We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Grand Makadi Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Grand Makadi Hotel to your Saves list
The Grand Makadi Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Safaga Road, Makadi Bay, Egypt (Formerly The Grand Makadi)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 23 Hotels in Makadi Bay
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Relaxing Break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Our first time in Egypt. The hotel is a bit worn and the first room we were given wasn't the best, however we were only staying here for one night before going on our cruise down the Nile so it didn't matter to us too much. The room on our return to the hotel was much nicer, on the far corner of the resort, top floor and overlooking the ocean. The hotel grounds are lovely to explore. The food choices on offer are good if you book into the restaurants available, I would really recommend the Chinese and Indian. Also the choice of food on the international buffet was okay to, as we sampled this for the first two nights as we weren't made away of the booking system for other restaurants until our 2nd day at the hotel.

Overall a nice holiday :)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

919 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    440
    275
    135
    43
    26
See reviews for
220
484
15
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

This hotel in it's heyday was probably a lovely place... but it is now tired, dated, shabby, and dusty and the food is average in the hotel restaurant The Lagoon. It needs a women's touch. The main part housing the reception area and the Italian restaurant are not bad, but the rooms are comfortable but drab and tired. The corridors to the ground floor rooms are dark and dingy badly lit at night and this also includes the rest of the complex. There were a lot of light fittings under the trees, lining steps and the grounds that had bulbs in that did not work which left a lot of dark areas were you were walking. The gardens were untidy and the trees, grass and shrubs needed badly trimming. Especially outside the ground floor room we stayed in as it blocked the sun out of an already dark and dingy room. The food was average apart from the Lebanese,Italian and Carrabian restaurants were you were made welcome to try a varied menu of food. Give the staff their due though they work very hard and deserve all tips received. The feeling we got was that this was maybe the first hotel to be built on the land and then next door was built the Makardi Palace and then the Makardi Spa which has outgraded The Grand Makadi from what we were told as they were more upmarket and newer. If you want a week of just chilling,snorkeling no pool music, little entertainment at night and average food and warm sunshine. This is the place to be for the right price. .

Room Tip: We stayed in a ground floor junior suite. It was worth the upgrade for the extra space. There was a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wirral merseyside
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

This is our 3rd visit to this hotel and once again a great welcome and a wonderful week, we arrived on 4th October for 1 week.The staff are all very friendly and they work very hard indeed. I recommend that you take some money to tip the staff throughout your stay as they well deserve it. The room was cleaned every day to a very high standard. There is so much choice in food, and very well prepared. We are planning to come again to this hotel at the end of January 2014. Do not be put off coming to Egypt, this place is very safe. We have recently invested in Makadi, and once the apartment is finished we still plan to use this hotel for family and friends.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

This being our 4th visit says it all great staff great room with fantastic sea view. Gardens pool and recreation areas all spotlessly clean .I would recommend this hotel and red seas holidays to my family and friends and we are already looking forwards to rebooking next years trip.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

This holiday was the best all inclusive i have visited!

i'll start with the negatives, firstly rooms are OK in terms of sleeping arrangements/fittings etc the only let down is the bathroom, its looking very tired and used, shower curtain seen better days, air con will keep you awake at night as its quite loud.
This is my only gripe with the accommodation, the Grand Makadi is a fantastic hotel! The staff are so welcoming and very polite always greet you with a smile! nothing is too much trouble for them.

The best part of our holiday was the wide range of bars/restaurants.
Again the negatives first, we didn't like were Italian, the lagoon buffet and Caribbean.

The Italian was so tasteless, we left over mains and walked out - ordered room service this was so much better! The Caribbean restaurant has a nice setting over looking the pool but the starters were cold, the mains were bland/tasteless and meat over cooked, the lagoon buffet was just not our cup of tea we food much better food at the Makadi place buffet Melange.

Onto the positives which there are so many!

For breakfast head to the Dome restaurant at makadi palace, the variety is much better than the lagoon buffet at the grand.
You could eat fresh bread/pastries/eggs/omelettes/fruit/salad/pancakes/cereals/porridge you name it they had it!
The best restaurants in our eyes are the Thai garden found at Makadi palace the food here is plentiful,fresh and full of flavor try the thai red chicken curry with noodles!

The Lebanese restaurant at grand makadi provided the biggest and best starter we had all week, the meze platter has different types of hummus and raita and fresh salad, the warm meze is stuffed vine leaves, falafel, veal croquet's and stuffed pastry full of veg/meat. The main course was well cooked char grilled meats with rice/veg and a crispbread with Lebanese salad.

