We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great holiday in a brilliant hotel in a brilliant location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coral Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Coral Beach Resort to your Saves list
Coral Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hurghada Safaga Road k 17, Hurghada, Egypt (Formerly Coral Beach Rotana Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #62 of 178 Hotels in Hurghada
Bolton
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A great holiday in a brilliant hotel in a brilliant location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2009

We booked this holiday via the internet b4 reading any of the reviews and am i glad i did, many of the reviews were down right rude and belitteling of a hotel that strives to do it's best for all, if I had read the reviews first i would not have booked and wot a mistake that would have been.
The hotel catered for many different nationalities and in my opinion did so very well. The food was good and the chefs tried there best to vary the menu, but at times it will of course appear samey, you just can't please all the people all of the time.
The waitors in the hotel restaurant in particular Mohammed were friendly, efficient and helpful. The bar staff Mustafa, Sameh and Amir were also a great bunch of lads who also could not do enough to help.
The beach is fantastic with excellent snorkelling just off the hotel pier giving direct access to the hotels own coral reef, which is teaming with sealife of all descriptions, absolutely amazing.
The only thing I could find to have a moan about would be the pool areas, it is one of the oldest hotels in Hurghada and as such is currently undergoing some restruturing work, the pool areas are in need of refurbishment, but i was informed by the reception manager Mahmood that this is planned for the near future, as for the other building work we were advised of after booking, don't worry this is mainly being done at the front enterance to the hotel and you can't hear a thing once in the hotel grounds.
So in a nut shell if you want a nice hotel with friendly helpful staff in a beautiful location right on the red sea, you will not go wrong, but remember this is an all inclusive hotel in Egypt it is not the Ritz and at the end of the day you only get wot u pay for !!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

948 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    427
    262
    119
    67
    73
See reviews for
294
310
25
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
west yorkshire
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2009

arrived at this hotel dreading what we would find after reading some reviews on here. well heres my account. yes there is building work going on but once in hotel this does not affect your stay. the reception is lovely your shown to your room after check in then your cases follow (for a couple of £ tip). our room was huge 2 super king size beds and pull out sofa and there was only 2 of us!!! the food was fine just what you expect from all inclusive, plenty of variety if you dont try every dish for the same meal! there was fish, beef chicken pasta and various salads nearly everyday and loads of types of bread.so you can find something to eat i cant believe someone complained butter was too hard as its kept in bowls of ice!!! one slight problem was most night there was only 1 barman behind the bar at night so queues were enevitable but our holiday rep tried to sort this out. our rep was first week haley who was so helpful and 2nd week kaled who went beyond his role as a rep (hello to both you do a great job xxxx) to wrap up we had a great time and would deffinately go back

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2009

I'm going here next week (booked through Thomas Cook) at the time of booking there was no mention of construction work. I'm very worried about the impact this would have on the holiday - as it is supposed to be a once in a year relaxing break. Any comments would be most welcome!

Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2009

Miles away from anywhere the Coral Beach Rotana is a large noisy building site. We were informed before travel of the work being carried out around the Reception area but nothing was said or could have prepared us for the huge excavation project being carried out at the other side of the Hotel, facing on to the beach a Marina is currently being dug out with all the noise and dirt that that entails. Rockbreakers, Bulldozers, Tip-up Trucks, cement mixers, every piece of heavy machinery known to man was there. Thorn in early starts and late finishes seven days a week for the whole of our 2 week stay!!
They say that cleanliness is next got godliness but not at the Coral Beach. During our stay we regularly saw some members of staff rinse under the tap used plates, glasses and drinking straws ready to be used again. A slice of lime in your drink? Forget it, some used their fingers, ugh!! No wonder sickness and diarrhoea was a regular topic of conversation.
Our room was clean and spacious if in need of a re-furb with towels and bed linen changed every day. We only found one cockroach in our room during the whole of our stay, one couple we met were not so lucky, as they had to change rooms because of an influx of cockroaches.
Food was passable if you were not too picky but be prepared for lots of rice and chicken, everything is lukewarm but a microwave is available to re-heat should you feel inclined. We didn't bother as we were more bothered about the possible after effects of re-heated food. We complained a number of times regards undercooked chicken and fish and tough steak, what a difference a complaint makes, the staff were all over us like a rash, food was replaced to our liking - the wait was worth it.
We're home now, the stomach bug seems to have cleared up but not out poor memories of the Coral Beach. We Have been to Egypt in the past on an all inclusive several times before so we had a good idea of what to expect, how wrong can you be, we received far better at our previous Hotels with the same star rating. Never Again!!!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bognor, Near portsmouth
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2009

