We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded expectations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Grand Makadi

Save Saved
You added The Grand Makadi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Grand Makadi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Makadi Bay, Hurghada, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 181 hotels in Hurghada
Espoo, Finland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Exceeded expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2010

We had very relaxing week in Grand Makadi with my husband. The place is like oasis on a beach surrounded by sand. Very beautiful garden and large pool area. The rooms were spacious and the bed was huge (junior suite).

For a one week, there were lot of choices were to eat. Especially the Caribbean restaurant was nice; both the surroundings and the food. The Lebanese and Italian were a bit disappointment, but that might have been just wrong food choices from the menu. During a week time, we didn't had time to try those twice. The barbeque party on the beach was really good and atmosphere nice. We actually ate twice in there. It was not included to the all inclusive package, but it didn't matter for us (15 euros per person).

The sun beds in the beach and the pool were not too close to each other which was nice and gave a little privacy. We didn't have to reserve those early in the morning either! It was something extra to see those beautiful fishes and corals straight from the hotel's own beach. Note that the swimming shoes are needed if you want to go the sea.

We just wanted to relax and didn't look for shopping opportunities, local life or sight-seeing, so this was perfect place for us. There were enough small "shops" to buy the souvenirs, but they were quite expensive. For sight-seeing, Egypt offers some really great ones, but we decided to let those wait until we can spend little longer time there since those are quite far away.

We could easily go back there at some point and take the children with us also.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

813 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    400
    237
    118
    40
    18
See reviews for
173
391
10
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2010

I have waited until now with this review to make sure I had time to settle down to be objective and honest. Unfortunately the overiding memory of this stay was the non stop attempt to squeeze even more money out of you. EVERYTHING was EXTRA: that included the water in the room mini bar for some obscure reason, the fridge water and all other contents were EXTRA, a drink at main reception was EXTRA, ORANGE JUICE at breakfast was EXTRA, a table by the pool for Xmas eve was EXTRA, a table by the pool for Xmas night was EXTRA, a table for New years eve was EXTRA. The Three themed restaurants for these dates were EXTRA. Even a table at the A/I buffet restaurant was EXTRA, unless you booked a bottle of wine for these dates. The first Two pages of each restaurant listed the basic A/I food choices, each menu item following that was EXTRA. I am not talking Lobster or fresh Salmon here, even a steak was EXTRA. The contact with staff during the first week of our stay was a constant bombardment as we had not booked any of the Gala dinners. This happened every time you were close by, a different member of staff was charged with this duty in every single area of the complex there was no escape, One rather persistent seller even waited outside for me until I came from the gents. We should have printed a "NO GALA DINNERS, THANK YOU" sign and placed on the table but that would not have stopped them i'm afraid, I can see how the pyramids were built because these Egyptians are relentless. This probably sounds like an old Grouch complaining, but its the first ever printed complaint in 55 years. I can assure you if this is ALL INCLUSIVE you can EXCLUDE me. The rooms were clean, the grounds were nice and well tended, the food was about Three star and value for money was terrible thank you.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bucharest
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2010

the hotel is good for a 5* hotel according to egyptian way(they give bribe for taking the stars),but the services are for a 3 * hotel...I compare to TURKEY,where is paradise to 5* ULTRA ALL where you are a king.
to grand makadi they cut the consume like you are not allowed to get your drink to the pool,YOU HAVE TO BRING BACK THE GLASSESS, they all try to steel you, and you if you don't give tips..you will probably wait for 20 minutes for your drink.by the way..the gym is for money,tennis is for money,minifootball is for money
so if you want services GO TO TURKEY....it's the best
we have been there 8 friends ...so it'a all our conclusion
RAUL- ROMANIA

