We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!!!! We will be going back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort

Save Saved
You added SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Makadi Bay, Makadi Bay 623, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 21 hotels in Makadi Bay
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful!!!! We will be going back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Well, where to start? This was a really important holiday for us as we hadn't been away for a number of years and were incredibly ready for one, so we had high expectations and we were not disappointed.

Hotel - Incredibly clean EVERYWHERE. The lobby had a grand and opulent feel as soon as you walked through the front door. All of the bar and restaurant areas were welcoming, comfortable and impeccably clean. We took along with us a bunch of hand sanitisers, but they were not needed as there were gels provided between every section of the hotel. We started to use these on the first few days but quickly realised that they were not really required due to the cleanliness of the whole hotel, needless to say, neither of us had any 'health' issues!

Room - Nicely decorated and we had everything we needed. Simple but very nice. Bed was HUGE and comfy, again spotlessly clean and was cleaned every day by our wonderful and friendly housekeeper. Mini bar was restocked every day with fresh bottles water etc. Clean towels on request and a few nice additional and personal touches were made by the housekeeper, i.e flowers in bathroom, folding bedclothes etc. Secure with a key card entry and every room has a safety deposit box.

Outside areas - Lovely maintained gardens and pathways. There was some maintenance work going on during our stay but did not affect us in any way and workers were considerate to guests. Pools were very clean and there always seemed to be somebody wiping, washing, tidying etc.

Activities - Amazing! For all age groups and there is something for everyone. We would like to personally thank the "Animation Team" particularly Kastella, Marley, Boca, John, Mando, Mido. Ahmed, Silvia, Ola, Irine and their manager Osama. They were totally brilliant, friendly, welcoming, entertaining and all spoke excellent English (along with many other languages) and we plan to keep in touch with some of them. The best thing is, that it is entirely up to the guests as to how much they get involved, there is no pressure to do anything and guests do not feel obliged to do any of the activities. It's entirely up to you as to what you want to do, however, we can recommend: Archery, and Body Workout in mornings. Tennis courts were very good and well maintained. Constantly manned and sometimes there is a need to book a court. They are also floodlit so you can play when it's cooler if you wish. Gym was very well equipped and had a really good feel about it. Very popular around sunset, so it can get a little busier around these times.

Snorkeling - Amazing!!! Was like sticking your head into the set of Finding Nemo. We were recommended to go to the beach next door (Fort Arabesque) as their reef is much better. We chose to take our own equipment as it is quite expensive to buy there however you can hire. We also took Shortie wetsuits (Jan water temps are fine for splashing around and swimming but we like to snorkel for longer periods and sometimes stay quite still. Would recommend underwater cameras. We also took an introductory dive form the dive centre iDive. They were incredibly professional and we felt were in safe hands. We had an amazing dive off the beach with Florian and would highly recommend them.

Service - 5 Star!! First rate all the way! All staff were incredibly friendly and very attentive and good at their respective jobs, but we would particularly like to highlight Ahmed in the Pergola bar, Nader in the late bar, Mosheen and Ahmed in the lobby cocktail bar. I can personally recommend the Long Island Ice Tea's even if they do get you a little tipsy quite quickly!

Food and restaurants - Right, this is probably the one you are most interested in and we can honestly say that this was probably the highlight of our holiday. I am a chef and it was great to be served fantastic food with impeccable service. We tried out 5 of the 7 A-La-Carte restaurants, and although the food in those were very good, we found that that main 'buffet' restaurant was by far the best with it's vast array of different foods, both hot and cold. There was alway two huge BBQ's going every lunchtime and evening serving up anything from marinated chicken to Soft shell crabs. Lots of different styles and flavours, some influenced by Egyptian dishes and lots influenced from UK and Europe so something for everybody. The array of 'toppings' and sauces etc meant that even the humblest of plates can be transformed into something special and you can control what you have in accordance with your own tastes. Chef Ayman Salah (the Head Chef) spent time speaking to fellow guests throughout one daytime and also in the restaurant that evening. He stopped for a chat at our table and was very keen to find out about his team's food and service, taking aboard all that we fed back to him. We would like to congratulate him personally for his fabulous food and lovely staff!

Top tips - If you travel in winter (Dec, Jan, feb) make sure you take warm clothing for the evenings as it can get pretty chilly.
Tipping staff is recommended but only a little at a time and only the people that you really bond with. We took US Dollars, but Egyptian £'s and Sterling are also appreciated.... After this, you will get even BETTER service if that's possible!
Beachwear is not permitted in the restaurants at evening sittings, but you don't have to get dressed up either. Just no boardshorts or flip flops (however, flip flops with trouser/jeans seemed fine).
No hot drink facilities in the rooms, so if you like a cuppa in the morning, take a travel kettle. There is a fridge so you can get milk and keep it chilled.
Wi-fi is OK. Works out about £9 for two days and great if you need to keep in contact with work/family.... Make sure you check your roaming cellular coverage and charges before using your phone as we used ours for around 10 minutes and cost over £20 with O2.


Overall - We cannot recommend this hotel highly enough! We will be going back and have already stared to look into possible dates and prices - Enough said!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,899 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,933
    563
    257
    94
    52
See reviews for
1143
1070
43
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (682)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

Travelled with my boyfriend for our anniversary in january and we loved every second. We had a great room in a great location(block 11), we was amazed with the quality and amount of choice in all the restaurants, the a la cartes are certainly worth booking ,our favourite was the 'arabian nights' restaurant. The staff in all restaurants were very helpful and looked after us well.

We used the family pool as this was heated and had a swim up bar, we also used the beach a few times where we never struggled to get a sunbed. The towel centers are really good and efficient.

