We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but some problems” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort to your Saves list
SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Makadi Bay, Makadi Bay 623, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Makadi Bay
Tallinn, Estonia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good but some problems”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

My biggest problem was breakfasts. There were 2 coffee automats but one of them never worked during my 14 days holiday. You have to get into line to get a coffee but one was not enough for the full hotel. Poor machine was breaking down every 20 minutes. Several times i had to spent 20 minutes to get a coffee. Bars are opening 10 O'Clock so only coffe was in the main restaurant.
One other minus there is no real coffe in the hotel coffe is only from automats.
Second big problem was some staff not kind and even able to shouting at clients!
Rest was ok for egypt

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
royalmakadi, Public Relations Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Dear Guest

The SUNRISE Royal Makadi Team thanks you very much for your compliments.

We are very pleased that we could meet your expectations!

As we are working constantly on improving our services to meet and exceed our guests' expectations, we appreciate your comments and have forwarded them to the concerned Department Heads.

We wish you a lovely time back at home and are looking forward to welcoming you at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort soon again!

Sunny regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,489 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,435
    622
    280
    97
    55
See reviews for
1,403
1,225
48
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (820)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Another fantastic time at the sunrise,our 10th time, gets better each time, our second home. All the staff are soooooo friendly.Just one big happy family, mahmoud at the vip pool was there every morning to greet us with his big smile.food fantastic as usual chistmas was just magical.See you all again in may Natalie and all our friends in the Asian, Italian,steak house, Mediterranean.etc.Can't wait for may.If you are thinking of going just go and try it! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: High floors good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
royalmakadi, General Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Dear Guests

The SUNRISE Royal Makadi Team thanks you very much for these wonderful compliments.

We are very pleased that we could meet your expectations and proud of your comments!

We wish you a lovely time back at home and are looking forward to welcoming you at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort soon again!

Sunny regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

+ANIMATION TEAM!!!!
+Sunbed on the beach
+24hours bar
+a'la carte restaurant
+swimming pools

THE BIGGEST MINUS
First language in hotel is Russian
- Most of the cocktails tastes as TESCO VALUE vodka left for all day on sunshine
-reception not interested to help you( i have changed 2 times in same night key fob. Need to go all way to reception changed key going back to room to see that is not working again!!Again way to reception and back to room )

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
royalmakadi, Guest Relations Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Dear Guest

We would like to thank you for choosing SUNRISE Royal Makadi Resort for your holidays in Egypt and we hope that you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel.

Thank you for taking your precious time and giving us your comments. In fact as our valuable guest your opinion is very important for us as it helps us to improve our standards and quality.


We would like to apologize, if in your case you were disappointed and we will rectify the short false.

Thank you again for your time, and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in SUNRISE Royal Makadi Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

An excellent animation team at this hotel really made our holiday, John, Karem, Natalie & Marley were by far some of the most friendliest people that we met during our holiday. They would always make time to talk to us no matter what time of day. The activities that they provided during the holiday were brilliant with sports activities on the beach which were highly entertaining, as well as the pool games which were really competitive. As well as this we had football matches most afternoons and pool tournaments in the evenings which were both very good. Overall I would say the animation team are fantastic at what they do and the main reason for people enjoying their holiday. Free Wi-Fi access was disappointing and often poor as once you could finally get connected it often chucked you off after only 5 or 10 minutes, this became very frustrating. The reception staff were always very friendly and helpful and their spoken English was very good. The a la carte restaurants were superb but the main buffet restaurant was at times disappointing as it didn't cater for children or British tastes unless you were willing to try something new. Well maintained pools, beach and gardens. Would recommend to families at any time of the year. I think the animation team make this hotel what it is!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
royalmakadi, Guest Relations Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your valued and constructive comment on TripAdvisor.

We appreciate very much that you share your impressions of your holidays at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort.

As we are working constantly on improving our services to meet and exceed our guests' expectations,

We hope to welcome you soon to SUNRISE Royal Makadi Resort again!

