We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“some amazing, some average” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Grand Makadi

Save Saved
You added The Grand Makadi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Grand Makadi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Makadi Bay, Hurghada, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 183 hotels in Hurghada
Sandy, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“some amazing, some average”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

after reading the reviews on here i was a little cautious to go here, but i have to say most of the reviews are written by some picky people who have over exaggerated. we opted for a standard room in the hotel which was gorgeous! huge comfortable bed, very spacious, perfectly clean and a large private balcony. the cleanliness was fantastic, they cleaned twice a day and sprayed eco friendly insect spray every day to keep the mozzies away ( which worked! )the only bad thing was the air con! it looks and works like its from the 80's and was hard to sleep with the heat. they seriously need to upgrade the air conditioning units. the swimming pool does seem to be a problem though which i agree with the other reviews, there are lots of tiles missing and it is not kept very clean. there are lots of bits floating around in it and also a couple of days there was a corner of the pool full of scum where the chlorine content was too low. the general hotel is amazing, totally stunning and wonderfully clean. the private beach is gorgeous and the snorkelling ( for free) is out of this world! just about 30m from the beach is a tropical underwater paradise and the jetty is great. now onto the FOOD!!!! well i have to say it was one of the best hotels in egypt for food. not only does it have a massive choice variety but its all well cooked and they put in a huge effort. yes yes its not as good as home, but its a hundred times better than most food abroad. the restaurants are lovely too. the only downside to the hotel was some of the staff. most of them were brilliant, friendly and couldnt do enough for you, but there were a few who had no respect whatsoever for me and my fiance! they were constantly harrassing me and being totally inappropriate in a sexual way, and also being rude and disrespectful to my fiance too as they expressed their jealousy. one guy even pretended to stab my fiance behind his back and laugh about it! i was totally shocked and it upset me every day. the hassle was just unbearable from these arab men and it totally ruined our stay there. i think they should have some kind of sexual harrasment course for the staff as it is totally unacceptable. however if you dont have a problem with this, then it is a fantastic hotel and i would strongly advise staying there. the hotel itself is 10/10, just the staff thats a 1/10! apart from the assistant bar manager, he was awesome! =) overall great hotel, bad culture.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

738 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    355
    215
    115
    36
    17
See reviews for
175
397
11
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
west yorkshire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Stayed at the Grand Makadi 14 June for seven days, booked through Voyager Travel. We have visited Egypt four times previously and this has to be the best holiday yet. The food in all the restaurants was to a very good standard for the price we paid £440 each. The staff couldn't do enough for you, but were not in your face all the time like some Egyptian hotels we have stayed at previously, they respected that you were on holiday and wanted to relax.

We were lucky to be one of the chosen guests of the week and was invited to evening meal on the beach with the Head Chef Kurt, who fully explained in detail how food was carefully prepared and cooked and an overview of life in Egypt. The hotel came across as caring for its staff which is also an important factor. Happy staff happy holiday makers.

We booked our diving through Aquarius on the beach near the Makadi Spa and their diving trips were of excellent standard from the informative Diving Briefs to their Health and Safety standards.

Cannot wait to go back and will be booking for later in the year

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

This was our first time to Egypt and after reading review after review I couldn't make my mind up where to stay because there was so many contradicting reviews so I booked the grand makadi. We were celebrating our 21st wedding anniversary and wanted everything to be just right so I emailed the hotel manager Tamer El Dieb asking about the dress code for dining ect and the response was very welcoming. We arrived in Egypt on the 15th of may the weather was fantastic and the hotel looked amazing, our room we thought had been upgraded to a junior suit was huge but the bathroom just needed a little TLC and the hotel are refurbishing the rooms as and when they are unoccupied which as you can imagine is very difficult. We had read some bad reports about this hotel but I can assure you that I never saw anything or had any bad experiences whilst I was here. The food was excellent the choice was endless the manager invited us to a personal meeting to congratulate us on our wedding anniversary and to see how our stay was and even offered us an upgrade which was a lovely touch. We met some amazing people here and made some great friends and the staff couldn't do enough for you. Mohamed, Hamed, and Mohamed but to mention a few worked tirelessly day after day they are a credit to Tamer and the hotel we can't wait to return here later this year in September. All in all if your looking for a relaxing holiday and good value for money you will not go far wrong from giving The Grand Makadi a try

