We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for the English” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Tia Heights Makadi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Tia Heights Makadi to your Saves list
Tia Heights Makadi
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Safaga Road, Makadi Bay, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 21 Hotels in Makadi Bay
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Not for the English”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Room
This hotel must have been very good in its heyday. Unfortunately that is long gone and the hotel is badly in need of refurbishment. We booked a Lagoon room but this was dirty and very poorly decorated. There was no hot water and we were moved to a main buillding room when we complained. But no hot water there either, staff said there was a problem with the boiler and it was affecting the whole hotel. We never had really hot water most of the time we were there.

Food
Food was below average, no salad in the evening and not even a banana for breakfast. Not up to English standards, tables were poorly laid and the whole dining experience left a lot to be desired.


Hotel management are going for the Russian market, there were only 3 English couples in the hotel when we were there. Two couples left after a few days and we were the only English left.

Staff
We found the staff friendly if you gave them a smile and thank you. A small tip works wonders. The staff are very demoralised and not keen on the Russians.

Room Tip: Main building rooms seem better maintained than others. But can be a bit noisey from bar and nightc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,050 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    384
    263
    154
    120
    129
See reviews for
358
321
20
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Big hotel, you can enjoy many facilities, beach is good, Aqua Park is nice, espescialy for the kids.
Many resturants available, the main resturant AlaaEldin is very corwded, but you can go to Safaga resturant in the third floor which is not crowded.
Food quality is average, beverages are poor, no fresh juice, low quality coffe and tea, and no varieties, for sure it is not 5 stars.
Service is OK, they respond to your problems quickly, you may not find staff to help at the resturant due to the crowdedness.
Most of the guests are Russians, many activities focused on them, like the Mini Disco for kids, it was all Russians, but still my daughter enjoyed the music.
For the money I paid it is OK, I enjoyed the vacation with no problems, my kids enjoyed the Aqua Park and the activities, however, the hotel can not reach 5 stars, it is 3 stars or maximum 4 stars.

Room Tip: I stayed in the main building, which was close to all facilities
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Beach, Aqua park & pools are extremely excellent, Rooms are average, bathrooms accessories are old need to be renewed, Food are average with low varieties, Service and staff are average..........................................

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

1- Dirty Rooms
2- Low Quality food
3- 3 Star Hotel
4- Very Ruder staff
5- Smelly Lobby
6- Crowded .
7- Expensive transportation to Hurghada.
8- AV never worked.
9- Had to wait 30 mins each time to get hot water.
10- Towels very very old, looks like ther were never washed.

Room Tip: a very big mistake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hesham D, Manager at Tia Heights Makadi, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We do appreciate your comments and we do apologize for any inconvenience you might have encountered. We do understand how you feel, and even if it is “Eid El Adhay” Time (feast time) still not an excuse to your perception of service in the hotel.
I assure you that we are taking all corrective actions to improve service delivery in all area mentioned in your email. I would appreciate your kindness of letting me know which room stayed in and which restaurant you ate because it will help us identify specific individual of staff who need training. As for the Taxi cost for Hurgada it is very competitive to this area and all surrounding hotels are charging the same if not more. I personally would like you to come back and see all improvement and see your concerns addressed. I am looking forward to your response. And have a very good day!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giza, Egypt
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

The hotel has some excellent facilities mainly the beach and aqua park. A lot of fun for the kids. Issues are with the quality of the rooms finishing which is very poor for a 5 star, especially the bathroom. Service is another issue. I was there during Eid holidays and not enough staff are there to manage the hotel and the staff that were there were not very helpful. I was staying in room 1180 which had no sunlight come into it so I don't recommend. For some reason, they allow parents to hire motor cars for their kids which you then find in the middle of the hotel with uncontrolled kids hitting guests and things. On the last day, they put better control but this is definitely a danger hazard, especially for kids. Food is ok. They focus on quantity rather than quality. Overall, I don't see it anywhere near other 5 star hotels I stayed in on the Red Sea.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hesham D, General Manager at Tia Heights Makadi, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for your feedback and your opinion. Yes we do have great Hotel and Excellent Aqua Park and we do get great comments because of that. As for your opinion about the room, I would to say that you have acknowledged that you were in the hotel during the Eid time which was very busy as you know. And that what made appear so crowded with kids. As for the rooms we have started room renovation since a while and we are working diligently to finish these rooms soon. I assure you in your next visit you will have a very positive experience and your kids will enjoy the Aqua Park even better as well as the food offerings. We do pride ourselves of being innovative in the food and beverage area and it is a continues improvement process. Again thanks and have a very pleasant day!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Had a bad experience with this hotel. I booked 2 large suites (1 king bed + 2 separate beds) for the family and myself. Realized they booked us in 2 very poorly furnished apartments above the diving center, where they had a very noisy compressor right below my apartment.