Best regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Celle, Niedersachsen, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

I visited Sunrise Makadi hotel during Christmas holidays with my family. I've been to Egypt 6 times previously ,the hotel animation team works none stop on customer care fantastic effort to them all, although rooms are a little dated this in no way reflects the hotel-whatsoever as you only spend a short time in your room,food was plentiful and a great selection to choose
The hotel is spotless and full credit to the whole sunrise team. Al a carte gives an added choice and a fantastic computer booking in system for this.
If I was to return to makadi then this would be the hotel I would return to and we have stayed in 5 so far
Well done team for a great Christmas in a lovely friendly atmosphere

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
royalmakadi, Guest Relations Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

The SUNRISE Royal Makadi Team thanks you very much for these wonderful compliments.

We are very pleased that we could meet your expectations and proud of your comments!

We wish you a lovely time back at home and are looking forward to welcoming you at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort soon again!

Sunny regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

This was our second visit to the Royal Makadi,the first being christmas 2011. It was evident that the hotel was below capacity as they weren't having christmas eve dinner in the marquee this year but in the buffet restaurant..The smaller restaurant which we had breakfast in on our last visit was closed this time so we had no choice but to eat in the main buffet restaurant every morning.In the evenings we ate mainly in the a-la-carte restaurants which were on the whole very good if at times rushed you through the meal a bit.The staff were all very pleasant and helpful and as we had e-mailed ahead of our visit we got a room in the area we had requested.The animation team were lovely and very friendly and Marley especially was very helpful when we couldn't access the free wi-fi,which has very poor.connectivity The main problem for us is that there isn't a proper bar, only the lobby bars which are large open areas and are not welcoming or pleasant places to spend the evening. All in all it was what we wanted-a relaxing week in the sun in the middle of winter.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
royalmakadi, Guest Relations Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your valued and constructive comment on TripAdvisor.

We appreciate very much that you share your impressions of your holidays at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort.

As we are working constantly on improving our services to meet and exceed our guests' expectations,

We hope to welcome you soon to SUNRISE Royal Makadi Resort again!

Best regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius, Lithuania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

I visited Sunrise Makadi hotel during Christmas holidays with my family. I've been to Egypt 4 times already, and I was a bit worried that me and my sister will get bored as we don't do much sun-tanning.
Straight away I'll say that I was wrong, I had loads of fun, and 90% of that is thanks to the animation team. There are activities and various stuff to do for everyone, everywhere, all day, everyday. Except Wednesdays I think (We went diving, so I might have missed something). Maybe me an my sister went a bit crazy with sports and dancing, but we really enjoyed it. Animation team has a great mix of characters, all of them are a pleasure to hang out with (and work-out with :)). Among others I'd like to say special thanks to Coco, Lena, Silvia, Chico, John and Marley. Thank you very much! I'm not a very sentimental guy, but I'll for sure miss you :)
Oh, also, big thanks to trainer Mohamed who helped me in the gym. A fun memory is when I was running on a treadmill, and saw Santa Claus riding on a camel past the swimming pool :)
Now, about the remaining 10% of why I enjoyed my holiday, as normal people want to relax and not spend their vacations on a tread-mill :)) The hotel itself is huge, clean, well-maintained, and easy to navigate. Evening shows are ok, I was impressed by the Kenyan/African acrobatics show. Food in buffet was tasty (especially sweets), and there is a great selection of it. Also, make sure to book a la carte restaurants for dinner in advance, they are worth it. Bedouin and asian restaurants were my favourites. By the way, its a good idea to have a la carte dinner just because they serve much better wine.
And thats that. Beautiful holiday overall. Thanks again!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
royalmakadi, Public Relations Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Dear Guests

The SUNRISE Royal Makadi Team thanks you very much for these wonderful compliments.

We are very pleased that we could meet your expectations and proud of your comments!

We wish you a lovely time back at home and are looking forward to welcoming you at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort soon again!

Sunny regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort

Address: Makadi Bay, Makadi Bay 623, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Makadi Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Makadi Bay
#3 Family Hotel in Makadi Bay
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Makadi Bay
#5 Romantic Hotel in Makadi Bay
#7 Luxury Hotel in Makadi Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 698
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunrise Select Royal Makadi is located in the heart of Makadi bay. The hotel is built on relaxing landscape, with spectacular avers and fine sand beach for enjoyable vacation. Distance form Hurghada international Airport 30 minutes, from Hurghada downtown 35 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Royal Makadi Hotel Makadi Bay
Sunrise Makadi Bay
Sunrise Royal Makadi Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.