We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for some winter sun” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas to your Saves list
Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Safaga Road | Abu Makhadeg Bay, Makadi Bay, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 22 Hotels in Makadi Bay
Moffat, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great place for some winter sun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

Just back from a fortnight in this hotel and we thoroughly enjoyed our time there. We found the quality of the food to be particularly high,with something for everyone, starting with a great breakfast selection, followed by lots of fabulous salads for lunch and dinner together with a wide variety of hot meals as well. We found the staff to be attentive and welcoming, always smiling, which can't be easy given the current situation in Egypt. The hotel was certainly quiet and the notice asking customers not to book sunbeds in advance was hardly relevant as sadly we could have had at least 10 sunbeds each and still had some left over!! Such a shame as we could not fault it in any way as a winter destination for a holiday with sun, sand and sea in abundance. We would recommend it to anyone.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FORTARAB, General Manager at Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us at Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas.

We sincerely appreciate your time and effort to convey your comments and we are glad you enjoyed your stay.

It would be a great pleasure to welcome you back at our resort in the future.


With our best regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,508 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    677
    603
    144
    58
    26
See reviews for
497
702
37
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Spent a week mid Feb with temperatures 26 plus so cant complain there, been to Egypt many times so new what to expect this Hotel didn't disappoint though will say have been to better and sure will visit worse. The Hotel is split into 2 sections east wing and west we stayed on floor 2 east which with limited sea view was great did look at upgrade to villa but they have no view and also deluxe room which to be honest was a waste of money as we took a kettle so it would have cost £120 plus for coffee making facilities WOW!!! internet does cost unless you upgrade so if your a sad face book fanatic and spend countless hours in the lobby contacting home you will miss the great beach, only around 50% full as hotel has no Russian holiday companies so NO RUSSIANS this put a big tick in our box so there were no rude or ignorant pigs fighting for food or at the bar GREAT.
Beach beds were in plenty supply also the pools beds as well, gardens kept immaculate, both wings have bars and food halls (dress code says long trousers but I went in shorts so did others for dinner no moans) so you don't have to spend ages waiting as there is space in abundance, the food itself was well presented and though samey all the time you definitely wouldn't go hungry Hani 1 and 2 the Chefs will make sure of that, all cooked well and served hot (unless salad) only thing that seemed to be a minor issue was and this not always the case but the staff again work tirelessly but something was just missing not all smiley faces which yeah I know they work long hours but?, all in all yes great time and ok went half term week but again no kids and average age seems to be over 60 but hey who cares NO RUSSIANS!!(you might suspect I don't like them ,you would be right) would I go back well often said world big place and all but for the first time YES, enjoy life ,enjoy your travels.........................

Room Tip: standard is just as good the beach doesn't change if you upgrade,
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire england
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

just returned from two week holiday , this place just gets better and better, the animation team was the best I have seen here, evening entertainment needs to be better but was not as bad as some people make out

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FORTARAB, General Manager at Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us again at Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas. Your loyalty means the world to us.

We noted your comment about evening entertainment and forwarded it to the concerned department to work on. It is through your valuable feedback that we can better serve you.

We sincerely appreciate your time and effort to convey your comments and we are glad you enjoyed your stay.

It would be a great pleasure to welcome you back at our resort in the future.


With our best regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north wales
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

We have just returned from our second visit to Fort Arabesque, once again it was a very enjoyable experience. The Hotel was much quieter this year than last year owing to the situation in Egypt.We didn't find the service in the bars quite as good as last year,ie less staff, less
visitors,less tips!!! but the food was just as good and also the standard of cleanliness in the bars and rooms was excellent. Some of the shops closed for a few days but soon reopened. The gardens are marvellous, if anything they are even better than last year and there was never any problem getting a sunbed anywhere (unless you want the front row of the beach on the "Saga" end of the beach) We went to Hurghada Marina with the hotels shuttle bus which we enjoyed and would definitely recommend. It was very quiet here which was a shame as the cafe/bar owners were desperate for visitors. If I could, I would have given it 4 1/2 stars not 5 as the entertainment was not as good as last year, COME BACK ROBERTO!! You are sorely missed.

Room Tip: Higher floors for the views,there are plenty of lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FORTARAB, General Manager at Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us again at Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas.

We noted your comment about service in the bars and entertainment, which we forwarded to the concerned departments to work on. It is through your valuable feedback that we can better serve you.

We sincerely appreciate your time and effort to convey your comments and we are glad you enjoyed your stay.

It would be a great pleasure to welcome you back at our resort in the future.


