We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel , good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Arabella Azur Resort

Save Saved
You added Arabella Azur Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Arabella Azur Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   El Cornich Road 23, Hurghada, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 180 Hotels in Hurghada
Cairo, Egypt
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“good hotel , good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

very good hotel but suitable to whom interested in Badwain style it's not modern, beach is rocky if u have children it doesn't work cause you will go downstairs to go to beach actually it's 05 stairs not more, i enjoyed there so much, there is a bar beside the lobby which i love it so much, main restaurant looks on the sea so it's a great view

Room Tip: sea view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    81
    12
    8
    4
See reviews for
54
75
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
grimsby
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Excellent holiday here 1/4/13 8/4/13 the people can't do enough for you you have two beaches ample bars 2 swimming pools the food very good itallion restaurant open till 12 pm all inclusive till 02.00 what more can you want rooms spotless,we was the only English here, mostly german,Dutch,norwegian, couple of Danes,and a few Russians and not rude one,s as we where coming away more Ruski,s arriving the only thing needs improving is entertainment,animation staff work hard but have,nt a clue really you get 3 bottles of soft drink and 2 water daily in your fridge we got bath robes basket of fruit towel art it is really lovely we tipped houseboy 40 Egyptian pound 4 quid can't fault him they really do look after you. So go with confidence you have picked a good hotel cheers Steve ps you will get hassled by massage people and memo the fish foot woman I used to wind them up daily and then say no they left us after day 3 ha ha

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We were 2 adults and a 6yo. We had a lovely room in the E-Block, With terrace overlooking the Beach and sea. It was spacious, even though we had 2 beds in it (1 double and 1 single).
You could see that it isn't a 5*-hotelm With some cracks above a window, or outdated bathroom. But it really didn't matter. Everything was clean and cozy, the room had dome ceilings and air condition and felt cool after coming in from 30+ degrees outside.

We went on AI-basis, and the fridge was restocked with 3 large bottles of water as well as 3 sodas, and 3 juice boxes every day. Every other day there was either fresh fruit or cookies waiting as well :-)

There are 2 main restaurants, but we sticked mainly to the grill restaurant for all meals. they had a good range of breads and pastries, salad bar, cookies and cakes, and of course grilled dishes. different every day. local drinks and soda were included, and the waiters were very attentive and always made sure you had something in your glass. they were also great with our son, joking around, and high 5-ing, which he loved :-D All staff were like that, actually, so this is a great place to og with your kids!

The best thing about the hotel was without a doubt the reef beach!! You had to get sown some stairs into the water and all of a sudden you are surrounded by an amazing variety of colourful fish! we spent hours snorkeling and looking at them, we even saw a stingray one day.

I honestly cant think of one negative thing worth mentioning, and if we ever get back to Hurghada we won't think twice regarding our hotel choice!!

Room Tip: 2 People: Block E! 3 People: Block D!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Just been back for the 2nd time at Arabella Azur, and again wonderful stay.

ROOM:
The room is nice and has all you need, including a little freedge with water and sodas. The bathroom works well, with shower in tub and a big mirror above the sink.
It is not as neat as a room at eg. Hilton, but it has a nice home-like felling.
The room is cleaned every day, and you get new towels as well.

GROUNDS:
The hotel grounds are nicely well kept, both pools are newly renovated, beautiful little gardens, tennis courts, and a billard room.
Both pools are nice, the big one, with loud music, especially when animation are doing dances etc. but it has great ocean view and a swim up bar.
The small pool is quieter, and heated in winter time.

BEACH:
The hotel has two beaches. A big one, with lots of sunbeds, and a beach bar.
Also there is a little beach, also known as reef beach, since there is a coral reef just from the beach. Also the little beach has a bar that serves drinks.
The snorkeling is absolutely amazing, and Arabella has, by far, the best reef in Hurghada area, you´ll have to go to Markadi or Marsa Alam to find better or just as good reefs.
There are many different corals, and the marine life is fantastic, besides the ordanary reef fish, we saw Moray eels, sting rays, squid, octapus, baracuda, lion fish etc.

ALL INCLUSIVE (AI):
The AI works great, always something to eat and drink.
There are three restaurants, but we had all our meals at the grill restaurant. There is not as much to choose from as seen on other big hotels, but the fewer dishes is fine since they are really tasty, even after two weeks we looked forward to dinner. Always fish, chicken, beef, vegetables, rice and potatoes, and besides that a pasta station where they cook your pasta to your liking, and if you are into cakes you will be in heaven since there are SO many to choose from. Also something from the BBQ grill each night.
The AI is from 10am to 02am, and besides the three main courses, you can get drinks at both pools and both beaches, from noon there is ice cream, afternoon snacks at the bar, late lunch at the big beach from 3pm and freshly made pizzas from 3pm at the little pool.
At the bar you can choose from different long drinks, really nice.

