and keeping you well hydrated.

Above the resturant is a seated area to enjoy an evening drink, you can also sit outside but like most of egypt in the winter the mozzies are about. The hotel does fumigate in the evenings approx every other day.

We didnt use the gym but it looked very well equiped and seemed quite popular. There is a disco but again we didnt go in.

The hotel is very isolated so if you want to chill out and relax, then go here you wont be dissappointed. The sunrise is a nice site to view first thing in the morning rising from the sea.

The staff are all good and very helpful. Its wrong to keep naming all the staff cause all have good qualities and very attentive.

Room Tip: All room face the sea or the pool, but in winter none get the sun on the balconies or patio. If Mozz...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

My partner and I spent a wonderful and relaxing holiday in this Hotel.

I have travelled a lot for business and leisure. Having worked in the hotel branch myself I think I can very well give an honest review to this hotel.
One must obviously consider that something that is compulsory or considered normal in northern countries, cannot be pretended on the border of the Egyptian desert or on islands in the middle of the ocean. Precious things must be considered with another point of view! We are talking about Red Sea and its preservation too! Is there really someone who would like Egyptian beauties to become a photocopy of European countries invaded by junk and pollution?
So reviews of people who complain about silly details should really remain in Europe.

Coral Sun Beach gave us an overall very good impression.

Everyone was friendly, helpful, fast and gave best effort to make us feel comfortable.

The site was calm and we appreciated that it was not too crowded nor did people insist on having you to do anything you did not want.

Rooms, Beach, restaurant, everything was clean and tidy to the best possible
Food quality and variation was excellent

Last but not least: the hotel has an own small coral reef right in front of it and we passed plenty of time enjoying the view of beautiful fishes and corals!

I seriously suggest this hotel and consider going back again!

Room Tip: If you care for a bigger room, then choose a Superior. Most of the rooms have a direct view over the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed 9 days at the coral sun beach in safaga. The staff is great and always aim to please. Though they speak to you in German, after a day or two, they remember you're not German and speak to you in English.

The food is good and there is something for everyone, hot and cold buffet. For some extras euros, there is also room service.

The rooms are spacious and the sea view is amazing. You get an awesome balcony where you can dry your clothes after going to the sea. Their house reef is AMAZING! You can see sting rays, surgeon fish, Sargent fish and many more...if you have your own gear, bring it, it is worth it!

This is quite a small resort which is what we were looking for, to relax. This was perfect. This is not a crowded resort, and there is not disco going on 24h as you can find in Hurghada. I would not recommend it for families, this is more for an older crowd.

There is one thing I would like to see for that resort in the future...it is for them to either get their own solar panels or their own windmills to generate electricity. For now, they are relying too much on their generator which uses petrol.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

We have just returned from 12 days in the coral sun. It was one of our best holidays in Egypt and we have stayed at some of the best resorts in the red sea. This was small friendly and quiet. The staff are friendly attentive and very helpful. The snorkelling was some of the best I've done it has an amazing house reef where we saw barracuda octopus lion fish and amazing crocodile fish. I have to say again that the staff are very accommodating and they don't just cater for the Germans. Who cares if the shop is expensive, it's Egypt it's how they make their living. The food we couldn't fault, always hot, always fresh always good. Their English is very good so there's not really a problem with the language. If we had a problem they sorted it quickly. I would recommend this hotel to anybody.i loved it for the peace and quiet and relaxation. Forget the bad reviews, it's all good, can't wait to go again.

Room Tip: We had second floor pool and sea view, only a small hotel so they all look pretty much onto e sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norwich, uk
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We booked two weeks at the hotel Coral Sun for a family of five. The following were our experiences of the holiday:
The Good
Snorkelling was fantastic. The sea view rooms were very pleasant. The reception staff were very helpful as were some of the waiters. The beach was clean and the sun beds were always available by the beach but it was a little more difficult by the pool. The trips we went on were good. Really enjoyed the quad biking and the snorkelling trip to see the turtles - but be warned you be expected to tip at all times!
The Bad
The food - this was limited and very very repetitive. The quality of food and cooking of the food was poor at times. The brochure said that there were snacks available throughout the day, unfortunately this only consists of cakes which were often dry and no other options were available. Ice cream was advertised at 3pm every day and we had to be quite assertive with staff to get this and by the forth day it was provided, despite promises on a daily basis that it would be "here tomorrow". The same applied to diet coke, which they often gave you full fat in the hope that you would not notice. The drinking water should have been provided but at least 50% of the time the dispensers were empty, which in 40 degree heat is not good. The swimming pool had loose tiles on the bottom and one little girl had to go to hospital and require stitches in her foot. The hotel shop was very very expensive and their prices varied greatly depending who went in there - in our experience they often charged children more then adults. Our sink fell out of the unit but this was fixed relatively quickly. Some of the waiters were quite lecherous and at times made you feel quite uncomfortable. The garden view rooms are not good and are much older then the front of the hotel. We were lucky enough to get sea view rooms on the second floor and these do seem to be the best - remember to request these when making a booking. The hotel is very far away from any town or other shops, the hotel transport is expensive e.g. 30 euros each to Hurghada!! Expect early evenings as the entertainment is poor and out dated - so take plenty to read.
Over all we were disappointed. We may return to the Red Sea to dive in the future but we could not recommend this hotel to anyone else.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Coral Sun Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Coral Sun Beach

Address: Safaga, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Safaga
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 hotels in Safaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Coral Sun Beach 4*

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Coral Sun Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hotel Coral Sun Beach to your Saves list