We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Choice I Regret Doing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Serenity Makadi Heights

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Serenity Makadi Heights to your Saves list
Serenity Makadi Heights
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Safaga Road 36 Km | P.O. Box 324, Makadi Bay 324, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Makadi Bay
Cairo, Egypt
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“A Choice I Regret Doing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2014

I went there with my family in the Eid vacation and we stayed at serenity fun city (which is one of two hotels in this compound). On one hand, the food was a disaster, i almost had a stomach ache after every meal. And for us as adults we felt bored
on the other hand there was a lot of entertainment for the kids (water park, funfair, shows...ect). The service is average. the hotel has no beach but they allow us to use the beach of the other hotel. i Don't recommend this hotel for anyone

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    159
    97
    90
    89
See reviews for
166
262
16
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2014

This was the first of 2 hotels we stayed in when we went to Egypt, both were terrible.
It was probably very nice when it opened, but now it is run down and filthy. 8 from our travel party ate at the beach restaurant and 6 of them got sick, 3 had to see a doctor and stay in bed for days.
The pools are dirty, the food is a health hazard and the beach/dive area is over crowded and run down.
Not that I mind other guests, but this hotel has about 80% Russians, some of them actually got into a fistfight when we were there.
Most of the bars close at sundown, and the only bar that is open after that is in the lobby. The bartenders don't know how to mix the most basic drinks. I asked for a Gin & Tonic and got a beer glass filled with Gin & Tequila! The staff speaks mainly russian, some of them speak a little english.
I used to work for a travleagency ant I am choked that this hotel has 4 stars, this is by far the worst hotel I've ever stayed in!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2014

One of worest hotels I ever stayed in. It's really disappointed to plan for a vacation and your stay in a hotel kill your plan. Except the location nothing deserve there. I booked for all inclusive to enjoy food and drinks but the quality of food was very bad ,no variety , the cola comes fro unknown machine and ofcours it's not cola at all, same for coffee .
I really regret to book in this hotel unrecommended specially for Egyptians

Room Tip: A room in the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2014

Just got Back from 2 weeks stay at the Serenity Makadi Bay. We were not expecting anything special with the comments posted about the Hotel, so we had an open mind just to make the best of our holiday as we do.
Upon arrival late evening, check in went very smoothly,we had pre book an upgrade to a Deluxe Sea view Room, which was more than we could of wished for, Beautiful view,very large room for the price we had paid.My advice is to book upgrades direct with the hotel, Tour Operators charge the earth for doing it.

Yes the Russians are there in very large numbers, did not bother us,as we have this before in Sharm.
As for the food, cannot fault the Restaurants on both Hotel sites, there is plenty to choose from, if you have a issue with the evening dinning in the main Restaurant, my advice is to speak with the Management in a civil tone, they will do their best to sort the problem for you.

I cannot fault the staff at the hotel, very friendly,helpful, a special thank you to Mr El Touny for making our stay a enjoyable one.
Another point i need to make is the all inclusive options. Yes the all inclusive stopped at 23.00hrs, the reason was explained to us. There are 3 all inclusive options, soft all inclusive, Standard all inclusive, and Ultra all inclusive which is dinning in their A la Carte Restaurants & drinking until 02.00hrs.
I noticed by previous comments people moaning this is not expectable and should not be advertised as a British Holiday. The fact is that this hotel is not promoted by any main stream British Tour Operators, its promoted by late deal web sites.These companies are offered the Ultra all inclusive option by the Hotel,its the Companies that do not want to take that option to include it in their price, hence the option is there when you arrive.
I took the time to sit sit down with Mr El Touny (Front Office Manager) who explained these details with my wife & myself.

The potential for this Hotel to be a very good British Holiday destination is there.Beautiful Gardens, complex is very good, yes a lick of paint it could do with. Fun City Hotel is opposite the front entrance which you can use, 2 years old.

A big thank you again to Mr El Touny & his Team for an enjoyable holiday

Room Tip: Deluxe seaview rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014

I do not know from where to start but terrible is an understatement. We had a warm welcome and then everything went south. The bed sheets were dirty and when we asked for a replacement the new ones were not clean as well and were smelly. We had an all inclusive package and the food quality was terrible. The food is tasteless, limited quantity and variety. They even have ice-cream which is part of the all inclusive package but they only serve it for a few minutes and one flavour at a time. Even the pool slides are open for limited hours.
Maintenance is also poor, we had a problem with the safe and when we called them in the morning they said we have to wait till 3:00 p.m. when the technician arrives.

So overall a very terrible experience. The building might be a five star level but the service clearly gets it down to a zero. I would rather have camped in a tent than have gone there. Strongly do not recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southport
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2014

I was reading coments of holiday maker who was at hotel similar time as us e have been going 8 years twice sometimes 3 times a year we have never had a problem with staff they cant do enough for you a food there is someting for everyone very clean hotel a service excellent any problems not that we had they will sort it out we had a fabulus holiday a defernatly going back in may irene a paul fletcher southport england

Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2014

Not sure where to start really, returned home from this hotel early yesterday morning and felt strongly the need to advise against this hotel.

