We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is the one for you !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Makadi Palace

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Makadi Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Makadi Palace
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Makadi, Makadi Bay, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 21 hotels in Makadi Bay
Bodrum City, Turkey
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“This is the one for you !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Ok as with anything in life it's not perfect (really a 4*) but if you can get to this hotel December/January you will have an unforgettable holiday.
The design of the grounds is very impressive.They seem to make their women disappear since there are no female staff at the hotel.
Bring a torch since the lightning is very low in the evening and it's easy to trip up but the ambience is beautiful.Bring a jumper for the evening chill.If you've booked the smaller hotel next door, the Grand Makadi change the booking, you've made a mistake it since it's a dump compared to the Palace and your heart will sink everytime you have to return to your run down tiny hotel complex.One guy we met was so miffed with the Grand that he managed to get all his meals in the Makadi Palace since the restarants are so superior.
The French restaurant was good and the staff even wear black berries.
The food in the various restaurants is very good,only go to the Dome for breakfast, but Egyptian chicken is not presented in the clean non greasy style we expect in the UK and meat is not so tender but these are minor details since you still get great value.
Forfeg the day trips and just relax.
Entertainment in the Joker bar could be mproved and the Piano bar is more sophisticated.

Room Tip: Room near the Dome is preferable
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,144 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    630
    335
    109
    50
    20
See reviews for
276
558
11
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We booked this hotel through Golden Ticket Travel as we wanted some winter sunshine and relaxation. It was one of the cheaper options so we weren't actually expecting 5 star. We paid less than £400 each for the week.
We were a little apprehensive after reading some of the more negative reviews. I can only say that I am really usure what those people who have left negative reviews were expecting for the money they paid.
We had an absolutley brilliant week. The hotel itself is amazing and the grounds are beautifully kept by the team of gardeners. We had no problems with the room, although it was showing its age it was spotlessly kept and extremely clean. The beds are huge and so comfortable, dont think I have ever slept so well on holiday.
The dining options are endless and if you are going for one week as we did you will not have time to use all the restaurants. We loved all the a la carte meals we had and only ate in the buffet restaurant on one evening. The Thai and Italian were our particular favourites. Breakfast sat outside the Melange restaurant in the sunshine each morning was lovely with fresh omelettes and eggs cooked to order. At lunchtime the Sunset Bar near the beach does fantastic burgers, fish and chips and clamari.
Pre-dinner drinks sat outside the piano bar and then into the Joker bar for a few more after dinner.
Make sure you go to the beach bar outside the Makadi Spa which is included in the AI programme from 10-5, great views.
The service was fantastic and all the staff we came into contact with were very friendly and efficient. I had read on trip advisor some of the concerns about the need to tip frequently so had taken American Dollars (the staff cannot change pound or euro coins). I have to say once there I did not feel under any pressure to tip, we did it because we wanted to say thanks for the service we getting. I would say whilst we were there the hotel was only about 50% occupied and the waiting staff on the beach and in the Joker bar were very busy all the time. Maybe in the height of summer with a full hotel the service would not be quite as good as we experienced.
The only slight negative of the whole week would be the size of the plastic glasses on the beach, they are the smallest I have ever seen (about the size of a small yoghurt pot - 2 gulps and the drink was gone)

Do not be put off by any of the negative reviews. I think if you are realistic with your expectations
(the flight alone when we went would have cost £270 so we had a week in a great hotel with all our food and drink for less then £130 each) you will have a great time.
We will drfinately be returning soon. Thank you to everyone at Makadi Palace for a great week.

Room Tip: We emailed before we went and asked for a room on a high floor with sea view and its exactly what we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

