We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Makadi Palace

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Makadi Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Makadi Palace
Save Saved
You added Makadi Palace to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Makadi, Makadi Bay, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Makadi Bay
liverpool
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here as part of a Red Sea Holidays Nile cruise and stay. We had 5 star luxury all the way. It was a well organised check in. We were escorted to our room and shown how things worked. The room was large and very nice, as was the bathroom. After our cruise we returned to the hotel and were given a free upgrade which wowed us! It was a huge suite with a sitting area and a dressing room off the very large bathroom.
There are about 7 al a carte restaurants and each has a part of the menu as AI but quite a bit is at a supplement. We ate at them all except for the Indian and Chinese, we just didn't have time in our week. However, the Thai was so nice we did go twice at dinner and once at lunch. The choice in the buffet restaurants was huge, I defy anyone to struggle for choice. In the main staff were efficient and friendly. The Egyptian restaurant was a pleasant surprise, the staff were great and seemed genuinely pleased that you wanted to try local cuisine.
Plenty of beds on the beach and by the numerous pools. Drinks were served to your bed by waiters. Everywhere was very clean but you may still experience an upset stomach but it will be the heat more than likely, the food was well prepared.
WIFI in the lobby is free.
Two areas drinks are payable, the lobby and the Sports bar, why, I don't know. They should at least include the Sport Bar as it was usually empty when no live sports were showing, a shame really. This really was a stunning hotel, I didn't fully appreciate until I went to the Hilton in Sharks Bay. The Hilton was still lovely but Makadi shone!
Waiters, bell boys etc all appreciate a tip in any currency and no matter how small. Some will offer you pound coins in exchange for a ten pound note, it's not a scam, it's easier for them to exchange officially I think. We changed some and were glad to then have ten more coins to tip with. Tipping is entirely up to you though.
One thing that may go against it is that it's in middle of nowhere, there is a courtesy bus to Hurgada but we didn't bother as we wanted to chill after our busy cruise.
Entertainment could be better but we had travelled with good company so didn't need to take advantage of it if we didn't fancy it.
Would I go again? Yes, I would
Would I recommend it? Most definitely.
What are the negatives? The AI not having the lobby and sports bar Inc ( by the way, the lobby terrace is AI and they get the drinks from the lobby bar - bizarre)
Pestered by spa and massage sales people a bit but you get this in most hotels I think
My only advice, relax and enjoy

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    627
    334
    121
    61
    30
See reviews for
316
609
13
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We returned to the Makadi Palace after staying there around 5 years ago. I always wanted to return as I can honestly say this is my favourite hotel and holiday location - we were not disappointed.
The hotel is stunning, the service and food brilliant. I cannot wait to return and hope do so later in the year.
If you have any problems, we had a number of lamps not working in our room, this is dealt with quickly and efficently.
There are numerous restaurants and making a reservation is easy, they do not limit you to number of visits as some all inclusive hotels do, which is nice as you can always return to your favourites.
The only disappointing thing is that the night life is quiet - but this could be down to us visiting at a quiet time of year.
Will definately return and thank you for a wonderful stay Makadi Palace. Luise the Guest Relations lady is also very nice and ensures you have a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We discovered the Makadi in 2010had a wonderful first one-week stay and decided to return 2 years later. Same beautifully kept location (despite the country having gone through a political earthquake in the meantime). Possibility to ask for your favorite suite if you know the hotel:-)
There are so many different sections in the hotel that you probably get a different experiene depending on where your room/suite is located.
Very welcoming staff, large choice of food whether at the buffets or at the specialty restaurants (included in the price) As a vegetarian I found there was always plenty to choose from.
Nice beach front and very close snorkeling area with amazing fish fauna ......no need to take the boat..it right there 50 meters from the beach. Corals have been damaged by human presence but some area are now protected. Very goodl massages on the beach Spa.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Just come back from holiday.
the hotel is good but only 4 star not 5. Not first time in egypt last year was in 4 star hotel which was really better.
breakfast was really poor, eggs and pancakes, good dinner , there are many option of reastaurant - thai, indian, chinese, french, but the main buffet which do not require reservation is also poor.
for me was important animation, but on the day time i didn't see them. nothing to do during the day., in evening is a little bit better.
the rooms really need reniovation, we change our 2 times because in first one on bathroom wasn't light
this hotel is not for yougng coupleas, and for family with childrens.
i enjoy my holiday but just let you know about this hotel, do not expect to many.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We are not a beach holiday type couple, but found ourselves in need of a break & some winter sunshine.

Although we had never been to Egypt before, it seemed our best bet for some sun, without resorting to long haul.

A work colleague had been to a hotel in the same area in January & said it was good.

We like to get value for money, so spent a couple of weeks researching (on-line) the various Hotels, around Hurghada & Makadi.

The hotel turned out to be perfect for us, in virtually every respect. (We are in our early sixties)

It was only 30 mins to / from the airport, we had a quiet high room with (albeit a distant) sea view

Although the complex is large with over 500 rooms, the facilities & staff are more than adequate.

Accommodation building are in different but complimentary middle eastern styles, which creates a great atmosphere.

The grounds are impressively landscaped with palms, brightly flowering shrubs & bedding plants & include a series of large, interconnected lagoons, with bridges & patio areas.