On arrival at the hotel, things looked promising, nice reception open and spacious. Despite pre requested adjacent rooms on a high floor, we were allocated rooms in separate blocks on the ground floor the only way we were able to be in the same block and to have a room not on the ground floor was to pay an additional 6 Euros per night for a deluxe room (which turned out to be identical to the ground floor room except it had a bath, which is not necessarily a better alternative). We were quite late in arriving and were advised that the only food that was available to us, was if we were prepared to wait until 23:00 for late night snacks, hence we went to bed with nothing after a long days travel.

On waking the following morning, we were greeted the minute we left our room by the member of staff who was responsible for cleaning the block, nice man who would go out of his way to help, top your minibar up for you so you didn't have to pay (charges are made for all drinks in a bottle including water) and offered to get additional drinks of choice, this however was obviously as long as we lined his pocket with the cash we would have had to spend on the minibar. We then went upstairs to the room my Mother was in to find that he had somehow managed to beat us upstairs and was making exactly the same offer to her. He tried really hard to be friendly and help during our stay but was rather overbearing, I'm not sure where he hid, but no matter when you left your room, he was there with a big hello, or on your return to see if you were happy, no boundaries though and happily followed you in to your room.

Breakfast was pretty basic with limited choice, little did we know that first day that, this would be the only choices available everyday for the duration of our holiday. The indoor eating area was dark and gloomy and the outside area was a little like a transport cafe, if you don't get to breakfast early, you will not see a clean dining area and the staff's idea of clearing and resetting a table is to wipe the mats (not the table) dropping any food scraps on to the floor to gather around the table legs. The omelette/ pancake area is outside and very basic (don't expect any additions to an omelette just egg) and very very dirty. It's help yourself to everything, synthetic juices, coffee etc don't expect service in this 5 star hotel.

We were hoping that things would be better at lunchtime, but again very limited choices and very focused on pleasing the Russian clientele which I suppose is not surprising as we only heard one other holidaymaker speak English the whole time we were there and other nationalities were also conspicuous by there absence. The Russian's attitude and behavior was not the best and you could I suppose understand why the staff appeared reserved and distant. So as I was saying lunch, very limited soup, rice, chicken, goulash, salad and bread, queue at the bar for a drink hunt down cutlery as tables were slow at being reset and meals were ate with an aroma of cigarette smoke all around you and the external eating area was also a walk through for people entering or leaving the lobby.

If you like your wine get it at meal times as it is not available at any other time or area other than the restaurant or a bar in the lobby area.

The evening meal turned out to be a carbon copy of lunch and this held true for the whole period of our stay the only changes to the food available were different flavors of soup and sometimes some of the salad items differed but that was it, lets just say meal times became rather tedious. There are four additional restaurants that you can book 1 visit per stay, the Baywatch restaurant served the same as the main restaurant with the addition of beef or kofta's, the others however, were good and worth visiting.

The all inclusive system was very bizarre with different levels, low drinks only until 21:00, normal drinks until 22:00 and Ultra you got a fruit basket and a dressing gown. Again wine drinkers beware that does not include wine, this is not served beyond 21:00 no matter what level of the inclusive system you were on. Little entertainment which is what we wanted but did find it bizarre that the nightclub poster stated entrance was free but you couldn't take all inclusive drinks into the club. In general the hotel's communal areas were on the surface clean but on closure inspection showed that this was not the case and only once did we actually observe a member of staff wiping down tables (and actually moved the ashtray to wipe under them to) pity that the same cloth was used on every table and never rinsed.

Beach was fine, (again watch out for the staff wanting tips to do your sunbed or reserve beds for you) you definitely need beach shoes if you want to explore the shallows and be careful if going off the pier to snorkel the guard on duty is not there for your safety but to protect the reef (which is great) but the current and breaking waves can be tricky even for experienced swimmers).

In all I think this hotel is struggling and is providing the basic of services and is trying to make ends meet by charging guests for a variety of things which would be considered as expected in a 5 star all inclusive and is restricting the times that they provide even this poor service. When we checked out we were asked if our stay had been good and we advised not and that we would never return and all we received was a blank stare, a shoulder shrug and a comment was made about the number of Russians there by the reception staff, who I think can see how they are impacting on the hotel overall

I would seriously recommend that you spend your hard earned money at a different location.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Serenity Makadi Heights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serenity Makadi Heights

Address: Safaga Road 36 Km | P.O. Box 324, Makadi Bay 324, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Makadi Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Makadi Bay
#9 Spa Hotel in Makadi Bay
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Makadi Bay
#15 Luxury Hotel in Makadi Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Serenity Makadi Heights 4.5*
Number of rooms: 523
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Serenity Makadi Heights reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Serenity Makadi Heights Hotel Makadi Bay
Serenity Makadi Heights Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Serenity Makadi Heights, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.