We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good holiday - mixed review” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Grand Makadi Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Grand Makadi Hotel to your Saves list
The Grand Makadi Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Safaga Road, Makadi Bay, Egypt (Formerly The Grand Makadi)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Makadi Bay
Padiham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Good holiday - mixed review”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

I have visited Egypt before a few years ago but stayed in Sharm el Sheikh. I wasn't overly keen on that area and my boyfriend wanted to visit egypt so we tried hurghada. Although the hotel is a bit worn it didn't matter to us. The hotel grounds are lovely and staff are friendly. The food choices on offer are amazing and by far the best in terms of options I have ever experienced in an all inclusive hotel. (The carribean and the indian especially!!)

You can sit by the pool and the staff will bring drinks to you - what more could you want on a relaxing holiday. I disliked being pestered when trying to go into the bathrooms round the pool. I understand you're visiting a tip culture place and I am happy to give tips but don't think you should be pestered by the cleaners when trying to go to the toilet!!

The drinks on offer weren't that great and i disliked the cocktails - very sugary!! This did let the place down a bit.

A few days into the holiday our bathroom started leaking through the ceiling - through a light. We notified reception and they looked into it. It took another couple attempts of speaking to them to get everything sorted. I know these things happen but it should have been 100% sorted straighht away as it was a dangerous fault to have.

All in all we enjoyed ourselves but I probably wouldn't return to egpyt and if I did I don't think I would return to the Grand Makadi.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

901 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    431
    271
    131
    43
    25
See reviews for
208
479
15
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We have visited with our son of now 12 years, in August, 6 times in 9 years. It has been a shame that the troubles elsewhere have effected the whole area, as there is no sign of trouble at all.This holiday was as good as ever. Still has the most helpful and attentive staff, overseen daily by the very approachable general manager, Tamir. The restaurants are all brilliant and food is great. The snorkeling was as good as ever we saw everything from turtles to clown fish and stingrays to barracuda. As a family we cannot give enough praise to the people at the hotel who made this another fantastic two weeks. The only negative is having to come home again. So here's counting down the days until next year.

Room Tip: There are rooms at the front of the hotel which are as nice but have a less interesting view so requ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Currently Enjoying our second stay at the Grand Makadi in Makadi Bay, with Red Sea Holidays. Like many people we were a little apprehensive about coming to Egypt following the recent unrest. IF YOU ARE WORRIED....DON'T BE. Here everything is quiet, perfectly safe and the locals and staff are welcoming and friendly. As ever the standards of service and rooms are high and as you would expect, the weather is hot and sunny. Everyone who is here is clearly enjoying their stay. The staff and rep cannot do too much to ensure you have a great holiday. Which is exactly what we are going to do.
Malcolm Freeman

Room Tip: For a little extra it's worth booking a junior suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

I have just returned from a week’s holiday with my husband and are both in agreement that it was the best holiday we’ve had and we will certainly be returning again next year. We only wished we’ve have booked 10 nights instead of 7.

Although I agree that the rooms themselves could do with a little updating, I don’t think it really matters when you only spend the night in it sleeping. We had room 2056 which was bigger than my entire upstairs of my house. It was spotlessly clean and our cleaner cleaned it every day without fail. The only downside was that the pillows are VERY hard and so a decent nights sleep was near impossible and the room itself was very dark without any lights on. Almost cave like.

The staff are all very helpful and friendly and were endlessly topping our drinks up. The food was fantastic and the pool area was spotless! We were able to pop next door to the Makadi Palace and use their facilities. I personally found it to be a little impersonal and too big for my liking and it’s more focussed on the pool area, with weirdly no beach area or focus on the beach, however the food there is fantastic. We tried the breakfast there (much more choice than the Grand), the Thai and the Discovery (buffet). The Discovery was delicious! So much choice! At the Grand we tried the Caribbean (gorgeous setting…try the beef main!), the Lebanese (the food is delicious) and the Italian and ate every lunch at the Starfish beach café. Yes the Makadi is a 5* and the Grand is a 4* but I found the Grand to be much friendlier, the pool area much more spacious and as the accommodation is only 2 stories, as appose to Makadis huge tower block like flats, it felt much more authentic. Plus the Grand has a gorgeous beach area and a beach you can actually see!!

We went on a jeep safari to a Bedouin village organised by our rep (Red Sea Hotels) which I can highly recommend although it is definitely not for those that suffer with travel sickness.

It was my birthday whilst we were away and the manager of the Italian restaurant and all of his staff came out and presented me with a gorgeous birthday cake that they had made especially and flowers which was very very thoughtful of them.

The only downside to the holiday (apart from the rock hard pillows) was that it was very very quiet as the tourists are staying away unnecessarily. You are so far removed from Cairo and the troubles that it seems such a shame that the hotel, and indeed, the entire Bay is so quiet as it made for a very relaxing but very quiet holiday. It’s definitely not for you if you want entertainment.

