We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PERFECT HOLIDAY” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Makadi Palace Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Makadi Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Makadi Palace Hotel
Save
You added The Makadi Palace Hotel to your Saves list
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Safaga Road, Makadi Bay, Egypt (Formerly Makadi Palace)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 22 Hotels in Makadi Bay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hastings, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“PERFECT HOLIDAY”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Just returned from a weeks stay at this amazing hotel.
Lovely spacious rooms very clean and huge ever so comfortable bed.

Lots of choice of food in all the restaurants especially the Thia where we ate twice.

Entertainment was ok and the beach was lovely with amazing snorkeling.

All in all we had a fantastic week and all thanks to Andrew our Red Sea Holidays Rep and more importantly the food and beverages manager Mohamed Elsayed who made our holiday what it was. He does a fantastic job in making sure that you are 100% happy and we couldn't asked for more.

Cant wait to return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa_Meeuwenoord1, Manager at The Makadi Palace Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for sharing your impressions with us. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and especially the various restaurants. The entire team is pleased that our resort and service met your expectations and we would be grateful if given the opportunity to host you once again.
We look forward to many more visits.
Kind regards
Makadi Palace team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    757
    394
    139
    65
    31
See reviews for
368
727
15
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Skegness, England, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

I have recently returned from my 2nd lovely holiday in Egypt staying at the Makadi Palace. My partner and I stayed at this hotel in November 2012 and I revisited in October 2013. On both occasions I have found the hotel and grounds beautifully kept and our room large and pleasantly furnished and clean. The beds are HUGE !! The staff are courteous friendly and efficient. There is plenty of choice of food to suit all tastes. The snorkelling is just AWESOME, the reef is only just off the beach and so accessible Although there is currently some civil unrest in Egypt it is hundreds of miles away in Cairo , we felt very safe at all times. We travelled with Red Sea Holidays and took a trip with a local guide who looked after us extremely well. At the moment it is extremely good value for money sun holiday.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa_Meeuwenoord1, Manager at The Makadi Palace Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for spending another vacation at our resort and for sharing with us your valuable experiences. We are delighted that you had a fantastic stay and enjoyed the snorkelling in particular along the house reef.
We eagerly await your next visit to Makadi Palace.
With best regards
Makadi Palace team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

Just retuned from our second time to Makadi Palace. Great location for a very relaxing holiday with great views.

Only issue was the flights. Red Sea Holidays used 1 plane to take both Manchester and Gatwick passengers. Would never want to do that again.
This caused delays getting to the hotel which then meant all restaurants had closed for food on our arrival. The return trip we had to get off at Gatwick before we could continue on to Manchester. The total time from hotel to Manchester airport was over 11 hours!!

The restaurants were great with a wide choice of food. Great mix of different types of food to choose from.

The rooms now looking a bit dated but still welcoming.

Evening entertainment was not as expected but think this due to the troubles in country? Was much better on first trip there in April this year (2013).

All in all the service from the staff was 5 star. Especially the assistant food and beverage manager Mohamed Elsayed. This gentleman made our holiday. Nothing was too much trouble and without his intervention the holiday could have been so much different?

Thank you Mohamed!!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa_Meeuwenoord1, Manager at The Makadi Palace Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your review and your second visit to our resort. We appreciate very much your inspiring feedback which truly motivates us all. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our various restaurants and had a lovely time at Makadi Palace.
We are looking forward to welcoming you soon again in our resort.
Best regards
Makadi Palace team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bray, Wicklow, Ireland
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

It was like a fairytale. The room was perfect - I have never slept in such a big bed. The location is amazing, it is every bit as beautiful as in the pictures. I loved the labyrinth-like corridors and terraces, stairs that take you to new places every time, the beautiful windows, the roof gardens, the lanterns everywhere. Very romantic, indeed.

The food is lovely and versatile. The Discovery became our favourite restaurant, not just because of the excellent selection of meals, but also because of the warm welcome from its staff. Our waiter, Muhamad Badwy knew our drinks order by heart after the first night and he went out of his way to make it a pleasant experience for everybody.

We could go to the Guest Relations desk with any queries, and we found Dominique to be extremely helpful and efficient. Our hotel representative, Andrew suggested us the best trips to get to see everything that is worth seeing. Do not miss the glass bottom boat if you want to catch a deeper glimpse of the life of an amazing coral reef - just to say the least... Andrew was helpful and professional in every way.

The sea at the hotel is amazing with all the colourful fish and sea life right at your fingertips while you are snorkelling.

