We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Serenity Fun City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Serenity Fun City to your Saves list
Serenity Fun City
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Safaga Road, Makadi Bay, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 22 Hotels in Makadi Bay
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We spent a week here in May. Our daughter is 10 and enjoyed herself. You need to remember
that you are in a foreign country and so the food is different, no kids tv,and people try to speak in English. We have been to Egypt several times in the last few years and have always found the locals very friendly and extremely helpful, and this hotel was no different. We had a lovely room, the fridge was filled with bottled water daily. Fresh towels by the pool daily. Any problems sorted quickly when requested at reception. food was not as good in this hotel as we have had previously but it was certainly edible. There were a lot of eastern Europeans but it didn't bother us. Shuttle bus to the beach every few minutes. Food in beach bar was good. The evening entertainment is never good in Egypt so if you enjoy good stuff a night go elsewhere.
We would go to Egypt again as it offers excellent value for money and fantastic weather.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    46
    31
    29
    35
See reviews for
128
10
Solo
0
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
kent
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Was very nervous about visiting after the recent reviews, but have just got back from a weeks stay and I must say it was a much better trip than expected. First thing, this is Egypt, 5 star does not mean the same here as it does in the other parts of he world, so don't go expecting gourmet restaurants and butler service.
We normally avoid family hotels, but as we were travelling with 2 children, we booked this for the facilities. The waterpark is good fun, with the slides open most of the day and the crazy river and wave pool open certain times. The main pool area is also very big and also a good sized children's pool.
The rooms are good, cleaned everyday and have everything you need, but the air conditioning is very noisy.
The food is average, with a very limited range of snacks during the day. The main buffet is alright, but geared very much to the Russian guests. We tried 3 of the other restaurants, the Andulcian was very poor, but the Italian was ok. Definitely worth spending the €10 to go to the tepenyaki as it was by far the best meal we had there. The drink selection is very limited, and the small plastic cups are a pain.
The staff are very mixed, I think they are so used to being treat like dirt by the Russians that at first they seem very rude. Once a few realised we were English they were much more friendly.
The snorkelling at the beach is also worth doing.
This is a very new hotel and is running less than 1/2 full, once all the facilities like the snack bars and other restaurants are open I am sure it will be better. For a week it was fine, but It might drive you a bit mad for two. The all inclusive is limited, and they are constantly trying to sell you extras like fresh juice, watermelon, popcorn etc all of which really should be included.
If this hotel is going to be a hit with the English market then hey will need to change a few things, having said that, the sun shone, the pool was nice and we all had a good time.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterborough
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel for kids, loads of slides and pools to keep them occupied during the day and the funfair to enjoy at night. Definitely not a hotel I would go to if it wasn't for the kids. The food is very bland and the drinks aren't to clever either, do yourself a favour a buy a bottle of your favourite drink in duty free before you fly out. We had a family room which consisted of 2 rooms with a connecting door, the rooms were big enough for the 6 of us though not the cleanest, we found hairs in the shower on arrival and the wardrobe was very dusty.
The hotel has a sister hotel on the beach which is only a few minutes walk or there are shuttle buses, the sister hotel appears to be far superior and we used a lot of their amenities.
The beach is nice and clean and like most of Egypt the snorkelling is amazing and other than the weather it was the highlight of the holiday.

PS. If you want to eat in any of the restaurants apart from the buffet one, make sure you have some trousers with you, you be allowed in in shorts.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hartlepool
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Myself and my family arrived back in the UK on saturday and to say the least we were relieved. The fun city hotel is a amazing hotel but is severely let down by the staff and the food. Considering this is a aqua park, our first week we had to fight tooth and nail to get them to put the slides on for the children.
The restaurants at the aqua park area were all shut apart from 1 which never had any drinks for us. The main restaurant looks good but don't let this fool you. The food is horrendous to say the least. This is a aqua park andis supposed to be children friendly but serving up the food they did us we all had to live on salad and bread for two weeks.
Every english party we spoke to had sickness and dioreha which i suppose is to be expected but to have it for upto a week is a bit extreme.
I just feel badly let down by Thomas Cook as we payed £2700 for this holiday and expected a decent service for this money. I went to the jungle aqua park last december which is alos in Hurghada and that was amazing. How can two places be so different. i big thumbs down from me.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

The hotel is great but as for the staff my god they av no customer service training the food was discusting if y av children this not the all inclusive hotel for youz there was no suitable food for children, as for drinks wen there was any availible u just got basic no cocktails on offer althoght the aqua park was great only so many slides open due to the power always been out st least 6 times a day we did manage to av a great holiday as holidays r wat you make them but be warned about this hotel theres no entertainment ive bee to egypt a number of times and will not be visitin this hotel again

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Where do I start, I have never written a review before but feel very strongly about getting the message across to any family who is planning to book a holiday at fun city. Myself and 10 others including 5 children aged between 1-9 have just returned from a 2 week stay from hell!!