With our best regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

our first visit to this resort but very impressed upon arrival outstanding quality of food ,all staff very helpful and pleasent .beach was beautiful.excellent winter break to relax .will be returning next year

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FORTARAB, General Manager at Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us at Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas.

We sincerely appreciate your time and effort to convey your comments and we are glad you enjoyed your stay.

It would be a great pleasure to welcome you back at our resort in the future.


With our best regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west country uk
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

We stayed for one week in January. Our room was lovely although a little dated but we had superb views of the sunrise. Although some friends we made showed us there room which had obviously been updated and to a much higher standard. Staff very attentive.Hotel was very quiet, but probably due to all the unrest within the country. Beach area was very quiet and around the pool area. Food in restaurants was lovely and of good quality. The only negative is that they allow smoking in all the dining areas, which is a real shame, as it will probably deter us from coming again..

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

Recently returned from a tremendous holiday at Fort Arabesque, Makadi Bay Egypt. This hotel operates at a very high level with fabulous facilities available for all ages. The restaurant offers a great selection of food morning, noon and night. They even offer a wide range of freshly baked bread brown, white ,multi grained etc.The hotel is situated in sumptuous landscaped gardens with numerous swimming pools, then the gardens gradually lead you to a substantial private beach. The staff working at this establishment are very well mannered, friendly & helpful. In addition, the hotel has a diving centre resident on it's premise called IDIVE, which i would recommend to anyone wanting to experience the Red sea and see the beautiful wildlife that lie below the waves. The IDIVE team are passionate about diving, conservation and showing paid guests around the magical Red sea. We opted for the swim with dolphins trip, even though they can't guarantee you will see dolphins ( wildlife can be unpredictable!!). We were not disappointed... we swam with the graceful dolphins on 3 different occasions, then rested for lunch on the high seas and snorkeled with the tropical fishes in the afternoon at different sights. I thoroughly recommend this trip. Finally, I would recommend this hotel to friends and family as they operate on a high standard, its safe and clean. We had a great holiday and hope to return...

Room Tip: You can ask for a room with sea view. We had partial sea views and were happy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FORTARAB, General Manager at Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us at Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas.

We sincerely appreciate your time and effort to convey your comments and we are glad you enjoyed your stay.

It would be a great pleasure to welcome you back at our resort in the future.


With our best regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas

Address: Safaga Road | Abu Makhadeg Bay, Makadi Bay, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Makadi Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Makadi Bay
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Makadi Bay
#6 Family Hotel in Makadi Bay
#9 Romantic Hotel in Makadi Bay
#10 Luxury Hotel in Makadi Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 458
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa, & Villas promises tranquilityand opulence with its 444 luxurious rooms, suites, privateapartments and 14 newly built villas.Four dining venues, five swimming pools, including a children's pool(three of which are heated), a state-of-the-art gym, world class Thai managed Spa and sports facilities as well as I-Dive, a five-starIDC PADI dive center, guarantee a fun and unforgettable hotel experience.Inspired by the Sardinian roots of its architects, FortArabesque Resort & Spa combines distinctive Italianand Arabic accents in its architecture, from its imposingmedieval fort structure to its interior touches and décor,where the different shades of Egyptian cave stones fromAswan blend with the antique fine wood furnishings oforiental designs.We would like to introduce our new concept as well, which is unique in Egypt.Nestled within the Fort Arabesque resort, The Villas offer its guests luxurious accommodation, space and privacy in addition to a more personal and dedicated service. Each of the 14 Villas (8 units with 1 bedroom + 1 bathroom, 6 units with 2 bedrooms + 2 bathrooms) is tastefully decorated to reflect the mix of Arabic accents and Mediterranean influences of the Fort Arabesque Resort. All units have private garden and terrace with private access to a secluded swimming pool exclusive to The Villas. To ensure a fast and efficient service, the check-in is done through a private reception. The residents also have access to the Pavilion which is a private lounge where the villa guests can enjoy a semi-served upgraded breakfast in the morning. For lunch and dinner time the Pavilion functions as an A’la Carte Restaurant, giving the opportunity to enjoy a fine dining experience. The extra benefits of the Villa Guests include free Wi-Fi, free Gym usage and various discounts in the different outlets of the hotel.Guests at The Villas are free to use all the facilities and enjoy the same ‘all inclusive’ benefits at the resort with quick access to the main restaurant and the beach as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fort Arabesque
Fort Arabesque Makadi Bay
Fort Arabesque Hurghada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.