We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“relaxing break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Grand Makadi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added The Grand Makadi to your Saves list
The Grand Makadi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Makadi Bay, Hurghada, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 180 Hotels in Hurghada
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“relaxing break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Travelled with my mother for 1 week and was asked if we wanted to be upgraded to the makadi palace and agreed. Big mistake. Our room was 10 minute walk from main reception, bar and restaurant. The restaurant was so dim you couldnt see what you were eating. Nowhete to sit as tables were not cleaned,Food was lukewarm and poor. I am not fussy at all but this was my worst nightmare.i complained and said i wanted to go back to the grand makadi. I was and i cant tell you how much better it is. Carabbean restaurant, lebanese, italian plus a buffet all really nice.loved the coffee in the italian. Also egyptian and,chinese and indian 1 per stay.nice beach with jetty with snorkels you can borrow kept in a wheelie bin.walk along beach onto other hotels beaches in makadi area where you can do watersports and boat trips.good gym with graet views shame you have to pay though it should be free.overall i really enjoyed my holiday and wouldnt hesitate to return

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandMakadiTeam, Guest Relations Manager at The Grand Makadi, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Guests,

we would like to thank you for staying at the Grand Makadi and taking the time to share your valuable comment with us.

We are happy you had en enjoyable stay at Grand Makadi.

We are looking forward to welcoming you very soon again for another wonderful stay with us.

Best Regards

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

752 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    358
    223
    115
    38
    18
See reviews for
179
405
12
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alresford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have just returned from a 2 week holiday at the Grand Makadi , the hotel is lovely and the staff and service given outstanding , in particular the help of Aisha , customer relations who went out of her way to assist us , and also Haitham on reception who was only too happy to go out of his way to make our stay perfect. I am a wheelchair user and got asked a lot by other guests if the hotel was suitable and the answer was yes every time , all absolutely fine even getting to the end of jetty to see the amazing fish, and rest assured any problems always someone to assist straight away, This place should not be missed , the second visit this year for us and we will be going back again

Room Tip: ask for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandMakadiTeam, Guest Relations Manager at The Grand Makadi, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Guests,

we would like to thank you for staying at the Grand Makadi and taking the time to share your valuable comment with us.

We are happy you had en enjoyable stay at Grand Makadi.

We are looking forward to welcoming you very soon again for another wonderful stay with us.

Best Regards

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Would definitely go back to this hotel it was good value for money , Food was very good could book a different a la carte restaurant the same day they weren't booked days In advance loved the food in the Caribbean but my husband liked the middle eastern. Yes the rooms are old fashioned but they were clean , All staff are very helpful there's no queuing at the bar as the waiters are at your table as you put your empty glass down to get you more drinks . The only one complaint I would have is the entertainment at night is between 8-9 and that's when most people are eating , could do with entertainment 8pm - 10.30pm . overall very good

Room Tip: 2049 was a very quite room ground floor easy access to facilities
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandMakadiTeam, Guest Relations Manager at The Grand Makadi, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Guests,

we would like to thank you for staying at the Grand Makadi and taking the time to share your valuable comment with us.

The other points that you have noted, were discussed with the appropriate departments, and introduced measures for improvements.
We hope to welcome you one more time at Grand Makadi and send you sunny greetings.


Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here and loved it. The room was super, the food was better than expected and they had great barbecues at lunchtime and the pools, beach etc are superb. We thought it was really lovely. Staff were friendly

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandMakadiTeam, Guest Relations Manager at The Grand Makadi, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Guests,

we would like to thank you for staying at the Grand Makadi and taking the time to share your valuable comment with us.

We are happy you had en enjoyable stay at Grand Makadi.

We are looking forward to welcoming you very soon again for another wonderful stay with us.

Best Regards

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have stayed here 4 times, and once at the Makadi Spa which is newer and does not allow kids but it is over priced - the Grand Makadi is much better value for money.

Main requirements of a holiday - sun, relaxation, decent food and pleasant surroundings matched by great service. You get all these here, however service does vary....

Bellboy bringing and collecting luggage is very obvious about expecting a tip! Some of the pool staff and pool chefs aren't so good, plus a couple of the waiters in the laguna buffet.

Aisha the long serving guest relations is absolutely fantastic!!!! On the last 2 visits she made sure that my mum was okay everyday as she had medical issues. She resolved matters immediately, always has a smile on her face, and genuinely cares about her guests and making sure they are happy. This meant that when my Mum went there without me 2 weeks ago I could relax knowing that Aisha would take care of her.

I cannot say the same about the new guest relations girl - she is terrible! She is hardly ever around, does not want to do anything, does not smile, not helpful, does not look after guests. If Aisha left the hotel and the new girl stayed we would not go back to this hotel again.

Hamdy the bar manager is excellent too, remembering drinks, quick at serving, and always has a smile for everyone. His language skills are very good too. These are small things but all make a big difference to the enjoyment of your holiday.

