We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dream holiday... every year!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Steigenberger Al Dau Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Steigenberger Al Dau Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Steigenberger Al Dau Beach Hotel
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Yussif Afifi Road | Hurghada, Red Sea, Egypt, Hurghada 84111, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 182 Hotels in Hurghada
Belgrade, Serbia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Dream holiday... every year!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

I'm visiting Steigenberger once per year for the past six years... and that would be enough to comprehend how amazing hotel it is! Amazing hotel, beautiful beach, friendly and helpful staff... 5 star hotel available to everyone. Pure zen and relaxing! Counting days till my next visit (19.06)!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    914
    202
    57
    22
    18
See reviews for
415
434
72
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Another lovely stay at the Stiengerburger. This was our second stay and we were just amazed as the first time. The staff treated us like old friends and of course we had repeat guest privalages. The best for us was the late check out. Bessem Ragy one of the beach waiters was excellent. His knowledge of the food and beverages was really good. He was funny and witty yet maintained a professional image at all times. I am sure we will be returning again

Room Tip: Any with sea view they are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

My partner and I spent 4 delightful days here earlier this month and I would definitely recommend it. From the opulent reception to the spacious well appointed room, fantastically kept gardens and the wonderful lazy river, we had the most relaxing time. Check-in was quick and efficient and we were giving a drink whilst waiting. Our room was of a good size and clean, as was the bathroom (complete with bathrobes and slippers) and our balcony overlooked one of the pools. The place was quite quiet with not many guests which was great, giving us the time to unwind and enjoy the peace. During the day you could always find somewhere on your own if you wanted (we chose to sit away from the main pools, by the lazy river, just to enjoy the solitude) we had time to ourselves and could enjoy relaxing in a ring on the lazy river, de-stressing in the jacuzzi or lazing in a hammock. The grounds were beautiful to wander round (and there were bikes available if you fancied a cycle). There were other things available to do such as a giant chess set and darts etc. Everywhere was clean and well kept, including the beach. The food in the main restaurant was good, with a selection of dishes, but it seemed to be the same every night (even though there was supposed to be a theme), and although good was not the best food I have had. You can also have lunch at the beach bar, which has more limited choice and again is the same everyday. We did have our last meal at Alexanders, a romantic setting - right on the beach, with waiter service and the food here was good (plus we were the only ones in the restaurant!) - you have to book in advance so worth booking early in your stay to guarantee a slot (although, as I say, when we ate there we were the only ones there, so not sure why they found it so hard to find a slot for us). On one of the days we went on a trip we'd organised ourselves so the hotel provided us with breakfast boxes (which had plenty to eat and drink in them). There is a managers cocktail evening on the Saturday with canapes and a pianist, sax player and violin player. We also paid to go on the glass bottom boat one afternoon (it was very choppy, with water coming in over the sides but everyone was cheery and laughing and you get the chance to snorkel once the boat has reached its destination). All staff were friendly and happy to help and although they do offer trips and spa treatments etc you do not feel at all hassled. This is the first all inclusive where we have not had to wear wrist bands, but this does mean you have to sign every time you order a drink or food or ice cream etc.There is evening entertainment (although we did not really participate) and a kids club and spa. As I say no problem finding a sun lounger either round the pools, lazy river or on the beach (and, if anyone reserves a lounger with a towel before 8am they remove it! so, even when it is busy I should think finding somewhere would not be a problem). There is a shop in reception and also a few shops and a shisha bar outside. Plus sides to this hotel are it's a great place to relax with great staff and very clean - and my favourite thing was the lazy river; the minus is the food could be better and more varied and also the wi-fi is not very good. Also I would recommend you take mosquito repellent if you are prone to be bitten (as I am). All in all though a good holiday at this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Sometimes the second visit doesn't quite live up to the first, but here I have to say we had the most amazing, relaxing holiday !!
From the moment we checked in ,to opening the door to our lovely room overlooking the amazing views of the pool and gardens and beyond the beach, all of which we're immaculate.
The staff here are very friendly and always on hand to help and serve your every minute of each day, just perfect.
The food in the main Resturant is very nice and is mainly buffet style, with a different theme each day, there is a speciality Resturant down by the beach, very romantic indeed here the food steps up again, and the service is second to none, it's just beautiful to relax with lovely views of the floodlit beach at night and the one you love, fantastic.
The spa is a must , our aroma therapy massage was so relaxing I almost nodded off .
Boat trips including snorkelling and diving are the best trips you could wish for, the guides and instructors are very helpful giving you an amazing lasting memory of the Red Sea fish and corals
My wife is very scared of the water and has never snorkelled in her life, the guide spent all of his time to help her overcome her fears and she had the most amazing experience ,which she will never forget, a special thank you to all concerned with that tour. Myself I went diving, and I have to say I was blown away and can't wait to do it all over again, it's a fabulous experience.
The pool is massive boasting 5000m the biggest in hurghada . It has a lazy river running around it.
I could go on and on , all in all a very relaxing holiday, I will go back again we loved it and didn't want it to end thanks to all the amazing staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a deluxe sea veiw room you won't be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cairo
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

