We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful hotel with a few minuses” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aqua Vista Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Aqua Vista Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Aqua Vista Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Safaga Road, Hurghada, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #70 of 176 hotels in Hurghada
Szczecin, Poland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“A wonderful hotel with a few minuses”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

Aqua Vista is, together with Aqua Blue and Beachalbatros Garden, situated in the second line from the seashore. It’s a quite new (4-year-old) building. Out of those three hotels, Aqua Vista is definitely the least impressive one when it comes to the view from outside but it is the best one when you get inside.
Aqua Vista has large swimming pools which are beautifully designed, with bridges and a shallow shore from one side which makes it feel like you’re on the beach. There’s loads of loungers, and some four-poster beds. You don’t have to take your own towels from home as there is a towel box by the swimming pool and each guest can get a towel and change it throughout the stay. You can take the towels to the beach as well. There are bars and restaurants along the pools and they constitute separate buildings with outdoor terraces. Big swimming pools, restaurants and straw umbrellas made the hotel areas spacy and more beautiful than in two other hotels.
In order to get to the beach you can take the bus that goes there every half an hour (though it is not that regular), the journey takes about 8 min, or go on foot for about 15 min which is very pleasant as the weather was not that exhausting. I love sun but it is hard for me to stand hot temperatures. In Egipt I had no problems with that – 40 Celsius degrees is hot but it is so windy there that you can really breath easily without sweating too much. The beach belongs to Beachalbtros Hotel and looks really nice and clean, however one day we couldn’t stand the wind that caused dust and sand flying everywhere so most times we spent time at the lovely hotel poolsJ Next to the beach, there was another beach belonging to Albatros Palace and there was a small but really nice reef. It is worth going there to observe colorful fish etc. There isn’t any town center around the hotel but you can use the area of all three hotels so you definitely won’t get bored. Hurghada is just 15 minutes away by taxi and it is the best transport though we obviously had to bargain. The price should be 4-6 dollars one way depending on the number of people going. Hurghada itself is not so nice and it is definitely best to go there in the evening, but it has a beautiful marina with boats, bars etc.
Aqua Vista consists of six three-floor buildings of about 40 rooms. We got a beautiful room in building number 4 with a wonderful view on the pool area, restaurants and even the sea in the background. The balcony was spacy and so was the room, there’s a safe in each room, the bed was comfortable. The bathroom was modern and clean, wasn’t shabby. There was a hair-dryer in the bathroom of course (if you want to use it as it takes 5 minutes to dry hair outsideJ) Once a small lizard appeared in our room and we couldn’t reach it beacause it was on the ceiling, but we treated it as an adventure;-)
In general, people from the service were very nice and most of them spoke English. The rooms were cleaned every day, accurately enough to satisfy guests. The barmen and waiters were very nice and friendly, though sometimes seemed exhausted and sluggish probably because of the Ramadan. The pools were kept clean all the time.
There are animations only in Fench but you can attend international animations is Aqua Blue just 200 meters far. There are some parties and shows and one will definitely pick someone for themselves. Anyway, the French animations were nice, too with songs and dances etc. However, other nationalities rather didn’t take part in games and events because of the language barrier. If you want to go to a bigger club, you can pay and go by bus which is organized twice a week by the international animation team. The club’s name is Havana and it’s quite nice if you like parties. If you just want to see it, I wouldn’t recommend it. Mix of people and prices makes it not worth it unless you want to go crazy in the foam.
Definitely the greatest plus of hotel Aqua Vista is food. There were four restaurants: Asian, Italian, Fish and one general. The food was excellent and choice very wide – from soups and main dishes to desserts and cakes. Everything was delicious.
Unfortunately, there were some minuses of this stay as well. Firstly, we had to call room service a few times. We got a defective safe and after the first intervention, everything seemed to work fine. But one evening it broke down again and we couldn’t open it. The problem was that all the money and telephones were in the safe. At the reception we heard that opening the safe would be possible only at ten in the morning next day. I was very nervous so I asked them firmly and they somehow managed to open it in the evening. After that, we stopped using the safe. Then another day we couldn’t close the door so we called for someone. He came and clattered a few times, closed the door and we thought it was fine. Next morning it was worse – we couldn’t open the door and get out. We called the room service and waited almost an hour until he forced the door. He had to change the lock and we were barely on time for breakfast.
I wouldn’t recommend the shops in the hotel area as it is difficult to get normal price. It is better to buy souvenirs at the airport – there’s a great choice and prices are ok. If you decide to buy something in a shop by the hotel, be extra-careful as the shopkeepers tend to swindle.
In Aqua Vista, most guests were French and Russian, there were more Poles in Aqua Blue. Russians often didn’t care about the queue at the bars or restaurants which could be annoying even for me (as I usually don’t care about various national habits). The Poles happened to be very rude to us, drunk and shouting. Pity. Another thing is that everyone from the three hotels could use the area of all the pools. Because the pool area of Aqua Vista was the best, a lot of people were coming from other swimming pools. As a result, we couldn’t find a free four-poster beds after breakfast. Nevertheless, there were loads of very nice loungers so it wasn’t a very big problem.
A bigger problem was (though I didn’t hear about it before) the fact that Aqua Vista, Aqua Blue and Beachalbatros Garden’s guests were allowed to use only one third of the beach. The rest was reserved for Beachalbatros’ guests. It wasn’t too much space for us…
Smaller disadvatages were: slippery floor at the swimming pools (my brother almost broke his toe, had to call insurance company, pay 15 dollars for the phone call before he went to the doctor, fortunately, the medical service was of high standard), material curtain instead of glass door at the shower – a little unhygienic, and cleaning service waking us up by loudly knocking early in the morning, even though we hanged the information “don’t disturb”, they were tenacious. Anyway, they probably changed the people cause after a few days it stopped, though we didn’t complainJ
The last thing I want to mention are the excursions that we took. I wouldn’t recommend them. Giftun and snorkling was nice and worth it but do not rent any mask from them, I was accused of breaking it though I did not and they wanted me to pay shouting at me. It was horrible. Luxor was worse, not very well-organized with a nice guide though he had poor knowledge (unless he didn’t want to share it;-) All the products in the places that we visited were extremely expensive and not worth their prices. Lunch was extremely poor and not tasty. The same were the breakfast boxes that we got – we laughed when we saw them. I’m not exagerrating as I saw people’s boxes from other hotels – at least they were fresh.
All in all, Hotel Aqua Vista was brilliant and I had a wonderful time even in spite of those minuses. The area and food were so nice that the minuses were quickly forgotten.