Little tip: the snorkelling off of the pier is great but head to the Makadi Spa beach area where all of the buoys are and snorkel in the shallow reef there. There is a turtle there every morning and the snorkelling is much better. Also, don’t buy snorkelling equipment from the shop. People leave their equipment on a rack next to the beach disco area as they leave their holiday (behind the starfish café).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at The Grand Makadi June this year with 3 of my girl friends. The rooms were huge, clean and done out nicely and no extra charge for the safe (bonus!) The pool was beautiful, there was plenty of sun lounges and the beach was less than a minute walk from our room. There is approx 6 restaurants at this hotel, meaning plenty of choice! The carribean was our favourite and a must! Friendly helpful staff made our stay even more enjoyable. Holiday rep also great, we went with red sea holidays. Entertainment was okay.... The beach parties are a must for the younger ones though! I would recommend this hotel to someone who wants to get away from it all and enjoy the beautiful pool and beach :)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
burton
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

As per got scammed entering Egypt with the $15 visa that costs $22 even thou it states on the visa $15 . Got there late and it was dark walking over to catch the bus and some old dear falls down a pot hole that was a big un , she was all upset and shaken , dropped off at about three hotels before us fort arabesque and the makadi palace the last one which looked really nice then ours the grand makadi . got checked in after 10-15 mins then shown to the junior suite we had booked which was a huge room but was very dark . The bed was bigger than some bedrooms I've stopped in covered patio and open patio which was lovely shame that there was NO view really ! the main problem was the bath to say it was worn and tired seen more enamel in a gypo's smile . The other problem was the beach towels which if you left on the bathroom floor they would be exchanged every evening while you were out this did not happen so you would go to reception and they would send somebody but they always wanted a tip (do it right first time I thought)

FOOD .

The food was good ,some of it very good the Lebanese on site was lovely no sheeps head or anything like that and off site the indian was real quality and the Chinese was even better and this is all in on the all inclusive there were plenty of snack bars round the complex and the one near the jetty was nice and the bread was gorgeous and various types

DRINKS.

all inclusive drinks are never the best but from 10am till midnight ! Tis Good !!!!!


ENTERTAINMENT

not bad at night a bit cheesy but ah-ho . NO ENTERTAINMENT IN THE DAY VERY POOR.



pools were lovely main lobby cool and all in all was a cracking holiday make sure you take your snorkel and flippers some fantastic fish off the jetty


4* NOT 5*


end of july start august mid 40's day and 35+ at night

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire uk
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We booked a last min deal with red sea holidays.. they were a pleasure to deal with..
As this was our honeymoon my partner emailed the hotel to let them know it was our honeymoon and asked if possible to make our room romantic.. the hotel got back to my partner the next day to confirm they would make it a speacil stay.. when we arrived we were pleasently surprised at the size of the complex.. we sat at reception were given all inc wrist bands and were nicely greeted by staff and shown to our room.. we were upgraded for free to room 1212 which over looked a pool and the gorgeous sea.. also free late check out..
The room was lovely big bed and comfy sofa..the staff sprinkled petals on our bed and made swans out of towels.. lovely it was.. we wondered round the complex and quickly learned there was everythin you need on site. Shops. Salon. Restraunts.parties and romantic meals on the beach and free wifi in lobby..
We tried the carribean and italian restraunts foods brilliants so we booked most nights to eat here. They have a lottery for guests of the week which we were nominated with a few couples to a romantic meal on the beach it was beautiful, food was excellent..Id like to say all the staff are friendly and couldnt do enough for you. Andrew our rep provided us with a map on hurghada and general advise, there are lots of trips to go on.. we went on 3 trips. Abu our tour guide was great very knowledgable and fun to get on with..i a read review before we travelled.. saying that the staff pay more attention to the germans and not the english.. but this isnt the case we are english and were treated the same as the germans. some reviews are nit picky id say.. when we booked to travel it was the start of the protests.. we were a lil worried going.. but hurghada is safe to travel to the complex is walled and there is a security guard there at the end of the beach.. its 15 pound each for a visa.
Just want to say a big thank you to all the staff that made our holiday speacil.. we will return to try your sister hotels

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Grand Makadi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Makadi Hotel

Address: Safaga Road, Makadi Bay, Egypt (Formerly The Grand Makadi)
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Makadi Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Makadi Bay
#12 Luxury Hotel in Makadi Bay
#12 Romantic Hotel in Makadi Bay
#13 Family Hotel in Makadi Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Makadi Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Makadi Hotel is a lively destination with the needs of younger families firmly at its heart. There is a large sweeping beach, and a jetty that takes guests directly to the house reef where they can enjoy snorkelling in the crystal clear Red Sea waters. The large swimming pool and sun terrace offer plenty of space for sunbathing, and the children’s club and sporting activities keep the children occupied. Add a diverse choice of restaurants and it really is an ideal base for enjoying all the Red Sea has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Grand Makadi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Makadi Hotel Hurghada
Grand Makadi Hurghada
Grand Makadi Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grand Makadi Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.