We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you hate good food, this is the place to be.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Arabella Azur Resort

Save Saved
You added Arabella Azur Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Arabella Azur Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   El Cornich Road 23, Hurghada, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 183 hotels in Hurghada
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“If you hate good food, this is the place to be.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

The good: nice staff, great weather, nice reef so lots of fish.
The bad: the food, the food, the food and the food. Did I mention the food?
Also your airco unit is behind the bed and it makes a lot of noise. But because of that you can't make the noise the fridge makes. If you decide to turn of your airco unit. Make sure you unplug the fridge as well.
In Mexico or Asia this resort would have 2 stars max..

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    77
    80
    12
    8
    4
See reviews for
52
71
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Limburg
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

We've stayed in Arabella Azur in August 2010. We had a standard room for 3 persons. 2 adults and 1 teenager (12 yrs). The people at the hotel are doing all they can to make your holiday the best holiday ever. The room is not new anymore, but has anything you want incl. a hairdryer in the bathroom. Sometimes the airco breaks down and then it gets very warm in your room. But if you wait a little while, they fix it. Outside there's always a wind blowing which is lovely since in August it's very warm there. It's an all inclusive resort, which means you can eat / drink anything you like. They serve various meals and i guarantee there's plenty of your liking! Just choose n pick! At the big pool (where they do aquagym) you find Wesam (towelboy). He's most lovely, brings you everything you need. We heard an Egyptian song which we liked. Next day he brought us a CD with this song on it. Especially made for us. The singer is Mohammed Hammaki. He gave our daughter Arabic lessons. It's great to learn a few words which you can use while talking with the personnel. This is a lovely resort, it's more like an Arabic village. At the beach there is a small reef, where you can see the most colorfull fishies :-) We've even seen a stingray. When you decide to take a boat trip, take the one which they offer at the beach of the hotel Arabella. We've had a supertrip!!!!
A small minus: the people from the spa offering their services. Just continue saying NO when you don't want to use the spa (as it's not included in the all inclusive!)
We still talk about our holiday in Egypt a year later! We will be back one day, that's for sure! all our love to the people who work at Arabella Azur, especially Wesam!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tolkamer, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

Perfect for a (lazy)holiday! nice arabic achitecture and gardens, clean rooms and good food! two beaches with possibilities to see fishes , two big pools and great facilities.. Shops in the neighbourhood of the hotel and the old center is about 15 minutes drive by taxi.
In our opinion: great place to stay in Hurghada!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poznan, Poland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

I’ve been there twice, first time in September 2010 and January 2011 and both times I claim that it was perfect on its price!!!

Positive opinions on web portals had shown to be truth in 100%, when am concerning negative opinions about that I have doubts if we were in the same hotel???

Hotel is a complex of several little houses, that is why you don’t feel actually like in a hotel, cause everybody has own space, feels own comfort of holidays.
Style of hotel is created as old wood, for me it adds charm.

Rooms are cleaned carefully. I had a room near to the beach, near to big pool with beautiful view on the beach – with little help of $. In a room is a full fridge with beverages like 7up, Fanta, but if you don’t make it empty, you will not get more beverages, so it’s better to take it out, hide somewhere cause if you want to drink some day more you will not have it. It’s in a price of hotel, so I claim that they should leave it no matter if you drink from previous day or not.

Delicious food!!! You cannot eat it out, every day you can eat sth different. In the beach bar every third day food repeats but when someone is lazy, don’t want to eat as much and don’t want to wear clothes, can eat carefully lunch at the beach.

Animators ok, they are willing you all the time to play with them, but I didn’t use any of entertainment there.

Not many Polish, the hotel is completely divided into Germans and Russians.
Close to the city center – Sakalla – 2$ for taxi, and to old part of Hurghada Dahar – also 2$.
Hotel is situated about 30 minutes by bus from airport.
In the hotel there are shops but there is expensive, out the hotel also shops and there you can trade and buy sth in a good price.

Service very helpful, nice, polite in every meaning of these words. Really if I had experience that someone was impolite there was so seldom I don’t remember that. They speak good English, German and of course Russian. Of course you have to get used to specific pronunciation but it’s generally ok.

Beach clean, a lot of beds. Of course if you want to have better place, I recommend to stand up earlier and go with own towels to book beds. But sometimes I went into the beach about 12 and I always had a place to lie.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
europe
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2010

Had a great week at this hotel. Beautiful architecture, 2 swimming pools and 2 coral reefs. No need to go on a snorkelling trip. Food was good, ate at the The Grill restaurant almost every meal which has a view of the sea and you can see tropical fish swimming around below.

Our shower was a bit small but saw other rooms with more modern bathrooms. Only 1 of the 2 swimming pools is warmed but anyway the sea was 21oC and the weather so warm this didn't matter too much.

Staff very helpful and friendly. Pizza and a cappuccino by the smaller swimming pool was a nice routine we fell into in the late afternoon.

We did 3 excursions while we were there. The day trip to Luxor was good but it is a very long day. The Desert Adventure was a lot of fun if you like racing around the desert in jeeps, dune buggies and quads. The snorkelling trip to Sharm el Naga was also good but not 100% necessary given the hotel's own coral reefs. Had heard the Dolfin trip was a bit disappointing.

Just remember to get up early in November/December as the sun goes down pretty early. Most of the guests are from Russia, Germany & Holland (in that order).

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amsterdam
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2010

This hotel is great - so cute, all those little buildings in Arabic style. You should see that for once. Food is good, the only two things that are not so good are that they do not have Wifi and that there are 'only' two main restaurants. But furthermore, it is absolutely advisable to go there!

  • Stayed February 2009
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2010

This all-inclusive hotel is just right for those who want a little bit of "old-world Egypt" and the all-inclusive experience. The rooms are built with old-style architecture, and they are a bit dated in their furnishings, but clean, spacious and airy. The food is fantastic, and there were absolutely no complaints here. There are several places to get drinks and so you are never thirsty! The beach is ok, but not a winner. Nevertheless, the snorkeling is wonderful and so accessible! The staff are great, always willing to help and never intrusive. We will return to this place, as it is certainly a gem!

Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arabella Azur Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arabella Azur Resort

Address: El Cornich Road 23, Hurghada, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Hurghada
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Hurghada
#16 Romantic Hotel in Hurghada
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
#21 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
#38 Family Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Arabella Azur Resort 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Arabella Azur Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arabella Azur Hotel Hurghada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arabella Azur Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.