We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Idive centre at Fort Arabesque” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas to your Saves list
Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Safaga Road | Abu Makhadeg Bay, Makadi Bay, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Makadi Bay
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Idive centre at Fort Arabesque”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

If you like a good beach,then Fort Arabesque is the only place to stay in Makadi bay. While you are there please check out the diving centre "idive". I learnt to dive there at the age of 62 and last week complete 52 dives.The diving is fantastic, from learners to the most experienced. They also have equipment for non divers to hire,such as wet suits, snorkels,fins and masks. I think its 3 euro per day for a wet suit. They are fully covered by Dan Europe insurance. They are great people,so go and say hello.

Room Tip: Go for a high floor, for a great sea view. There are some new villas,if money is not a problem
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    608
    546
    137
    56
    24
See reviews for
466
630
34
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Burnley
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Stayed 9/10/12 to 6/11/12 with Saga. Rooms are large and well appointed, though in need of a little decoration. Position of hotel and it's beach is fantastic, the best on Makadi Bay from what we saw of adjoining hotels and their beaches. Food is excellent. Plenty of choice and good quality, though the salads were a bit boring. However, all the ingredients were there for you to make your own fresh salad. Only partook of the evening entertainment once, and got bitten by mosquitoes. This was a bit of an issue in the public areas, even in the Saga lounge. A regular spraying regime would eliminate this problem. This hotel is all-inclusive and offers great value, especially for Saga guests with free laundry service and mini-bar.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We've been visiting Fort Arabesque for two years now and stay twice a year for a month each time. We go with Saga but would like it known that there is no such thing as a "Saga Block". The "block" is where Saga guests happen to be. There are many other nationalities of all ages in this block. Also the restaurant in this block IS NOT a Saga restaurant but used by anyone. Cannot fault the staff and somehow they seem to remember us from visit to visit - amazing as they must meet hundreds of people. Any problems are sorted very quickly by the hotel staff. There are quite a few people who do not seem to know about the area(s) they visit for their holidays. Are they aware that topless sunbathing in Egypt is illegal and they can be put into prison? Also it is illegal to feed the fish and, again, they can be put in prison for doing so. Since our first visit a lot of the coral has disappeared due to people trampling all over it in their fins and shoes. You do not need fins or wet suits in the shallows.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms are good. Just ask for a change if you are not happy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Stayed at Fort Arabesque on 11 October 2012. We have been to Egypt a few times but this was our first visit to Hurghada. Hotel was very good, our room was excellent with lovely sea view and our room attendant was good. Hotel is located on its own sandy beach which was lovely. We walked for a good half hour along the beach through a couple of other hotels and can honestly say that Fort Arabesque had the biggest and best part of the beach. The snorkelling was fantastic, never thought my husband would be so keen to get in the sea and check out all the beautiful coloured fish within 20ft of the shore. Food was on a buffet style which can get a bit repetitive but there is lots of choice and the homemade breads were yummy. Weather was brilliant for time of year - around 32 degrees every day. Lovely relaxed atmosphere at the end of the beach day where everyone sat at the beach bar having an end of day drink -après beach is what I called it. Hotel is in the middle of nowhere so don't expect much entertainment at night but we were quite happy to have a couple of drinks and chat on he terrace. Would definitely go back to this hotel at this time of year. Lots of Italians and Germans at hotel, very few Brits but everyone was very relaxed and just enjoying the lovely location and sunshine.

Room Tip: Rooms 230 to 250 are good location
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend South Wales
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

Had a brill week here, after a week on the nile, didn't think it could compete, but it was very good. Only one complaint wi fi, did not work in room as we were told, only in lobby or by beach bar. Would probably return to this resort if we return to egypt

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Superb Hotel. Situated in the best spot in Makadi bay. Coral reefs are near to the shore and the snorkelling is fantastic! All kinds sizes and colours of fish. The only thing people must be aware of is DO NOT FEED THE FISH OR TOUCH THE CORAL all could be lost if this is not adhered to.
The hotel is on the beach. It has two beach bars, a sunset bar, villas bar and theatre for shows. The sunset bar has a singer every night, and a dance floor. The big restaurant. Is fabulous, buffet style food, wide variety. There is an a la carte restaurant for which you pay. But it is well worth it for once, excellent food, great service and a view that leaves you gasping! The next beach has camel rides and this experience is wonderful. The staff are friendly and welcoming. If you go with saga then you have a saga bar and lounge as well and the saga reps are absolutely fantastic. They really look after you. There are 3 pools and one pool like a canal through the grounds. There are new villas with private gardens and steps down from there into private pools. So something for everyone I think. The hotel is all inclusive, this includes towels, and for saga only , free laundry service. Most people go back year after year. Some for 3 or 4 weeks.
We went for our honeymoon,because someone said it was a special place. They were right! We had a wonderfully fantastic holiday!

