We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent golf in a fantastic setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Steigenberger Makadi Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Steigenberger Makadi Hotel to your Saves list
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Madinat Makadi, Makadi Bay 178, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Makadi Bay
Vilvoorde, Belgium
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent golf in a fantastic setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We booked the hotel for its nearby golf course. The idea was to prepare the upcoming golf season in Europe and with the help of the Golf pro Mohammed this was done in a very efficient way (remarkable coaching skills, so I was impressed by the pro!).
The hotel itself was fantastic: nice architecture, good food, very friendly staf. The swimming pool was an oasis for calm relaxation (less noice than the beach). The rooms were excellent and in our case with a terras overlooking hole 18.
At the end of the week when I played the 18 holes together with another golfer who I got to know during the week, I did better than my handicap which was amazing (thank you Mohammed).
I am already looking forwards to next year, in the same hotel, as a start of the next golf season.

Room Tip: Choose the golf course side if you are into golf. Views are better on higher floors (3-6)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    25
    6
    1
    3
See reviews for
12
215
8
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

If you want peace & quiet then this is your place, we just needed some sunshine & relaxation to recharge our batteries and that is what we got !! if your looking for a hotel with any nightlife then go elsewhere.
We arrived at Hurghada airport and as you go into the arrivals go to the left and get your visas from the banks, its a lot quicker and cheaper AND you don't have to queue. Our transfer company was Sun International (booked through Travel republic) we got to our hotel without any hitches and went to check in, where we were told that we was at the WRONG hotel, we were at The Steigenberger Golf at El Gouna !! the guys at the check in desk were lovely and rang the transfer company countless times to try and get us taken to the right hotel, after sitting there for over an hour ( we wasn't offered a drink or anything which we thought was a bit naff) the same guy that took us came to pick us up, he said "I'm not happy, I was at home", to which my reply was were in a foreign country at the wrong hotel which YOU brought us to, how do you think we feel ? we were then bundled into his car again & he went on the highway and drove at 160 kpm, to say I was pooping it was an understatement !! we eventually got to our hotel and I could have cried, the man on reception ( sorry I forget his name) was lovely, the drink on arrival and cool towel was very welcome, check in was quick & smooth and we were shown to our room, which was gorgeous, and our cases were brought about 5 mins later, and a knock at our door was one of the men from the restaurant bringing us a light meal as we arrived so late.

Restaurant Breakfast & Evening meals only
The meals are beautifully, cooked but there is not a lot of choice, but this is a small hotel. But we found something lovely to eat for every meal. The staff are very attentive and Alaa even had our table ready for us before we got there, everyone greets you with a smile.
Room
Our room was gorgeous, the bed was huge, and the bathroom was big as well. The balcony had a sea view and was lovely to sit out on in the evenings (except for the mossies). cleaners came in and cleaned everyday, and also in the evenings they came in a turned the bed sheets down for you. Fridge was filled everyday, soft drinks were free but the beers you had to pay for, which seemed a bit silly to me as they are the same beers you get at the bar on All Inc ! The only thing I can could find fault with was that there want enough plug sockets, for the things we needed to charge.
Pool
You are greeted with a huge smile from Yasim at the towel hut and that is how he is all day, polite, smiling, and nothing is too much trouble for him, he takes you to whichever sunbed you want, and we didn't find a shortage of them, lays your towels out for you then goes to get you a drink, now that's service !! the pool was lovely and cool but not too cold for the 34o weather, the gym and spa is also by the pool, the salespeople from the spa took no for an answer and left you alone, there is no entertainment by the pool, just music playing low in the background which was just right, there are sunloungers at the edge in the pool but I found them to be quite uncomfortable. The restaurant by the pool serves lunch and there is a nice choice and you can have something different everyday,serving everything from pizza to seafood.
Bar
Michael Ateef at the bar works tirelessly, and he is also a credit to the hotel such a lovely guy and always remembered what we drank and brought us nuts & crisps (although we did ask him for some chicken crisps), there is some entertainment in the bar from pianists to singers on different nights, we did hear the worst singer ever on our last night but it did provide us with a really good giggle, I don't know if she was being bad on purpose or not lol, we did meet some lovely people in the bar Les & his gorgeous wife and Colin & Carol, it was a pleasure to have met you all.