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a weeks holiday here. Last minute booking with Red Sea Holidays. Must admit we had never used the company before and were a little nervous of what service to expect.
We need not have worried as the service, from being transfered to the hotel, to the meet and greet the next morning and the very good rep being there for your service every morning, was alot better than a well known high street travel agent we've booked with before!
We had a free upgrade to a Junior Suite, which was huge and always kept very clean. A nice little touch was that you had in your room a beach bag with beach towells in for your use during your stay, which were changed each evening for clean dry one's.
The gardens and grounds are kept immaculate, by the most hard working Egyptian staff. When on the numerous sun loungers ( no need to get up at stupid oclock to secure a bed! ) the bar staff would come round asking if you would like a drink, whether it be a soft drink or a beer. They do this all day untill about 5pm. They have brilliant memories too!
The food was good, with a choice of dishes. We were all inclusive and it was well worth it. The hotel also had a choice of Lebonese, Chinese, French, Italian, Caribbean and Indian, which you had to book the day before in the reception lobby. Most of the staff were very polite and could not do enough for you.
The pool was very large and a separate childrens pool was also on the complex. Talking of water, the highlight has to be the beautiful turquoise water at the end of the private jetty. We snorkelled daily and saw some amazing fish....( luckily no sharks! ). You can buy underwater cameras in the hotel shop, they are about £10. The Paradise Island trip is well worth doing if you like snorkeling in the open water with lunch on the island.
Unfortunately I would have to say that the hotel is NOT 5*****, in our opinion it was more like 4****. This is because, I believe the hotel to be around 10 years old and in some areas it is in need of a refurb. Mainly the Pool I would say, as like many people have commented, their are missing small tiles etc......
At the end of the day, people see things differently, and have different expectations. I try to give an honest review. This was our second time in Egypt, the first time we went to Sharm. The next time we might go to Taba.
Overall summary : Superb weather ( very hot ) stunning location and a nice hotel. Hard working staff.

Room Tip: We were in a room that was quite close to the beach..1005...lovely until the beach party starts twic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We went via Viva holidays with Red Sea holidays. We didnt want just a week so opted for 10 days, this ment we flew out with Thomas Cook and back with Monarch. Once we landed at Hurghada the rep was great, led us to the coach and 40 mins later we were at the hotel. We arrived at around 11:30pm, when checking in we asked if food was available as the meal sheet they give us stated the one restaurant was open till midnight, when we went in at around 11:45pm we were told it was shut !. We went to the welcome meeting the next morning to get the run down on what was on offer, the 3 restaurants within the hotel (Italian, Lebanese and Caribbean) also the 5 further restaurants within the group that were a 5 min walk away. Of the 3 within the hotel the Lebanese was best by far, the Italian was fairly bland but in a great spot at night for alfresco grazing ! The Caribbean we thought was going to be our favorite until we came down with stomach cramps after eating there, in fairness it may not have been the food but as we both went through what we had eaten and where it all pointed towards there. We tried the Indian but that was also bland. The major down side was that on all menus in all restaurants some items were on there with an additional charge which didnt quite seem rite to me in a 5 star all inclusive hotel. The pool complex is very good, never crowded and easy to get sunbeds, also the waiters round the pool were very good. The coral reef is great for snorkeling and the beach next to the hotel is nice. The room (Room No. 2225) was a good size but a little tired, the bath had marks ground into it which made it look constantly dirty which was not good. If you enjoy the water my advice would be to buy yourself a lilo and snorkeling gear the day you get there, you will get all that for around £20 (less flippers) at the hotel but the snorkeling gear is there for you to use FOC if you want it but beware, some masks leak !. A nice thing to do is go down to the beach at night, grab a mattress and plonk it on a lounger, listen to the sea and watch the stars.......Would we go again - probably not but I would still recommend this hotel for a relaxing break. We also did the trip to Cairo (See separate write up) which was very good. Remember to take plenty of water from the hotel for the way home, bottles of water in Hurghada airoport I heard were £3 each.......also the airport is not the best for toilets so best be warned before you get there - enjoy......

