We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel ok, food poor” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Caribbean World Resorts Soma Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Caribbean World Resorts Soma Bay to your Saves list
Caribbean World Resorts Soma Bay
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   49 KM, Safaga Rd | Soma Bay, Hurghada 84511, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 175 Hotels in Hurghada
Poland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Hotel ok, food poor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Nice hotel for kite surfing, in the form of free-standing buildings located dozens of well-kept greens. Another hotel is being built next to the hotel, but we were put in a different part, so there we could hear no noise. Nice kite surfing base. Most of the guests are Russians, so Egyptians speak to all the Russian, which can be annoying.You can walk/run along the beach to the borders of neighboring hotels. Large room, overlooking the pool and the sea, cleaned in the afternoon. Superficial cleaning, floors swept, not washed, bed linen was not changed for a week. There I was with an infant. For the kettle to boil water for a child you had to pay 5 euros per stay. Cot old and shabby, bedding as for adults. The rooms have showers only, which pours water from the top, without a handset shower, so there is no way to wash an infant (only in the sink). Finally we got a plastic tub for bathing the baby. Food very repetitive and average quality with impression that prepared looking at the quantity, not the quality. Even for a stay of 7 days it was hard to find something for yourself every day. Only dinner at an Italian restaurant in the hotel was excellent. The only bottled water gets on the first day. Later, the water is only available from distributors. Restaurant service is efficient and fast. Do not reserve beds on the beach and by the pools.

Room Tip: Building no 11 has very good location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

787 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    248
    119
    79
    44
See reviews for
367
251
20
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Malvern, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

My wife and I had been to Eygpt before ,Nile crusie , ect but we had never stopped a resort before, told by friends that you would be pestered by salesmen all day plus get pestered for tips,
not at the Caribbean. All the staff are loverly people nothing was to much trouble for anyone even the gardeners greeted you with a smile and hello.
My wife is avery funny eater and I dont mean funny ha ha but she had no trouble with the food we love the Kazbo Bar they do great steaks,the main restaurant and the Beach restaurant all served very good food,
The hole resort was very clean,and staff like wise, can not belive that more of us British have not found this Hotel yet, will shell be back in 2013.

Room Tip: We had room 4006 ground floor over looking pools, ask for this room in 2013. not to far from recept...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cairo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

I Liked it very much !! i liked the pool and the events . and all this staff .. the room was very clear .. the safari was very cool , and at the night i like it at the .. but i like it i will go to caribbiean world again in the next summer Isa

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We have just returned from a weeks holiday here. The staff are very friendly and helpful. There were very few British there but that didn't cause us any problems. We only ate in the main restaurant on the first night and the next lunchtime but found the food typical of all inclusive restaurants though only beer, wine and soft drinks were available there. Thereafter we ate in one of the other restaurants, which we found very good especially La Palmas the Italian restaurant. It was my birthday while we were there and they made me a birthday cake and sang Happy Birthday to me in English and Egyptian.
There are camels and horses available for rides and multiple pools one with slides. We didn't ever use the pools preferring to use the beach. The sea doesn't drop off so good for children and those of us who like to swim within our depth. There is also a quiet area at the far end of the beach so you can escape the salesmen from the spa, beauty, camel rides, diving e.t.c.. There are two bars on the beach, one overlooking the beach, plus a music bar and another at the side of reception where you will also find a pharmacy, jewellers, sports shop, tobacco and souvenir shop and a t- shirt, swimwear etc shop. There are also more shops outside.
This place is remote with nothing for miles around but we found everything we needed on site. There are also no lifts and we and another two ladies who arrived at the same time were located on the third floor. One of the ladies who suffered with athiritus found the stairs too much. The hotel moved them immediately to a ground floor room. The rooms are good and clean with a good shower.
We didn't use the spa, gym, beauty salon or any of the water sports so unable to comment on these.
We enjoyed our stay and have to say a special thank you to Ezz, the junior assistant food and beverages manager, Ramy one of the bar men, Israa, the Thomson rep, Alena, customer relations and all the reception staff. We would go back to this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor room if have mobility difficulties.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Fantastic place for families with children - numerous pools, activities in the evening, slides, cars, camels next to the property, cabanas on the beach.

5 Egyptian stars = 3.5 stars elsewhere in the world and this hotel certainly was at par with that measure. Food was good, but some less careful people in our 25+ group got pharoah's revenge, of course.

If considering going there for watersports, Interconti right to the north is a much better solution. However, Interconti is not so family oriented as Caribbean.

Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We just returned from the carribian and everything was perfect. During our stay the hotel was only 50% full (because they were renovating before or sth like that) so there was absolutely no problems with queuing, remaining without food, water, sunbeds etc. You can clearly see when the russian invasion is coming (hungry like they were not eating for a month) but there was enough for everyone.

Employees are very nice and friendly, very polite, they will always help you.

Wireless is a rip-off! You pay it like it comes in a golden box and it works like [--].

Rooms are big and clean, showers are really big and comfortable, food is good but you have to know that you are in Egypt so you have to pay attention to what you eat. A lot of people are complaining about food poisoning etc. I saw a lot of people eating vegetables, fruit and drink beverages with ice. Everybody says that you should take care of these things so no vegetables, only cooked food, no ice, bottled water and everything will be ok.

Generally I have no complaints (more than expected) except like I said the wireless is a rip-off.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamestown, null, Saint Helena
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

As we were travelling with a couple of teenagers we wanted some space and the rooms we had were as good as they get. We had two rooms with separate doors and bathrooms behind a third door that lead to the outside world and as a result we were not getting under each others feet. The hotel is quite large and busy so there is some hustle & bustle to deal with. Staff seemed to welcome the more polite English manner over and above the more rowdy cultures so after a few days we found restaurant staff giving a very personal service to us ensuring drink glasses were never empty and earning a good tip in the process. Getting loungers by the pools was a bit of a trial so we thought if you can't beat em join em and sent No.1 Son down with some towels at sunrise, only to be disappointed as all loungers were already reserved! Not a problem though as there was always room on the beach and by the afternoon beds became available by the pool so it worked out well. We had a couple of problems with the room that were dealt with promptly. There are diving and wind surfing facilities on the beach. We had a very enjoyable couple of weeks there.

Room Tip: The accommodation blocks were all similar so I suppose all family rooms are on the end, certainly th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hurghada
3.5 mi away
Kempinski Hotel Soma Bay
3.2 mi away
Robinson Club Soma Bay
Robinson Club Soma Bay
#2 of 9 in Soma Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 126 reviews
22.8 mi away
Mercure Hurghada
Mercure Hurghada
#9 of 175 in Hurghada
4.5 of 5 stars 2,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Sol Y Mar Paradise Beach
0.3 mi away
Movenpick Resort Soma Bay
0.6 mi away
SENTIDO Palm Royale Soma Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caribbean World Resorts Soma Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribbean World Resorts Soma Bay

Address: 49 KM, Safaga Rd | Soma Bay, Hurghada 84511, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
#33 Romantic Hotel in Hurghada
#36 Family Hotel in Hurghada
#39 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Caribbean World Resorts Soma Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 520
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Caribbean World Resorts Soma Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribbean World Soma Bay Hotel Hurghada
Caribbean World Soma Bay Hurghada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caribbean World Resorts Soma Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.