Room Tip: All rooms are good. Try the 200 's. all saga guests have sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We stayed at this Hotel in October after we were reccomended the hotel by a friend who had stayed there 4 years ago. The quality of the food was shockingly poor. One night I had a beef lasagne with no beef! When this was pointed out to one of the chefs he suddenly didn't understand English. Overcooked meat, Kentucky style chicken, Pizza'a, watery soup, warm beer served in small wine glasses, jelly and blancmange.... you get the picture.The restaraunts are glorified school canteens, noisy, brightly lit and sat on top of each other. The waiters appear to concentrate on all other guests other than the British. You will be sat down on a table that somone has just left without the dirty table clothes being changed. Staff are generally rude to the Britsh guests. We went to the buffet to get our dessert and when we returned to the table they had cleared everything away and were seating other guests! I have never reserved sunbeds before but if you hadn't reserved a bed by 07:00 ON THE BEACH the chances are you wouldn't get one. On the plus side, the rooms are huge and very clean and the snorkelling just off the beach is superb. There is a small selection of overpriced shops - e.g. a mug that I bought in Hurghada for £1.50 was £6:00 in the hotel shop and even after the obligitory haggling they only came down to £5.00. So we didn't buy anything !! Entertainment is 90% Italian, so we got bored after 10mins and didn't even bother going to the shows after the 2nd night. Our third visit to Egypt and the worst hotel we have experienced. Nubuan Island in Sharm walsk all over this hotel. Enjoyed the fish and the room but will never go back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas

Address: Safaga Road | Abu Makhadeg Bay, Makadi Bay, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Makadi Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Makadi Bay
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Makadi Bay
#5 Spa Hotel in Makadi Bay
#7 Family Hotel in Makadi Bay
#9 Luxury Hotel in Makadi Bay
#11 Romantic Hotel in Makadi Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 458
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa, & Villas promises tranquilityand opulence with its 444 luxurious rooms, suites, privateapartments and 14 newly built villas.Four dining venues, five swimming pools, including a children's pool(three of which are heated), a state-of-the-art gym, world class Thai managed Spa and sports facilities as well as I-Dive, a five-starIDC PADI dive center, guarantee a fun and unforgettable hotel experience.Inspired by the Sardinian roots of its architects, FortArabesque Resort & Spa combines distinctive Italianand Arabic accents in its architecture, from its imposingmedieval fort structure to its interior touches and décor,where the different shades of Egyptian cave stones fromAswan blend with the antique fine wood furnishings oforiental designs.We would like to introduce our new concept as well, which is unique in Egypt.Nestled within the Fort Arabesque resort, The Villas offer its guests luxurious accommodation, space and privacy in addition to a more personal and dedicated service. Each of the 14 Villas (8 units with 1 bedroom + 1 bathroom, 6 units with 2 bedrooms + 2 bathrooms) is tastefully decorated to reflect the mix of Arabic accents and Mediterranean influences of the Fort Arabesque Resort. All units have private garden and terrace with private access to a secluded swimming pool exclusive to The Villas. To ensure a fast and efficient service, the check-in is done through a private reception. The residents also have access to the Pavilion which is a private lounge where the villa guests can enjoy a semi-served upgraded breakfast in the morning. For lunch and dinner time the Pavilion functions as an A’la Carte Restaurant, giving the opportunity to enjoy a fine dining experience. The extra benefits of the Villa Guests include free Wi-Fi, free Gym usage and various discounts in the different outlets of the hotel.Guests at The Villas are free to use all the facilities and enjoy the same ‘all inclusive’ benefits at the resort with quick access to the main restaurant and the beach as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fort Arabesque
Fort Arabesque Makadi Bay
Fort Arabesque Hurghada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.