The staff work long hours and probably don't get paid much which makes it really unfair when some of them work so hard to make you happy and others are lazy and grumpy, yet they all get paid the same - makes it important to tip, but I hope Mr Hans is listening and rewards his good staff, and deals with those that are not very good!

Room Tip: Worth the extra money for a junior suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandMakadiTeam, Guest Relations Manager at The Grand Makadi, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review
I assure you we welcome all constructive criticism and I am deeply sorry to hear we did not meet your personal expectations. All aspects of your comments have been observed and I am certain your feedback will lead to our beneficial favor.

The other points that you have noted, were discussed with the appropriate departments, and introduced measures for improvements.
We hope to welcome you one more time at Grand Makadi and send you
sunny greetings

The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have just returned yesterday from this hotel....... My god how they can rate this hotel as 5 star it's hardly scrapes in as a 2 star...... Large patches of concrete in the pool with tiles missing.... Very sharp to the feet the steps also large patches of tiles missing. The bedrooms yes very large but dirty and very dated needs update. It was a constant search to find spoons or knives and forks no better than a works canteen. It needs to close and a complete refurbishment needed......... Defiantly won't be back. And I'm not a picky person I've been to Egypt 18 times and this is the first time I've been really disappointed.

Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandMakadiTeam, Guest Relations Manager at The Grand Makadi, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear guest
Thank you for your review
I assure you we welcome all constructive criticism and I am deeply sorry to hear we did not meet your personal expectations. All aspects of your comments have been observed and I am certain your feedback will lead to our beneficial favor.

The other points that you have noted, were discussed with the appropriate departments, and introduced measures for improvements.
We hope to welcome you one more time at Grand Makadi and send you
sunny greetings.

The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2014

Stopped at the Grand Makadi in June 2014.
Read a lot of the reviews and was a bit hesitant of what to expect.
on arrival into hotel at half past midnight, looked a bit disorganised at first.
but soon sorted, got a bag of food(two sandwich's,juice fruit)as nothing open. Good touch.
the bit that people did not like much was, guy got about 6/8 couples and started taking us to our rooms, going to each room individually.people just wanted to get to bed this took about 45 mins to 1 hour ,up n down stairs lifts.not what you want early hours .
got in room ,we were in a ground floor junior suit(2003).could not fault it.
Bed -excellent
air condition was a god send
bathroom was large with bath and shower.
bath not the ritz but did the job,shower was ok
the hotel itself was not as bad as made out ,yes it could do with a few jobs done to it.pools did have some of the mosaic tiles missing, this did not affect your swimming or your holiday.
the buffet restaurant was mainly pasta not the best selection. Only visited once.
their are 3 restaurant's
Italian.......very good
Lebanese......ok (not our sort of food)
Caribbean..... we like this the best
we used the Italian's for breakfast and the two snack areas for lunch then Caribbean or Italian's for evening meal(you have to book for this day before or lunch time on the day)
there are a few more down near the mall or in Makadi palace which you book at reception
the sea and fish and coral are second to none ,unbelievable a must see
me personally would go earlier as temps were 42c-50c(days)....28c-34c(nights)....too hot for us.
we booked with red sea holidays and the late check out is good (included if on night flight at no cost)
take US 1 Dollar bills for tipping
another tip don't buy presents on complex wait till you get to Hurghada airport miles cheaper for exactly same things
its not 5* probably 4* but we had one of the best holidays ..sun, sea, relaxing good food plenty of drink's.
rooms cleaned every day towels changed daily beach towels provided also beach bag provided.
so if you want to listen to all the moaners who expect the Ritz don't come here.
listen to us we are the normal working couple who appreciate good value for money
this is a clean tidy hotel lots of people ,but always sun loungers available also same as beach front .
a must is snorkelling of the jetty
we could not fault this hotel and holiday we are definitely coming back
Makadi palace is next door has abetter buffet restaurant
if you get the chance to eat in Makadi Spa take it best by far ,as this is adult only hotel beast out of all but cost more
Grand Makadi Hotel good hotel good staff, polite and friendly
Go and try it you will not be disappointed . recommend this hotel
also voyager travel /red sea holidays

Room Tip: I would recommend a junior suit, but try and get a upper floor suit. but the ground floor is perfe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandMakadiTeam, Leiter Gästebetreuung at The Grand Makadi, responded to this review, September 15, 2014
Dear Guests,

we would like to thank you for staying at the Grand Makadi and taking the time to share your valuable comment with us.

We are happy you had en enjoyable stay at Grand Makadi.

We are looking forward to welcoming you very soon again for another wonderful stay with us.

Best Regards

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Grand Makadi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Makadi

Address: Makadi Bay, Hurghada, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Hurghada
#31 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
#35 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
#35 Family Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grand Makadi 5*
Number of rooms: 302
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Grand Makadi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Makadi Hotel Hurghada
Grand Makadi Hurghada
Grand Makadi Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grand Makadi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.