We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tenth Visit to Egypt for Xmas.... Go & Enjoy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Makadi Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Makadi Spa to your Saves list
Makadi Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Safaga Road | Makadi Bay, Makadi Bay, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Makadi Bay
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Tenth Visit to Egypt for Xmas.... Go & Enjoy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

We have just spent our tenth visit in Egypt, we have visited many different hotels and resorts over the years, Sharm, Marsa Alam, Taba etc, we have visited the Grand Makadi two years for Xmas and watched the Spa being built so were looking forward to spending a Xmas there.
The hotel is beautiful and spotless, and the suites are well kept and large with a huge balcony, had a bit of a problem when we drained the bath as water flooded all over the floor but had a word with the room steward and the next day it was sorted, there is also a minibar in the room which has two beers, one bottle of 7 up, one bottle of Fanta Orange and coke which are replenished daily, remember to leave your empty bottles on the top of the unit above the fridge or they might miss filling the fridge up. We didn’t bother trying the Makadi Mall as you have to go to the Sunwing between 1-2pm daily to book a table there so we just tried the buffet (very good choices and we are fussy people), the Asian (we went there 4 times the food is excellent, one of the best restaurants we have ever been in Egypt given the limited menu high praise is deserved here), the Spanish (not impressed with main course but the Tapas was great and you can have as many as you like), the fish restaurant (this was not good, we both ordered the fish and chips and were given three pieces of curled up barely cooked mush, the chips were frozen, needless to say we walked out in disgust and returned to the buffet!, we were sure someone would contact us to ask why we were not happy but nothing, so quite surprised on this score, The General Manager Gerard Hansen is seen drifting around the grounds on an hourly basis, and I have to say it looks like he doesn’t miss a thing and definitely takes an active hand in geeing things up where needed, however I did feel as General Manager that he could interact with the guests more? Bars – the Tapas bar is open until 11pm however it was empty most of the time, the Animation Bar which is where most of the entertainment takes place is open until midnight although we only seen entertainment three times in two weeks, the garden bar was opened on Xmas Eve which is lovely and outside but watch out for the mozzies this is open until 11pm, the lobby bar is extra charge and 24 hours but was pretty much empty most of the time, although we did buy a bottle of 7 up and they charged us $8 dollars!! Yikes!!....I would like to point out that the bar staff are fantastic and really look after people, special thanks to Ashley Cole, Osama, Mohammed x 3, also the waiters in the World Buffet & Shimmers are a credit to this hotel they really work hard and take care of people.The Pool ~ if this was heated it wasn’t heated enough when we arrived and was freezing, the sea was warmer… however toward the end of our two week stay it seemed that they worked out that any hot water was being sucked out through the grids, once these were turned off the warm water gradually heated the pool up and it was lovely and relaxing, however like other reviews have stated the bottom of the pool is a disgrace and the tiles are popping up everywhere and it also could do with a good clean..
Xmas – Xmas is celebrated on Xmas Eve, there was a huge buffet in the World which was included in the price of the holiday, however should you wish to dine alacarte there was a charge for the oriental, Tapas, fish/steak which ranged from 35 Euros pp to 75 Euros pp, not that fully inclusive, plus they made the animation bar extra charge for drinks along with the lobby bar so the only bars included were the tapas bar and the garden bar which both closed at midnight, they did mention they were serving gluwein on the beach but I doubt many would have gone down as it was cold and of course extra charge, I kind of felt that this was a bit of a money making exercise as we had already paid once so why do we have to pay again? All in all we did enjoy ourselves immensely and met some lovely people however British guests are definitely in the minority these days and the hotel has more Russian and German clientele. I doubt we will return as stated this was our tenth visit to Egypt and we are looking toward the Caribbean in the future as there is precious little difference in the price now, however if you do fancy a week in Egypt at Xmas I would highly recommend this hotel out of all the others we have stayed in, however please remember that this is Egypt and their idea of a 5 star is not the same as a 5 star in some countries…. if you have any questions please feel free to message us.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    372
    134
    61
    12
    5
See reviews for
38
408
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

Just spent Christmas at the luxurious 5 star makadi spa hotel and certainly shall not be returning. If you have experienced 5 star in other resorts you will be disappointed! These stars have been awarded on facilities not standards, the hotel is run down, shabby and in ill repair.....strange as it is still under construction and the spa not yet open (upon booking was meant to be). Dumb struck by the total incompetence of senior management, a kin to watching Faulty Towers when politely asking why basic things such as why the steak house has no steak (yes that did happen!) Mr Gerrard Hansen has absolutely no interest whatsoever in speaking to guests and cannot maintain eye contact, maybe this is because he knows the hotel isn't up to standard.

Will be posting photos of disgusting toilet facilities, flooded bedroom, coffee cup (minus broken handle) being used as sugar bowl, broken sun loungers & parasols.

