We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great setting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Grand Makadi Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Grand Makadi Hotel to your Saves list
The Grand Makadi Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Safaga Road, Makadi Bay, Egypt (Formerly The Grand Makadi)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 22 Hotels in Makadi Bay
leicester
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

My partner and I stayed at this hotel 7th to 21st September 2012 and found the grounds and the lay out excellent and well looked after. Having been before we were well aware of Egyptian Belly could spoil your holiday so we used the local ANTIMAL, bought from the pharmacy to keep us in check and that proved to work again however I will say if you get a bad bug and most do, buy it from outside of the hotel as it is lots cheaper.
Food was good and plentiful but did find booking a real pain as the other nationalities tend to block book, we tried but were told to return the next afternoon to find bookings full for 7 days. My only gripe with this is the brochures say you can eat til 10pm...that may be true but you certainly cannot get a meal after 9pm, especially in the Makadi Mall, a great setting for entertaining and restaurants but not used to its full potential.
So food decent and plentiful, room... so so, we showered rather than bathed as the bath was awful (2207) but hey, thats not a major worry. Staff great expecially around the pool and the reception bar, plenty of sun beds even at 10am.
Would I go back? I think I am all Egypted out so no but this is no reflection on the hotel which fulfilled our needs for a quiet relaxing two weeks.
Our flight back with Monarch was spoilt with a stop over in Venice, which did not go down well with the 212 passengers but that is hardly the fault of the hotel is it?
The Grand Makadi was very good and worth the money!

Room Tip: Get a junior suite! Our friends did and it was so much better than the normal room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

857 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    405
    260
    128
    42
    22
See reviews for
194
461
13
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

What more can we say, other than we are now so spoilt when it comes to looking at other resorts and hotels!!

We paid around 60E extra to use facilities in the adjoining sister hotel, which to us, was very worth the money! You got to try out the Thai restaurants amongst plenty of others too.

Simply stunning, relaxing yet vibrant.

To say we are quite fussy and choosy, we cannot recommend this hotel high enough

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

I stayed here with my two children loved the hotel area but were very disappointed that the pools were icecold. The Sea was magnificient! Coral reef just by the hotel easy to go down and snorkeling around lots and lots of colourful fish - bathing shoes required. The restaurants and the food in general very high quality ( no stomach problems!). One very annoying thing was the tipping !!! The staff wanted tip on everything ....all the time.... Kind of took the fun away of having all inclusive.

The Red sea was the best!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Have just spent a week at the Grand Makadi (7-14 Sept) and has an amazing time. The hotel complex is huge and although we knew there were people staying in the hotel we barely saw anyone. Great considering i just wanted to relax.

The food was great. We had to use the buffet restaurant the first night due to our late arrival time. The buffet was pretty much what you'd expect but we didn't eat there again. The food in the other restaurants was amazing. We tried the Caribbean, Italian, Lebanese, French & Indian. All were great. Some of the dishes are an extra charge (particularly for the ones in the Mall) but there was at least 1 All inclusive option for each course.

The portions are quite small being A la carte, but we didn't find this a problem - it just meant i didn't blow my diet all week. For those who do like to eat a lot there's also a snack bar open most of the afternoon and afternoon tea is served from 3.30-5.30.

The hotel itself was lovely. Really spacious and well laid out. The gardens were well kept and looked great lit up at night. The rooms were a good size and decorated well.

They provide beach towels and a beach bag for your use and change them daily when they come to turn down your bed (about 7pm). It was really nice to have fresh beach towels each day.

The hotel could do with a little TLC - the grouting in our bathroom and there's some missing pool tiles - but this didn't detract from what a lovely resort it is.

The staff in resort were all very friendly and spoke very good English. They serve drinks to you by the pool and don't expect a tip, though will gratefully accept them. The only staff who did expect a tip were the bell boys who carried our bags to our room.

We booked our trip trough Red Sea Holidays (who own the hotel). The company were great. All thr tours were with English speaking guides and other English guests. They arranged everything for us, including late check out at no extra charge.

We can highly recomend the trip to Luxor and the boat trip to Paradise, both were great and we were well looked after.

The Grand Makadi is one of 4 hotels in the same complex (Makadi Palace, Makadi Spa, Sun Wing). The guests from the other hotels could also use our facilities and restaurants. We were able to use the facilities at Makadi Palace (next door). We wee told by another couple that the Makadi Spa was adults only and they had an additional 3 restaurants including a steak house solely for Spa residents.