Wasted a day of my vacation trying to get my money back, after a long negotiation they moved us into 4 double rooms, which was acceptable. Wasted another morning checking out to another hotel.

To be fair however, the food, amenities and kids activities are good considering that you pay around 550 EGP per person per night (all inclusive).

All in all, I wouldn't recommend this hotel the reception staff was not professional and not honest. I will avoid dealing with them in the future.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hesham D, General Manager at Tia Heights Makadi, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
I would like to apologize for any inconvenience you have encountered in our Hotel. We definitely would love to have you back. I thank you for your comments which we did address with the front desk if that was your perception of how they handled you. We are taking our business seriously and thanks for mentioning that we do have a very good Food and kids’ activities. The location of your room was unfortunate and we have tried to move you to another location; as you were aware during Eid Time our type of rooms requested is limited and perhaps our solution did not fit your expectation. I would like you to give us another chance to prove to you that we have addressed the noise level and assure you outstanding experience.
Thanks again and have a great day!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We were in Tia Heights last October as a couple. The location of the hotel is excellent, the Makadi Bay is less crowded and more untouched than Hurghada because the Makadi Bay was established only 10-15 years before when people already realized that tourist go to Egypt in order to enjoy the view of corals. Therefore corals should not be uprooted like Egyptians did when building hotels on the Hurghada seaside 30 years ago.
There is a huge coral relief if you swim a bit further right at the beach of Tia Heights. If you visit other hotels' beaches next to Tia (the more exclusive ones in direction of Hurghada) you can find corals right at the seaside if you enter the water.
We already experiences on our round trip on the Nile and in Cairo/Luxor/Aswan that the definition of stars in Egypt is different from our European (or American) expectations. If you would like to get a 3-4 star quality service, you should go to a 5 star hotel in Egypt and even then the cleanliness might not fulfil your expectations.
The food is okay but after a week a bit boring.
The pools are very nice but we rather enjoyed the sea and the beach. We got this offer as a last minute for a reasonable price so I was satisfied with this choice.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hesham D, General Manager at Tia Heights Makadi, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for your comments. It is very objective comments and I really appreciate your feedback. We do have new team members in our management crew including myself and we are all committed to rais the par level to the merican level. Our Hotel has enjoyed many positive comments and recently we have seen good improvements in all teh feedback from different nationalites. I do assure you in your next level you shall see us approaching our business in better way. Once again thank you and have a pleasent day!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tia Heights Makadi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tia Heights Makadi

Address: Safaga Road, Makadi Bay, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Makadi Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Makadi Bay
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Makadi Bay
#16 Luxury Hotel in Makadi Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tia Heights Makadi 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1044
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Egypt's spectacular Red Sea coast, TIA Height's large resort is ideally situated on a stretch of sandy beach in Makadi Bay. The hotel faces the magical waters of Egypt's Red Sea, nestled between desert dunes and breathtaking mountain ranges. The bay provides a superb location for scuba-diving and snorkeling. Built over 250,000 square metres (in a total surrounding area of one million square metres of land), this five star resort boasts a 6,400 square metre swimming pool that is considered the largest pool in the Middle East. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Tia Heights Makadi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tia Heights Makadi Hotel Makadi Bay
Tia Heights Makadi Bay
Hurghada Le Meridien
Meridien Makadi Bay
Le Meridien Makadi Bay Hurghada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tia Heights Makadi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.