We had a great time and we found Egypt to be safe. Overall it was a five star experience.

Suzy Szabo

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa_Meeuwenoord1, Manager at The Makadi Palace Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for you review of the Makadi Palace. The team is delighted that you had a memorable stay with us and enjoyed our product and services. Please contact our Guest Relations team in the lobby for any wish or request.
We look forward to your next stay.
Kind regards
Makadi Palace team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hastings
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

My wife and myself have just returned from a weeks stay at The Makadi Palace Hotel in Egypt. Whilst I cannot praise the staffs attention to much, there were several disaapointments that marred the week. Firstly we stayed in junior suite 3312. The first time we used the bath when the plug was pulled out the water flooded the bathroom from a drain cover in the floor under the basin. This was reported twice once on the Saturday evening and then reported to The Red Sea rep. Again it was brought to the attention of the Reception desk. When we left it still flooded the bathroom. A member of the hotel staff looked at the problem and told us not to fully pull the plug out of the bath. When we left this was still flooding the bathroom. Dining was nice except dining at The Botanical Garden, where the advertised mixed grill of Steak and Chicken turned out to be a Beefburger and a piece of chicken. This was a real let down especially for the Guest of the week and his wife who were on their honeymoon and had the embarrassment of almost being turned away because of a cock up with their reservation. Again there was a cock up with their reservation for The Thai Garden restaurant the following evening. This has been the only 5* hotel where guests have to collect bottled drinking water for their rooms. Would I go back again? Yes I would. The bathrooms look very tired . Apart from that a really nice break. Colin Ford , Hastings

Room Tip: Noisy corridors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa_Meeuwenoord1, Manager at The Makadi Palace Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for your review and sharing your impressions with us. Your valuable comments have been observed accordingly and we assure you your concerns will be rectified appropriately.
However, we are pleased that overall you had a good time with us, but nevertheless, we are hopeful and would be grateful if given the opportunity to host you once again in order to demonstrate our services on an exceptional high level.
With best wishes
Makadi Palace team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Booked with Red Sea, excellent value for money late checkout and junior suite, rooms spacious and very clean, only downside they could do with a revamp, but don't let that put you off,big comfy bed. Check in very quick, staff are excellent nothings to much trouble for them, highly recommend the Thai garden and botanical restaurants, food in the buffet restaurants of good quality and choice, very good pools and waiter service around them, the same with the beach the guys are fantastic, snorkelling off the jetty is not to be missed, stayed in the Grand Makadi last year which is a sister hotel, smaller but I found it nicer than the palace, but that's just personal preference.
Don't let the trouble in the big cities put you off Egypt as the Red Sea resorts are not affected by it
Can't wait to return next year

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room, nothing better to wake up to than the views of the Red Sea, pool view rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa_Meeuwenoord1, Manager at The Makadi Palace Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our resort. The entire team is pleased that you were able to relax and enjoy your stay with us. We appreciate your kind comments and we sincerely hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our resort in the near future.
Best regards
Makadi Palace team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

Although based at the Makadi Spa we spent most of our evenings in the Palace where our friends are regulars. The food, staff and Managers are all outstanding as is the food in the restaurants. My main reason for another review so soon (not allowed to review The Spa as within three months on my last review) is to tell everyone that IT IS SAFE TO TRAVEL TO EGYPT and without us visiting it is depriving locals of any income to support their families. Don't let a few extremists spoil the lives of the majority.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa_Meeuwenoord1, Public Relations Manager at The Makadi Palace Hotel, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear guest
Thank you for your kind comments and the chance to serve you on your holiday. We will take into consideration the feasibility to provide , more accessible shopping , and downtown opportunities.
Thank you and best wishes
Makadi Palace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Makadi Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Makadi Palace Hotel

Address: Safaga Road, Makadi Bay, Egypt (Formerly Makadi Palace)
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Makadi Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Makadi Bay
#10 Family Hotel in Makadi Bay
#11 Luxury Hotel in Makadi Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Makadi Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 511
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Makadi Palace Hotel is set in lush gardens famed for their beauty, and offers the perfect space to relax unwind and enjoy a well-earned break. Tranquil surroundings, attentive staff, an extensive choice of à la carte dining – both on-site and at the Makadi Mall – as well a stunning beach and a wide choice of sports facilities at the Makadi Sports Centre ensures guests will be reluctant to stray far from their holiday home away from home. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Makadi Palace Hotel Makadi Bay
Makadi Palace Bay
Makadi Palace Egypt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Makadi Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.