We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Experiences” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Grand Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Grand Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
The Grand Plaza Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Safaga Road, Hurghada, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 178 Hotels in Hurghada
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Kecskemet, Hungary
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Experiences”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Our Room number was the 220. It is a nice room, with balcony looks to the seaside.
We had some problem with the air condition, but after I tell it to the reception, they solve it very fast. :)
+ Things in the hotel: Seawiew, garden, staff.
- things: Food was too arabican, they really have to find at least 2 europian cook,
Every day they made some programs in the hotel, close to our room, and the noise was very loud until 11. pm, when they finished it.
- you have to instantly get a ,,do not disturb" flag at the beach if you arrived, because they want you to go to massage, safari, windsurf everytime... you can not relax if they come to you 15 times a day..

So this is a good hotel i guess, but they still have to be better in this case

Room Tip: Room which are closer to the beach, they are much silent. There are doors at the end of the floors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taher S, Manager at The Grand Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Hotelsport_1

Thank you for choosing the Grand Plaza Hotel Hurghada, and thank you for posting your review following your stay at the Grand Plaza Hotel & Resort.
We are delighted to know you enjoyed your stay,
regarding your comments about the disturbance of the seller at the beach is notified and we apologize, corrective actions were taken where appropriate.

BEST REGARDS
Taher El Sayed
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    191
    95
    43
    29
See reviews for
203
173
18
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

The hotel location is very nice near a lot of shops and markets.
The pools were very nice, and the Aqua Park with very nice, this was the reason behind choosing it, the staff was very helpful, the room was large, clean and comfortable.
The food was OK, breakfast was fine, lunch and dinner were of limited varaities and most of time the tast was not that good.
My suggestion is to go for B&B you will enjoy very much.

The beach was also very nice, clean with nice activities like beach volley, beddals, banan boat.
I really like the place, it was very nice

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taher S, Manager at The Grand Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear BARAKAT83

Thank you for choosing the Grand Plaza Hotel Hurghada, and thank you for posting your review following your stay at the Grand Plaza Hotel & Resort.
We are delighted to know you enjoyed your stay, liked our rooms, staff, beach,
regarding your comments about food variety, everyday we have different themes night like Oriental, International, Italian and B.B.Q.

Best Regards

Taher El Sayed
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for a week. It was just ok. The poolarea and the beach made it worth the stay. The food was somewhat ok. Beakfast wasn´t so bad, but lunch and dinner were less than appetizing. The problem wasn´t that there were few choices or that the food wasnt "european". The food was just badly cooked and put together in strange combinations, it felt like there was no effort made what so ever. And stay away from the fish!! You have been warned. We had allinclusive and there was no real coffe!!! There was at least fresh water, fresh tomatoes and lots of cake :).The rooms were also ok, but we booked rooms with twinbeds, and all we got were singles, that we tried to push together, but they just slided appart. I guess that sooths people in longterm relationships :) Great ANIMATION every night, the clublife was also pretty cool, we can recommend that. Shopping in Sekala was ok, but it can be pretty exausting dealing with the salespeople. Service and salespeople overall in Hurghada area were rude. Everywhere we went there were egyptian men shouting and swearing bad things in arabic, even at the hotel while serving us!? For the egyptian people in Hurghada: We are so sorry for the rude inconvenience of visiting your city, we will try not to make that mistake again, we promise!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taher S, Manager at The Grand Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Aymen s

Thank you for choosing the Grand Plaza Hotel Hurghada, and thank you for posting your review following your stay at the Grand Plaza Hotel & Resort.
Regarding your comment, it is notified and we apologize, corrective actions were taken where appropriate.

regards
Taher El Sayed
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beograd
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

My wife, me and our 11 month old son stayed at this beautiful hotel in May 2012. We arrived very early (around 3am) and we didnt wait long for our rooms. Anyway we had problem, because our room was at the end of hotel and aircondition made a lot of noise. It wasnt room aircontition but main one which was just above our room. First tihng we did when we get up was to change the room, and receptionist was polite and gave us new room. It was great room in the center of hotel. We were close to main restoraunt, both pools, reception... just perfect.

Rooms are very nice, beds are comfortable, and we asked and got baby cradle. Cradle is very small, and I think that just small babies can sleep there. Beside beds, there is settee with table and two chairs, very comfortable. We also had balcony (we were on the first floor). Also room service clean room every day, and they change towels every day, and brings you bottle of water. If you ask them, they will come on time you say, and you can tip them, but they want ask for that.

