We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible !!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Golden 5 Diamond Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Golden 5 Diamond Resort to your Saves list
Golden 5 Diamond Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Shahl Hasheesh road | PO Box 251, Hurghada, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #93 of 182 Hotels in Hurghada
Egypt
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Horrible !!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Frankly, do not try to go there, I stayed five days there I faced problems on a daily basis from day 1. this hotel supose to be 5 stars hotel but in my personal opinion 4 stars is more that it deserve. food is average, aqua park is very good, beach is good for swiming but not for snorkling, staff and management is the most problem in this hotel. I'll not go there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    39
    20
    18
    19
See reviews for
52
28
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

I went to hurghada with my grandmother (nan). when we arrived they had given us a room on the first floor and my nan was incapable of climbing the stairs we went to the front desk and explained our problem. Immediately they sorted it and gave us a very nice room on the ground floor, from this moment on it was an amazing holiday they catered for our every need and the staff treated us wonderfully, we practically got V.I.P treatment. the beach is literally outside your front door and is sooo clean and beautiful. If you require assistance of any kind all you have to do is ask and the fantastic hotel staff will do everything they can to ensure you recieve 5* treatment. If you are polite and treat them with the respect due, then you will have the best holiday and relationship with the staff members, if you are rude or speak down to them, well, they will only do as you ask because its their job and not because they actually want to. Overall, it was an amazing stay we got what we hoped for plus a lot more it was great!!!... the only reason we will not be returning to this hotel is because my grandmother has now bought an apartment in hurghada, but we still go over and say hello to the staff and have some of them on facebook and e-mail lol.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skopje, Macedonia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

It was our second vacation in Hurghada, and being impressed from our first stay - different resort, we've decided to stay at Golden 5. What can I say, very poor organization - when we arrived, instead of getting 4 bed room we've got 2 bedroom. They explained that there is no 4 bed room free. Spending 4 hours at the reception desk - we decided to accept the given room . We've paid for 4 all inclusive and my husband had to sleep at the room floor. The hotel had a big issues with the electricity as well - 60% of our stay we were without power - and considering the hot weather you can just imagine how it feels in a sauna. The beach is very far from the hotel - you need to wake up at 5 to find a nice beach spot. If you decide to go there after breakfast - you may find yourself without a shade. The hotel staff is not very friendly as well. It takes time for them to respond to any room issue and you need to visit the reception desk more than 10 times to remind them. THEY DO NOT DESERVE 5 STARS AT ALL.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
targu mures
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

At the beggining we had a bad experience with the fact that they offer us another room in another building that what we've seen on the internet, because they said that the main one is just for russians. In the end they moved us to a better apartemnt, in their best qualified hotel from the complex called diamond. The room was great, very very big with a huge balcony, beautiful surroundings and a very nice view. The gardens are great but the cable is not working at all. Anyway I recomend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bourtange
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

Just being back from a great time at the Diamond beach resort.
Everuthing about this resort was grat. The rooms are clean.the food terifiqeu. Everyday there was good Basic food and they add everyday something else. And it did NOT matter witch time you arrived..they refill whwn they SAW there was onley a little bit left.
What we also like were the people..they were very frendley and very helpfull.
the anymation team was great. Espeecilay Marcus. Not onley in Italiens but also in englisch. What US also surprised that everyone speaks englisch verywell.
We like too say if you want to have a good time go to this place.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexley
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2010

This is definitely not a 5 * hotel and I would say looks like it was built about 25 years ago and not had anything done to it since. Whilst kept clean it is so tired looking and falling apart in places with loose tiles broken bits and pieces all over the place. Having said that we were given a bungalow type room over looking a pool and gardens. The room was very spacious and kept clean with fresh bedding and towels every day. There was a fridge and we were given bottled water, coke and lemonade every day. There was also tea and coffee making facilities. Because we were English we were spoilt and waited on quite a lot which was really nice.

We have been to Egypt on numerous occasions but never to Hurghada and stayed in hotels that have been 5* so this was a real shock. However we had come away for a quick relaxing break so decided to make the most of it - plus we both have a sense of humour - the only way to enjoy your stay!!

The complex is huge and I would say 99% Russians and we did not meet or hear any English speaking voices for the whole week. All signage about activities and shop signs are in Russian - not a problem - but it shows the influence. The hotel complex apparently is Known as the Russian Capital of Hurghada and I would agree with this whole heartily.

