We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Xmas & New Year 2012/2013 FAB !!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort to your Saves list
SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Makadi Bay, Makadi Bay 623, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Makadi Bay
felixstowe
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Xmas & New Year 2012/2013 FAB !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

A little bit late but better late then never !!

Mohamed Ali Guest Relations well what can i say we have been coming to this hotel for a fair few years now, twice a year and he always goes that extra mile to make sure we have a fabulous holiday. He is a massive credit to this hotel and works none stop making sure all guests are happy.

We arrived on 24th Dec 2012 and quickly got ready for our Xmas Eve Gala. WOW what a great night it was and all the staff had worked tremendously hard to put on a fantastic night of food, surroundings and atmosphere. Chef Ayman and Chef Mohamed and the rest of the chefs and kitchen staff put on a massive display of food, we didn't know where to start first and the different choices was fab. New Years Eves Gala was much the same and of a fantastic standard. A big thank you to Mr Hashem Lotfy who sorted us out a great table for the evenings event.

The hotel has a new manager Mr Said who always said hello and asked how we were, he was making a lot of changes whilst we where there and we are looking forward to our next visit this month to see how things have again improved. Mr Abdelrahman assistant front office manager met us when we arrived and when ever he saw us he spoke to us and he also helped with our departure. Mr Salah Mahdy, night manager was also always available if we had a problem.

This is a fabulous hotel with 7 a la carte restaurants that you can use every night of your holidays, all the food in all of them is wonderful. A special thank you to Chef Ahmed Salem Mansiur of the Mexican for making us the hot wings they where fantastic. You can also get Breakfast in the Mexican. The main Buffet restaurant also has lots of choice of food for Breakfast, lunch and Evening. You can get pizza and other snacks for lunch at the Pagola Bar or the family pool at what becomes the Steakhouse on a night time.

There are plenty of swimming pools and sunbeds and the beach and snorkeling are good but the best snorkeling is at the hotel next door The Fort Arabesque.

We love this hotel and have made many wonderful friends over the years and to us it is most definitely our 2nd home !! So please book and go with an open mind a 5* Europe hotel is not a 5* Egyptian hotel but for value for money and the service and staff make it 5* plus.

A massive thank you to everybody at the hotel and we will see you all very soon. Sarah & Jim

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,959 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,754
    724
    315
    104
    62
See reviews for
1,601
1,375
60
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (918)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

This is our 8th visit to the hotel & we always return each year!
The facilities and food are exceptional and the grounds are immaculate.There are plenty of activities throughout the day and night with the excellent animation team to ensure your holiday is enjoyable. There are too many to mention but a special thanks to the 2 Mido's,Marley,Boca,Soso,Olga,John,Ahmed,Silvia and many more!
We have recommended this hotel to friends and family, who have also enjoyed their stay here.

The hotel is definitely worth its 5 star rating!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

2 adults 2 children aged 10 and 6. very nice 4 star hotel. Service and attention from staff and animation team 5 star. Rooms are spacious (family room) and well set out. Food is varied and of a high standard. All areas of hotel are spotless. Lots to do in the hotel. great value for the money we paid

small negative - only 2 pools heated which lead to bed hogging.

overall highly recommeded for families.

Room Tip: family rooms in block 35 and 36 are large and newly renovated
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

This is now our 7th visit to the Sunrise and it gets better every time. With its selection of 7 a la carte restaurants, there is something for even the most fussiest of eaters (the new touch screen reservation system in Reception works brilliantly). Yes the main buffet restaurant can get busy, but there is still lots of choice. All the staff and management are very friendly and cannot do enough for you. The Animation Team make every effort to ensure you enjoy your holiday - well done guys - Mido, Mido Brown, Soso, Marley, Ahmed, Olga, John, Boca, Silvia and many more!.
Having spoke to many experienced divers, the coral reef and fish are outstanding for snorkelling.
Our room was very clean and spacious. There are 6 pools with daily activities. There are plenty of sun beds (with pool towels changed daily) - space is not a problem. The weather was excellent, although it can be cool in the evenings.
Our perfect holiday destination. We will certainly be returning later this year!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

This was our second visit to this resort and again it exceeded our expectations. The Weather was first class with hardly a cloud to be seen all week. The staff were excellent but special mention has to be made for Sameh who works La Pergola bar. His service was exceptional and really made the holiday and one of the reasons we will definitely be returning! The hotel is spotless and the whole team works incredibly hard to ensure every request is attended to. The reception team were very helpful and this permeated through every level of the staff. The animation team creates an excellent environment with a great range of entertainment and activities. The food choice was excellent and executive chef Ayman is to be congratulated for the food that his team presents. For anyone thinking about visiting Egypt please make this your choice of venue. We will be definitely be returning for a third visit later this year!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Had a lovely stay at the SRRMB - excellent weather, good food and plenty of activities with the enthusiastic, fun entertainment team.
Buffet restaurant was bit manic with lots of choice but not our favourite place. A la carte restaurants were much better, with good service(although on our visit the Mexican was a bit like faulty towers but in a funny way) Asian was super as was t-bones steak house.
Best part of this hotel is the animation team who work tirelessly from early morning to late at night doing everything from archery to aerobics, Arabic lessons and Zumba, and evening shows and dancing til late. Many thanks to Marley who taught us all archery and Boca for being such fun-always laughing!
One negative would be the shortage of glasses at the pool bar- but all in all great holiday and would definitely return.

Room Tip: Although big resort all rooms in easy walk of everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

First of all let me say that we had a 18month old son with us so we were very picky when it came to cleanliness ! But as u can see by my rating there was not one problem !!
We stayed in block 10 , room 10122 and our cleaner was fab always fresh bedding towels ect and if we was in the room whilst he came to clean he would always take notice of our little boy which i thought was lovely as it must been hard as he spoke little english - he was a lovely man so hardworking !!
Next is the food . Well what more can i say other than 7 restaurants and all of them amazing and staff can not do anymore for you ! Especially mamhood in the childrens corner of main restaurant , he was fab !!
Pools are very clean and some heated (kids pools are lovely and warm )
Staff are all lovely polite and helpful !!
I wish i could comment on the night entertainment but i cant as we were all asleep buy 10 everynight because of our little boy but we didnt mind as the kids disco at 8 everynight was fab to watch !!
Now im going to finish with a special mention of one truly genuine lovely kind man that works at the family pool bar by day and lobby bar by night , his name is saleh ! Well what a hard working truly lovely man ! He MADE our holiday as u can imagine with a small baby we spent our days by the pool in and out all day with our little one ! There was nothing he wouldnt do for us ! Our little boy is very shy normally but took a very big liking to saleh and so did we , me and my partener cried as we drove out of the gates not because we was sad to go home but because we didnt want to say goodbye to him ! I cannot praise him enough !! Honestly if u go there and meet him u will understand !
Overall our holiday was amazing ..
We will be back the end of september an look forward to seeing all the staff again !
Adam , jess and baby ollie (mcgrath family )

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort

Address: Makadi Bay, Makadi Bay 623, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Makadi Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Makadi Bay
#3 Family Hotel in Makadi Bay
#5 Romantic Hotel in Makadi Bay
#7 Luxury Hotel in Makadi Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 698
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunrise Select Royal Makadi is located in the heart of Makadi bay. The hotel is built on relaxing landscape, with spectacular avers and fine sand beach for enjoyable vacation. Distance form Hurghada international Airport 30 minutes, from Hurghada downtown 35 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Royal Makadi Hotel Makadi Bay
Sunrise Makadi Bay
Sunrise Royal Makadi Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.