This was my second stay in Steignberger Al Dau..actually this place is the best hotel by far in Hurghada, rooms are really spacious and comforting, friendly and professional staff, the best all inclusive deal the one can get, very nice beach, great facilities specially the swimming pools and Simba children club.
Actually, some places may disapoint you , specially when the hotel is nearly full..for sure there were some tiny comments..but overall..the service level is great.

The only weak point is the night entertainment..the animation team most of the night is boring..specially the lady who performed kariokee and live singing.

Definitely , in my next vacation to Hurghada I won't bother myself searching another places..it is Steignberger

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

This was our third visit in the Steigenberger al dau. Hotel, grounds and location are still the best in Hurghada. Large private beach and close to shops and cafés. Rooms are excellent size and kept very clean, good job by Ali the housekeeper.
Restaurants: buffet restaurant tamarind great choice of food but can be little bit hectic and noisy. Beach restaurant Tanga which also serves as Lebanese restaurant in evening; great service and fresh food. Also had dinner in Alexander restaurant, really nice atmosphere with great view, fantastic food quality, beef was tender and very well prepared. Service by mr. Hossam and Ahmed Fathy was of a very high standard. They also provided great service at the beach restaurant, thanks very much for taking such good card of us.
We hope to return soon to our 'home' in the sun.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maribor, Slovenia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

One of the most beatifull hotel complex i have ever seen and i do travell a lot. Rooms are spacious and nice.
Service, OMG who emploies people like these in this industry. Honestly in Europe all of them would be fired immediately due to lack of knowledge, interess above all rudenes. Try to give them like three wishes or more at same time, not even 10% of first one would be made out.
Epic battless for the space on the beach, yeah going on holidays so i can get up 6 am to go and reserve a place for me, just my kind of vacation. Is this a joke!!!
Ordering drinks in a restaurant: maybe i'll get them next dinner or i won't see them till the end of my vacation.
Egypt wins again, tourism is a global thing and above don't make it into an Egptian festival of pure caos.
If i pay this sort of money for my vacation, be sure to give me the service i expect.
Stay away from this place.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ECMsteigen, Guest Relations Manager at Steigenberger Al Dau Beach Hotel, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Dear James D.

Thank you for your feedback and that you has taken the time to describe your impressions. We apologize for not having met your expectations. We constantly work to the highest quality of service and we will discuss your feedback with our team.
Regarding the reservations at the beach, please take note that our beach rules says clearly “no sun bed reservations before 8:00 AM” and we would like to point out that we are doing our best to satisfy our guests as much as we can.]

With best regards
The Steigenberger Al Dau Beach Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Steigenberger Al Dau Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steigenberger Al Dau Beach Hotel

Address: Yussif Afifi Road | Hurghada, Red Sea, Egypt, Hurghada 84111, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Hurghada
#3 Spa Hotel in Hurghada
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Hurghada
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
#4 Romantic Hotel in Hurghada
#4 Family Hotel in Hurghada
#4 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Steigenberger Al Dau Beach Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 388
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Steigenberger Al Dau Beach Hotel is an exclusive luxury hotel built in fascinating Swahili architecture, situated directly on the beach at the southern tip of Hurghada with a spectacular view of the sea. The hotel is famous for its luxurious spacious rooms and superb restaurants, and it presents a variety of unrivaled features; from a unique Lazy River, inviting you to lose yourself in the tranquility of a gentle river ride, floating through the landscaped gardens until you disembark straight into an amazing pool covering 5,000 m3. A private beach that is almost half a kilometer in length, just to relax or to play, with "Ilios" the world class dive club and aqua center, where you can scuba dive, snorkel, go windsurfing, water skiing or parasailing. A 9 hole par 3 golf course, floodlit, for playing a challenging game of golf under the summer night sky. As for the feeling of complete well-being; immerse yourself in 1000 m2 of the "Algotherm Red Sea Thalasso & Spa" for pampering body treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Steigenberger Al Dau Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steigenberger Al Dau Beach Resort
Hotel Steigenberger Al Dau Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Steigenberger Al Dau Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.