We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved it and most sure we come back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Golden 5 Diamond Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Golden 5 Diamond Resort to your Saves list
Golden 5 Diamond Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Shahl Hasheesh road | PO Box 251, Hurghada, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #95 of 178 Hotels in Hurghada
Bourtange
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“We loved it and most sure we come back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

Just being back from a great time at the Diamond beach resort.
Everuthing about this resort was grat. The rooms are clean.the food terifiqeu. Everyday there was good Basic food and they add everyday something else. And it did NOT matter witch time you arrived..they refill whwn they SAW there was onley a little bit left.
What we also like were the people..they were very frendley and very helpfull.
the anymation team was great. Espeecilay Marcus. Not onley in Italiens but also in englisch. What US also surprised that everyone speaks englisch verywell.
We like too say if you want to have a good time go to this place.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    41
    23
    22
    20
See reviews for
58
32
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bexley
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2010

This is definitely not a 5 * hotel and I would say looks like it was built about 25 years ago and not had anything done to it since. Whilst kept clean it is so tired looking and falling apart in places with loose tiles broken bits and pieces all over the place. Having said that we were given a bungalow type room over looking a pool and gardens. The room was very spacious and kept clean with fresh bedding and towels every day. There was a fridge and we were given bottled water, coke and lemonade every day. There was also tea and coffee making facilities. Because we were English we were spoilt and waited on quite a lot which was really nice.

We have been to Egypt on numerous occasions but never to Hurghada and stayed in hotels that have been 5* so this was a real shock. However we had come away for a quick relaxing break so decided to make the most of it - plus we both have a sense of humour - the only way to enjoy your stay!!

The complex is huge and I would say 99% Russians and we did not meet or hear any English speaking voices for the whole week. All signage about activities and shop signs are in Russian - not a problem - but it shows the influence. The hotel complex apparently is Known as the Russian Capital of Hurghada and I would agree with this whole heartily.

The activities and the Russians together just reminded us of an old black and white Butlin's advert as they all are so enthusiastic about joining in the exercise and water aerobics on the beach and around the pool - entertaining just for the sight of men in speedos and very large ladies in thong bikinis.

The food was edible - you wouldn't go hungry but equally you would get bored with it really quickly. There is no diet drinks and the local spirits are a bit hit and miss. We went to Hurghada old town and visited the marina - well worth a visit for a nice drink and a meal - and to hear some other languages apart from Russian - also a bit more classy. However you are better getting a taxi from the hotel and booking a return as we got done coming home one evening and it was a bit scarey as the taxi driver locked the doors of the car.

We also had a couple of massages in the 'spa' - as in very old run down building with very dodgy jacuzzi but good massage. We booked before we went to the spa and to be honest I wouldn't have done if I had seen it first! Definitely a health hazard.

We went to this hotel as the one we had booked got changed at the last minute - so would never normally have gone for this and would never in a million years recommend it to anyone - unless you like Butlin's of course!!!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2010

Stayed at the golden 5 diamond. When you first enter and see the reception and lobby area, appears very impressive. We were first given a room, which was spacious, had a small kitchenette, with a fridge and a kettle, and not much else in there. No cups and saucers, or cutlery (not a train smash though). The bathroom was disgusting. Toilet did not flush and had brown stains in bowel. Heard baging noises outside our rom, and realised there was building going on directly outside our room. Demanded new room, which we were given. New room was much quiter, but bathroom filthy again. Toilet was stained. Towels looked like they had been used. Bath tub was old and dingy and plastered all over. Shower was non-adjustable, so i was forced to use it hand held. Hot water would get used up after 1 person taking a shower. Housekeeping need some serious training. Very very very inefficient, and need to be called numerous times. Lighting is very poor. Aircon was ok. No mosquitoes. Language barrier, if you dont speak arabic or russian. 90% hotel occupancy is by russians. Tours in hotel all advertised in russian, and minimal english. Food of poor quality and range. Had food poisoning during my stay, but not sure whether to attribute this to hotel food, or outside food...though i usually stuck to kfc and Mcdonalds out of hotel (have read here that a few other people experienced food poisoning during their stay at golden 5 as well). Hotel sucked!! (and im not even all that fussy...but hygiene and efficient service is important to me). Staff inefficient, and dont speak much english. Went snorkelling in Giftun Island which was very nice. Would not stay at this hotel again! Would not recommend this hotel to anyone, unless ur russian. Its a huge complex, which many facilities, but all that still did not make up for the crap you have to deal with.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2010

The hotel is located far from the sea, but consider that the hotel is located in a complex of 5 hotels in than this 4 star hotel and the rest of 5 stars. You can use the entire area, restaurants, bars, water park on a par with those who live in the five stars. Respectively, of the Quartet remains the only distance from the sea (500-700 meters, but the road does not tire anywhere greens, swimming pools), and of the size of rooms (about 20 sq m, TV, refrigerator, air conditioner, safe deposit box) everything else is the level of five stars.
The hotel area is very beautiful, lots of greenery. Many pools have slides for both children and adults. Sea magnificent! The beach is clean. Animation is virtually absent. The hotel has a musical fountain. They have charm, you can watch and watch.
Settled immediately in a good number. We arrived late at night, but we were fed dinner. The rooms are clean and bright. Cleaned the room the same way, regardless of whether we leave a tip or not.
Meals: meals a lot, but every day the same thing. But you can eat in any hotel, which includes a set of Golden Five - is a plus. Very tasty pastries. As for drinks, Coca Cola, Sprite, Pepsi. Ice cream only give if the child with you and only one and only one bar. Little fruit, mostly sliced melon, apples, oranges, green, water-melons were two times for 10 days.
Attendants lazy.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandviken, Sweden
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2009