Room Tip: Rooms in buildings 1-4 are definitely better with a chance to get a pool view. Our friends got rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    41
    68
    31
    10
    6
See reviews for
47
53
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Capelle aan den IJssel, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

I stayed at this resort with my family for two weeks in July 2011. We enjoyed our experience at this resorts so much that we certainly consider returning in the future. What makes this place so unique are the people that work there and their dedication to the visitors.
The rooms are large, spaciouswell maintainerd and clean. The facilites are above average, the restaurants and bars provide good and honest local food with here and there international cuisin. Children are pampered with attention and food like pizza's.
There is an international mix of visitors from many countries that are mainly families with small chldren who love the extensive pool area.
The resort provides great value for money and a great place for an all inclusive holiday!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2011

Do not stay at this hotel (Aqua Vista, or any of the sister hotels Aqua Blu, Beach Albatross) for any reason. Please stay somewhere else and do not give the Pickalbatros hotel group one cent of your hard earned money. We are just back from a week long stay that was a complete travel disaster and nightmare. The good reviews of this hotel must have been written by: (a) hotel employees trying to keep their jobs; (b) travelers that have never stayed somewhere outside prison; (c) people who have never heard of (or experienced) value-for-money or quality; or (d) by the hotel marketing company employees posing as tourists to lure victims like you and I. What an absolute travel nightmare. We had to change the first hotel (Aqua Vista) after the first day! The animation team plays music that is so obnoxiously loud and inappropriate the environment. Simply awful. The swimming pools are all too cold to swim. The buffet food at restaurants with Aqua Vista were so terrible my girlfriend refused to eat. Inside the hotel grounds you are constantly (20-30 times a day) aggressively confronted to buy safari and submarine tours by abrasive and often confrontational sales agents. The food in Aqua Blu can at least be eaten. The HOTEL taxi, which advertises 20 minutes to downtown, took 1 hour and 20 minutes. The HOTEL taxi driver then stopped and led us into a dark shop where he and his colleagues tried to prevent us from leaving the store before buying something! We were verbally harassed by them as well. And this was the HOTEL taxi. In your room you can hear EVERYTHING that goes on in the building. The water in the shower goes from iceberg cold to screaming hot without warning. I have traveled all over the world and have NEVER felt so disappointed. The only person who made any sense in the hotel was the bag man, an upright man of substance, honesty, quality and integrity. Stay away from the tour deals offering discount prices to this hotel group. The pictures are true - the grounds look pretty. Everything else is a nightnmare...