Palm trees, Blue sky, and plenty of sunshine and only five hours away,Makadi palace is a amazing place . The airport meeting is well organised for you to begin your hoiladay in the sun.As you arrive you see the beautiful kept gardens,well maintained ,and impressive nite lighting of the immaculate kept grounds.
Rooms are large, clean, and spacious with tv and plenty of fresh towels ,free safe ,and with a little tip for the room boy,he will look after your every need.
There are plenty of sunloungers with umbrellas, and stunning pools, and a breath taking beach front with steps and a lovely jetty for easy snorkerling, there are plenty of stunning fish to be seen, its like being in a tropical fish tank.
You can have a cocktail party every nite or choose from the local spirits , or have a cold beer ,wine red or white, with plenty of entertainment to relax to.
When it comes to breakfast ,lunch or dinner you are spoilt for choice ,so many restaurants and endless la carte restaurants to pick from.
I love the tia restaurant, and you will not be dissapointed here ,with awesome food ,Amr the restaurant manager with his excellent staff will give you a nite to remember ,I can't get enough of the lobster or the jumbo prawns ,soups and noodles.
The botanical gardens restaurant,some lovely food here ,and with Mabrouk fathy and all the staff you will be looked after no end , try the chocolate fondant,its truely yummy.
The discovery ,were your food is cooked under your nose ,fresh ,hot and truely delicious, around the corner in the mail there is a huge choice ,a french ,Italian,chinese, and a Indian ,just love them freshly cooked poppadoms and fresh naans.
Relax after in the piano bar,or joker club where there is live entertainment or outside the lobby bar with a lovely bar tender called Ashraf, so polite and welcoming.
The five stars for this hotel belongs to the staff,outstanding.
With all this going on ,any problems are soon sorted by a lovely guest relations lady called luise, nothing is to much trouble for this girl, Thanks for everthing Luise.
So many people to say Thanks too that make your hoilday so enjoyable ,Amr the big boss off the Tia restaurant, Hosam the awesome manager of the sunset grill, some excellent bar tenders , look out for Hesham in the rendezvous, Seare,food and beverage assistant manager who makes sure everything runs perfect, Mohamed Elsayed and Vanessa managers of the hotel are all stars.
Don't listen to the hype over little things ,be polite and friendly and you will have a great time, grab your suitcase and head for Paradise ,The Makadi Palace , you won't be disappointed.
Mr Little

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We wanted a week away from England's miserable January weather so booked late (1 week before) to Makadi Palace, as it was featured by the Red Sea tour operators, thro Travel Zoo - at a really bargain price.
Our requirements were primarily sunshine, in an all inclusive good quality hotel. A relaxed quiet week. We got virtually all of our requirements! This hotel along with the four others in the chain of Red Sea hotels were, and are, desperately quiet thro Jan/Feb, so heavily discounted deals are available if you can leave your booking till late. Can't see that changing for a year or two either. If you can still go now then go, otherwise earmark perhaps for next year?
Others have commentated on room standards, location of them etc and really we agree with those views. We were initially located on the ground floor close to reception. Consequently this proved very noisy at night with guests and luggage coming and going at all hours. The management were only too happy to relocate us and gave us a choice of three alternatives. They couldn't have been more accommodating. Although all rooms are generous junior suite sizes, you will be disappointed if you are expecting European '5 star' standards within the rooms and bathrooms. Our assessment would be much more akin to 3 star UK rating.
That is the only downside we can offer and is more than made up for by our enjoyment of all the remaining contributions of Food, Gardens, Location, Staff courtesy etc. The sun shone all week with temperatures around 30 deg rounding off a memorable week!

Room Tip: In the event of not being satisfied with your room location-speak to the Management who seem only to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thirsk, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

What a perfect place to totally relax ! We went in January 2013. The grounds are stunning, the rooms 'almost' a little tired but spotless , the food caters for everyone and the staff a lovely. Can get a little chilly at night sometimes. We will definately go back ....only small negative - the evenings could do with better entertainment certainly if your going for 2 weeks.

Room Tip: ask for a room over the Dome looking over the pool as you will get a sunny balcony all day :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Egypt is the nearest place to go to if you just want a guaranted sunny vacation.
For a sum of less than Euro 700 you will get a trip from Sweden all inclusive.
As we are not particularly fond of buffet dinners, we appreciated the possibility of the different choices of A la carte restaurants. You could choose of Thai, Egypt, Italian, Indian, Mediterranian and French specialized restaurants. The were very good all of them.
The rooms were a little bit worned out and should need to be refreshed.
The snorkeling is fantastic just down the hotel. You have to use special shoes not to hurt yourself on the coral reef.
If you are a golfer you should try the magnificent golf course 15 minutes away with a taxi.
We had not any stomach problems during our stay.
This is our fourth visit to Egypt and we will surely come back in a neat future.

Room Tip: Don´t use ground floor rooms if you are not fond of mosquitos.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
widnes
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This was my 6th stay at a red sea holidays hotel. First time at the Makadi palace. Nice clean room, nice to have a choice of a la carte dining in hotel and also in the Mall. Nice friendly bar staff in the evening especially in the Joker bar. Looking forward to my next trip there in February.Would recommend

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Makadi Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makadi Palace

Address: Makadi, Makadi Bay, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Makadi Bay
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Makadi Bay
#6 Romantic Hotel in Makadi Bay
#8 Family Hotel in Makadi Bay
#10 Luxury Hotel in Makadi Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Makadi Palace 5*
Also Known As:
Makadi Palace Hotel Makadi Bay
Makadi Palace Bay
Makadi Palace Egypt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Makadi Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Makadi Palace to your Saves list