We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two week holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shedwan Garden Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hurghada
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shedwan Garden Hotel
Save
You added Shedwan Garden Hotel to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Red Sea Hurghada, Hurghada, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #131 of 182 Hotels in Hurghada
kilmarnock ayrshire Scotland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Two week holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

My wife and i spent two weeks at the shedwan garden hotel.
This was prior too the uprising.
The hotel was constantly being cleaned, we had no problem
with cleanliness at any time.
Staff very helpfull, yes they look for tips, we would too if we
were paid a pound a day, for a 12hr shift.
A few coppers a day keeps them happy, then 1 UK pound was
8 Egyptian pounds.
Watch the small shopping centre just along from the hotel,
they tried to sell us pearls from the bottom of the sea,
as they put it, rubbish.
wes

Room Tip: Try to get ground floor, external steps lead to upper floors, no real problem if fairly fit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    44
    23
    9
    16
See reviews for
23
38
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

I can not believe it! We book holidays for one week in Hurghada, a horrible place! there are no roads, streets are all unfinished, the buildings are also unfinished, rubish everywhere.... You need to see it to believe it!
The egyptian man are dirty and smelly, the only thing they want is your money! They look at my wife constantly with their dirty disgusting looks! Taxi drivers, hotel staff, bazar shop guys.... are like a pest!!! they don't let you alone, constantly asking for money.
It was so bad, that we cancel the holidays and move to a place called El Gouna! Only forty minutes hurghada. What a difference, even the filthy egyptian look nicer there! There was nice educated and rich egyptian people. The bazar guys and hotel seem to be trained to not hassle the tourist.... What a diference! I recommend el Gouna but I will never ever go back to Hurghada!!!!!

Room Tip: Go to El gouna, Steigenberger, Movenpick or Sheran
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2011

The hotel is good for all kinds of vacation for both mature people as well as for young, because the hotel is located not far from the center, so it is easy to go out even every night.
The staff is really friendly and the service is on a very good level.
The food is nice and various.
Wish to come back...)

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2010

I stayed there last summer and found the staff courteous, the food nice and the pool and area well maintained.

Dont be fooled this is NOT a 4 star hotel. Maybe 3 star but not that perfect. It was quiet and near the beach but the sea is very salty and it was too hot to stay by the beach.

The main thing you need to know is; the hotel is quite nice and I have no servere complaints and the staff were very friendly but the surrounding area is like baghdad! Its broken buildings and wastelands are not pleasant. The main thing is the locals. every shop liteally tries to drag you in and if you do go in a shop you cant browse as you are forced and pushed around with people shoving things in your face.

We went to a bar once and stubmled on a party on the way back. they invited us in and were very friendly but when it came time to pay for our 1 round of drinks they charged us about 10 times the normal amount.

All they want to do over there is rip you off and I would not go back.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2010

