We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place to stay in Makadi Bay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort to your Saves list
SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Makadi Bay, Makadi Bay 623, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in Makadi Bay
pontefract ee
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The place to stay in Makadi Bay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2010

We have just had the most wonderful 2 weeks stay at the Sunrise Royal Makadi, at Makadi Bay in Egypt. This was a 5 rated all inclusive hotel thet lived up to its rating. We stayed there from the 29th Jan to 12 February 2010. We booked this hotel for a special occasion, it was my brothers 60th Birthday while we were there, we were a party of 4, myself and my husband, and my brother and his wife. We are in our middle fifties and we all wanted a really nice place to stay for this special occasion and the Royal Makadi ticked all the boxes. It is a very big resort with over 540 rooms. This did not affect the running or cleanliness of this hotel as sometimes when the resort is very big some things get over looked. No matter what time of day it was there was always staff cleaning wether it be the pools, of which there was 8, the gardens, which were imaculate even though it was winter there, the buildings and pathways or the rooms which were cleaned everyday. No where did we see any litter, anytime a leaf fell in the pool the pool staff were fishing them out and if anything was overlooked, the 2nd manager in charge was out there checking and putting things right, not that this happened often. The food was really nice, sometimes a bit repetative but we have stayed in many big all inclusive hotels around the carribean and other areas and this is the norm. The entertainment was good but as it was out of season being the month we stayed it was,nt bad. The entertainment team worked endlessly and all the bar staff could,nt do enough for you. If anyone say you get up out of your chair to get anything then they were there in a second making you sit down and doing it for you. Everyone was so polite and friendly.
Also the management was very approachable and mixed with the staff and holiday makers. Its not often you see the managers come out of their offices and mix let alone are willing to muck in and do things like collect glasses or clear tables.
I must give a special mention to the second in charge manager, Mr Wael Habib. I have yet to meet a more approachable man who would go out of his way to make sure your holiday was the best it could possibly be. If theres a problem he would put it right straight away. Not that we had any. Oh and he looked the spitting image of Dev off Coronation Street, he was his double i swear. A wonderful pleasant man who you saw everyday walking around the complex making sure all was well and everyone was happy.
I must also mention the staff in the round the world restraunt especially Ahmed el Sayed and Asmaa, oh and Mohmed, they were wonderful people who kept a smile on your and their faces every morning, this restraunt is a little quieter on a morning for breakfast if you don,t like the noise and hustle bustle of a big place first thing when you get up and you can look out over the beach from this one also.The hotel has 3 al a carte restraunts also, Asian, Italian and Around the world.As well as other places to eat and drink.
All in all this hotel is a must if you want to stay at a hotel where you are more than just another tourist. They really make you feel special. Mr Michael the 1st manager is a nice man who also mixes with everyone and listens to what you have to say. Both managers really care about the hotel and its staff which is important as a hotel is only as good as its managers, and the managers are only as good as its staff,
So if your looking for a place to stay in Hurghada, then look at this one and give it a try, i will certainly be going back to stay at the Sunrise Royal Makadi, it was a first class hotel with first class staff and first class surroundings. A wonderful hotel!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,961 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,755
    725
    315
    104
    62
See reviews for
1,602
1,376
60
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (919)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
powys
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2010

Late deal to Royal Makadi. We were delighted with the hotel in every way possible rooms food and service were excellent - couldnt fault it at all. Entertainment was great - the team worked very hard. Mr.Michel the general manager was very aware what his customers wanted from a 5* hotel. We shall certainly go back. We feel there are too many negative comments from a couple of years ago about serious upset tummies on trip advisor - cleanliness was very important to every member of staff. we were not ill at all.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent england
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2010

This was our sixth visit to this hotel,we always have a lovely time when we come and made to feel very welcome,at last they seem to have the main restaraunt under control,in the past there were many things not right but now the new restaraunt manager Mr Mahmoud whom they took from the italian and asian has turned it all around and he has everything under control from the staff to the service to the food,Mr Mahmoud Hassen has made such a big difference to the restaraunt we feel we need to say how efficiant,friendly and such a high standard he has,my husband runs a few very good quality restaraunts in England and has always said he would happily have Mr Mahmoud manage one of our restaraunts,at last the hotel seem to have recognised his qualities,i think the new manager of this hotel should congratulate himself in seeing this.Therefore the main restaraunt has been greatly improved by the new restaraunt manager,the rest of the hotel is still great,could do with decorating or upgrading showers as they are looking shabby.

Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birstall
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2010

Had a lovely time at this hotel. Couldn't fault anything. On arrival we were showed to our room which is a good size, a huge bed with dressing gown and slippers for our use and decorated with flowers. There was a 'fridge which had lots of soft drinks and bottle water in. The water was replaced daily, although you can get bottles of water from any of the bars so no problem here. We had a very nice balcony, good sized and private. Bathroom had a good sized shower with a seat in. Room was cleaned every day. The main restaurant was buffet style, although it was waiter service for the drinks. Food very good, lots of choice etc. 3 al a carte restaurants which were full waiter service and the food was excellent. Our favourite was the asian restaurant, then meditterean, italian been our least favourite but all extremely good. The pools were very large and absolutely loads of sun beds available. Beach also very good with lots of sunbeds although the front row nearest sea were all reserved by 8 a.m. This needs to be addressed by the hotel. All in all a very good holiday and we will be going back in October this year.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2010

A good resort, good service, friendly staff, but in as an experienced traveller the hotel is in my opinion not a 5star on international standards, maybe for Egyptian standards.

Rooms: Ok and clean, simple and kept clean.

Restaurants: Main Buffet restaurant service good, quality of food ordinary. Al a carte restaurants were in my opinion good but nothing to write home about. When the restaurant was busy, service was a bit chaotic and slow, staff friendly and helpful, but they lacked co-ordination in the busy periods.

Pools and other amenties: Clean pools and the surroundings well kept.

Beach : Ok except for the constant irritation of flies and believe me their were many some people even had fly squatters with them.

Lobby bar: Sometimes no service whatsoever, the young waiter Ahmed who was about the only one there at times did his best and worked very hard to give good service, but was under a lot of pressure.

Drinks: Quality of drinks poor, wine was of poor quality. coffee good, other drinks like cocktails were OK but ordinary

Entertainment: Ok but again nothing special some shows were good but most were not up to the 5star standard.

To conclude::: A good resort by Eyptian standards, clean, and friendly staff

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2010

I made a tremendous mistake and wrote my review for the wrong hotel - however, I just wanted to say how wonderful our holiday was at the Sunrise Royal Makadi Bay hotel. We couldn't fault it. The staff, food, grounds, beach, pools were wonderful - we liked it so much that we are returning in June with our l2yr old grandaughter. We don't often go back to the same place. It's so relaxing at the hotel - the staff can't do enough for you and the quality of food is quite good. Enjoyed visiting the a la carte resteraunts too - loved the Italian. There is plenty to do, especially the daily snorkelling. The boat trips from the beach are also recommended. Loved the glass bottom boat trip and also the trip to Paradise Island and then snorkelling. The staff on the boats are also nice and helpful. Highly recommended.!!!
Whist Players

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South of Uk
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2010

We stayed at this hotel December 8 to December 22 2009. We had a great time. We had read many reviews good and bad, our review is a positive one

Without repeating what everyone has said in the past reviews, in great detail, the hotel is clean, friendly and just what we expected. To keep this simple the staff can not do enough for your. Bela in the Pergola was fantastic, he looked after us all day, day after day. In the evenings Mohamed and Hassan in the Vic looked after us brilliantly. As did both Mohameds in the smoking part of the Lobby Bar, early evening when we played cards and later at night, when we just had a drink and a chat with the people we had met.. Mohamed also looked after us in the disco.

The Al La Carte restaurants were superb and the buffet restaurant had lots of choice, we never had problems finding food we liked.

The staff and the people we met made our holiday really enjoyable; I see Diane has already put her positive reviews on

Our room was comfortable and clean, our maid was very attentive. We were in block 10, a great location.

Yes unfortunately we both needed the doctor, my husband needed the Doctors help for high blood pressure and myself I got the dreaded stomach upset, but it was nothing the doctor could not help us with and it didn’t really stop us having a great time.

The whole experience was really good and we hope to. visit again in the near future.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort

Address: Makadi Bay, Makadi Bay 623, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Makadi Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Makadi Bay
#3 Family Hotel in Makadi Bay
#5 Romantic Hotel in Makadi Bay
#6 Luxury Hotel in Makadi Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 698
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunrise Select Royal Makadi is located in the heart of Makadi bay. The hotel is built on relaxing landscape, with spectacular avers and fine sand beach for enjoyable vacation. Distance form Hurghada international Airport 30 minutes, from Hurghada downtown 35 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Royal Makadi Hotel Makadi Bay
Sunrise Makadi Bay
Sunrise Royal Makadi Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.