I would definitely go back to this resort, though think i might chose the Spa next time for the extra choice of restaurants (not that there was anything wrong with the ones we had).

Room Tip: Villa 1, has it's own balcony with steps into the pool - unfortunately we didn't stay there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

17th September 2012, just returned from a two week stay at this stunning 5* hotel. This is my 4th visit to Eygpt and this has to be the best hotel so far that I've stayed in. The staff were very helpful and attentive, the food was amazing and the location of the hotel ideal for us, enabling us to walk around the bay as we wanted and not being confined to one resort. Access to the sea may be a bit difficult for those not sure on their feet as you have to walk accross old coral/stone, but if you wear waterproof shoes, available for £3 in hotel shop, its much easier, the snorkling was amazing off of the hotel beach and in fact was better than the Paradise boat trip we took. It looks as if a jetty is nearly finished which will make it much easier to access the sea. It can get a little windy as the hotel is on the headland of the bay but this is actually quite refreshing in the hot heat. You need to book each day between 1-2 pm to eat in the restaurants (not buffet) for the following evening and you may need to be flexible on when and where you want to eat, we did manage to eat at all the restaurants with little problem. There is one gentleman taking bookings for the restaurants and he visits the three hotels in the resort each day, the Grand being the last hotel. We did have a problem with our room but we were moved straight away and were given a selection of rooms to choose from with no trouble at all. As with most Eygtian hotels the evening entertainment is somewhat lacking, definately not for the younger generation wanting to party each night, but ideal for those wanting a nice relaxing atmosphere with good food and good service.

Room Tip: We went for a Junior Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We have just come back from the grand makadi, we had a wonderful time. The grand makadi was just like the pictures on the web.
FOOD- was really good so much choice. You could eat in the lagoon buffet restuarant or you could book one of the 4 restauarnts on site for dinner. You could also go to the makadi mall where there are 6-7 other restuarants which you could eat at within you AI booking. WE did not pay for any food the All inclusive options were fine. there was also 2 snack bars and ice cream and drinks all day long and as much bottled water as you like. there is a lot of talk about stomach upsets and i took along a whole load of medicines but we were fine. You have to be sensible- if the cream cake looks like its been there a while and there is only one piece left ask for a fresh one or dont eat it. just cos the cocktails are free dont start drinking at 10am - 12pm. Eat what you wnat but not because its in the AI - dont be greedy!!
ROOMS- were clean bright and spacious, as were the hotel grounds and lobby. Do walk around the whole resort visit the makadi place and makadi spa and sunworld the gardens and buildings are beautiful.
EXCURSIONS- are expensive but you cant come to egypt and not see the pyramids, although my husband and I did not go to luxor my adult children did and they said it was well worth it, as was the quad biking and desert safari.
STAFF- could not fault any of them. they were friendly, happy and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire, England
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

I've been 5* all inclusive many times, mostly in the carribean. The Grand Makadi is the rival of any of these, and the best in terms of choices and standard of restaurant. There were actually more a la carte restaurants than nights we had there (8 in total including the Mall). I hate eating at buffets and we didn't have to once as they generously don't put a limit on the number of bookings you can make which is really nice.
A number of the reviews I'd read described the rooms as tired- ours was immaculate with all the decor seemingly brand new with a huge bed and big balcony with beautifully comfy wood and leather chairs.
The pool area was lovely too with really comfy leather padded sun loungers.
Every single member of staff was exceptionally helpful and you never felt obliged to tip, although you wanted to as the service is the best I've ever come across.
We had an amazing time and hope to go again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Grand Makadi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Makadi Hotel

Address: Safaga Road, Makadi Bay, Egypt (Formerly The Grand Makadi)
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Makadi Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Makadi Bay
#13 Romantic Hotel in Makadi Bay
#14 Luxury Hotel in Makadi Bay
#14 Family Hotel in Makadi Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Makadi Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Makadi Hotel is a lively destination with the needs of younger families firmly at its heart. There is a large sweeping beach, and a jetty that takes guests directly to the house reef where they can enjoy snorkelling in the crystal clear Red Sea waters. The large swimming pool and sun terrace offer plenty of space for sunbathing, and the children’s club and sporting activities keep the children occupied. Add a diverse choice of restaurants and it really is an ideal base for enjoying all the Red Sea has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your The Grand Makadi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Makadi Hotel Hurghada
Grand Makadi Hurghada
Grand Makadi Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grand Makadi Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.