We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely holiday! Brilliant animation team, especially Kareem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort to your Saves list
SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Makadi Bay, Makadi Bay 623, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Makadi Bay
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely holiday! Brilliant animation team, especially Kareem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Was the best holiday, lovely food and all the staff were very helpful especially the animation team, as well as keeping everyone entertained they sat and listened to what people had to say and were so so friendly! I've got to say Kareem was my favourite, he was brilliant! Always talking to us about whatever we brought up.

Room Tip: Rooms around family pool 2 are probably best as no bars are open near that area of an evening so ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
royalmakadi, Guest Relations Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Mrs. Rebecca A,

The SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Team would like to thank you for your valued and appreciated comments.

We hope to welcome you once again in the nearest future at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi and wish you all the best!


Kindly be sure that the hotel and Hurghada is safe. Be sure that we will do our best in order to make them enjoying unforgettable holiday in our resort.


Sunny regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,439
    622
    280
    97
    55
See reviews for
1,403
1,226
48
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (821)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Al Qahirah, Egypt
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Absolutely Perfect everything was amazing ,, cheked the reviws about the resort as amazing but after i gonna there really it's the best ever.. everything was perfect rooms, resturants , the beach ,the staff .. nd the best animatiom team these guys really made our holiday especially Ghazal , boca , barbraa <3 can't wait to go back again and again and again :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
royalmakadi, Guest Relations Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Mr. SamarSamy,

The SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Team would like to thank you for your valued and appreciated comments.

We hope to welcome you once again in the nearest future at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi and wish you all the best!


Kindly be sure that the hotel and Hurghada is safe. Be sure that we will do our best in order to make them enjoying unforgettable holiday in our resort.


Sunny regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We have just come back from a weeks stay. The staff are amazing - so polite and helpful. Rooms are huge and kept immaculately clean (we had family suite - two rooms with interconnecting door.

We did have a couple of issues which we addressed with management. I am not going into details -suffice to say the have been heavily knocked by the lack of tourism due to many countries cancelling flights and holidays to Egypt and they desperately need to get holiday makers in.

The pools and beach are lovely. A constant breeze so whilst you know it's very hot, it doesn't feel it.

We would definitely revisit - something we don't often say as we like to experience different places BUT this hotel really goes above and beyond making you feel at home

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
royalmakadi, Guest Relations Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear bkent,

The SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Team would like to thank you for your valued and appreciated comments.

We hope to welcome you once again in the nearest future at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi and wish you all the best!


Kindly be sure that the hotel and Hurghada is safe. Be sure that we will do our best in order to make them enjoying unforgettable holiday in our resort.


Sunny regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Haram, Al Jizah, Egypt
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

it was the first time , i cheked the reviws about the resort it was amazing but after i gonna there really it's the best ever , sweet rooms , resturants was great and fantastic food , the main thing make our holiday the entertainment team , they never sleep , they smiling all the day make us in another planet , specialy ( gazal ) we liked his music , and playing archery with him he was very nice with us , we'll come again and again and again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
royalmakadi, Guest Relations Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Mr. Sherif H,

The SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Team would like to thank you for your valued and appreciated comments.

We hope to welcome you once again in the nearest future at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi and wish you all the best!


Kindly be sure that the hotel and Hurghada is safe. Be sure that we will do our best in order to make them enjoying unforgettable holiday in our resort.


Sunny regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Just arrived back after spending a week here with our boys aged 10 & 8.We were in block 35 in a family room which was spacious and clean. Cleaned every day and fresh towels provided. You also get pool towels provided whenever you need them so no need to take any. We spend most days around the family pool with the slides, these are turned on between 10-12 and 3-5. The boys loved these and they also spend a couple of hours a day in the Thomas Cook kids club which was great for them. The hotel backs onto the lovely beach with clear hot waters. Again, towels provided here and numerous bars to get refreshments from all as part of the all inclusive package. It was only around 40 minutes from the airport. Nice and warm every day. Great choice of food options all day long. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
royalmakadi, Guest Relations Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Cumbrianrover580406,

The SUNRISE Royal Makadi Team thanks you very much for these wonderful compliments.