All in all nothing is missing, well the rooms are not as fancy as at Hilton, the pools also smaller, there is not as many different things to choose from at meals as at the 5* hotels (although much tastier). The beach is not as great as at many other hotels, things not as fancy etc. so what is it that makes people keep returning, and giving fantastic reviews......it´s all about the atmosphere.....all staff are SO nice, will do all to make sure you have a great time, and feel at home, you just feel so welcome and that´s what makes this hotel in a class above others - well that and the great reef.

NICE TO KNOW:
- besides the two reefs in front of the little beach, there are two more at the neighbour hotel Arabia, you can swim there.
- Tips is a part of Egyptian culture, so you should tip the staff, not to get great service because you get that even without tips, but give it because it is part of their salary....
- Most people to visit are German and Dutch but more Russians have found this pearl now also, and then also some Scandinavians.
- Blue Water Dive center is part of the hotel. It offers fair prices and excellent service.

Will I come back again?? - Absolutely, the nice staff, the fantastic food, the great coral reefs and above all the hotel atmosphere, is something you can visit again and again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Stayed at the hotel in mid January for two fantastic weeks. The resort is well maintained and in a very good location. Rooms are spacious, comfortable and clean. Staff are very helpful and friendly. Very good facilities. Excellent food with good choice. Plenty of areas to relax and enjoy the sun or do some snorkelling and see some amazing sea life! If we ever return to Hurghada we would not hesitate and book this excellent hotel.

Room Tip: We had a room on the ground floor with terrace overlooking the main beach which was in a good locati...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tilburg, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We stayed at Arabella Azur Resort for one week from 23 February to 2 March 2013. We really enjoyed our time, it is a great place to relax. Arabella Azur Resort is a nice little village of white houses, two swimming pools, two beaches and three restaurants. The guests are mainly German, Dutch, Scandinavian and Eastern European. A nice mix with families and couples (young and older).

Rooms
During our stay a part of the resort was under construction. It looked like they are updating the rooms, which is great. The rooms are nice now, but could use an update. We stayed in a room in block D. The room is spacious, with different levels, each two steps up or down. The comfortable bed is on the highest level, the bathroom is at entrance level and you have a sofa and a balcony or terrace on the lowest level. These differences in height give the room a nice touch. Each room has its own mini bar, which contains three soft drinks and two bottles of water free of charge. The mini bar is refilled every day.
The bed is nice and comfortable and you get a double set of pillows, so you can choose the one you like best. The bathroom is also nice and spacious, with a bathtub, toilet and sink.
The room is cleaned every day and has protection from bugs in front of the windows and under the doors.

Beach and swimming pool
We love to go snorkeling, so we stayed at the reef beach most of the time. You can get your towels at the big swimming pools, which is beautiful. At the reef beach there are plenty of sunbeds and umbrellas. The beach boys help you with your towel, if you want to (also without a tip). You can get a drink at the beach bar, and the bartender walks around to take your orders. He remembers what you drink and offers great service, also without a tip (but ofcourse you get even better service when you tip the staff. They work hard for it).
You can eat fresh pizza and ice cream at the big swimming pool and get hot snacks at the main beach.

Restaurants
The main restaurant (Grill Restaurant) has sea view, which is great for breakfast, lunch and dinner. All meals are really nice. The food is different each day and of good quality. The staff cares about hygiene, both of us didn't get sick. The hotel offers a large buffet for breakfast, lunch and dinner. At breakfast, you have a selection of breads (also whole wheat and diet), fruit, an omelet station, crepes, salads, yoghurt and cereal. For lunch, you can choose from a selection of hot dishes and a salad and bread buffet. Dinner is really nice every evening. You can choose nice and healthy food from the buffet. There is meat, fish and vegetarian each day and also different vegetables to choose from. At each meal there is also a large dessert buffet.
When you are in the mood for a different atmosphere, you can also eat in the Italian Restaurant and the Egyptian restaurant, which both offer an All Inclusive menu.

Entertainment
The hotel offers a lot of entertainment choices, from the gym and aerobics at the swimming pool to a game arcade with billiards and a pool table. If you like shows, you can see a different one each evening, all by the enthusiastic entertainment team. There is also a live music performance three times a week in the Fire Corner, one of the places you can hang out and have a drink. You can have a drink at three different places and if you fancy a dance, there is an All Inclusive disco as well.

So, if you are looking for a nice resort with a great reef, good service, tasty food and a nice atmosphere, I would definetely recommend this resort.