The golden dragon at the makadi mall was our last meal and i'm so glad we went to the mall, we ate chicken satay to start, then we had soup, the main course....was exceptional beef szechuan with egg fried rice & veg, my boyfriend had fried chili chicken. The meal and the restaurant was so good i'm glad our last night was spent eating here!

At lunch there are various options available, you have the starfish restaurant at the grand makadi which serves char grilled meats with chips and salad, you have the sunset grill at the makadi palace which serves chicken burgers and chips, fish and chips. We found these great for a quick bite to eat.

If you like a plate full then head to the Melange buffet where there was so much choice and so much variety, fresh meats, pasta,rice,salad,potatoes,veg, fruit,ice cream and pancakes.

All in all we had a fad holiday here and can't wait to return, the beach is fab, the snorkeling from the grand jetty is awesome!

Whilst there the numerous bars such as rendezvous , joker bar all provided entertainment and a DJ and on our last night a Thursday we went to a beach party which was also a fire show (please note you have to pay for drinks but it was buy 1 get 1 free so well worth going)

Had a fantastic holiday fab weather, fab food and drink the best holiday we've had in a long time!!!!

Room Tip: ask for pool view/sea view high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Returned back on Saturday 21st, September from a two week holiday at The Grand Makadi. We were upgraded to a Junior suite on our arrival, which was great and had a fantastic view of the Red Sea. I would recommend this hotel to any of my friends & family and I can't wait to return next year. Although the hotel was very quiet, (travellers avoiding due to the recent problems in Egypt), there were no sign's of any trouble or unrest and we felt extremely safe at all times. The staff from all areas of the hotel, couldn't do enough for you to ensure that your holiday was perfect. The hotel management were also on hand and very approachable if you did have any problems, (which we didn't have).
The room was spotless and was cleaned every day to the same high standard, clean beach towels were also provided every evening ready for the next day of relaxation. The food was great and the choice was endless as was the choice of restaurants. Everyone always greeted you with a smile and a willingness to help you with anything, I would like to take this opportunity to say a huge 'THANK YOU' to each and every member of staff and management for making our holiday perfect. I am now counting down to my return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Padiham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

I have visited Egypt before a few years ago but stayed in Sharm el Sheikh. I wasn't overly keen on that area and my boyfriend wanted to visit egypt so we tried hurghada. Although the hotel is a bit worn it didn't matter to us. The hotel grounds are lovely and staff are friendly. The food choices on offer are amazing and by far the best in terms of options I have ever experienced in an all inclusive hotel. (The carribean and the indian especially!!)

You can sit by the pool and the staff will bring drinks to you - what more could you want on a relaxing holiday. I disliked being pestered when trying to go into the bathrooms round the pool. I understand you're visiting a tip culture place and I am happy to give tips but don't think you should be pestered by the cleaners when trying to go to the toilet!!

The drinks on offer weren't that great and i disliked the cocktails - very sugary!! This did let the place down a bit.

A few days into the holiday our bathroom started leaking through the ceiling - through a light. We notified reception and they looked into it. It took another couple attempts of speaking to them to get everything sorted. I know these things happen but it should have been 100% sorted straighht away as it was a dangerous fault to have.

All in all we enjoyed ourselves but I probably wouldn't return to egpyt and if I did I don't think I would return to the Grand Makadi.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Makadi Bay
0.1 mi away
The Makadi Palace Hotel
The Makadi Palace Hotel
#10 of 23 in Makadi Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 1,486 reviews
0.9 mi away
SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
1.9 mi away
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
#2 of 23 in Makadi Bay
5.0 of 5 stars 285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Iberotel Makadi Beach
Iberotel Makadi Beach
#13 of 175 in Hurghada
4.5 of 5 stars 377 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fort Arabesque Resort, Spa & Villas
1.3 mi away
Cleopatra Makadi Bay
Cleopatra Makadi Bay
#7 of 23 in Makadi Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Makadi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Makadi Hotel

Address: Safaga Road, Makadi Bay, Egypt (Formerly The Grand Makadi)
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Makadi Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Makadi Bay
#11 Romantic Hotel in Makadi Bay
#12 Luxury Hotel in Makadi Bay
#13 Family Hotel in Makadi Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Makadi Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Makadi Hotel is a lively destination with the needs of younger families firmly at its heart. There is a large sweeping beach, and a jetty that takes guests directly to the house reef where they can enjoy snorkelling in the crystal clear Red Sea waters. The large swimming pool and sun terrace offer plenty of space for sunbathing, and the children’s club and sporting activities keep the children occupied. Add a diverse choice of restaurants and it really is an ideal base for enjoying all the Red Sea has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your The Grand Makadi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Makadi Hotel Hurghada
Grand Makadi Hurghada
Grand Makadi Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grand Makadi Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.