Good points (sorry there are only 2)

. Beautiful hotel
. Rooms cleaned well everyday

Now for the negatives.

. Over the couple of weeks starting on the 4th day of us being there all of us became ill with the worst stomach cramps ever!! Followed by diarrea and vomiting, all of our group and lots of other English families experienced this and was told it was to do with the hot weather, we paid for some tablets which cost us £20 from the on site doctor which did not work and later found out they started giving these pills out for free because so many became ill. Our 1 year old daughter started vomiting, we were encouraged by hotel to visit the doctor on site which we obviously wanted to do. After just 5 minutes of him checking her over he tried to get us to sign something but when we looked at the paper it was a signature to agree to pay 95 euros. We went to reception and asked to speak to a manager and was left for an hour waiting. staff walked past us as we sat there with our poorly sleeping little girl, eventually we went and asked again to be told they had forgotten to call him. The fact that we were all so ill ruined our family holiday.

. Food was the same every night, constantly running out of drinks and being told off by staff for filling up empty water bottles with juice??? All inclusive??

. All the staff were very very rude, no smiles or communication and very little English spoken.

. My husband witnessed a member of staff slapping children's hands for playing on arcade equipment without paying.

. Only 2 slides open everyday

. Ice cream served between 3-3.30 and was served by one member of staff using the same table spoon to scoop some ice cream onto a small cone.

. Hotel is popular with Russians and staff seem to bend over backwards for them, staff didn't seem to like any English and Russians mixing so we had separate bars, refused drinks on one occasion and got told to go to English bar.

. No entertainment for kids, very little to do so spent most of our evenings at the fair spending 1 euro per ride.

. The shops in the hotel were ripping people off, £6 for a bag of plain crisps.

The list could go on but I think I have covered the main issues. We have all come back feeling very upset, we all worked very hard to pay for this holiday and feel we paid top money for a holiday that was supposed to be 5 star and it just wasn't. Thomas cook will be receiving a letter from us soon concerning these issues.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilfracombe, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Firstly the hotel is very good looking and is what mainly attracted us to book it. The rooms were clean and were to be fair quite nice! However there was lots of things wrong with this place...
-Most of the staff did not have any interaction with us..no smiles, thank you or hello sir, madam! They were like programmed robots!
-The water slides were good but only 3 opened at a time and worked in intervals of 30 mins a day!
-The wave machine was open for 3/4mins each day!
-The staff were poorly dressed and rather dirty
-The food was DISGUISTING! For about 3 nights running pigeon was served!
-The pool was very dirty!
-No entertainment in the hotel at all!!
- The games room was 2 euros for 1 game of air hockey (or any other game) although the machines advertised 25cents
- Drinks were served in tiny plastic cups
- If you didnt want eat in the main restraunt you could eat a small piece of dry pizza from a food 'court' with only one tiny fast food outlet open
- Orange juice at breakfast was not juice it was cordial!
- If you wanted a small glass of fresh orange you had to pay 2 euro extra
- 2euros for one slice of watermelon
-If you book 3 in a room you get a z-bed which is rock hard and is harder than sleeping on the floor!
- FULL OF RUSSIANS...MOST OF THE STAFF DIDNT CARE ABOUT ENGLISH PEOPLE.
- Entertainment was in the the other hotel (3 min walk) but was still annoying as it was in russian!
Please take all of this into consideration if you're thinking about booking...we are a normal english family and we visited in half term. We expected a lot more!! We urge that no british come here as its totally not worth it! It may sound like i'm picking holes but this hotel is definatly not 5 star! We weren't the only complaining every english person we spoke to was unhappy about this place! Serenity Fun City = Serenity UN-FUN City

Room Tip: The first day is awful because there is no water in the fridge but if you tip our cleaner he'll...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Serenity Fun City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serenity Fun City

Address: Safaga Road, Makadi Bay, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Makadi Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 22 Hotels in Makadi Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Serenity Fun City 5*
Number of rooms: 585
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Serenity Fun City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Serenity Fun City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.