We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return visit.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tia Heights Makadi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Tia Heights Makadi to your Saves list
Tia Heights Makadi
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Safaga Road, Makadi Bay, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 21 Hotels in Makadi Bay
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Return visit.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

This was the second time that we have stayed at your hotel, we enjoyed the experience so much the first time that we wanted to return. We stayed in March 2011 and at that time there were very few people, and no Russians. This time the majority of the clients were Russians.
The staff provided an excellent service, to name but a few, The Safaga Restaurant, Ibrahim, waiter, M de Moddther, Chef made our stay very enjoyable, the tall Chef who prepared the omelettes was also very good. Safaa, the bar attendant was excellent, always remembering our drinks and replenishing them when empty. The waiters at the Caravan beach restaurant and bar staff were very friendly too. One of them recognised us from last year and was very welcoming.
The staff from the beach towels also very friendly and helpful, Ragab and one who wears Basha tee-shirt.
We were allocated a room in main building, but unfortunately was near the Docker Disco, we asked to move and were given a choice of 2 other rooms, and was very happy with room, near to pool and beach. The room was clean and tidy, We requested a tea try and that was provided. We had a couple of problems with the room, trip switch went and door wouldnt open but both were fixed very quickly.
One area that needs to be updated is the Main reception toilets, the ladies, doors wouldnt lock and lights were broken. I did report that and the light mended but not the door locks. I left a note in suggestion box.
We went to the aqua park as it was included in our stay, it was excellent apart from the very loud music, far too loud, you could not get away from it. Also there are ledges within the pool which are not obvious and i fell over a couple of these, perhaps white lines could be put on so that they are visible. Also at the top of the slides they need a non slip mat, or grab rails as my partner fell and hurt his shoulder.
All in all I would love to return here again, and bring my grandchildren. I preferred the temperature in March 25 - 33 deg, this time it was 38 deg and did not cool down in the evening. Far too hot for me, but that is a personal thing.
Well done to all the staff for making my stay so enjoyable.
Personally I found the Russians quite rude to the staff, and they tended to overload plates of food, then leave them also they do push in. We understood that the owner was in Russia promoting the hotel, perhaps he ought to come to England and promote it here too, and offer discounts as Russians get.

Room Tip: Main building rooms are very good but avaoid near main reception area/dockers, Friends stayed in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,050 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    384
    263
    154
    120
    129
See reviews for
358
321
20
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wareham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

I am a travel agent from the UK and thought this hotel does not warrant a 5*. The food was very repetative but thats All Inclusive for you and is definatly geared towards the Russian Market no matter what management say us Brits do not eat potatoes and spinich for breakfast, even so we always managed to find something to eat and what we had was very good. No tummy bugs at all. Because we were british we were treated like princesses and the staff and service was fantastic,apparently the staff dont like the russians as they are very rude. I did find this too they like to push in and are very moody, but we just ignored them. The beach and pool were amazing. The spa needs to be updated big time something out of the 1970s but the massages we had (we had 3) were brilliant. Dont have a mani or pedi it was terrible, she had no idea. I will deinately be going back with my family. As the pool, beach and service made our holiday.

Room Tip: we stayed in a lagoon view room, this is NOT a pool view room. It had pretty views and was close t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZakHassanein, Ex.Assistant General Manager ( Ex.Le Meridian ) at Tia Heights Makadi, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear Emma f ,

Thank you so much for your positive comments and also that you have enjoyed your time with us . Our entire team try daily very hard to satisfy all our guest and ensuring that you have a wonderful vacation with us, and we are so happy to read that we succeeded to exceed your expectations!

We hope to welcome you back soon again in Tiaheights Makadi !