The hotel has a shuttle bus that goes to the beach every half an hour, but the beach to us seemed a little like playing sardines, we just enjoyed staying by the pool. There are also some shops in the area around the beach and you can also go to one of the restaurants there in the evening, just book it through reception.
On the whole this hotel gave us just what we wanted and that was to chill and enjoy a bit of sunshine, and it ticked all our boxes. we would not go again as we don't like to go to the same place twice but I would recommend it to anyone else. The staff are all lovely and greet you with a smile and a hello and they make this hotel what it is !!! the manager seems to always around and even gave us a lift to the beach when he saw us waiting for the shuttle, which was out of his way, but that is how this hotel is run, by just going that extra mile for the guests.
Thank you to all the staff and managers at The Steigenberger Makadi for a wonderful holiday x

Room Tip: When arriving at the airport, go to the left as you go into the arrivals, go to one of the banks the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Firstly if you are looking for lots of life and entertainment this is not for you. If you want peace quiet and lots of attention stay here. Its only a small hotel and at the moment due to bad publicity for Egypt not very busy. The staff are always happy and very attentive your glass only has to be put down and another drink will be offered. The buffet restaurant is ok the food fine (no dodgy tummy) the selection is not that large but then thats probably because of the low occupancy try the dine arround you can use it once but makes a nice change to eat out.. The hotel is off the main beach and it can be walked in 15 mins but a shuttle runs regularly at no charge. Rooms clean and pleasant, pool warm and inviting with a lovely lunch served in the restaurant. Michael in the bar is always ready with a drink and game for a laugh ( we teased him regularly about chicken crisps if you go just mention them and im sure you will get a laugh).
The golf course looked lovely we dont play golf but it looked a good challenge. The spa is good Janet does a good massage haggle a bit you will get agood deal.
All in all a good hotel with fantastic staff nothing too much trouble can recomend for some R&R.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

We have just returned from the Steigenberger Makadi hotel, what an amazing hotel!
It was so good I have literally made it my first job, to leave this review.
Firstly, our check list after having had an awful last holiday, was good accommodation, good location, good food, and most importantly, to relax.
Let me make it clear, this hotel ticked all those boxes! and much, much more.
This really is a 5 Star hotel, and experience, 5 star in our UK standards, not egypt standards, having seen some of the other so called 5 star resorts.
The location is lovely, situated on a Golf course, I must say we don't golf, but it looks amazing, and Gamal, the resident Pro golfer, was very polite, and professional, even though we didn't use his services, always chatting and smiling.
The beach is a shuttle bus away, this runs every hour, which is a nice touch.
We were shown to our room by Mohammed, the receptionist, nothing is too much trouble for him, he sorts out any issue in a flash, our toilet developed a leak during our stay, these things happen, it was tended to immediately, with an army of maintenance men, and our cleaner to remedy the situation.
The cleaner himself a pleasant, happy professional, sorry, didn't get his name.
The room itself is luxury, immaculate and clean, with plenty of space, amazing bathroom, great view, just perfect.
We then went for dinner, having experienced many all inclusive canteens, we found our self in a top class restaurant, the whole ambience of the place, was professional but welcoming, of special mention is Reda, he was one of the waiters, he had an infectious smile, passing the time of day without being intrusive, a genuine Star of the restaurant, as was Alaa, again, attentive, and happy in his work, never letting a glass go dry.
A little tip, gents, no shorts or muscle t-shirts in the evening, as I say, this is a restaurant, not a canteen, we loved this aspect, making it feel very classey.
The food is simply amazing, with lots of selection, and cooked to perfection, it was so good, we didn't even bother eating in one of the other restaurants our package allowed for, the chefs are the unsung heroes! again, nothing is too much trouble, and all of them masters of cookery, we ensured we thanked them every night, which they seem to love.
The pool was spotlessly clean, and Michael, and Yahia (massive smile) tended to our every need, the secret once again was there attentiveness without being intrusive, the staff are the Hotels success here.
And heaven-NO ANAMACION team! Just peace and quiet, with two great staff to see to your every need.
The food at the pool was as good as the restaurant, I can highly recommend the portofino pizza! literally the best tasting pizza I have ever had.
The gym is spotlessly clean, and has everything you need to burn some of those calories off.
In the evening, after our meal we would go to the cocktail bar, every night they had entertainment on, but again, nothing cheesey, just professional piano players, singers, it was so relaxing, and Michael, having a joke, and serving us amazing cocktails, with snacks all night, a real star.
I nearly forgot Jasmine the guest relations rep, she was so lovely, and genuine, again helping with everything she could, a real gem.
But all this could not be possible without the ships captain, MR Saleh, the general Manager, what a Lovely man, he had time for every guest, meeting us at the cocktail evening, and ensuring throughout the stay that every thing is just right for the guests, the staff all respect him, and he respects them, if only I worked for MR Saleh! Thank you.
The only sad thing of the whole holiday, was we were the only British guests, this did not bother us, as we met some lovely People from other countries, but clearly, the best hotel in hurghada, is not being sold by the UK tour operators, they are clearly missing a trick here, only 14 rooms were occupied during our stay, but testament to the hotel was everything was running as usual, no cutting corners.
So, if your reading this review, don't waste time looking at other hotels, BOOK STEIGENBERGER, you will not be disappointed.
We will definitely be going back. 100%
If your a tour operator reading this, get it on your books.