We are very pleased that we could meet your expectations and proud of your comments!

We wish you a lovely time back at home and are looking forward to welcoming you at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort soon again!

Sunny regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Travelled as family of 4, including twins of 11, booked All Inclusive through Thomas Cook (first and last time). TC add nothing to the holiday experience except cost and were highly unsympathetic and dismissive when we went in a few days before departure to be told we 'were under Terms and Conditions' so couldn't cancel or re-book without penalty. All we wanted was some advice! We were enjoying ourselves on holiday so much that, after about a week, we requested the hotel quote us for next year. Not only was the price less than half that with TC but it was for 2 weeks not 10 days! The hotel staff are so attentive that you can sort out any issues or requests directly with them

Booked the 'Dolphin House' boat trip direct with Blue Wave at the beach, as recommended by other reviewers. Sadly, we had not looked at the weather forecast and it was a rough day. This did not affect safety or enjoyment but it did mean we didn't see any dolphins to swim with - a couple came close to the boat but just swam away. The boat crew tried hard but admitted it is very difficult when the sea is rough to encourage the dolphins to come and play. Do book the trip, as it is a great day out, but have a look at the wind forecast first

Snorkelling - amazing! If you think it is good at the beach in front of the resort, just walk less than 10 minutes to the left when you reach the Sunrise beach to the next beach in front of Hotel Fort Arabesque. You might get moved on by the beach manager if you try and use one of their sunbeds, but just stash your stuff with him and walk into the sea. Mask, snorkel and flippers available from the local shops at Sunrise for EGP350 (around £35) - don't let them charge you more. The silicon sealed ones are the best and provide a fantastic experience. Our twins are only just over 4' tall and, by the time they walked in up to their waist, were surrounded by dozens of tropical fish of varying breeds. If you venture out a bit further you can see barracuda, rays, turtles and more different breeds of fish than you have ever seen. It was like standing and swimming in an aquarium!

If we weren't on either beach, we just lazed around the pool or occasionally swam up to one of the pool bars for a drink. As has been said many times on this site, you want for nothing - the staff are very attentive, food great and entertainment fab. We saw no issues with security

Our most relaxing and best family holiday yet - until we return next year!

A few top tips for a self-booked holiday:

Call the resort to negotiate or agree a rate while you are there. They are honourable people and will offer you a price based on the prevailing conditions

Don't book a coach transfer - we walked out of the airport and picked up a taxi for EGP100 (less than £10). We beat the coach transfer by about 45 min and had a quick, trouble-free check-in

You might get a bit of a dodgy tummy but swift doses of Immodium/Dioralyte/Paracetamol will sort you out. We took it all with us and didn't have a problem for more than a day or so

Use skyscanner.net for your flights - keep logging on until the flights for next year are released

Room Tip: Blocks 35 - 37 have the 150 family apartments - huge for family of 4 in two separate bedrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
royalmakadi, Guest Relations Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Magoomigator,

The SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Team would like to thank you for your valued and appreciated comments.

We hope to welcome you once again in the nearest future at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi and wish you all the best!


Kindly be sure that the hotel and Hurghada is safe. Be sure that we will do our best in order to make them enjoying unforgettable holiday in our resort.


Sunny regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Well as the title says this was our Third visit to the hotel and we'd go back in a shot. We returned on 30th August after 2 weeks so were in the hotel during the very height of the recent unrest.

We return to this hotel because of the staff as much as anything. And this year was no exception

Yes there were a few issues - not caused by the hotel itself but by other guests - as as always the staff went out of the way to resolve the problems.

The food was in the main excellent, drinks plentiful. I highly recommend the Tepanyaki in the Asian - its a small extra cost but well worth it

Our daughter is a Type 1 diabetic and Coeliac and the restaurants all went over and above to ensure food was suitable for her - in fact she often ended up with the best meal ! Normally they are even able to make Gluten Free pancakes for her breakfast - and were so apologetic this year as the recent troubles meant getting GF flour was not possible

We also got invited to the General Managers dinner - if you do get invited pleased go - there is no hard sales here, its a lovely meal and they simply want to hear your comments on how the holiday has been.