The animation team definitely make this hotel. A big thankyou to all of the team but especially Kastella, Boca, Mido, John, Kano, Marley and Ahmed. They work so hard and we appreciated all they did for us.

Overall the hotel is definiteky 10\10 and we have already priced up to return in summer

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

first time for us and im sure not gonna be last hotel its very big and clean good rooms with all you need to have nice rest hotel have 7 ala cart restaurants start from italian ,asian,mixcan,bedouin,greece etc. staff very friendly and helpful for every one working so hard to make every body happy and enjoy the time.entertainment team were amazing nice team all of them were so friendly and have time to come to u and ask how is every thing want say thanks to mido_kastella_jogn_marlly_boca_mamdo,and all the girls really i miss you all hope to see you soon

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Just returned from a fabulous week. Impressed by the cleanliness of all areas and the brilliant attitude and friendliness of all staff. Choice of food both in the main and the al la carte restaurants was fantastic with something for everyone, although we did have a disappointing meal at the Greek restaurant. We did not experience any hassling and the staff were always extremely pleasant, even down to the gardeners. Yes the rooms look slightly dated but ours was very comfortable and kept immaculately clean. The beach is stunning and you can walk all around the bay which is something that is impossible at Sharm. The fish are not as prevalent as Sharm though so if you are a keen diver/snorkler, then Sharm would be best if you want to see an abundance of fish varieties. I'd happily recommend this hotel and would be more than happy to return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

THE BAD THINGS

Stayed here for 2 weeks.
Not a 5 star hotel as advertised by Thomas Cook
Very dated and old complex in need of major renovations
Small, dull accommodation
Sparrows live in the main restaurant,swooping down to pick up food at any opportunity and dropping faeces all over.( we were told that this had been a problem for the last 10 years)AND IF THAT WAS NOT ENOUGH to turn your stomach
Senior front office manager Mr H.L. was seen leaving the gents toilet without WASHING his hands!!!!, an educated man we assume?? are the kitchen staff taught about basic food hygiene??
Never once did we see pool staff hose down the pool sides,only rub the odd areas with an old dirty rag on the end of a stick.
Your hounded by the shop staff working on site.
All in all NOT value for money.

THE GOOD THINGS ARE

The A La Carte restaurants are good,the foods not always hot, but beggars cant be choosers.
The beach was clean.
Moustafa Hamdy and the reception team were VERY helpful at all times and very polite.
Osama and his animation team were always happy,professional and helpful.And i must mention Boca,a real asset to the team.

Room Tip: Pray, no idea they all are a bit of a walk
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felixstowe
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

The rooms are very spacious and kept very clean, the hotel itself is also very clean including the grounds. I was surprised to see that if any of the managers saw a piece of paper or any kind of rubbish on the floor they would bend down and pick it up, that would not happen here!! the food was very varied & includes 7 al a carte restaurants of which we tried 6, all was of the highest standard, If you don't want al a carte there is numerous other places to eat including the main restaurant & bbq. The hotel grounds are located right next to the beach & the awesome Red Sea which is excellent if you like snorkelling or diving, There is enough shops on the complex for your needs including a pharmacy.The staff especially the animation team are very friendly & can not do enough to help you and make you feel very welcome. They are very concerned that you are having a great time and if there is anything that they can do to improve it. Also the reception are very welcoming.There is plenty of entertainment and sports events going on at different times of the day, including Archery, Belly Dancing & Pool games.The pools are kept very clean and some are heated in the colder months.There is plenty of sunbeds around the pools and also on the beach, we never had trouble finding one.Nice big clean rooms with balcony. In the rooms there is a t.v, mini bar (stocked daily) A/C free mini safe & telephone... I would thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone & anyone who has complained about this complex, have obviously got their noses in the air!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

My family and I visited the Sunrise Royal Makadi this February to have a break from the cold English weather, On the way to the hotel our Thomas Cook rep Khalid was very welcoming and informative about everything we needed to know about our stay.
The hotel was very clean; as soon as a spillage was made someone was there to clean it up, our bedding and towels were changed everyday and the staff all work really hard, everything was spotless.

The management team were excellent and all staff from the gardeners, chefs, cleaners and waiters were very lovely.
The animation team Kano, Marley, Kastello, Mando, Zidan, Mido, Mamado and John (and everyone else but can't remember everyone's names) were very friendly and nice, they did lots of activities throughout the day and night to keep everyone amused and to get everyone involved, their shows in the evening were very good and funny also.

We booked to go quad biking in the desert whilst in the hotel and it was great fun we also saw a baby shark in the sea on one of our stops which was really cool, snorkeling was also amazing which we booked with the red sea star; just on the hotels private beach area in which we saw a manta ray, a turtle and lots of little jelly fish which wasn't poisonous as I held one after having a panic, would definitely recommend doing these activities if staying at the hotel.

The food in the hotel was average it could have been a lot better, however the catering staff did freshly make omelettes and pasta as requested. Overall the hotel is brilliant and I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort

Address: Makadi Bay, Makadi Bay 623, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Makadi Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Makadi Bay
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Makadi Bay
#4 Romantic Hotel in Makadi Bay
#4 Family Hotel in Makadi Bay
#7 Luxury Hotel in Makadi Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunrise Select Royal Makadi is located in the heart of Makadi bay. The hotel is built on relaxing landscape, with spectacular avers and fine sand beach for enjoyable vacation. Distance form Hurghada international Airport 30 minutes, from Hurghada downtown 35 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Royal Makadi Hotel Makadi Bay
Sunrise Makadi Bay
Sunrise Royal Makadi Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SUNRISE Select Royal Makadi Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.