We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Caribbean World Soma Bay

Save Saved
You added Caribbean World Soma Bay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Caribbean World Soma Bay
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hurghada Safaga Rd, Hurghada, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #62 of 181 hotels in Hurghada
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We have just returned from a weeks holiday here. The staff are very friendly and helpful. There were very few British there but that didn't cause us any problems. We only ate in the main restaurant on the first night and the next lunchtime but found the food typical of all inclusive restaurants though only beer, wine and soft drinks were available there. Thereafter we ate in one of the other restaurants, which we found very good especially La Palmas the Italian restaurant. It was my birthday while we were there and they made me a birthday cake and sang Happy Birthday to me in English and Egyptian.
There are camels and horses available for rides and multiple pools one with slides. We didn't ever use the pools preferring to use the beach. The sea doesn't drop off so good for children and those of us who like to swim within our depth. There is also a quiet area at the far end of the beach so you can escape the salesmen from the spa, beauty, camel rides, diving e.t.c.. There are two bars on the beach, one overlooking the beach, plus a music bar and another at the side of reception where you will also find a pharmacy, jewellers, sports shop, tobacco and souvenir shop and a t- shirt, swimwear etc shop. There are also more shops outside.
This place is remote with nothing for miles around but we found everything we needed on site. There are also no lifts and we and another two ladies who arrived at the same time were located on the third floor. One of the ladies who suffered with athiritus found the stairs too much. The hotel moved them immediately to a ground floor room. The rooms are good and clean with a good shower.
We didn't use the spa, gym, beauty salon or any of the water sports so unable to comment on these.
We enjoyed our stay and have to say a special thank you to Ezz, the junior assistant food and beverages manager, Ramy one of the bar men, Israa, the Thomson rep, Alena, customer relations and all the reception staff. We would go back to this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor room if have mobility difficulties.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

599 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    211
    201
    95
    62
    30
See reviews for
247
207
5
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Fantastic place for families with children - numerous pools, activities in the evening, slides, cars, camels next to the property, cabanas on the beach.

5 Egyptian stars = 3.5 stars elsewhere in the world and this hotel certainly was at par with that measure. Food was good, but some less careful people in our 25+ group got pharoah's revenge, of course.

If considering going there for watersports, Interconti right to the north is a much better solution. However, Interconti is not so family oriented as Caribbean.

Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We just returned from the carribian and everything was perfect. During our stay the hotel was only 50% full (because they were renovating before or sth like that) so there was absolutely no problems with queuing, remaining without food, water, sunbeds etc. You can clearly see when the russian invasion is coming (hungry like they were not eating for a month) but there was enough for everyone.

Employees are very nice and friendly, very polite, they will always help you.

Wireless is a rip-off! You pay it like it comes in a golden box and it works like [--].

Rooms are big and clean, showers are really big and comfortable, food is good but you have to know that you are in Egypt so you have to pay attention to what you eat. A lot of people are complaining about food poisoning etc. I saw a lot of people eating vegetables, fruit and drink beverages with ice. Everybody says that you should take care of these things so no vegetables, only cooked food, no ice, bottled water and everything will be ok.

Generally I have no complaints (more than expected) except like I said the wireless is a rip-off.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamestown, null, Saint Helena
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

As we were travelling with a couple of teenagers we wanted some space and the rooms we had were as good as they get. We had two rooms with separate doors and bathrooms behind a third door that lead to the outside world and as a result we were not getting under each others feet. The hotel is quite large and busy so there is some hustle & bustle to deal with. Staff seemed to welcome the more polite English manner over and above the more rowdy cultures so after a few days we found restaurant staff giving a very personal service to us ensuring drink glasses were never empty and earning a good tip in the process. Getting loungers by the pools was a bit of a trial so we thought if you can't beat em join em and sent No.1 Son down with some towels at sunrise, only to be disappointed as all loungers were already reserved! Not a problem though as there was always room on the beach and by the afternoon beds became available by the pool so it worked out well. We had a couple of problems with the room that were dealt with promptly. There are diving and wind surfing facilities on the beach. We had a very enjoyable couple of weeks there.