The activities and the Russians together just reminded us of an old black and white Butlin's advert as they all are so enthusiastic about joining in the exercise and water aerobics on the beach and around the pool - entertaining just for the sight of men in speedos and very large ladies in thong bikinis.

The food was edible - you wouldn't go hungry but equally you would get bored with it really quickly. There is no diet drinks and the local spirits are a bit hit and miss. We went to Hurghada old town and visited the marina - well worth a visit for a nice drink and a meal - and to hear some other languages apart from Russian - also a bit more classy. However you are better getting a taxi from the hotel and booking a return as we got done coming home one evening and it was a bit scarey as the taxi driver locked the doors of the car.

We also had a couple of massages in the 'spa' - as in very old run down building with very dodgy jacuzzi but good massage. We booked before we went to the spa and to be honest I wouldn't have done if I had seen it first! Definitely a health hazard.

We went to this hotel as the one we had booked got changed at the last minute - so would never normally have gone for this and would never in a million years recommend it to anyone - unless you like Butlin's of course!!!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2010

Stayed at the golden 5 diamond. When you first enter and see the reception and lobby area, appears very impressive. We were first given a room, which was spacious, had a small kitchenette, with a fridge and a kettle, and not much else in there. No cups and saucers, or cutlery (not a train smash though). The bathroom was disgusting. Toilet did not flush and had brown stains in bowel. Heard baging noises outside our rom, and realised there was building going on directly outside our room. Demanded new room, which we were given. New room was much quiter, but bathroom filthy again. Toilet was stained. Towels looked like they had been used. Bath tub was old and dingy and plastered all over. Shower was non-adjustable, so i was forced to use it hand held. Hot water would get used up after 1 person taking a shower. Housekeeping need some serious training. Very very very inefficient, and need to be called numerous times. Lighting is very poor. Aircon was ok. No mosquitoes. Language barrier, if you dont speak arabic or russian. 90% hotel occupancy is by russians. Tours in hotel all advertised in russian, and minimal english. Food of poor quality and range. Had food poisoning during my stay, but not sure whether to attribute this to hotel food, or outside food...though i usually stuck to kfc and Mcdonalds out of hotel (have read here that a few other people experienced food poisoning during their stay at golden 5 as well). Hotel sucked!! (and im not even all that fussy...but hygiene and efficient service is important to me). Staff inefficient, and dont speak much english. Went snorkelling in Giftun Island which was very nice. Would not stay at this hotel again! Would not recommend this hotel to anyone, unless ur russian. Its a huge complex, which many facilities, but all that still did not make up for the crap you have to deal with.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden 5 Diamond Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden 5 Diamond Resort

Address: Shahl Hasheesh road | PO Box 251, Hurghada, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#63 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Golden 5 Diamond Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 332
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Category:5 Stars Check in: 14:00 Check out :12:00 Location:At the center of the city, overlooking pools and sea view.Surrounded by lots of the souvenirs shops and bazaars.Accommodation:9 bungalows (2-storey), 8 bungalow Ramses (1-storey) Total of 332 rooms (varies between 40-65 m2, 2+1 pers.) including 196 connected rooms. All rooms have balcony or terrace (ground floor). including:16 connected rooms Most of 1st floor rooms have terrace , and most of 2nd floor have balconies.All rooms are equipped with : satellite-TV, individual adjustable air condition. Bathrooms feature bathtub ,weighting scale, telephone , Hair dryer, Minibar, safe box,daily clean linen & electricity :AC 220 volts Restaurants&Bars:"Orangery" main restaurant: 350 seats International Cuisine Serving Breakfast , Lunch and Dinner Bars:"Moon Light" Lobby Bar Hours: 24-hour "Rainbow Billiard Bar" "Sunset Pool Bar" Services & Facilities:24-hour room service 24-hour concierge,Laundry service: charged as per consumption , price list,available in the room Conferences Facility: Paradise conference room:capacity of 300 persons , Paradise VIPs Lounge: 150 seats. Internetcafe,Limousine service,Beauty salon,Lobby shops,On request doctor,Tour & travel desk,Babysitting on request ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Golden 5 Diamond Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden 5 Diamond Hotel & Beach Hurghada
Golden 5 Diamond Hotel And Beach Resort
Golden 5 Hotel Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden 5 Diamond Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.