We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“next door resort with amazing Romanian entertainers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Azur Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Azur Resort to your Saves list
Royal Azur Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Km 34, Hurghada Safaga Rd., Makadi Bay, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 23 Hotels in Makadi Bay
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“next door resort with amazing Romanian entertainers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stayed in April 2013, in the 'brother' resort, Club Azur, but we could enjoy some facilities in Royal also: participate to the activities ( in the day time and evening), have some drinks (with cost) and use the pools and the sea areas. From what we saw, the hotel is clean, the food is very good and the staff is polite and hard work. We discovered that most of the customers returned many times in this resort for one reason: the 'animation' team, which is the best we ever saw. This people are fantastic!!! They are beyond any animation team, because they are, in fact, professional dancers: 4 Romanians (Geta/ Jeni, Nela, Claudiu and Mihai) and 3 Ukrainians (Anastasia, Nastia and Andrei), leaded by Claudiu (Ashraf). Them evening shows are fabulous!!! First time I saw them I thought they just pay a visit to the hotel, but, by surprise I discovered that they are the animators of Royal Azur. Honestly, the word 'animator' is inappropriate with them experience, professionalism and level of day activities. This made us to go daily (since we meet them) to make morning stretching or yoga, to play beach volley, aqua gym or to learn latino and belly dance. We appreciated them so much and we consider going in a holiday in Royal Azur next time, just because we didn't had enough from them art. Big hugs and many, many thanks for the refreshing mornings and immortal evening shows that you offered to us!!! You have a special place in our hearts!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    93
    41
    35
    12
See reviews for
102
80
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cairo
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

over all experiance was good ,the hotel location was far from the city ,good beach, spacious, good looking gardins, three swimming pools only one was heated ,the breakfast and dinner were good while the lunch was not good at the beach restaurant , the animation acivities were below average, the rooms was old with big box tv , over all it was a good trip except for small thins that need improvement

Room Tip: ask for pool view room,not the garden view, if you are with some one with disability who is using a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I've been to this hotel more than you imagine, it's not for sure a 5* resort because each country has it's own rating system for accommodation but it could easy pass as a nice 4*+ resort. The stuff is very helpful, rooms are clean, good service in restaurants and bars. You can pick from a great variety of pools,a salt water pool, a heated pool with a pool bar, new two pools in the other part of the hotel. The sandy beach is clean and if you want you can be accommodated in the wooden bungalows on the beach, very quiet place for relaxing and enjoying a great vacation. The coral reef is just across the beach you can easily buy for few money snorckling gear for a nice underwater Red Sea experience. If you are a good diver or want to be... they have a Diving Center with experienced divers or rental equipment. For families with children, a kids club opened, with a short lunch break, organizes different activities almost all day long and mini parties in the evening time just to keep you kids busy so you can enjoy the sun. Great Animation Team different dance/entertaining shows every night, well done activities by the beach or at the gym, very good social skills, they speak 3-4 languages, well trained and prepared.

Room Tip: Don't forget to visit the new mall opened near by:).....
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
67 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

The hotel food was the most bland I have ever tasted in a resort in Egypt. Still no one become ill from it and all inclusive hotels have a poor reputation when it comes to stomach bugs. The beach is not the best there is in Egypt but there are a lot of activities that are included in the stay and any additional activities are moderately priced. The pool is perfect for younger kids and the animation team is great. I only recommend the hotel for price conscious families who want to enjoy a happy stress free family vacation. For other travelers venture further south of hurghada.

Room Tip: chose the ground floor dierctly on the pool and nearer the end away from the stage. As they have a v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

i went their with my family last June
it was an awesome experience
the animation team is perfect and the staff are very helpful
have an amazing beach with alot of water sports which all are included ( free ) and the food is great with so many options
over all it was an amazing trip

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waasmunster, Oost-Vlaanderen, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

We come almost 9 years here and stay 3 or 4 times each year ! so we now a lot of this hotel and we love to come here ! the staff and managment are so kind ! the more u come , the more you get extra , like food (appetizers , cookie's ) , drinks in the mini bar , fruits , bottle of wine and many things more in the room , you get also special diner for free !
the rooms are very nice and clean ! there are 3 swimming pools , one heated in winter and one with salt water and one with jetstreams ! also for kids are 2 pools .
the beach is nice and a lot of free water activity ! canu , waterpeddle and windsurfing !
if you can , go snorkling on the beach , there is a beautiful coral garden ! so nice to do !
if you like to make diving there is a very good dive team in this hotel , Aquarius diving !
they have also motorrised things , butt they are not for free .
the food is nice and you have many choise every time of the day ! even snacks and ice creme !
the most of the guest's come many times back , so you see a lot of the people back !
so we have many friends here from everywhere !

Room Tip: ask for the rooms with pool view !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagazig, Egypt
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

my trip is one year ago , but was v. very nice, good rate , food is good, stuff were kind, cool and helpful , room is nice with 2 bottles of mineral water and sachets of coffee and tea and sugar and kettle and the daily journal
animation team was v. nice there r foreigner not Egyptian, specially children animation lady , parties r good specially mini disco and miss Royal Azor party

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Makadi Bay
0.2 mi away
Stella Makadi Resort & Spa
Stella Makadi Resort & Spa
#16 of 23 in Makadi Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 2,462 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harmony Makadi Bay Hotel & Resort
1.4 mi away
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
#2 of 23 in Makadi Bay
5.0 of 5 stars 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas
1.2 mi away
SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
1.0 mi away
Iberotel Makadi Beach
Iberotel Makadi Beach
#12 of 177 in Hurghada
4.5 of 5 stars 405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Azur Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Azur Resort

Address: Km 34, Hurghada Safaga Rd., Makadi Bay, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Makadi Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Makadi Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Azur Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 360
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Royal Azur Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Azur Hotel Hurghada
Royal Azur Hurghada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Azur Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.