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lappeenranta
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2010

I was travelling in November with two kids aged 9 and 10. The hotel premises and family rooms were clean and we had absolutely nothing to complain about those. Only the airoplanes were waking you up sometimes in the mornings. I think that during the holiday nice eating is one of the most important things. It didn't happen in this hotel. I thought that there were 4 different restaurants, but in fact all the restaurants were more or less the same. The premises vere connected and people were walking around, which made the dining unpeaceful. What was really annoying, was that they run out of glasses in the restaurants. Sometimes the driks were served and sometimes you had to go to the bar to get your drink. They also served wine in standard drinking glasses or even in cartonboard cups (if you didn't refuse to accept that). You also had to search for the forks and knives as well. It would have been easy to keep them available beside the plates, but they didn't. The hotel was also full of Russians who gathered enormous amounts of food to their plates without having any thought to eat that. It was disgusting to watch that (and other Russian style behaviour) all week. I think that the waiters were also a little bit too "friendly". I would have appreciated more professional behaviour. The food was average; nothing special. Please also note that heated pool doesn't mean the same everywhere. Our kids found the hotel pools too cold. There was only one small really heated pool in the neighbouring hotel. Because the pool heating and and functioning of the restaurant services are so big part of the holiday, I wouldn't go back to that hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middx
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2010

The weather was great better than we thought it would be. We were the only English there and felt we should not be there. Hotel nice and clean but food is very bland. Plenty of sun beds round pool but quite a track to beach. The beach was very busy shared by other hotels, but we went in afternoons and managed to get sun beds ok. Went to the Marina one night which was very nice. We went with the hotel shuttle bus which dropped us of in town which was very hectic. We found the Marina ok and it was worth the hassle getting there.We heard the Titanic hotel was very good more English there.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2010

Really great hotel - personnel very welcoming and sympathic especially with the young children.
fantastic swimming pool. Animation is really great for french speakers, you can never be bored.
food war really good and we had the choice in four restaurants. The only annoying thing was the people from the spa who were always trying to sell you spa treatments but after you tell them you are not interested they let you.
aiport is also nearby so they are some planes landing while sunbathing but it didn't annoy me that much.
i would certainly go there again if i ever plan ome holidays in this location

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkhire
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2010

Had 10 night family break 2 adults & 2 children 13 & 15, in Aqua Vista in March & was our 1st time in Egypt so didn't know what to expect but would recomend for relaxing holiday.
Hotel beautiful & clean with 3 out door pools 1 heated, they provide beach towels free & hair dryers in rooms so saves room in lugage. You can also use facillities in neighbouring 2 hotels Aqua Blue which have free wave & water slide pools. You can also use the resteraunts in their hotels but found lots of their guests using ours as there were several to choose from ranging from chinease, italian, fish & most nights an out door BBQ. We had heard lots of stories about people getting upset stomachs from all inclusive buffetts but lots of the food was heated if not cooked fresh infront of guests & we were all fine.
There were lots of bars open inside complex at evening & bar staff very obliging but hotel staff entertainment poor. & daily activities & games orientated to the french as there were very little English there at the time but if you are happy in your own group or provide your own entertainment its fine. We didnt venture out of the complex only for 2 trips one to dessert & traditional village on quad bikes & on boat trip for day to 4 islands coral reefs snorkling & would recomend both.
In all good holiday & would go back for quiet vaccation as staff & complex great just pitty not many English there.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Aqua Vista Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Vista Resort & Spa

Also Known As:
Aqua Vista Hotel Hurghada
Aqua Vista Resort And Spa
Aqua Vista Hotel
Aqua Vista Resort
Address: Safaga Road, Hurghada, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Top resorts Hotel in Hurghada
#53 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
#70 Business Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Aqua Vista Resort & Spa 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Aqua Vista Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aqua Vista Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.