Some of the restaurants & cafes overlook the lagoons, making for magical breakfasts & dinners.

The food is varied & plentiful & excellent quality.

Breakfast is available between 5 am & 11 am at one or other of the restaurants, which means you can lie in as long as you want!

Service is excellent, every where on the complex

In early March the hotel was two thirds full, it was relaxed, hot & sunny every day (26 to 31C)

Clientèle were mainly British& German, with a few French, Dutch & Scandinavians.

There were few children.

Evening entertainment is adequate, if low key, ie. nightly cabaret act (snake charmer, Chinese acrobats, etc,) & regular singers enabling some dancing.

The complex was extremely quiet at night, with no sound carrying over from the club.

One night (without any previous notice) the film Life of Pi was shown outdoors, with the backdrop of a lagoon & a full moon over one of the arabian looking buildings. The staff had arranged candle lit tables between the sunbeds & when the temperature dropped, they bought out beach towels to keep people warm - that sort of organisation makes for very special memories.

The rooms may not be 5 star standard, but are generously sized, have loads of character & are more than adequate.

We took mosquito sprays, etc, but did not need them (early March)

We broke up the rhythm of the week, with a shopping excursion to Hurghada & a fantastic day trip to Luxor (for the temple at Karnak & the Valley of the Kings).

We rarely make recommendations to friends & family, but we have been singing the praises of this hotel since we returned, (based on the time of year we visited).

Room Tip: We had a quiet top floor corner room overlooking the entire complex to the sea (4405)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VanessaMeeuwenoord, Manager at Makadi Palace, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
The team at Makadi palace would like to thank you for your kind comments, and the chance to serve you on your holiday. We hope to have the opportunity to serve in future holidays and look forward to your requests.
Best Regards
Makadi Palace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Just returned from a weeks holiday here all inclusive. For the price we paid, it was excellent value for money.

The staff were so helpful and we tipped because we wanted to tip. We felt under no obligation to tip except for the suitcase porters who did wait for one. The room was kept spotlessly clean although the bathroom was extremely tired looking. Needs replacement tiles on floor. Stayed in a junior suite. A great plus with Red Sea holidays is that you are allowed to keep your room until 30 mins before check out. Really helps you to enjoy your last day.

I was glad I was staying for only one week as there was so little in terms of entertainment in the evening. Once the sun went down (fairly early in March), the hotel took on a gloomy feel (they call it romantic lighting!). Lack of lighting everywhere. Too dim to read in our room and minimal lighting in lobby. The lobby was the only area for Wi Fi and was difficult to use for this reason. Only 2 places to go to for evening entertainment - Jokers Bar and the Piano Bar. It was a shame that we only saw a pianist once in the "Piano Bar" and at Jokers I did see a belly dancer, a man with his snake and a singer.

The food was great. If you get invited by the Red Sea Hotels management to dine at Botanical gardens, then that is a must. We had fantastic food and drink and dined with the guest relations staff. Really spoilt that night. We also were invited to a BBQ on the beach one evening which was again a great experience and the beach bar was kept open just for us.

The Thai restaurant was our favourite. Enjoyed the evening meals and also the set lunches. Glasses kept topped up all night. Staff were so friendly and hard working. Well done guys. Least favourite was the French. I found there to be a different atmosphere in there. Only 4 people dining in the whole restaurant yet beer was warm and had to ask for drinks. The only free desserts were ice cream or sorbet - yet they had no sorbet! Ordered creme caramel for a supplement which was awful and could not eat it. Thankfully I wasn't charged for it.

All in all it was a great holiday to escape the UKs cold weather

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here from 1st march to the 3rd.
We are a couple aged 24.
We paid a reasonable £470 each All Inclusive.

the pool which is amazing although too cold to really swim in. There are lots of restaurants to eat at but really they all tasted the same. There was loads to choose from in the dome and the melange, they were our favourites. We also ate at the botanical and that was fantastic, they cooked infront of you which was lovely.

All staff were amazing. There was no begging for tips however, when we first arrived and the bellboy showed us to our room he did wait for us to tip which was a bit awkward. The room was beautiful really big with a king size bed and great bathroom. Bedding and towels were changed every day including beach towels.
The beach was a bit of a let down. Obviously man made so the sand was like grit and you could only enter the sea at certain points. There was a jetty where you can scuba from.

The only other let down was be entertainment on a night. We did go to relax but at 24 we need a bit more than karaoke?! There is a sports bar but this isn't included in all inclusive. We found ourselves bored by 11 and back in the room.

We took a quad biking trip to the Bedouin camp. This was amazing, so interesting and worth the £36 each. You quad for 46km and have a guide around the Bedouin camp. You also get to ride a camel and are back at the hotel by 1pm. Well worth doing.

Overall, the hotel and grounds were massive. Very cleaned and well maintained. They staff were very helpful and kind. We did not encounter any problems what so ever. It was perfect for what we needed.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Makadi Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makadi Palace

Address: Makadi, Makadi Bay, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Makadi Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Makadi Bay
#7 Romantic Hotel in Makadi Bay
#10 Luxury Hotel in Makadi Bay
#11 Family Hotel in Makadi Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Makadi Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 511
Also Known As:
Makadi Palace Hotel Makadi Bay
Makadi Palace Bay
Makadi Palace Egypt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Makadi Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.