We arrived at the Shedwan Garden hotel... or the 'prison cell' on 6th april 2010 and were horrified to be told by the unhelpful reception staff, that the hotel is in the process of shutting down for renovation! This meant that almost all of the facilities that had made us want to come to the Shedwan Garden were in fact shut! That includes the health club and gym, all but two of the restaurants, and the entire animation program such as beach games and nighttime shows. This meant that there was absoloutely nothing to do at night other than sit in the lobby and gawp at the atrocious clothing of the numerous russians staying at the hotel! We were initially allocated a room at the front of the hotel which overlooked the busy, unpleasant main road, the room was also dark, dingy, and smelt strongly of cigarette smoke despite a no smoking sign on the door. We then asked them if we could have a different room with a better view and possibly a balcony. After a few hours they showed us our new room... Oh dear!... Although i admit that the view was much better and we had a balcony, i have to say i have stayed in better youth hostels! there was one plug socket in the entire room which was meant for the fridge so to charge our phones or use the hairdrier we had to make the decision whether to unplug the television or the fridge! In addition to this there was a constant smell of urine/sewerage in the bathroom and when we opened our door to go onto the corridor which overlooked wasteland with corregated iron shacks! This meant that we got no sleep because the wind made the corregated iron sheets clatter and created an unbearably loud clanging sound! We felt that our room was totally insecure, even the safety deposit box was missing, which made us think that it had possibly been stolen as the door into our room didn't lock easily and even when it was locked i was fairly sure that my sixteen year old daughter could have kicked it down had she tried! The food was... well... dreadful. All the tables and cutlery were.. sticky! all the food warmers and toasters were greasy and could of done with being replaced. One lunchtime when eating around the pool I went to open a metal food warmer only to be subjected to a painful electric shock! this was the final straw for us and at the welcome meeting that follwed, i begged our holiday rep Mohab to move us to a better hotel. He initially offered to move us to the 'Grand Resort' for £50 each and we agreed but then when he came back later that evening he said that there was no longer any availability but that he could get us into the Siva Grand Beach the following day however it was going to be £100 each! by this point we were so desperate to get out of the Shedwan that we agreed. On the morning of our departure even the waiters and porters who were reasnobly friendly, cheered and seemed happy for us that we were escaping. When we asked them if they knew anything about the Siva Grand Beach they checked to make sure the managers wern't nearby but then openly admitted that it was a much better hotel than the Shedwan, and they gave us the impression that the Shedwan had a bad reputation in Hurghada. We believe that the Shedwan may have been awarded its supposed '4 star' status a VERY long time ago however it is definitely past it now and we would advise anybody who has booked to stay here in the near future to alter your accomodation before you leave the UK, as we feel we may have been ripped off by the travel company in Egypt. We would happily recommend the Siva grand beach as we found it be brilliant. Thankgod we only spent two days at the Shedwan Garden hotel, we wouldn't wish it on anybody!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accrington, Lancs
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2010

It has a 4 star rating but I feel that this must have been awarded a long time ago. It was like a hotel being 'run down' prior to sale or something. The whole place was dirty; the food equipment (grill etc) was filthy and covered in tatty silver foil to hide its caked on grease. The bathrooms had no plugs for the sink or bath. The grouting was green and black with mould, the tiles were chipped and dirty. We were allowed only one small toilet roll per day, shampoo etc were not replenished (it was one teeny bottle to last the week). Yes, you could get some more if you went to the very grumpy receptionist and asked for it. In the restaurant the food was edible but average. The milk was watered down (honest, it was - it hardly resembled milk but was labelled 'full fat milk'). The pool had a ring of scum around the edge and the sunbeds were constructed of rotting wood which were, in the main, broken; upon which you placed your threadbare beach towel. The management 'barked' at the staff constantly so that they were surly. Nobody was overly pleasant to the guests as the Egyptians usually are.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2010 via mobile

This hotel is on quite a grotty street and if I was choosing to book I would go for one of the grand named hotels in the new town as they are in a nice pedestrian area that it is safe to walk around in at night with no hassle. The hotel was quite basic with less facilities and range of services than we expected. The staff are relentless in their pursuit of tips and the food is a bit samey. The times for things like food and ice cream availability are wrong in brochures. The restaurant manager hassles the guests to book special evenings at extra cost with the same food as you could receive for free in the restaurant on the same evening! There is a show listing for every night but often this does not occur. The bay itself is very windy and it is true that you are hassled to have massages etc at extra cost. Not much for children to do and my request for a particular area of the hotel was ignored. Do however try and get out to the lovely new marina by taxi ..don't pay more than 20 egyptian pounds by haggling and you even have to haggle in the supermarket ...I was really ripped off the first night when I didn't realise. Don't let them tempt your children into shops with sweets as they then close the doors.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shedwan Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shedwan Garden Hotel

Address: Red Sea Hurghada, Hurghada, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#90 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
Hotel Class:4 star — Shedwan Garden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Also Known As:
Shedwan Garden Hurghada
Hotel Shedwan Garden

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shedwan Garden Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.