Room Tip: The accommodation blocks were all similar so I suppose all family rooms are on the end, certainly th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thames Ditton, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

My wife and I stayed in the Caribbean Resort at Soma Bay for the third consecutive year this summer. It is a family orientated resort however the excellent windsurfing and kite-surfing is what attracts us this particular hotel. This was my tenth trip to Egypt so I’ve seen a number of different hotels and resorts over the years.

We’ve always felt comfortable at this resort and have enjoyed the inclusive drinks and food. Indeed, over our three visits, I’m pleased to report that the food has improved – it was always perfectly acceptable, but greater attention is now being given to presentation and the manner in which meats are cut (less bone, more meat). With several restaurants around the resort, it’s quite possible to have a variety of meal types during the holiday. Egyptian food is different to European food and first time visitors to Egypt should remember that, however there is lots of fresh food to be had and the desserts on offer are delicious, though probably no good for the waistline. All drinks including the beer and wine are local brands - the beer is OK but Egyptian wine is an acquired taste.

We were pleased to see that some of the accommodation blocks were closed for maintenance this summer. Last year we noticed some wear and tear on furniture and fittings, though this comes as no surprise in the hot, sandy, windy and salt air environment. Hopefully the management will continue the maintenance around the resort so that standards are maintained. The fittings on some of the doors of the toilets near the Aqua Centre need to be fixed or replaced, though the block itself and clean and tidy.

The staff around the resort are very friendly, particularly to us English people as it provides an opportunity for them to practice their English. In the restaurants, they were always on hand to help out if needed.

In summary, this is a resort that my wife enjoy and I will definitely consider revisiting in the future.

Room Tip: There accommodation blocks are on three floors. Ground floor may be handy if you have kids but my wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

First and last thing i will say about this hotel is that no matter what people say we had good time there.

Rooms were nice, spacious and clean. They were cleaned every day.

Main restaurant had big variety of dishes...you wont end up hungry. But yes there were a lot of flies, and yes they were very annoying....not just in the restaurant...on the beach too.

Another problem of this hotel is incompetent reception personnel. They will try to take as much money from u as you let them. And also greedy owners from hotel stores. We already knew about that from other user reviews. We went to Hurghada for shopping and buy all that stuff much cheaper

Red sea is fabulous. All that colorful fishes and corals will leave you breathless. And it will make u forget all inconvenience u had with greedy store owners or personnel.

I have to mention we did not have any stomach problems but we used antiseptic gels in huge amounts.

If u want something much better than u have to pay for something like Kempinski I guess...

And again my final impression is that despite some inconveniences we had nice time there.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We met a family who were in this hotel last year, have 3 children and decided to go to the same hotel this year because they were very satisfied before. But, now they say that it is not the same hotel as it was last year. Six people from our group had stomach problems (diarrhea or vomiting). Inside the main restaurant there were so many flies that we couldnt eat without fighting them. Water for free is not from the bottles but from the machine for water and that water very very often had some very unpleasant smell and taste (smth like a mold). I couldnt find waiter with clean shoes. Everyday we had to wait for some food to be cooked, for example - pancakes, meat, eggs at the main restaurant and often they ran out of hot chocolate for pancakes, or plates and we need to wait for them or to go to the other side of the restaurant (with child) to get one. Also, there were some restorations of the building facades going on during our whole stay, so there were workers everywhere. The hotel is completely isolated, it is not like hotels in Makadi bay. The only hotel you can walk to is 20 minutes far by walk. So, owners of the shops inside hotel dont want to bargain a lot and they will not sell for example t-shirt under 10 euros (which we payed last year in Makadi bay hotel 5 euros).
Beach is ok, but there is no table (nor ashtrays) where you can put you drink. There are some coral rocks to the right side of the beach where you can go snorkling and find a lot of different colorful fish.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Caribbean World Soma Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribbean World Soma Bay

Address: Hurghada Safaga Rd, Hurghada, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Hurghada
#51 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Caribbean World Soma Bay 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Caribbean World Soma Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribbean World Soma Bay Hotel Hurghada
Caribbean World Soma Bay Hurghada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caribbean World Soma Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.