We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dreadful” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Grand Makadi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Grand Makadi to your Saves list
The Grand Makadi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Makadi Bay, Hurghada, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 182 Hotels in Hurghada
Bolton
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Dreadful”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Nothing 'Grand' about this hotel at all.
Could write for ever but will try & summarise.
Got 'upgraded' to a room that was nothing like we had paid for & didn't suit & this was changed to what we had paid for the next day.
Basic stuff in the room had not been picked up by housekeeping or anyone - the electric card hold/power supply was hanging off the wall, the sink plug release was not attached so couldn't empty the sink. The plug in the bath wouldn't close so water just ran out, the bath/shower adaptor din't work. These are all small things and to be fair someone was sent quite quickly to try & sort. But the bath plug was replaced with a plastic one that was too big for the hole. I went to reception to request a smaller one & 2 men came, just forced it in & then we couldn't get it out. After several more issues, we saw our rep who got the front of house manager to see us, the issues with the room where sorted & we were offered another 'better room'. Went to see this & the sink & bath had no plugs in them so we decided to stay where we were.
Sadly it sees that the housekeeping staff along with their manager pay scant regard to basic room maintenance.
The food was dreadful, anything that should be hot was only at best luke warm and the cold foods (meat/cheeses etc) were not covered or refrigerated in the Leonardo restaurant. The 'hot' food in the Lagoon was in big metal trays were covered with lids & behind a glass screen. flies were everywhere & most of the food uncovered.
The crockery was all mis-matched, cracked or chipped.
The pool was filthy & at the beginning & end of the days the amount of brown scum around the edges was disgusting.
The restaurants in the mall had very limited choices for all inclusive unless you wanted to pay extra and the meals were always rushed.
We had a problem with our toilet breaking following some work done on the outside of the room one night, they came & fixed it but then it broke 4 more times before we had to speak to the manager & insist it was sorted properly - which they then did.
Both us have been very poorly both whilst away & also after coming home.
Will never return to this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

778 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    363
    237
    119
    40
    19
See reviews for
186
415
12
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Skipton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a brilliant place to holiday in the first week of December. Although a little jaded in places it's service and friendliness is excellent and all provisions very good - it might be the oldest hotel of the 3 but it is still great. Enormous pool with several areas, beautiful gardens, good sized rooms which were well serviced. The pier that leads to the coral reef is at the end of the Grand Makadi land so which ever
We got up at 7am (5am UK) as the sun rises at 6am and goes down about 3.30pm being dark by 5pm. I had early morning breakfast of yogurt and fruit followed by swim in the sea trying to memorise the countless number of species of fish I saw. I saw a metre long eel which made me gulp a little; endless parrot fish, angel, fish butterfly fish - the list goes on and on. We have seen rays too - hiding in the sand. The corals are beautiful and I loved the shoals of little fish like gold fish and striped zebra fish that swim in and out. After the first swim we had the rest of breakfast - usually an omelette made to order. Then back to the room where I had a travel kettle and a small cafetiere and some Taylor's Italian Coffee - you can get good coffee there but like named spirits it is one of the few extras. A read and relax and back to the sea. Followed by lunch at one of the 3 places open at lunchtime or something from a snack bar. There is always food available somewhere and at night you have a choice of a la carte restaurants - the onion bajias at the inian in the Mall were the best ever and still all inclusive. Our holiday was amazing value for what we paid. The only trip I took was the snorkelling one - I hadn't realised how good the fish were off the pier - but it was a good trip and the water is clearer out there. Sea temp was fine a we were a bit cool after an hour :)! Hard to leave the water. Don't go without a mask and snorkel - even if you are not a good swimmer and need floatation it would be madness not to experience the joy of the fish. We will be back. Can't think of a more economical or enjoyable way of getting guaranteed winter sun. Once again - such lovely people.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Episkopi, Cyprus
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Just returned from a week at the grand makadi and was better than expected. The staff were fantastic and worked tirelessly to ensure that your every need was catered for. They deserve a huge credit as this created a positive experience on our holiday. The rooms were large and although tired in areas, were more than satisfactory. The food was on the whole, varied and tasty. We ate in a different restaurant every night and the Lebanese was our favourite. Leanardos was our favourite place for breakfast. Top tip, the pancakes with afternoon tea are delicious. We didn't go on any trips as we wanted to completely relax, and makadi bay is the right place to do this. If you are open minded and not looking for 5* perfection then you won't be disappointed. Would not hesitate to go back and Red Sea holidays were an excellent choice too !!

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandMakadiTeam, Guest Relations Manager at The Grand Makadi, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Guests,

we would like to thank you for staying at the Grand Makadi and taking the time to share your valuable comment with us.

We are happy you had en enjoyable stay at Grand Makadi.

We are looking forward to welcoming you very soon again for another wonderful stay with us.

Best Regards

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful place to relax and have fun.. Special thanks to Lena,Jaba,Ika,Kristina,Sasha,Joe. They are a great team when you want to enjoy your stay there... In the morning, in the afternoon and in the evening.. :D
Thumbs up ;)

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandMakadiTeam, Guest Relations Manager at The Grand Makadi, responded to this review, November 14, 2014
Dear Guests,

we would like to thank you for staying at the Grand Makadi and taking the time to share your valuable comment with us.

We are happy you had en enjoyable stay at Grand Makadi.

We are looking forward to welcoming you very soon again for another wonderful stay with us.

