We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel for beach rest” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Serenity Makadi Heights

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Serenity Makadi Heights to your Saves list
Serenity Makadi Heights
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Safaga Road 36 Km | P.O. Box 324, Makadi Bay 324, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 22 Hotels in Makadi Bay
Vologda, Russia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Very good hotel for beach rest”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

I had a rest in this hotel one in may of 5 days. From the airport to hotel about 30 minutes on the old minibus . The hotel is located at the end of the resort Makadi Baye. To Hurghada far, entertainments and shopping only in the hotel territory. I wanted to have a rest on the sea therefore didn't regret. I booked the cheapest room in Sport Area. The main building where the main service and an outlet to the sea it is possible to reach on foot in some minutes or to reach by the bus which went the whole day and too late at night, I came back till 24.00. Room standard, all necessary is, everything worked, I returned to the room to spend the night only therefore smart room wasn't necessary to me. The territory beautiful, well-groomed, big, where is plenty of space for walking. I spent the whole time at the beach. The beach big, is a lot of sunbeds, but on the first line it is necessary to borrow early. Beach sandy. To bathe in the sea it is possible only from a pier as the coast because of water outflow hasn't enough. The reef beautiful, is on what to look. Even children swim with masks. The breakfast, a dinner and a dinner is at the main restaurant. I had dinner at small restaurant at the sea. Food various, tasty. At restaurant at the sea a choice of dishes small, but to me sufficed. I for days on end swam with a mask in the sea and sunbathed, any animation was, but I wasn't interested. There is a disco and live music at the main restaurant in the evening. The personnel carried out all necessary. Anybody didn't stick to me, to me it was important, I was single. I have very well a rest from work and the noisy city. I took the cheap permit in hotel 5* and didn't regret. In total that it was necessary for me, I received.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    173
    103
    92
    95
See reviews for
179
273
17
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Don't know where to start. Not 5* by any means, drinks undrinkable, food inedible, staff to quote "hotel caters for the Russian tourists not anybody else". There is not any "service". Worst holiday ever.

As many do, I ignored the bad reviews, in this case please don't.

Room Tip: Paid high amount for deluxe room which was ok (but not what I would call deluxe)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Where to start with this hotel?? Got there the first night to find out our room was a ten minute bus ride away! Yes..bus ride! Was nowhere near the main building where all the 'resteraunts' and pools where. Had to pay £140 for a room upgrade. Got into our less than average room only to be greeted by around 15-20 giant ants! Could not sleep as they were crawling all over our bed sheets and pillows. Paid for an all inclusive holiday..no such thing. Their version of this is 'ultra all inclusive'...extra charge! One bottle of water per stay, re-fill able at the not so cold water machines. More bottled water? Extra charge. moving onto the staff..what staff?? Lucky to see the staff. If you needed to ask something and they could not understand what you say? They simply walk away. Food; terrible quality, no variety, re-warmed, rubbery meat, powdered juice..they put powder in the machine and just add water. No staff in the resteraunt so ask what it was we were actually eating. Me and my boyfriend were hoping for a chilled romantic holiday and that's defiantly not what we got. It's a good job we were comfortable together as we were ill together for five days. Fever, vomiting and the not so nice part..the trots:/ this was after 2 nights. Proves the quality of the food and drink. Oh and the drink..if you are ordering wine..it comes in an old plastic bottle! Pool bars? Non existant! No staff and if you finally did get a drink you could have sprite or coke in a child's size plastic cup! No other choice. The pool bar itself was disgusting. So filthy and dirty and one day, a big tile from the pillar of the pool bar fell of and was left in the water for 2 days! English?? Be prepared to talk to yourself the whole holiday as there is no other English people to be seen! All Russians everywhere you turn. The odd German and the odd French. Night time? Russian cartoons and films for children. Thats it! No entertainment what so ever for adults. Room service, extra charge. Fruit drinks, extra charge. Dinner at 4 out of the 5 resteraunts, extra charge! Best part was the weather and our trip to Cairo to see the pyramids ( which I would highly recommend) only good because it had nothing to do with the hotel. Ordered breakfast for our trip as we had to leave at 4am for our flight, our breakfast?? 3 rolls of stale bread, a hard boiled egg, 3 olives, what looked like either a cucumber or some sort of pickle? We didn't want to try whatever it was, and a small carton of juice..good breakfast! All in all we would defiantly not recommend this hotel..GO SOMEWHERE ELSE!!

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

i went there in august 2012 and i was expecting something really bad after i read the reviews. I thought i was going to hell but in fact it turned out to be really good! rooms are clean and big, linens changed every other day and fresh towels whenever you want. good territory with 6 pools and relaxing areas. sea is just amazing and take the diving tour!! see the utopia island too. I was there with the couple of friends and we had a great time! food is above average too and staff are very friendly

Room Tip: do not take the sports area(too far away)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

i went in june 2012 i was amazing the staff are lovely! my daughter is only 8 and she went off around the hotel the staff kept an eye on her all the time, a german man aproched her and one of the bar staff mohammed called the security! The food is lovely. Any bad comments are only perfessional moaners they go to a hotel and try to look for the worst things about the hotel and they are proberably being paid to do it. if you read all of the bad comments you would never go anywhere so just ingore them!! xx hope this helped!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Hi, if are you going to buy stay in this hotel, here are the realy most important things you need to know:
a lot of Russians (terrible behavior)
low quality food and drinks (they are sometimes using the food from yesterday in the salads or cold dishes)
unprofesional staff
no room service possibilities (FORGET to have nice romantic evening on the room with bottle of wine and some snacks - impossible)
Summary - choose another hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

I paid $ 220 / night for a single room all inclusive (no fresh jiuce + low grade local alochohol)!

Totally unprofessional hotel employee.

Horrible food.

Artificial drinks.

No airconditiong in room,

Elevators don't work.

Lemosine arranged by hotel is 7 years old car, no maintained, dirty from inside, with a crazy driver.

For those who respect their holidays and money......never go there again!

Room Tip: Just Don't waste your money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Serenity Makadi Heights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serenity Makadi Heights

Address: Safaga Road 36 Km | P.O. Box 324, Makadi Bay 324, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Makadi Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Makadi Bay
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Makadi Bay
#19 Luxury Hotel in Makadi Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Serenity Makadi Heights 5*
Number of rooms: 523
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Serenity Makadi Heights reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Serenity Makadi Heights Hotel Makadi Bay
Serenity Makadi Heights Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Serenity Makadi Heights, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.