We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would return” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sea World Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Sea World Resort to your Saves list
Sea World Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Safaga Road, Hurghada, Egypt (Formerly Aqua Blu Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #62 of 182 Hotels in Hurghada
4.0 of 5 stars 163 Reviews
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Would return”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We booked a weeks holiday mid May through On the beach. When arriving at the airport it is a bit daunting as lots of people try to grab you to get your visa but if you use your office guide you shouldnt have a problem (cost about £13) The transfer from the airport was 15 mins and check in was very smooth. Our room was very clean and spacious with daily supplies of clean towels and water. The hotel complex was constantly being cleaned and the pools lovely. All staff were very friendly and helpful and spoke good English. We had the option of eating in the A la Carte restaurants but preferred the main buffet as it had more choice and staff were more friendly.
Found the spa treatments were expensive and not that great.
We did a couple of activities away from the hotel including a submarine tour, quad biking and snorkelling. The town is a £10 return taxi ride away and has a number of shops and bars if you fancy a change.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    49
    23
    11
    10
See reviews for
55
47
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bratislava, Slovakia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Hotel area as such was very nice and clean, safe. Resort has a couple of pools and enough sunbeds. Beach was unfortunately small but you could still find there free sunbeds. Food and drinks were also good and not the same each day. Especially Albatros cocktail was fantastic in the lobby bar:) Hotel staff was very friendly, supportive and customer oriented in each situation. During the day there were various animation programs and entertainment activities for kids and also adults (zumba, belly dancing, aqua gym/aerobic, stretching) and also in the evening - football match, miss, absolutely amazing comedy show:) We spent here 8 days (3 Slovak girls in hotel full of Russians but I guess, they are everywhere). Overall, it was a great time mainly due to perfect animators to whom we`d like to say BIG thank you. I would definitely recommend this hotel and also for families with kids.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius, Lithuania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

The hotel surrouding is very nice. There are few swimming pools,to the beach you can walk (just cross the street) or you can take a free bus.
We had a nice room, quiet and clean with comfortable beds:) The cleaning staff was very friendly and cleaning was ok.
I loved the food:) Especially traditional arabic desserts:) They are so nice there:)
The local spirit drinks is better to avoid if you don't want to get a headache next morning:)
In Spa center you can get an amazing massage from Asmaa.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaegerspris
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

The hotel itself is fine. Nice pool area and pool bar. Many facilities and lots of things to do.
On the day of our arrival we came to the hotel and got a room. When we get to our room there are painters in our room, who there painting the walls. We went to the reception and they told us, that it was just cleaning and we where able to enter our room in about an hour.. We said that it was unacceptable and they where very unwilling to give us another room. Finally we got a new room, but the room didn't has a pool view as we paid for. We went back to the reception and asked again for another room, and this time we got what we paid for.
The food is alright.
The hygiene is not good.. A good advice: when you want something to drink, use the plastic cops from the poolbar. Otherwise it is disgusting.
The location is not good if you want to go for a walk at nighttime. If you want to go shopping you have to take a cap.
Will not go back. But if you like the resort life and never wants to leave the hotel, when this might be an okay hotel, but I would not recommend.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
1 review
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed at Aqua blue for three days. This is astonishing hotel. It has three buildings and in the center about 7 swimming pools. All the pools were large, brilliant and relaxing and one of them has excellent slides. It is close to the beach just few minutes walk away and you can enjoy water sports like scuba diving etc over here. As far as food is concerned you can eat at main Buffet where you do not pay anything for breakfast, lunch or dinner as their prices are already included in the charges or you can choose from 9 different restaurants Chinese, Italian, Oriental, Western restaurants within hotel premises. Rooms are spacious, well appointed with modern amenities like TV, fridge coffee/tea facilities, electronic safe etc. All rooms equipped with comfortable furniture, sparkling clean cutlery and crockery, and spotlessly clean sheets, pillows and table cloths. Rooms were very soothing with plenty of storage area and sufficient space to accommodate a small family. Almost every room overlooks pool area and has balcony or patio. Kids can enjoy here as much as adults can, it is an enticing place for families too, Amphitheater plays shows everyday and there was separate kids section with lots of games. Even in the main buffet area cuisines are served keeping taste of children in mind, so thoughtful. Hotel is perfectly safe, not a single unidentified person can enter the massive 17 hectare area. Staff was exemplary, very polite and prompt, right from concierge to room service and chefs and waiters at restaurants all were very pleasant people with great sense of hospitality. This hotel is awesome and a real jewel. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bournemouth
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

This holiday was booked with onthe beach.com,so flights were with easyjet..so lets say no more than that. No in flight entertainment and running late as usual.