Best Regards

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2014

The resort was fantastic, the staff very friendly only criticism some of the restaurants in the makadi mall left a lot to be desired they all seem to be on the make! The drinks were extremely expensive when you had to pay eg
after midnight. But all in all the holiday was fantastic. Fully recommend the Botanical Garden restaurant, we had a family birthday and the food plus special service was excellent.

Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandMakadiTeam, Guest Relations Manager at The Grand Makadi, responded to this review, November 2, 2014
Dear Guests,

we would like to thank you for staying at the Grand Makadi and taking the time to share your valuable comment with us.

We are happy you had en enjoyable stay at Grand Makadi.

We are looking forward to welcoming you very soon again for another wonderful stay with us.

Best Regards

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2014

Wow the Grand Makadi is a beautiful resort set in fantastic surroundings. Staff were always willing to help make sure you had a great time! Reception guys were excellent 'you know who you are', Aisha and Mina customer relations and resident G.P were brilliant as was the pool boy Mohammed who was forever filling up our drink quota and we were never left dry. The room cleaner was great we had a family room next to the pool and beach and loved the gimmicks he left in our room fav being the crocodile my Grandsons loved this one! Restaurant's were plenty and inviting Leonardo's had a great breakfast choice with the chef making pancakes for my Daughter's 2 boy's and were well catered for with Pasta and Pizza for later dining was handy!! The Caribbean worth a check-in...... As were the ones at the Mall fav being the Golden Dragon which was excellent as was the Mumbai if your into your Chinese and Indian these are not to be missed. Shopping was cheap with great shops here and on the resort. Beach was amazing clean and warm waters too with the fish at your feet. Excursions were plenty and the yacht/sub combo through red sea team let you see amazing fish and the coral at close quarters.....simply wonderful a top highlight for us all. A holiday not easily forgotten and we hope to have again........soon!!

Room Tip: 2001 ground family room is perfect close to pool/beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandMakadiTeam, Guest Relations Manager at The Grand Makadi, responded to this review, November 2, 2014
Dear Guests,

we would like to thank you for staying at the Grand Makadi and taking the time to share your valuable comment with us.

We are happy you had en enjoyable stay at Grand Makadi.

We are looking forward to welcoming you very soon again for another wonderful stay with us.

Best Regards

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillingham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2014

I visited between 21st-28th oct 2014 with my 16 yr old daughter and 20 yr old son. I was a bit nervous having read some of the reviews but my concerns were unfounded.
The hotel looks superb from the outside, the grounds are well laid out and the pools spotlessly clean. We had a junior suite; I slept on the bed settee which was a little hard but the kids found the double really comfortable. The room was clean as was the bathroom although a little redecoration is needed. The aircon worked fine and there is a TV although nothing to watch!
Internet is only available in the lobby and is intermittent at best. Better off going without for a week.
There are a lot of russian visitors but I experienced no rudeness, and never had a problem finding a sunbed.
Mossies are a problem, we used jungle formula bought from the uk but we might as well have used nothing. I don't know if anyone else has a solution but the itching drove us crazy, even after applying after bite.
The food was standard buffet type fayre, we always found something but don't forget being a Muslim country there's no pork, so no sausages as we know them or bacon. Weird really as alcohol is freely available. The cocktails went down very nicely and the beer and wine was fine.
There's plenty of places to eat and there is an option to book alternative restaurants dotted around free of charge for the all inclusive guests.
The entertainment isn't up to much but you have free access to the adjacent hotels which do offer more. There is a disco if you like euro pop!
The beach is at the rear of the hotel and offers some great snorkelling with a couple of nice coral areas teeming with fish. Take some rock shoes though as you'll need them to paddle. You can buy them out there for about £7 a pair. It's half hour using the shuttle bus into hurghada the nearest town but there's a few shops around the resort for souvenirs and rip off tshirts etc. even a chemist who'll sell anything, Viagra included!!
Our housekeeper Mahmoud cleaned the room very efficiently and always had a surprise waiting for us with his talent for towel art. Ehab in the dome restaurant looked after us very well. A little generosity goes a long way, just a pound or so here and there makes a world of difference.
I wouldn't worry about taking Egyptian money; just take plenty of pound coins for tips. Small denominations of Egyptian currency are difficult to get and makadi bay doesn't have a bank, just atm's.
The orange bay snorkelling trip is good but the Bedouin experience is not that great; the camel and horse rides only lasted one or two minutes and the spider cars and quad bike rides don't allow for speed. You're better off booking a separate quad bike ride.
I think I've covered everything; would I go back ? Without a doubt
Feel free to contact me if you have any more questions but if you've already booked relax you'll have a great holiday

Room Tip: Quiet for us,we stayed in room 3240 facing the front of the hotel away from the disco
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandMakadiTeam, Guest Relations Manager at The Grand Makadi, responded to this review, November 2, 2014
Dear Guests,

we would like to thank you for staying at the Grand Makadi and taking the time to share your valuable comment with us.

We are happy you had en enjoyable stay at Grand Makadi.

We are looking forward to welcoming you very soon again for another wonderful stay with us.

Best Regards

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Grand Makadi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Makadi

Address: Makadi Bay, Hurghada, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Hurghada
#34 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
#38 Family Hotel in Hurghada
#39 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grand Makadi 5*
Number of rooms: 302
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Grand Makadi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Makadi Hotel Hurghada
Grand Makadi Hurghada
Grand Makadi Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grand Makadi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.