Please do not hesitate to contact me at anytime on:

zakaria.hassanein@tiaheights.com

Kind regards

Zakaria Hassanein

Ex.Assist. General Manager
TIA Heights Makadi Bay
PO Box 321 south Hurghada
Tel: +20 (65) 3590590 Ext 77001
Fax: +20 (65) 3590595
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorrington, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

Had a great time, beautiful surroundings very clean hotel. Only two concerns owners family runs a muck on a quad bike on the path ways which is very worrying as he is young a dangerous and has no regard for little ones running around. Staff are afraid to do anything because of who the boy is, this goes on til late at night so the noise and the pedestrian ways are something to be careful of. Food was nice plenty of it but cold to warm only .

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

I've just returned from Tia Heights, and all i can say is that the hotel shold have 3 stars, max. The service is verry poor, the rooms are not clean at all, the food is bad, not mutch to chose from and the staff is not friendly at all. I wouldn't go there even again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZakHassanein, Ex.Assistant General Manager at Tia Heights Makadi, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear Raluca ,

Your review following your recent vacation at Tia Heights is unfair , We try so hard to ensure our guests feel that they are in a home away from home hence the reason why we are successful in attracting a great deal of repeat guests who become our firm friends. I noticed your comments regarding the whole services of the Hotel are not right, because we have a lot of good previous reviews and you can reed it in Tripadvisor.
I have one question? why you did not feed back us all of your comments before you leave the hotel , it will be helpful for us and we would do our best to satisfy you .
I hope to meet you again in the future when you have the chance .
Thank you and best regards .
Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

We stayed here end of August/Septemeber 2012, generally most things are good but little things let it down especially outside and everything is catered towards russian guests:

The kids club and mini disco/films are nearly all in russian if you speak any other language you are pretty much left out to fend for yourself which is difficult when you have kids

The food is general all inclusive stuff rice pasta potatoes e.t.c not excellent but generally ok we went to the italian a few times (had to pay) but made a nice change as it does get repetitive.

The beach and sea are fantastic great for swimming and snorkelling e.t.c the swimming pools are also good however the drains round the sides were very dangerous which needs looking at:
The Aqua park was also very good and included in our package and is great for kids and adults:


The staff were generally good restaurant staff especially look after you very well i personally thought the animation team was pretty poor and compared to other holidays didnt seem to do much apart from what they had to:

As many other guests said on this forum 90% of the people there are russian (or russian speaking) very few spoke english so interaction with other guest it pretty low and hardly any British Families there:

Generally the hotel was good but little things let it down personally dont think it is a 5* more like 4* but value for money was pretty good and the weather was fantastic and gained a nice tan!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZakHassanein, Ex.Assistant General Manager ( Ex.Le Meridian ) at Tia Heights Makadi, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear Lee Holand ,

We are so happy to read that you have enjoyed your vacation with us; such positive feedback reassures us as a team that we are on the right track and keeps us motivated for the future.

As our guest, you can eat in all our restaurants and a la cart restaurants on the beach too .
It could be happened during all European countries has holiday, that some nationalities more

than others in house, but during your stay we had another nationalities not only Russians .

We hope to welcome you back soon again and wish you all the best for the future!

