We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Steigenberger Makadi Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Steigenberger Makadi Hotel to your Saves list
Steigenberger Makadi Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Madinat Makadi, Makadi Bay 178, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Makadi Bay
liverpool.uk
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

This is one of the best hotels that we have stayed in in Egypt. The staff are friendly and helpful and nothing is too much trouble. We enjoyed the choice of food from the menu at the pool side bar and the buffet at night was top class.
The bus to the beach runs on the hour which is ideal for a change of scenery . Golf a little expensive however we practised a lot and again golf staff helpful in every way.
Rooms were spacious and spotlessly clean with comfy chairs on balcony overlooking the
18th hole. Fantastic egyptian cotton sheets!!!!!!
Bartenders very sociable and never had to wait for a drink.
Overall this is an ideal place if you need a complete chill out. There are no children and little entertainment however this does not take away what a great hotel it is. This is because they have a manager who cares about his clientelle. Always around to help and advise with a smile.
We are looking forward to returning next winter (or sooner ).
Thanks to all staff.

Room Tip: Main building. Golf view for sun in afternoon or bay view for sun in morning. Rooms by pool not as p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    20
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
11
179
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sutton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for a week between Feb 8th to 15th.there was nothing you could possibly complain about.The room was large separate large walk in shower,bath and toilet.Including dressing area,plenty of drawers and hanging space.Bedroom area large with corner sofa and tv on the wall.Kept very clean,fresh large bottle of water and chocolates left every evening.Pleny of choice of food at both restaurants.Very attentive staff.Just a wonderful quiet and relaxing place to stay.Would highly recommend.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Congleton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Just returned from one week all inclusive at this fabulous hotel. I have stayed in many supposed 5* hotels in Sharm and this hotel in Hurghada easily beats them. My room was large, spacious bathroom, excellent cleaning service, everywhere was spotless. The food was excellent and imaginative and all the staff were attentive without being intrusive. Management were in evidence constantly and nothing was too much trouble. The poolside bar served lunch a la carte and was also excellent. No children, no loud piped music and no-one trying to get you to play water polo or aqua aerobics. Very peaceful and relaxing. Could not complain about anything and will definitely be returning. As a woman travelling alone, I felt secure, safe and very comfortable. Thank you to all the staff who made my holiday such a pleasure. A real find.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed at the makadi golf from 8-15 feb. the hotel is as close to perfect as is possible! From the moment we arrived, to getting on the bus for the airport, every member of staff did everything they could to make our stay perfect! My wife is allergic to wheat/ gluten, so every meal time they had gluten free cake and bread waiting for her, and the head chef and assistant manager were always on hand to tell her what she could or couldn't eat. The staff even went as far as to set me a tv up in the bar so I could watch the 6 nations live! Rooms are excellent, so spacious and clean, free fizzy drinks and water in the mini bar, and apples and chocolates everyday! The pool was warm and really nice, and the lunch at the pool bar is a nice touch, buffets anywhere can get a tad boring so it's nice to be able order off the menu there. Back to the staff, extra praise has to go to hamet at the pool, the head chef and waiter and the assistant manager, the room boy and the guys on the desk, didn't see much of the manager but when we did he was very pleasant! Makadi beach wasn't really to our taste, we caught the bus there one day, and came back about an hour later to our little oasis, the jaz makadi! Perfection is all you need to know in regards to the hotel, so if your going to Egypt, stay here, you won't be dissapointed!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

This hotel deserves its 5 star. Frankly we cannot add anything to the many favourable comments already stated by others. We had a lovely relaxing week here. It was a last minute booking and, although I am a golfer, it was not my intention to play. However, once there I couldn't resist it. Very expensive tho. A round of 18 Holes is Euro 85 and by the time you add club and buggy hire you paying abt £140 for one round of golf. Only played once but a very nice course and didn't regret it.

Room Tip: Everyone enters the building containing the rooms on the fifth floor so suppose their could be some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Just returned from a fabulous chill out week with my husband. We booked last minute and were extremely pleasantly surprised by what we experienced. We had a poolside room which we were informed by a veteran couple that these were actually the most basic. If that was basic I'd like to see the luxury they enjoyed! Great size, loads of storage, beautifully clean and fresh bathroom with walk in shower and shower head like dinner plate. Massive and comfortable bed. French doors on to the pool side with gorgeous view over bay.
Like everywhere in the hotel the pool area was perfectly clean and manicured, loungers all brand new and plenty of them. The pool was heated to the perfect temp to still be refreshing without shocking! No kids either so a relaxed atmosphere.
Food at the day poolside bar and main restaurant was great, good variety and sophisticated for an all inclusive environment.
The bar staff were really attentive, there isn't much to do in the evening but light entertainment in the bar. For the kind of chill out we wanted it didn't matter though, we were in bed by 11 most nights. If you want a total relax in the winter sun in peaceful luxury then this is for you! Thanks all at Jaz Makadi Golf!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

My wife and I stayed in this hotel for a week in January. We have stayed in a lot of hotels in Egypt. This was by far the best we have stayed in. The room was spotless and was decorated to a five star standard . The staff were always very efficient and went out of the way to help you. There was a good variation on food ,and was always something nice to eat every night. I am a bit of a foody and was well happy. Thre two big bonuses with this hotel no kids and no big Wodka drinkers if you know what I mean. The general manager is always at hand to ask if everything is ok. Which it is if not he would sort it. Mahmoud on reception is a very helpfully and well educated lad ,always keen to help. Thanks to the hotel manager and staff.

Room Tip: All rooms are great what ever floor you are on as serviced by a lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Steigenberger Makadi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steigenberger Makadi Hotel

Address: Madinat Makadi, Makadi Bay 178, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Makadi Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Makadi Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Steigenberger Makadi Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Venere, Expedia, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Steigenberger Makadi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Steigenberger Makadi Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.