We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All inclusive heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Steigenberger Al Dau Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Steigenberger Al Dau Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Steigenberger Al Dau Beach Hotel
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Yussif Afifi Road | Hurghada, Red Sea, Egypt, Hurghada 84111, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 182 Hotels in Hurghada
lancashire
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“All inclusive heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2010

We have never stayed all inclusive before so this was a new venture. Being all inclusive at this hotel turned the holiday into total relaxation. Apart from good quality food and drinks it included laundry, internet, some water sports, golf and many other extras. Tips were not expected by the staff and indeed the need to carry money disappeared. The rooms were comfortable and airy although we did move room from the 5th floor because of the noisey air conditioning.
The coral reef is not as dramatic as Sharm or Taba but the charm of the hotel compensated for this.
There were some excellent staff. Petra and Romy in guest relations guided us through an extended stay because of volcanic ash disruption. All the staff we met were helpful and eager to please.
A first class resort where everyone could find something to please them.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    914
    202
    57
    22
    18
See reviews for
415
434
72
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belgrade, Serbia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2010

The best hotel in Hurghada. It is located in the new downtown, so it is close to Hard Rock Caffe and many nice clubs. The hotel itself offers you a perfect holiday... :) From your room you can enjoy wonderful sea view. The swimming pool is huge (there is a sweet bar inside of it, jacuzzi island, sunbads in water and Lazy River), but if you dislike pools, you may have fun on the nice sandy beach. Red Sea is warm and clean, but not very deep. Water sports are very popular in Egypt because of the perfect conditions of the sea, so you should go diving or at least snorkelling with Ilios. They have their own boats and these guys are really nice.
Food is perfect - there is something for everyone :)
Stuff is very friendly :))
Ther are a lot of privileges for guests who return... You may have great variety of discounts :)
I will definitely go back this summer :)))

  • Stayed June 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2010

A really 5 stars hotel. We stayed in a suite with front view, room very clean and confortable. Staff very friendly. Big pool, large and nice beach. Main restaurant with in our outside tables, food very good and tasty. Very nice corner with own pool for little children.
Beach resturant good for lunch. Big resort very well maintained.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
10cumbria
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2010

Just returned from a week stay at the hotel. (23rd - 30th April
Ideal place to come for a relaxing break.
The hotel is very big and the grounds are lovely. The grounds are a credit to the gardeners who work well into the night
When checking in you do to to say if you want a nonsmoking room, the room we were in was on the ground floor (1132) so the views weren't so good but the room was spotless and ample sized.
All the staff were fantastic everyone was so friendly and helpful, nothing was to much trouble for any of the staff. The staff in the Tamarind were all first class.
The staff that stood out to us were the two pool side recreation staff who worked in the towel hut in front of our room ( sorry I have lost the peice of paper with your names on (? Abdul & Mohammed) together with Bassam from the Bwala pool bar and Ahmed from the Bar in the Alexander .
Hopefully will return next year with the family

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
92 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
173 helpful votes 173 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2010

I'm currently at the Steigenberger and it's exactly what I expected. In European standards this would be a very nice 4* hotel, so it's not really 5+, but very nice anyway. Great pools, food is awesome, staff friendly, beach is a 2+ on a scale from 1-5. So all in all if you are not looking for a fantastic beach and can settle for a pool vacation this is a great place.
Otherwise it's very windy here so this kind of impacts the vacation pleasure.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2010

Lovely hotel and grounds. Staff were fabulous and gave a consistanly high level of friendly service, regardless of whether you left a tip or not. Make sure you go all-inclusive! Food was great quality and huge choice. We were one of a very few Brits staying in the hotel, and this actually was a blessing in disguise. Definitely recommended if you want a week chilling around the vast pool area. Not so much if you like a nice beach to stroll along, as the private beach is small and made-made looking. Beach bar/cafe was our favourite spot, but a shame it closed at 5pm! Will defo return one day.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWITZERLAND
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2010

The hotel properly said it was great, nothing to complain... actually I just want to thanks all the staff and the amenities for a great vacation!

The Hotel is very big, with lots of spaces, very good swimming pool. The beach is good, but you have to be careful with the corals to dont get hurt ( as I did with my foot) and doesnt have much space to swim. But if you just want to laid down and get some tan, its a perfect place.

The room is big and very clean, the floors are all marble, big bathroom with shower and bath tub. Its really confortable the rooms and quiet to relax.

The restaurant is beautiful, the staff there are very welcoming, but the food over there is terible. Its very expensive and it has a horrible taste. I am not very picky with food, but this restaurant wast really really bad, I dont reccomend. Outside of the hotel have lots of restaurants much cheaper and amazing food. STARFISH for seafood lovers is unbelievable, everything very fresh, tasteful and the price you cant believe how cheap it is!

The activities are nice, they have some dance classes, but the best thing to do if you want to explore Egypt is the tours, I loved the SAFARI where you drive in a quadricycle trhough the desert and ride a camel, the snorklying are also amazing, in Paradise Island.

Right besides the hotel, if you walk for about 5 minutes you will find lots of little souvenirs stores with some many beautiful things. The best place with the best people, the store with SASHA and ALLAEDEEN, one of the firsts stores there, 2 stores passing the pharmacy. You have to be careful when walking, sellers are very annoying and pushing all the time. This store is different, they had the best treatment and prices, they dont try to fool the tourist and have many beautiful things there.

My biggest problem was in the Algotherm Spa, the stad that works there made me feel totally unconfortable, they are totally unprofessional, and I had a horrible experience. Please, be careful when you go there, men I totally unprofessional, discusting!

Almost a perfect getaway vacation, everything was really amazing, the places, the weather, the people, it was really hard to leave Hurghada.
I am planning to go back in May for 10 days to the same area, but far from this Hotel. The Hotel was good, but with this inccident in the Spa, it just made me feel ver bad to the point that I can not even think about going back there.
Such a shame, such a good hotel, lost a client because of this tercerized service.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Steigenberger Al Dau Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steigenberger Al Dau Beach Hotel

Address: Yussif Afifi Road | Hurghada, Red Sea, Egypt, Hurghada 84111, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Hurghada
#3 Spa Hotel in Hurghada
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Hurghada
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
#4 Romantic Hotel in Hurghada
#4 Family Hotel in Hurghada
#4 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Steigenberger Al Dau Beach Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 388
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Steigenberger Al Dau Beach Hotel is an exclusive luxury hotel built in fascinating Swahili architecture, situated directly on the beach at the southern tip of Hurghada with a spectacular view of the sea. The hotel is famous for its luxurious spacious rooms and superb restaurants, and it presents a variety of unrivaled features; from a unique Lazy River, inviting you to lose yourself in the tranquility of a gentle river ride, floating through the landscaped gardens until you disembark straight into an amazing pool covering 5,000 m3. A private beach that is almost half a kilometer in length, just to relax or to play, with "Ilios" the world class dive club and aqua center, where you can scuba dive, snorkel, go windsurfing, water skiing or parasailing. A 9 hole par 3 golf course, floodlit, for playing a challenging game of golf under the summer night sky. As for the feeling of complete well-being; immerse yourself in 1000 m2 of the "Algotherm Red Sea Thalasso & Spa" for pampering body treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Steigenberger Al Dau Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steigenberger Al Dau Beach Resort
Hotel Steigenberger Al Dau Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Steigenberger Al Dau Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.