Got to be said though that the bar/housekeeping staff were extremely hard working and that the comments I'm making are about 5 star standards. Walk around with sunglasses on and a gin & tonic in your hand and you could possibly see the a rose tinted view....go easy on the tonic!!!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

I have stayed at the Makadi Palace twice before and wanted to try the Spa having had a little tour when I was here last. The rooms and buildings are lovely and there is a good choice of restaurants outside of the buffet if you use the facilities in the neighbouring hotels. My comment on the restaurants in the Makadi Mall are that the portions are so small it's quite funny. We had to visit the buffet after our dinner in the French restaurant because we were starving. It's all tasty there just isn't enough of it.
The staff are very friendly particularly the outside coffee server at breakfast and the evening waiters in the buffet. The need to tip for everything gets a bit tedious after a while, especially the guy who knocks every afternoon to bring you clean beach towels, that is his job after all and he doesn't do anything other than that? It doesn't spoil anything though.
One last comment, the spa is apparently still under construction and they said that when I came for a look around. 2 years ago? Seems a bit strange because at the moment, whilst it's a nice hotel there's nothing here that makes it a 'spa'.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

We've just had a fantastic holiday at the Makadi Spa hotel in Egypt. It was our third stay at the hotel, and it just gets better and better! You have a fantastic choice of restaurants, we tried
about 20 different ones. You are honestly spoilt for choice. Our favourite ones were the Thai
Garden in the Palace, Leonard's is great for lunch, the Asian in the Spa is outstanding.
All the staff at the Spa are very welcoming and helpful. 6 of us went this year, and we are
all hoping to go back again next November. My wife and I are even looking at going back
in March. A special mention should go to Gerard Janssen (Hotel manager), Mohammed
Salah (Beverages manager), Mahmoud (Pool boy), Ahmed (Tapas bar), Wagdy and Salah
(Lobby bar), Amr and Ibrahim (Thai garden) and finally Mohammed (Botanical) - many
thanks for making our stay special. See you all again next year. Salaam!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

Another amazing holiday at this beautiful hotel. Fantastic Management and Staff. If you are looking for a beautiful hotel with a touch of luxury then look no further. We ate in over 20 different restaurants and had some fantastic food. Our favourite places were the Asian, Tapas, Thai Garden and Tam Tam.
The pool was cold but if you just jump in then you are fine. Snorkelling off the jetty was really good, saw some amazing fish and a very large turtle.
Special thanks must go to Gerard (Hotel Manager). Mohammed Salah (Food and Beverage Manager), Mahmoud (pool boy), Wagdi (lobby bar), Amr (Thai Garden, Restaurant Manager), Mohammed (pool bar) and Mohammed (Botanical Garden Restaurant).

We will be going back in March.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

If your like me & enjoy a quiet getaway then look not further. The hotel is beautiful (not quite finish but you won't spoil your stay )

If you book the Makadi spa you can have your meals at all the A la carte restaurants the Red Sea Hotels of Makadi.

All suites are stunning & well equipped. Lovely big bathrooms, huge bed, large corner sofa & flat screen tv.

Staff can't do enough for you & will go the extra mile.

Pool towels are provided & they call round every evening to change them for you. They even provide a beach bag for you to use.

I would definitely go back

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

We spent two weeks here 1st-15th November 2013 .Really wonderful hotel and beautiful surroundings.Even thou it is not complete just yet still very beautiful .
We had room 6210 over looking Infinity pool ,lobby bar and sea .The room was spotless and cleaner did a great job every day .
Fresh beach towels every day .
World restaurant brilliant ,food and service there great .
Asian restaurant also great .lobby bar for afternoon tea and cake nice.
Shimmers ,steakhouse fish and poolside food bars only served hot food warm .
Pools were freezing cold.
Waiters most were wonderful cheerful we only experienced 1 rude waiter at the poolside bar who was dealt with very swiftly by the manager .
Red Sea excursions were really good ,especially the trip to the Bedawaya ? With Abu .
Red Sea reps Andrew,Remond and Abu brilliant .best reps I have ever came across.
A must is snorkeling .Rooms do not have kettles. Take plenty of mosquito repellent .

Room Tip: 6210....6212,14,16,18 all have excellent views .
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Makadi Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makadi Spa

Address: Safaga Road | Makadi Bay, Makadi Bay, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Makadi Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Makadi Bay
#4 Romantic Hotel in Makadi Bay
#6 Luxury Hotel in Makadi Bay
#9 Family Hotel in Makadi Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Makadi Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideal for couples wanting to enjoy time together, this top quality boutique hotel is unrivalled for its standard of accommodation, cuisine and service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Makadi Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Makadi Hotel Makadi Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Makadi Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.