Room Tip: The rooms in block C and D are situated near the main restaurant, main beach and big swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

I spent my last holidays in Egypt, in hotel Arabella Azur. This hotel is located on a very nice spot of Hurghada, you can say on a corner, so that the hotel area has two beaches to two different cardinal points.
Let's begin from the check-in. The welcoming was warm and comfortable. We didn't have to stand in a row waiting for the check-in as it is usually in many hotels. On the contrary, we were seated in the lobby, we were brought a drink and the documents to fill in. After a while, one of the receptionists came to us and brought us our room keys and a hotel plan. Shortly he explained us the most important things we should know about the hotel, the All Inclusive system, the main restaurants, how the towel-lending works etc. By this way he saved us time, otherwise we would have to go around and search by ourselves. The concierge accompanied us to our room and didn't wait for any tips (a nice feeling that you are not obliged to give him something to go away, happened to us before a couple of times).
We arrived in the lunch time, so that we still managed to have our lunch, luckily. Following the hotel map we were given at the check-in, we found the main restaurant easily. Furthermore there are many signs in the hotel showing you the way, because, as we found out later, the area is little bit complicated.
When we arrived to the main restaurant, we were breathless. It is situated right at the sea, so you can watch even the turtles sometimes passing by, while you are eating. Very nice atmosphere and fresh sea breeze. There was a lot to choose from, plus there was live grilling (the name of the restaurant is Grill Restaurant).
The following day we decided to use the service of the Guest Relation. They are organizing every day at 13:00 a "hotel tour" for the new guests. It helped us a lot! During the hotel tour we got to know where are the pools, where we can get our meals during the day and where are the bars. During the tour we discovered another beach aside from the main beach, which is perfect for snorkeling! I will write about it later.

Hotel area: the hotel is built in a Nubian style. Very typical, with white cupolas. The area is big enough to get lost in it :) What we found very good is the fact, that we could use the pools and the beach of the neighbor hotels Arabia and Bel Air (they belong to the same hotel chain). Drinks were extra in the other hotels.

Room: the room style is Nubian as well. I found it romantic. The room was a little bit dark because of the colored window glasses, but it didn't disturb us a lot because the most of time we were spending outside, and when we wanted to sleep, at least not much sun was coming inside. The room service was just perfect! The room was always clean, the staff friendly and helpful. They always asked if we need something. And every day we found another figure made of towels :) The rooms must have been renovated because all the furniture and the painting were in a very good case. And we were surprised to have a big (and working!) LCD TV instead of some old-modern TV. Our room was located to the pool so we could access the pool directly from the terrace and also enjoy our morning coffee there. I must also mention that there is free coffee and tea in the room refilled daily, plus a kettle, so if you wish to drink anything you don't have to go to the bar but you can prepare it directly in your room.

Pools & beaches: there are two pools in the hotel area. One bigger and one smaller. The smaller one is heated during winter and the animation takes place there. It means that the bigger pool was rather empty at this winter time. But from the big pool there is an amazing view to the sea! Towels are available at the pool or at the beach in exchange for a towel card (for free).
There are 2 beaches. One main beach and a "reef beach". Why reef? Because directly at the beach there is a wonderful house reef where you can snorkel all day long! We saw a lot of fish species and corals. Colorful and untouched. Indescribable!
There are also bars at the beaches/pools and what is the best, that you don't have to move yourself! The guys come to your sunbed and bring you whatever you like! Excellent service!

Food & Drinks: In this hotel you can eat and drink all day long. There is no time during a day when you are hungry. There are two main restaurants, one of them Italian, where they make a very tasty pizza in the evening. And during a lunch time when we were laying on the beach, we didn't have to change our clothes to go to eat, because there was a beach restaurant ;) In the bears they made the best cappuccino ever and a lot of different cocktails.

Service: all the staff is very friendly and not pushy. One or two may have their bad day, but there was never someone impolite or rude. If we needed something, they tried to do their best to fulfill our wish.

Other tips: about shopping, we didn't have the mood to bargain with the bazaar sellers and we decided to go to a shop with fixed prices. The name is Cleopatra and it's located in the Sheraton Street above Abu Ashara supermarket. We caught a taxi from in front of the hotel (there are always some taxis standing) and for 20 pounds he drove us there. After shopping we decided to walk a little in the main street (Sheraton), but the sellers were bothering us.

Another tip is to visit Hurghada Marina. It is a harbour with yachts and restaurants where you can have a walk and make some beautiful pictures as well. And it's quite near to the hotel so if you have time and mood, you can walk there (ca. 20 minutes walk)

Another thing to mention are excursions. We've got a tip from our friends who were in Egypt last year to choose a company called Red Sea Reisen. So we contacted them before our trip per email (they speak English, German and some other languages) and chose some trips from their website. We booked an evening Quad Safari, "1001 night" show and a private city tour. We wanted to book a trip to aqua park, but we became tired so we decided to stay and relax in the hotel. We were very satisfied with their services and next time we'd like to book some sightseeing trips (Luxor, Aswan etc.) with them.

Overall, we had a dream holiday and we wish to return to Egypt and to Arabella as soon as possible :)

Room Tip: We had a room in the A-block at the small pool. It's near to reception and the Italian restauran...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arabella Azur Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arabella Azur Resort

Address: El Cornich Road 23, Hurghada, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Hurghada
#12 Romantic Hotel in Hurghada
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Hurghada
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
#21 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
#33 Family Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Arabella Azur Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 296
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Arabella Azur Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arabella Azur Hotel Hurghada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arabella Azur Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.