Our holiday at coral beach was really good, as their was 11 of us it did seem quite difficult on booking trips but they were very understanding that it was confusing for us aswell. No faults on the hotel maybe they could get some more bar staff so there wouldnt be such a que in the evening after dinner,and maybe that all inclusive finishes a bit later than 12.00 but overall they are silly little things that make all the difference.
You cant complain about the food because there has GOT TO BE at least one thing you like, yes egyptian night wasnt so great for the kids, but just ask the chef for some chips for the children BUT unfortunetly Adults dont get them, Lunch time's were very good and again there had to be something you liked, Breakfast very good, great for kids aswell as there is pancakes being freshly cooked and you can choose your sides (e.g chocolate sauce , coconut flakes, etc ).
All you need to remember that you are not in spain, you Wont get your fosters or your calsburg its Egypt.
Book the glamour safari its really good, Nice and cheap too,but go on the moto's (quad bikes) as is really enjoyable , I would also recomend the boat trip to the islands, NOT THE SUBMARINE!, Try and book the boat trip with thomas cook as you see dolphins and turtles.
GO AND SEE SAMPSON In the sovenier shop , on the end next to the perfume shop he is really nice and will do you some great deals,
Bottom line This Holiday is what you want to make it, Would book again.
Haley the thomas cook rep is really helpful and is always around the hotel And is very friendly a little diamond.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
english riveria
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2009

Arrived at Hotel late evening, to a nice welcome and full use of dinning hall, great start to holiday and thats about as good as it got..Shown to room and after numerous calls to reception our cases arrived an hour later.
Rooms, cleanish ,bed very hard ,left with back ache.plenty of hot water . even the cold water was warm. Noisey fridge, Free litre of warm bottled water left in room daily,but even the cleaner didnt know where the fridge was.
Dinning. staff very helpful and freindly.Food luke warm, Have a good look at all options before you make a choice,get the specialist cooked food first ,otherwise your food goes from luke warm to cold by time you sit down to eat, avoid busy times.Food was average and you certainly wont go hungry.
Bar service, apparently only one person seems to be trained to serve drinks and approx four to five employed to watch him.Queue's can be long ,Suggested they should have some signs saying " You have 30 minutes from this Point" like the ones at theme parks.Once they have ran out of the thirty glass they have, you will be served your drinks in a plastic beaker, if you order beer you will recieve plenty or froth and a gill of beer.All inclusive drinks finish at midnight on the dot.
Hotel is a 25 minute taxi to civilization.
Lovely beach, plenty of room.
Did'nt use pools as there was a german towel thing going on , Strange really as there was no germans.
To sum up . Staff friendly, hotel 2 / 3 star , food ok , very isolated, would not recommend this hotel.glad it was not a two week holiday.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2009

We arrived at the hotel knowing that there was building work going on so wasnt bothered by it at all. Check in was very quick and were quickly shown to our room, suitcases arrived about 10minutes after.

Room was large and spacious, with a nice sized bathroom. Kept very clean and our maid even made us swans with the towels. The rooms are pretty basic but everything you need is there.

Hotel reception was lovely and so was the lobby bar and restaurant. Gardens mainly looked nice and fairly well kept. Only slight bad thing was sometimes the beach had rubbish on it where people had just left it the blow about.

My biggest complaint (not that big though) would be the food. Only one restaurant, which is the buffet restaurant which means not much variety. I have been in buffet restaurants before where there is loads of choice but this one was fairly repetitive and sometimes lacked in quality. However the service was excellent, always welcomed by the waiter who remembered our names and our drinks. Most staff were very friendly and always happy to help.

Another few things. One was that a couple of times, when i had a freshly squeezed juice and had a shisha pipe i was brought a bill afterwards. Bit disappointed as its meant to be all inclusive. And two, the hotel is a long way away from the town, so if you fancy a stroll somewhere you need to get a taxi first.

Overall it was a lovely relaxing break.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Coral Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Beach Resort

Address: Hurghada Safaga Road k 17, Hurghada, Egypt (Formerly Coral Beach Rotana Resort)
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Spa Hotel in Hurghada
#32 Romantic Hotel in Hurghada
#35 Family Hotel in Hurghada
#39 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
#53 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Coral Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 369
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel has one of the longest beaches in Hurghada 1250 Meter, with a wonderful reef of corals and two natural lagoon inside the sea. Three swimming pools; type - bungalow only; family friendly resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Coral Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Beach Rotana Resort Hurghada Hotel Hurghada
Coral Beach Rotana Hotel Hurghada
Coral Sea Hurghada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coral Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.