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2010

I will start by saying that i am an English man who has not lived in the uk for many years. And gee how the English love to complain lol.
If you are wanting a resort full of Brits dont go here because you wont find it.
We were welcomed at the airport by our rep who pointed us in the right direction of the bus park. The transfer took about 45mins to the hotel. We were then led into the reception and greeted by a waiter who asked us if we would like a drink which was to make a very nice and pleasent stay. We waited for about 5 mins until we were escorted to our room which was very nice and spacious with a very high standard of clenliness. Our balcony overlooked the swimming pools of the Makadi palace whcih was fantastic at night. It also faced to the west which meant we could sit on the balcony until late and still have the sun.
The bed was huge which was great and the room was cleaned everyday and both bath and beach towels were changed.
The Beach was very nice and extremely clean the only thing i would say if you are wanting to just run into the sea and dive in you cannot do this as it is all coral along the front of the Grand makadi but if you walk down to the Makadi family hotel you can do this they also have a huge selection of watersports and diving which was good for us.
We walked both ways up the the beach and if you walk North it is nice we found a lake where the tide goes out in the day so you can have your very own pool.
The corals are amazing you can stay there all day. You can take flippers and masks from the beach for free i didnt know this as i took my own.
The boys on the beach are very pleasent and you can always have a laugh and a joke with them as they all speak very good English. I must admit i was a little unsure as to how the Egyptians would welcome us but they were great as soon as i told them i was from London we would walk everywhere and we would here hello London how are you this made us feel very welcome.
The hotel has mainly German Guests whom were all very pleasent so you know what this means just walk to the pool or the beach at about 7.30 and put your bag and towels on your sunbed and the boy will fix them ready for when you return. I was at 1st worried about leaving things on the beach but it is very safe money phones etc i left in my bag.
The Restaurants were Fantastic the food always freshly cooked and the choice was amazing from fresh seafood either boiled or BBQ. Shrimps kalamari chicken sausage all on the bbq. Also burgers, Lamb, Chilli, Beef, severd with all veg, rice chips whatever you liked. And to top it of a huge selection of deserts you wont go hungry. (Lagoon Restauant). we ate breakfast mostly at the Italian Restaurant as it was closet to our room. The waiters were really nice and a selection of fresh fruit, cheese bread and also for the true Brit Fried eggs, Scrambled eggs, omlettes, sausages and a never ending supply of Tomatoe Ketchup. What else do you need.
I would Reccommend the Carabieen Restaurant for both Lunch and dinner it is set in the middle of the swimming pools and is lovely. You do not just have to order 1 of everything you can order as many as you like.
They also have a Bbq on the beach we went twice to this is, it was really good the food again was great with huge T-Bone steaks chicken lamb on the spit and seafood selection. The entertainment was nice and just made for a nice start to the evening.
We also asked 1 of the waiters we had come friendly with if we could have Lobster he arranged this and with a table in the best location the Lobster cost 12 euros wow.
We made the trip into Town the 1st time taking a taxi from the Grand hotel into Sakalla with a taxi which the rep Organised. The only thing i will say is dont accept a drink in the shops in the nicest way possible as you will be stuck there forever. The taxi was about 20 egyptian pounds. he also waited for us why we shopped and took us directly back to the hotel as we missed our bus this altogether come to 130 egyptian.
If you want to book the bus into town make sure to do this atleast 2 days before as it gets busy.
The hotel had a singer everynight which was good and made for a good laugh. If you like a dance this is the place for you. There is a small club in the Makadi palace which was ok but Remeber after 12pm you have to pay for your drinks. You can eat breakfast and lunch in the Makadi palace but for Dinner you have to pay. I really dont think you will have to venture there to eat Dinner as the Restaurants in the Grand are great.
In regards to tipping they do not hang over you waiting for 1. I tipped the last day i was there and they were all very grateful.
Well thats about it if you would like to know anything give me a shout. I will indeed be going back to the Grand Makadi.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2010

+
Beautifully built hotel especially at night when everything is lit up with spotlights.
Huge pool and sunbed area
Good snorkeling
Kids friendly
-
Food is pre heated and mostly cold when served in the restaurants
German influenced menu
Make sure to reserve a table at the Italian restaurant which is the only decent one

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Bickington, Devon
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2009

We booked this as a last minute holiday with red sea holidays (who own the hotel). The flight is 5/6 hours and there is no inflight entertainment on the flyglobespan airline we went with.
There was only 4 persons on the full bus that stayed at the Grand Makadi everyone stayed next door at the Makadi palace (which they say is the sister hotel but its the same hotel) The disadvantage with the Grand Makadi is that you can only use the restaurants there and one (the buffet) at the Makadi Palace. Guests at the Makadi Palace can use the restaurants at both hotels!!!!! You have to wear stupid wrist bands like butlins to say where your from!

Its not a 5 star hotel and is like a low 4 star hotel - it is a incredibly massive place.
The guests - 90% are German and its difficult to get a sun lounger if you get up after 9am. All the activities were in German and most staff assumed us German and talked to us in German.
The room is ok, we had a suite so it was nice to have the space - the sea view was their if you squinted! No hot water 5 our of the 7 days!

Restaurants - The Caribbean food was awful, the setting lovely, the menu sounded gorgeous but the food was cold (both lunch and dinner) and poor quality. The lebanese was nice with the selection of hot and cold meze, but the main course wasn't great. The Italian was really nice and the pizzas really good. The buffet food was not good, i was say a 2 out of 5 for quality but there was a good selection.

Drinks - The red wine was just about drinkable, the beer was good but pepsi and diet pepsi tasted foul. There was a good section of cocktails part of the inclusive.

The mini bus that runs twice a day only takes you to the grand hotel which is no where near the shop area (which of what we saw was awful anyhow) Sharma el Sheik is much nicer that Hurghada!

We were warned not the snorkel or go in the sea with out sea shoes and the rep told us horror stories of people having to go home to get treatment for cuts from the coral (not nice when we booked to go snorkeling!)

Chilled out for the week and slept lots, lost weight (as the food wasnt so great!) Got a tummy bug for 1 day and brought a cold home with me! Hope this helps anyone who thinks the price is too good to let down (or maybe just my standards are too high!)
I wont be returning!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2009

our trip was great... the snorkeling was amazing.
i was a little worried about the food because i am very picky but i ended up gaining a few pouds :), the pizza in the italian restaurant was great, the food in the lagoon was very varied and always fresh, the pastry and the sweets were very good, the snack bar had beefburgers and calamary the were to die for.
the service was very good , we became friends with the staff, especially with Walid fron the snack bar...
i recomend the trip to giftun island... the landscape is great, but the snorkeling not so much because there are many tourists and the fish are hiding in the corals.
the only down side of our vacation was that it too brief...
we will definately come back to this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Grand Makadi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Makadi

Address: Makadi Bay, Hurghada, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in Hurghada
#26 Romantic Hotel in Hurghada
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
#34 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
#36 Family Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grand Makadi 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Grand Makadi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Makadi Hotel Hurghada
Grand Makadi Hurghada
Grand Makadi Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grand Makadi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.