There are two pools in hotel. Smaller one is on first floor (in level with reception) and its nice. Usually there is not so many people there and you can swim. Main pool is beautiful. There is bar in it and also one part which is suitable for kids. It looks amazing because you have impression that at the and of pool starts sea :)

Sometimes there is crowd at main pool, but you can find some free space. Same situation is on beach, which is nice, but we could not go very often because baby wanted to eat send :)

Sea was warm but there ware jelly fishes and I dont like them :(

Food was very good. My wife and me have different taste, but both of us always found something what we liked very much. And baby also eat a lot, especially fish. At the beginning we didnt eat fresh fruits because of stories about food poisoning and problems with their water, but at the end we eat everything and had no problems.

One bar wasnt working in May (on second floor) and all others were open for All inclusive drinks. As a big shisha fan, a wasnt satisfied with shisha in hotel - it worked only after 6pm, and they were poor with bad taste. They change coal when you ask, but it has to be better...

I had only one problem and one remark. Problem were mosquitoes. We didnt close our balcony first night when we went to walk, and when we came back it was disaster. As much as we tried some of them stayed alive and bite us, especially baby, who had more then 50 bites, and he has very sensetive skin, so it didnt looked well. We learned our lesson and never opened balcony after 5-6pm.
Remark was about kids animation. Staff are nice and polite, but there is no toboggan, or rocking chairs, or any kind of children park. There is something in the corner, but I wouldnt take my child there. They have Kids club on beach and kids can play there, but it is not on open, and not conviniant for small children.

Staff is very polite, and waiters speak english very well.

Also, you can cross the street and go to Grand Plaza Resort, where is small Aqua park and great pools, but when we were there it had just several guests and it was almost empty so we just went there twice - it looks very nice.

All in one - we had great vacation, place is beautiful, staff very polite and ready to help. These days I am looking where to go this year, and I not sure I will go back just because I like to see something new, but it is not excluded that I will write another review from same hotel :)))

Room Tip: Room 123 - best location in hotel :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taher S, Manager at The Grand Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear aragornRSB

Thank you for choosing the Grand Plaza Hotel Hurghada. We are glad that our rooms , staff, services and facilities was up to your expectations and that you enjoyed your stay with us

Looking forward to host you again the soonest

regards

Taher El Sayed
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koege, Denmark
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

The hotel is very beutifull and the pool area is fantastic. You also have the option of visiting Grand Plaza Resort to use the water slides.
Rooms are fine but a little age is beginning to show.

Food is OK - the buffet does not vary much from day to day. (All inclusice is a little limited due to icecream and snacks have short time of availability)
Staff is always smiling and are very friendly.
Animation team was fantastic.

So for the price this was a VERY pleasant vacation!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taher S, Manager at The Grand Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear MRyberg

Thank you for choosing the Grand Plaza Hotel Hurghada. We are glad that our rooms , staff, services and facilities was up to your expectations and that you enjoyed your stay with us

Looking forward to host you again the soonest

Best Regards
Taher El Sayed
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

a very enjoyable stay in the resort at the grand plaza resort . the rooms were very clean unlike what the review reflected, food was excellent and variable and the staff were great. the staff were very helpful at every step of our conference very flexible to make sure our stay is very comfortable and enjoyable. we did not get a chance to enjoy the beach daily but it looked so inviting especially with the great weather on the restaurant on the pool just before the beach. Overall the hotel was great the rooms were very cozy, comfortable, and clean.
the animation team was very poor

Room Tip: rooms on the pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taher K, Manager at The Grand Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Thank you for choosing The Grand Plaza Hotel Hurghada for your vacation. We were delighted to know that you had a great stay here with us and us thank you for taking the time to give your very positive comments on our product and service delivery.
I do hope you have many happy memories of your time here and we would love to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Best Regards

Taher El Sayed
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

The Russians

They are worst than Germans

Taking all the strawberries and cakes like animals

They spoilt holiday

Apart from
That hotel staff really good

Ps don't bother with any rides they are not worth it (Quad bikes 8 mile per hour )

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Grand Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Plaza Hotel

Address: Safaga Road, Hurghada, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Hurghada
#11 Best Value Hotel in Hurghada
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
#27 Family Hotel in Hurghada
#34 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Plaza Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Plaza Hurghada, a 4 stars hotel & Resort with 230 rooms and suites, some overlooking the sea, is situated in Hurghada at a carefully selected spot, nestled among the majestic harmony of nature. The crystal clear water of the Red Sea, crowned with the unique golden beach is a paradise for you to enjoy. Your dream vacation starts only five minutes from Hurghada International Airport, with your choice between a soundless relaxation and endless recreation. The Resort is all-inclusive property offering full board accommodation. All local drinks (soft and alcoholic) are also included, first diving as well as non-motorized sports.facilities, 3 restaurants, theme nights, 3 bars, kids club, animation group, wide range of recreational facilities, aqua - diving center, health club, shopping arcade, doctor on call, airport/meet/assist, limo service, rated very good for family vacations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Grand Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Plaza Hotel
Grand Plaza Hurghada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grand Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.