90 % Russian guests, food not very good, oyherwise very nice, very nice snorkling directly off the beach

Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2009

We knew when we booked the holiday that we weren't going to in a top class place. We paid around about 200 quid for 2 people all inclusive (flights not included) so we weren't paying a fortune. The hotel was as you would expect. Basic but it had all the facilities you really need.
It is part of a complex of 5 hotels and you can use all the facilities which is great - also, being all inclusive you can eat in most of the restaurants for free and drink at most of the bars.
The whole complex has a number of different pools as well as extensive beach. Warning though - this whole region is attracts mainly Russian and German tourists so you do need to get up early to get a sun lounger! Especially one with an umbrella so you have shade.
The pools range from quiet tucked away ones to huge noisy ones with music and big water slides. There really is something for everyone.
Considering the money we paid we thought the facilities, the rooms, the beach etc.. was as expected and perfect for what we wanted. A week away from work with guaranteed sunshine .
The downside though is coming - the food! It is definitely aimed at Russian/German market but we knew that in advance so we were expecting few dishes we would recognise. The buffets do have a wide enough range that you can generally find something you like enough to get full. It really is nothing more than that though - don't go there expecting delicious food - go there for the sunshine!
Now when we first arrived our rep gave us the usual spiel, tried to flog us excursions etc but then came up with a strange comment. He said "people sometimes get ill on holidays and it is natural to blame the food but it isn't as he personally inspects the kitchens twice a week. The problem is not drinking enough water or going from the heat into air conditioning." Now my partner having medical training was suspicious as he knows that dehydration does not cause vomiting and the squits. But we did take heed and made sure we drank plenty of water. Despite this the evening of the second day found us with the worst case of vomiting and squits I have EVER had. I was doubled over in terrible cramping pain every 2-3 minutes. This carried on for 3 days at which point we went to a pharmacy and got some pills. This sorted out the cramps pretty quickly and most of the other symptoms over the next 2 days.
By day 6 of our 7 day holiday we were able to revisit the restaurant and we saw loads of people clutching their tummys in obvious pain. We spoke to quite a few people there and couldn't find a particular food which we all had in common so either the general hygiene levels are poor enough to cause a lot of dishes to cause problems or there was a norovirus type bug going round.
The staff were pretty helpful so I can't really diss the place too much but sadly my memories are not happy and I can't say I would recommend it. I have been to Hurghada on 2 other occasions and not had any problems. On those trips we did fork out more so I guess you do get what you pay for - with the odd crippling stomach cramps thrown in for free!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skopje
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2009

I just returned back from Hurghada where i spent ten days in the hotel Golden 5 city.
There i had one of the best holidays of my life.
-The rooms and food are excellent.The entertainment also atisfactory.Animation team is perfect I know only one animator his name is Fox from USA he is very funny and kind person.
The only remark i have is about the distance between the hotel and beach wich is about 10 min.walk.
-In this Hotel i saw the best waiter I have ever met. His name is Ahmed Mahmoud and deserves compliments for his work and behaviour.
The General Manager of Paradise hotel , Mr. Ahmed Jusir is true gentleman and excellent person.
The all inclusive service is perfect, pools are perfect and evrything alse is perfect too.
I recommend this hotel to all of you who want to go to Egypt for your summer holiday.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden 5 Diamond Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden 5 Diamond Resort

Address: Shahl Hasheesh road | PO Box 251, Hurghada, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#56 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Golden 5 Diamond Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 332
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Category:5 Stars Check in: 14:00 Check out :12:00 Location:At the center of the city, overlooking pools and sea view.Surrounded by lots of the souvenirs shops and bazaars.Accommodation:9 bungalows (2-storey), 8 bungalow Ramses (1-storey) Total of 332 rooms (varies between 40-65 m2, 2+1 pers.) including 196 connected rooms. All rooms have balcony or terrace (ground floor). including:16 connected rooms Most of 1st floor rooms have terrace , and most of 2nd floor have balconies.All rooms are equipped with : satellite-TV, individual adjustable air condition. Bathrooms feature bathtub ,weighting scale, telephone , Hair dryer, Minibar, safe box,daily clean linen & electricity :AC 220 volts Restaurants&Bars:"Orangery" main restaurant: 350 seats International Cuisine Serving Breakfast , Lunch and Dinner Bars:"Moon Light" Lobby Bar Hours: 24-hour "Rainbow Billiard Bar" "Sunset Pool Bar" Services & Facilities:24-hour room service 24-hour concierge,Laundry service: charged as per consumption , price list,available in the room Conferences Facility: Paradise conference room:capacity of 300 persons , Paradise VIPs Lounge: 150 seats. Internetcafe,Limousine service,Beauty salon,Lobby shops,On request doctor,Tour & travel desk,Babysitting on request ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Golden 5 Diamond Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden 5 Diamond Hotel & Beach Hurghada
Golden 5 Diamond Hotel And Beach Resort
Golden 5 Hotel Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden 5 Diamond Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.