We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely and well maintained resort!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Arabella Azur Resort

Save Saved
You added Arabella Azur Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Arabella Azur Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   El Cornich Road 23, Hurghada, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 182 hotels in Hurghada
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Lovely and well maintained resort!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Travelled to Egypt and stayed in this resort during the second week of January 2013.
The hotel view outside on approach is beautiful and big. The resort itself is also very large, there's plenty areas around to sunbathe and enjoy the sun. Didn't really get to experience much warm weather as we were told that usually the first 10days of the year are the coldest (typical we went when it was cold). Plenty of couples and small families in the area. Staff in the resort are very friendly, always greet you in passing. One major thing which was a huge letdown was the selection of food. Although they had a variety everyday, it wasn't piping hot and become warm once we sat down to eat. There isn't a huge choice as i would've expected from an all inclusive however i suppose its worth what you pay for. On the plus side, there are two main restaurants within this hotel, which you are able to alternate between which we did. There is also an indoor and outdoor seating arrangement if you wish to sit out or in. The main 'Grill' restaurant has a few safety inconveniences in that the floor is all brick (mainly as it's outdoor) so the tables and chairs often weren't completely steady and wobbled about sometimes. Staff operated extremely efficiently which i liked, and there's plenty of them around to serve guests.
Bedrooms are a nice size and the beds were amazingly comfortable. The bathroom has all the basic amenities. Storage space to hang clothes and laundry service. Bedrooms were tidied and replenished promptly every morning and our cleaner made us really pretty animals out of towels every day. Mini fridge drinks including coke, pepsi and water are free to drink and are topped up every day. Also have a kettle and tea/coffee sachets.
One main issue i had when out in Egypt but particularly within our resort was the guys around trying to sell excursions to tourists. It is a major pet hate of mine when being pressured into buying or looking at something, so if you are browsing through brochures, my advice is not to say yes straight away (unless you are genuinely interested) in case you find a better deal elsewhere, as we did with our holiday rep. It was then a little awkward to say no to the first guy as he was expecting money from us. It doesn't happen often and if you make clear you're not interested then i'm sure they'll leave you alone.
The resort itself is very clean and well maintained, beautifully decorated with plants, trees and flowers around. Plenty of things to do (free billiards room, spa & gym, kids play area, designated performance and shisha places etc). Overall enjoyed and was happy with our pick of accommodation but the food selection is the major letdown for me,

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    78
    81
    12
    8
    4
See reviews for
54
71
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012 via mobile

Just about 3 km outside the "city center" you find a hotel which will give you the impression to be in Marocco! Very individual rooms, narrow "streets" ( walkways) to connect rooms... Two pools, a beautiful access to the read sea, a german led diving center... What do you expect more fit a nice Holiday. Out of about 4 the best restaurant is the Italian one, with fresh oven baked pizzas which you can not find in a circle of 250 km...
Germans and Netherlanders are the main customers... Average age is the 50th... But a lot of young couples as well. Prices for a "all inclusive Hotel" are very well... Double around 90 euros a day! The restaurants should work a bit on their cocktails and have better juices and may be better alcoholic drinks, not locals. There is a beer bar where you can find empty bottles of foreign drinks... But if you ask for them you will be informed: this is only decoration...
If I would not be a diver but just stay one week in the Hotel a would NOT choose it.
Lovely houses and rooms... But a "tourist fabric" - which I do not lime

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

I actually travelled already in September 2010 but forgot to review. Located near the sea, the hotel offers multiple diving and snorkel oppurtunities. With 4 restaurants there is a lot of variety in food, however after 2 weeks it's nice to have something else for a change. Rooms are average sized but big enough to dump the suitcase and not fall over them. Staff is very friendly and off course the hotel is all inclusive.

Room Tip: Beach Side
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

We stayed at the Arabella Azur in May 2012. This hotel was recommended by a Dutch friend. After research we knew that there would be very few English people staying at the hotel (in fact, we were the only ones, me, my partner and my parents) but this didn't concern me.

Our first impression was that the hotel is a little dated (as mentioned in other reviews) but it is still a nice hotel. The hotel staff are all extremely nice and will do anything to help (especially if you give them the odd tip which is the norm in Egypt). The rooms are scattered across a large area and it is quite easy to lose your direction. We booked two sea view rooms at extra cost but we were given pool view rooms, we immediately mentioned this to reception but no other suitable rooms were available until the next day, we spent the first night in the original rooms but moved the next day. The best sea view rooms (in our opinion) are located at the rear of the dive centre.

ROOM
The rooms are very clean. Towels are changed daily and floors are mopped and swept every day too. Our room cleaner made some really nice things with our towels, some of which we hadn't seen before. We did wake up one morning to find a cockroach in the room, the cleaner was very appologetic and gave us a tin of spray. We mentioned the bug to reception who immediately sent someone round to fumigate the room. This was the only unwanted visitor we had. At the time that we were there the hotel imported lots of new sand to spread on the beach outside our room, we think that the bug may have been brought in with the sand. Thank you to the hotel for dealing with this.....an excellent service as we hate cockroaches.