Airport
Hurghada is a jungle,you must at all costs get your visas at the bank which is on the left as you go in. There will be lots of people trying to get them for you and will have your name on a board when you go in,these are like ticket touts who will bump up the price of your visas,we paid 66 pounds for 6 of us.

Check in.
This was very quick and efficient,the staff are friendly and speak very good English. We filled in forms for the people staying in each room and pasports were taken as per usual and we could collect them half an hour later which was no problem. We were then taken to see our rooms which were next door to each other as requested. Luggage arrived a few minutes later as they drive it round (no elevators).

Rooms
The rooms are more than adequate and clean,bathroom with shower etc. No tea and coffee facilities (which could improve them further) but they do 24 hr drinks in lobby reception.Room was cleaned daily and towels were changed if you left them in the shower. We did tip our maid who will be a male and he did make us towel shapes etc.and left extra water in the fridge. He will also bring you clean pool towels when you ring reception..so you do not need to take any towels.

Staff
The staff are always friendly and willing to help especially Mohammed and Alladin in the reception bar(yes we did tip them , but this pays off as most of the guests are eastern european and push in and are very rude so if they saw you coming they would get your drinks for you and they do work hard).There was a couple of staff members who were rude and ignorant of women and they worked in the Tagine restaurant so we just ate and left but overall they were good.

Pools
All of them are clean.They have an activity pool where music and games are played etc.but there are more than enough pools to choose from and plenty of sunbeds,we never struggled to get any even though we were in the school holidays even at 9.30 am you could find beds.Slides are good and only open at regular intervals and there are no lifeguards about so be careful. Pool area floors get v hot and you need to wear pool shoes or flip flops everywhere you walk.

Food
This hotel is in between the Vista and the Albatross you can eat at any of their restaurants any time,but the al a carte resaurants had to be booked a day in advance at the Albatross reception and that was easy enough. There are 3 of these Italian,Tagine(local cuisine) and chinese. Food was ok at these restaurants but not top notch. I have had better in other countries,but it makes a nice change from the buffet restaurant. There is also pizza and chips available most of the day and afternoon tea in reception and lunch in the buffet restaurant and ice cream for about 8 hours...basically you cannot grow hungry. Some of our group did have bad stomachs some were worse than others but you do have to check meat is cooked thoroughly and no ice and try to avoid salads etc.as they wash this with tap water. Basic knowledge really.

Drinks
You can pretty much drink all day. Husband said the beer was good and not watered down as we have encountered before in other countries. Red wine was also v good . Cocktails are also available in your all inclusive and many spirits. My only complaint is ther is no diet coke anywhere and the other stuff is very sugary so I drank water or soda water which is all self service.

Trips
My husband ,2 sons and brother in law did the quad biking trip as two of us were ill that day. They said it was a good trip but would not do the whole day next time as it was very busy and the camels and horses did not look like they loved all the riding around. They did visit the bedouin village and had food etc.

Entertainment

This is ok but be warned it is geared towards our eastern europeans and not for the English,but it was ok.

Overall as a last minute booking and only for a week is was a good holiday and the sun is hot everyday which is what you want and we are firm believers in a holiday is what you make of it.Would I go back? Probably not but only because this is not geared up for the English and my children needed some company which is essential when on holiday. This is a nice hotel and the staff are great if you want to get away and bot talk to anybody else.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

I just got back from Aqua Blu Hurghada, and I have to say that I thoroughly enjoyed my time there.

The +'s
The room was large and clean.
The hotel grounds are very well kept.
The staff are very friendly and go out of their way to make you feel welcome.
The food was good quality, but I have to say sometime the choices we slightly limited.
The pools were clean and not overcrowded

The -'s
The Italian restaurant didnt serve Italian food, which was a bit strange!
The water slides seemed to suffer from a lack of water a lot of the time, so they didnt really work.

Overall I would recommend the hotel to families and couples as it is very good value for money and you wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sea World Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea World Resort

Address: Safaga Road, Hurghada, Egypt (Formerly Aqua Blu Resort)
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#27 Spa Hotel in Hurghada
#45 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
#49 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sea World Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 360
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Sea World Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Blu Hotel Hurghada
Aqua Blu Hurghada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea World Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.