Please do not hesitate to contact me at any time on

Zakaria.hassanein@tiaheights.com

Kind regards

Zakaria Hassanein

Ex.Assist. General Manager
TIA Heights Makadi Bay
PO Box 321 south Hurghada
Tel: +20 (65) 3590590 Ext 77001
Fax: +20 (65) 3590595
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, England
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We have just had a lovely week at the Tia Heights hotel. Overall we couldn't fault the hotel but we did end up at the supermarket most nights buying crisps as the food was not great!
The reception area was very clean and staff fine. Pool was huge, warm and clean and we never had a problem getting a sun bed in the area we wanted. The beach was very close to the hotel and the sand was soft and clean, again no problems getting a sunbed. The sea was as warm as a bath and was very shallow for quite a way out so would be ideal for children. A small swim out took you to some coral reefs where you could snorkle with colourful fish. There were plenty of watersport options available at the sea if you wanted to pay for them. We didn't go to the waterpark as we had the All Inclusive light package which did not include entrance so check this before you book if the waterpark is important to you. We could have paid 20 US$ a day per person to go to the waterpark.
Now to the restaurants and trying to be objective. There were very few Brits in the hotel and so we wondered if they catered for the food tastes of there target market (Seemingly Russian). Food was very repetitive and it was a lot of rice and stews/casseroles and peas were put in everything it seemed. We are not fussy eaters but in the heat just did not fancy this type of food. Salads were dismall and never fresh prawns or something light to go with it. You often had to clear a table to eat at as the clearing was not seen as a priority. Very little fresh fruit which was surprising and chips served just twice the week we were there although you could always buy them! There is a hidden 3rd retaurant upstairs which was quieter it seemed.
We had a Dune room which was huge, well cleaned, Queen size comfy bed and air conditioned.
All in all we had a great time but food not to our taste and we are not fussy English who only want chips and English food! At airport expect queues of over an hour to get through securityor pay £10pp to the man carrying the VIP person sign who then takes you to the front of the line.

Room Tip: We had a Dune room and couldn't fault it. From the tarriff on reception it seemed pretty low dow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZakHassanein, Ex.Assistant General Manager ( Ex.Le Meridian ) at Tia Heights Makadi, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Tha11and ,

Thank you so much for your positive comments and also that you have enjoyed your time with us .Our entire team try daily very hard to satisfy all our guests and ensuring that you have a wonderful vacation with us, and we are so happy to read that we succeeded to exceed your expectations! Regarding the food we have a lot of different restaurants ( Italian , Sea Food , , Steak house , Chinese and Lebanese ) beside the daily changeable buffet in the main restaurant .

We hope to welcome you back soon again in Tiaheights Makadi bay !

Please do not hesitate to contact me at anytime on:

Zakaria.hassanein@tiaheights.com

Kind regards

Zakaria Hassanein

Ex.Assist. General Manager

TIA Heights Makadi Bay
PO Box 321 south Hurghada
Tel: +20 (65) 3590590 Ext 77001
Fax: +20 (65) 3590595
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egypt - Cairo
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Very good hotel
Swimming pool very good.
Animation team very nice.
Location is fantastic .
View from room very good.
Room is very nice.
Food is not bad and not good!!
Snacks is good.
But this hotel need to add more activites for kids also I was not happy because I have to charge for the aqua park.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZakHassanein, Ex.Assistant General Manager ( Ex.Le Meridian ) at Tia Heights Makadi, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear Mr.Heshambek

Thank you for your positive comments and also that you enjoyed your time with us and our animation team. Our entire team try daily very hard to satisfy all our guests and ensuring that you have a wonderful vacation with us, and we are so happy to read that we succeeded to exceed your expectations!
It would be our pleasure to welcome you and your family back soon again in Tiaheights and we wish you all the best for the future.

Please do not hesitate to contact me at anytime on:

zakaria.hassanein@tiaheights.com

Kind regards

Zakaria Hassanein

Ex.Assist. General Manager
TIA Heights Makadi Bay
PO Box 321 south Hurghada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tia Heights Makadi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tia Heights Makadi

Address: Safaga Road, Makadi Bay, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Makadi Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Makadi Bay
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Makadi Bay
#16 Luxury Hotel in Makadi Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tia Heights Makadi 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1044
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Egypt's spectacular Red Sea coast, TIA Height's large resort is ideally situated on a stretch of sandy beach in Makadi Bay. The hotel faces the magical waters of Egypt's Red Sea, nestled between desert dunes and breathtaking mountain ranges. The bay provides a superb location for scuba-diving and snorkeling. Built over 250,000 square metres (in a total surrounding area of one million square metres of land), this five star resort boasts a 6,400 square metre swimming pool that is considered the largest pool in the Middle East. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Tia Heights Makadi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tia Heights Makadi Hotel Makadi Bay
Tia Heights Makadi Bay
Hurghada Le Meridien
Meridien Makadi Bay
Le Meridien Makadi Bay Hurghada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tia Heights Makadi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.