We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“would recommend to anyone” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Steigenberger Al Dau Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Steigenberger Al Dau Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Steigenberger Al Dau Beach Hotel
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Yussif Afifi Road, Hurghada 84111, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 182 Hotels in Hurghada
Stafford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“would recommend to anyone”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Although we were probably the only english couple staying, it made no difference to the excellent service we received. If I have to make one small comment, my husband who is a very conservative eater struggled to find a something he liked at the evening buffett, even I who usually eats anything had a bit of a problem, but that said, the choice was massive and varied. and the quaker oats at breakfast were to die for!! everything else was excellent, truly 5* only the wather was a let down, but it was much better than January in the UK!!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view, costs a little more but well worth it, not only sea views but the magnificent ga...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    896
    200
    56
    21
    18
See reviews for
405
428
71
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Summerville, South Carolina, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Amazing, amazing, amazing. The most beautiful place I have visited so far overseas. I met my spouse there for vacation and enjoyed every minute of it. The spa. The wonderful breakfast Buffett . The hibiscus tea became my favorite beverage during our stay. The hookah lounges outside were so cozy and posh. We loved it. I hope to return one day.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

Check-in: Check in went smooth and easy. We got a welcome drink and a warm welcome from the manager!

Rooms: Rooms are clean but pretty basic. Both a bath and a standing shower, which is great. The room had a large beautiful balcony with view of the pool area and sea which was amazing.

Service: Staff were polite and very professional. Excellent service.

Food: We mostly ate at the pool restaurant and in the lobby. The food there wasn't really that good. Very average and boring, yet very affordable. Cakes in the lobby were disgusting!

Lobby: Amazing, huge and beautiful with piano music every night.

Location: Hurghada is a pretty boring place in my opinion. It doesn't have the real Egyptian feel. The hotel is however located pretty well in the tourist area.

Overall: This hotel is soo generous. It offers Jacuzzis, lazy rivers, beaches, saunas, hang mats, a very well heated pool and so much more included in the price! Something the Mövenpick could take lessons from. Amazing hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

My 3rd time in the hotel. It' s always to be greeted with your name, amazing they always remember... The rooms are perfect. Very nice bathroom, large bed, space and balcon. The gardens and outside pools are amazing, but can onky be used in summer.. They have 1 (too small) heated pool for in Wintertime.

For repeated guest you get some freebees, like free wifi, miibar and ccess to the spa who has a nice and large well heated saltwater pool. The food served is good and let me say its more tasty then with other 5 star restaurant. But for lunch i advise the poolbar, they have a nice a la cart menu with fresh baked food...

As said the swimming pool with the lazy river (length about a km) is really nice. Also the service staff every where is very friendly. A smile or small talk ofcource help in quick service. The security is really tight... Normally you will not be bothered... But i really hate to be asked what i come do in the hotel, when he can see my suitcase in the car.

At the downside, the bandwidth of the wifi (free for repeater guest, but quite expensive if your not) is slow.. And in some rooms not working at all. No problem for me i have an egyptian simcard, but still disappointed that in 2013 they can not provide you with quick wifi.

Also dissappointed in the manager of misc places. Opposite the lower ranks who are really friendly, nesrly all the managers and 'captains' are very arrogant.

About the spa, it is well equipted with different sauna's, but the service of staff here is really not to my liking. Also the massages are really overprised no... This they could change easy... If they would... Then it will be the best in town.

Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

It was my 5th time there
These people are professional when it comes to customer satisfaction and hospitality
The boufee is great , the Spa is magnificent and the best one ever in town
they need to improve the animation activity and the minibar quality

Room Tip: Select the left side rooms to catch the best view the far you go to left you can see the pools , go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

This was our first ever trip to Egypt for a holiday and we are very glad we choose the Steigenberger in Hurghada. The Hotel is excellent with lots of facilities. My son and I were diving so my wife spent the day in the hotel and was very well looked after by the staff there. She also made use of the Spa which has great facilities, she had Thai and Egyptian treatments which were both outstanding.The Steam room, Sauna and Turkish bath are all excellent. The food at all meal times is good and although the main restaurant is busy in the evening there is never a shortage of food. the rooms are pretty spacious and generally very good although some of the room furniture is showing its age. We found the reception staff to be helpful. The all inclusive option is well worth taking. Hurghada does not have alot of things to visit and there is very little outside of the hotel in the local area however as we were diving and snorkelling we didn't have anything to go outside for. All in all a very good holiday which was very relaxing. We dived for six days and did that with Divers Lodge located in the Movenpick next door which proved to be a very positive experience and my son and I were very impressed with the service we received.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

My husband and I were there from 7-11 January. We booked this through Easyjet holidays and arranged our own transfer from airport to hotel. We were half board. Generally everything about Steigenberger is good. Our biggest disappointment was the wi-fi in the room. It simply didn't work. We made several visits to the business centre. Each time they talked us through the log-in process but we knew all these. It took them two days to admit that the room wi-fi was perhaps not up to scratch. Instead, their IT people installed a ethernet box instead. But that only lasted that one day. The next day it didn't work again. But as we were checking out, we didn't both complaining. My husband paid for the internet charge (because he's British!). I came home with over 30 mosquito bites; over ten of these were on my face. One thing we did enjoy very much was the Egyptian massage at the Spa - simply fab.

Room Tip: Do not open windows at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Steigenberger Al Dau Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steigenberger Al Dau Beach Hotel

Address: Yussif Afifi Road, Hurghada 84111, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Hurghada
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
#3 Spa Hotel in Hurghada
#4 Romantic Hotel in Hurghada
#4 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
#4 Business Hotel in Hurghada
#4 Family Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Steigenberger Al Dau Beach Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 388
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in 5-star deluxe surroundings: Spacious rooms, private villas and elegant suites, first-class restaurants and a 5000 m3 pool landscape. Play a round of golf, relax at the Thalasso & Spa, or head to the beach and go diving, snorkelling or surfing at the Dive Club & Aqua Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Steigenberger Al Dau Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steigenberger Al Dau Beach Resort
Hotel Steigenberger Al Dau Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Steigenberger Al Dau Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.