The best cocktails are definitely in the lobby bar.

We used the Spa extensively - and as always had amazing massages.

Our room was massive a lovely huge family room as always - defintely worth the extra cost when you have teenagers about !

But rather than go on about the amenities which were all excellent and have been listed by so many people - I would like to mention some of the outstanding staff.

Give the amount of guests they have here I am still amazed that year on year they remember repeat guests always !

Thank you so much to Adelrahman Attallah the Assistant Front Office Manager who always goes over and above to help out with my daughters medical needs. He always makes sure our room is close to the amenities to enable her to go back and forth for injections easily. He is truly amazing and always greets you with a smile

Tarig on front desk - sorted out any small problems, always greeted you with a smile and was so helpful

The wonderful Hamada from the Laundry - service was truly excellent, and always with a smile

Mahmood - from the Family pool - Truly the BEST bar man in the world

Maradonna - (Mohammed but he will know who we mean) from the Family Pool - worked so so hard to keep the pool immaculate. He derserved a medal for the work he had to do those 2 weeks

Regula from Customer Services - she had a rough week because of the issues but was fantastic is sorting everything out for every one. Always smiling

And to the truly amazing Animation team - especially those looking after the Family Pool. These guys work so hard and such long hours , they stop to chat but never bother you if thats not what you want. We met up with a lot of people we had met last year in the holiday which meant a large group of us at the pool. Our animation team truly got "picked on" being constantly thrown in the pool. Yet they Always made sure we knew what activities/shows were on. Always had time for the kids. Always had a smile on their faces.

Names below

The wonderful Coco - who now understands what "yukky" means (sorry teaching her some english slang) she was fantastic with the kids and always telling us what was going on. Excellent English, she was truly lovely.

Mr - or as we called him Dr - Mido Brown. Excellent fun, really joined in with us all (despite being repeatedly thrown in the pool by guests). He had all the kids up dancing to the club dance and even gave them all a cd of the songs to bring home. My husband however has now come back shouting "look at daaat" to everyone

Marley - excellent Water aerobics session, my husband also said the water polo with him was fantastic, He was also lots of fun, always involving the kids. Always stopped to say Hello.

Karim - please attend some of his arabic lessons. He was so lovely, truly excellent english. Again Hubby enjoyed his water polo session as well. Always smiling and so helpful

Ibiza - Big giant of a man, who was so soft with the kids. Lots of fun, made us all get up and do some aqua (which ended up being huge fun).

These guys really go out of their way - I was particularly pleased to see them down at the family pool (whereas in previous years they have stuck to the main pool), They without doubt made a huge difference to our enjoyment and especially the kids. There were a few tears all round when we had to go home !

So as I said, yes the recent unrest meant a few issues - however I still felt the hotel stepped up to the mark.

I would return in an instant

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
royalmakadi, Guest Relations Manager at SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Mrs. Debbie Cakes,

Thank you very much that you have taken some of your precious time to post this charming review on HolidayCheck.
It is really a pleasure to read it and we are very proud to receive your respected compliments.

The SUNRISE Royal Makadi Team is looking forward to welcoming you again and hopes to meet your expectations again.

Please do not hesitate to contact us for any requests. We are happy to assist you!

Sunny regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort

Address: Makadi Bay, Makadi Bay 623, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Makadi Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Makadi Bay
#3 Family Hotel in Makadi Bay
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Makadi Bay
#5 Romantic Hotel in Makadi Bay
#7 Luxury Hotel in Makadi Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 698
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunrise Select Royal Makadi is located in the heart of Makadi bay. The hotel is built on relaxing landscape, with spectacular avers and fine sand beach for enjoyable vacation. Distance form Hurghada international Airport 30 minutes, from Hurghada downtown 35 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Royal Makadi Hotel Makadi Bay
Sunrise Makadi Bay
Sunrise Royal Makadi Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.