Room Tip: Push the boat out and boom an executive room with it's own relaxing pool, but all the rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

This is our second visit to this hotel in 2 years. Lucky for us (but obviously not for the hotel) there were only 40 other guests staying, which meant that every single 'want and need' was dealt with instantly. Staff were fantastic, as was the food.

If you are looking for a fun packed adventure holiday with children, then dont go to this hotel. However if you are looking for a totally relaxing chill adult holiday, then you will not find better.

It really is 5* European standard (not 5* Egyptian!!). The Manager remembered us from 2 years ago, and joined us for coffee one morning. No body could have done any more to make our stay perfect..

Golf is brilliant quality (we didnt play this time, but have done on the previous visit).

We shall certainly be returning to this hotel again in the very near future.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good. Some face the sea whilst other faced the golf course. They are all very high...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Thank you to all the staff of Steigenberger Hotel. We have been to Egypt six times and I can honestly say this is the best hotel we have stayed in by far. Fantastic service in all areas of this
beautiful hotel which made our holiday just perfect. Hopefully we will be back again next year.
Gill & Paul from England

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontyclun, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Having stayed at the then Jaz Makadi hotel in May last year and having a wonderful holiday I was a little concerned that being under new ownership standards may have dropped. I need not have worried, apart from the change of name everything else was the same. This is an excellent resort, the rooms are spacious and always clean, with excellent views. The food is varied and always of a very good quality, with the lunchtime meal being taken by the pool. The facilities are also excellent, the large pool being very welcoming as the temperature rises during the day. The spa and gym are also well worth frequent visits. I have kept the best til last, the staff are virtually unchanged from our last visit and we were given a warm welcome when we arrived. Mr Saleh continues to be the General Manager and his friendliness and attention to detail ensures that all guests are made to feel welcome. Hesham and Morsi are still on reception and always give excellent service. Our waiter, Ibrahim, was very attentive with a very pleasant nature. And finally, Yahia, the 'lifeguard' who does about every job around the pool, including handing out cool hand towels and occasionally a flower to the female guests,and always with a smile. We are already planning to return later in the year. .

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Steigenberger Makadi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steigenberger Makadi Hotel

Address: Madinat Makadi, Makadi Bay 178, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Makadi Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Makadi Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Steigenberger Makadi Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Steigenberger Makadi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Steigenberger Makadi Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.