FOOD
The food at the hotel is one of the best we have had at an Egyptian all inclusive hotel (it is by no means gormet cuisine but is tasty and as in other reviews, can be a little repetative) and the all inclusive runs until 2am. Try the pizza's at the small pool, they are really nice but make sure you ask for extra toppings as the chef can hold back if you don't say anything.

ENTERTAINMENT
The anmation team do try really hard but we felt that it could have been better (no offence guys). Entertainment is available outside the grill restaraunt but it is not advertised when anything is on. Some singers were very entertaining with the song choice and getting the audience involved, others were trying to be professional singers but we just couldn't help feeling it was more like a comedy show.

EXCURSIONS
We booked a snorkelling trip and the glass bottom boat with Adam who introduces himself to you whilst you are sunbathing. Adam is very pleasant but he charged us far too much for our trip. The boat (SHARK 1) looks like a heap of junk, there are no cushions on the seat, no carpets on the floor and the steel hull is rusting away. The day was good but at 325 L.E. each was a rip off! the boat has 4 locations tops, 3 for snorkelling and 1 for a visit to Paradise island. We found a similar trip with all soft drinks and lunch included for only 150 L.E at an agents office in Sherraton Street which included pick from the hotel and return too. Take a look at the boat near the large pool before you book, my advice would be to avoid at all costs (unless of course Adam (or any of the other reps) will match the 150 L.E price at the agent, they will try to say that you will not be insured with the other agent but this is not true). We did see dolphins whilst we were out which did make the trip OK. I have had much better trips which cost a lot less. The only advantage is the the boat left from the hotel.

SNORKELLING
There is an island in the lagoon but there were very few fish here. The best reef by far is the one located at the beach bar near the volley ball court. I would say it's one of the best reefs in all the hotels we have visited in Egypt (6 in total).

IN SUMMARY
We would like to thank Mohamed who was laying our towels out for us at the pool (he was moved to the beach area near the end of our holiday but continued to look after us) and also thanks to another Mohamed (really nice guy with a few puzzles for you to solve) who was the barman in the beer keller but was moved to the Italian restaurant in the second week of our holiday. This was parents first visit to Egypt and also the first time they have been to an all inclusive hotel and they will definately do it again but maybe not to this hotel. All staff speak multiple languages so even though we were the only English people there, there was no problem communicating. I wouldn't let this review put you off this hotel as it is really nice, but there are better hotels in Hurghada.
ADVICE:- Book your boat trips outside of the hotel.

Room Tip: Don't book snorkelling trips at the hotel as they are over priced and the boat (SHARK 1) is full...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

This hotel is a great value break. The main restaurant is great right on the sea, this is one of the best views I've seen from any restaurant in Egypt. The rooms and grounds are old, but value for money its great. Good quality of food.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

I stayed there during last Aid Adha, it was amazing place, so pleasant and so nice services, the waiters are helpful and always smiling, Rooms was perfect and clean, food was good but they just need to add more varieties for food, we had an accident in the hotel we were about to sink and 2 of the waiters and the tattoo man they jumped in the pool with their clothes, mobiles, and money just to save us, I really want to thank them badly for their assistance I really appreciate it. They have amazingggg main restaurant view makes you feel like you are sitting in the middle of the sea and you make feel that you are not in Egypt at all it is really amazing.
It is a good experience with high level service quality; I really would like to thank everyone in the hotel for their great hospitality

Room Tip: Sea or Pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

This hotel is fantastic, in a brilliant location. Although the decor is a little dated everywhere is spotless. The staff can't do enough for you and speak very good english. We have just returned from here after spending new year here - they pulled out all the stops and made new year great! well done to all!
Only minor thing was that because we were the only english there my husband had to get a taxi to another hotel to get a paper - but when mentioned this to the reception they apologised and said they would address this.
Staff AND guests were happy and friendly to chat to us in some what broken english.
Food can be a little bland but I didn't get an upset stomach which I always have when go abroad which is a good reflection on the cleanliness and quality of the food.
The only BIG critsism we have was with outside the hotel-the marina is just as expensive at home and wanted £2.20 for a bottle of beer that was all in at hote and nothing special!
Plus BEWARE of some taxi drivers - unfortunately 1 night we were fooled into receiving a 50 note that we thought was egyption pound but was their smallest currency! although when told other taxi drivers they were disgusted and apologised for the culprit.
All in all a fabulous new year spent at a fabulous hotel.

Room Tip: Request a sea view-well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arabella Azur Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arabella Azur Resort

Address: El Cornich Road 23, Hurghada, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Hurghada
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Hurghada
#16 Romantic Hotel in Hurghada
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
#20 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
#31 Family Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Arabella Azur Resort 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Arabella Azur Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arabella Azur Hotel Hurghada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arabella Azur Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.