Room Tip: I would ask for a pool view of the Grand Makadi pool, we had a pool view but of one of the sister ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed a week at the Grand Makadi during the second week of June with our 15 baby.
The hotel grounds are 5* but the service, rooms and amenities I would give maximum 3*.

NEGATIVES:
AC- had to get someone from reception to fix it twice.
BOOKING RESTAURANTS -really don't like the idea of going on holiday and having to book where I will be eating plus you HAVE to book between 1-2 !!!
STAFFS ATTITUDE - sometimes stinks
AVOID the seminar/talk from Red Sea holidays the following morning
They try to rip you off and discourage you to shop anywhere else so you shop only at their sister hotels or expensive "downtown" expensive malls! It's all to make money (even their excursions) charge double for excursions !
Lack of access for buggies and wheelchairs
Had terrible stomach pains due to the food!


Positives
•Hotel grounds are beautiful
•The jetty is amazing
•Swimming pools are huge
•the snack bars near pools provides great fresh snacks. (Shawarmas, koftas etc)
•Though the excursion to Luxor was expensive (there is no other way you can go on trips apart from Red Sea holidays) it was a very enjoyable trip, it was an experience
•The Lebanese restaurant is delicious. the service was excellent. A must to dine in.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brit
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Well where do I start! We boked our holiday via a local agent with Red Sea Holidays to the Grand Makadi, Hurghada staying 14 nights.

The remit we gave the agent was plenty of space to rest and relax, with as few children as possible (sorry folks, I too have children and love mine and others to bits but this was to be one of the first holidays in 33 years without our's or someone else's children ~ forgive me for not wanting to spend the time listening to the inevitable tears and tatrumst that come with the heat and holidays).

Basically we wanted somewhere where we weren't under pressure to join in (unless we decided to), take trips and generally sucumb to copious amonts of hassle. We got exactly what we asked for in booking the Grand!

We were met at the airport and transfered extremely quickly to our hotel, where were were equally quickly shown to our room and our luggage delivered.

FIRST IMPRESSIONS
The resort lobby was lovely, it was cool, full of plants and the decor quite oppulent. We really looked forward to being shown to our room expecting the same / similar standard. The decor in the room was somewhat tired and I would not have considered this as 5* standard. The air conditioning was rather warm and I confess to being a rather disappointed.

By the morning having had a good night's sleep, in the extremely comfortable and immaculately clean bed, I felt better and resolved that the tired decor did not make one jot of difference to the holiday ~ particularly as we intended to be in the room as little as possible and our eyes would generally be closed when we were.

Despite the decor, the rooms were immaculately clean, with fresh towels as you wanted, shampoo, conditioner, shower gel and body lotion freely available. The room attendant regularly (not overbearingly) knocked to ensure that we had everything we needed. This was a really nice touch.

I did subsequently speak to the rep about the air con (we really did need it). Despite writing in down in our presence he did nothing about it. I later spoke to the reception and the air con was fixed within the hour! I would advise reporting difficulties to the reception rather than the rep if you want something doing quickly.

THE RESORT
The resort itself was beautiful and every effort was made to keep it clean and neat. Some minor cosmetics, like tiles off the pool and the sun beds a bit shabby (but not chic), but all was clean and comfortable. The wodden beds could do with a good rub down and re-varnish and the cushions with tears need to be disposed of and replaced with new to enhance the look and really complete that 5* feel, but nothing major.

The shops on site were good and there is never any pressure to buy. ('aldi' ~ in the foyer of the hotel) is a little cheaper for some things than the shops on the beach but there really is not much in it.

THE FOOD AND DRINK
WOW, having been used to 'serve yourself buffet type only' all inclusive deals in the past; to have the option to book into waitered restaurants was a real treat. On site the Lebanese, Caribbean and Italian restuarants were superb. A few minutes walk away was the Indian, Chinese, French (and others) All of excellent standard. It is difficult to say which one was the best. We treated ourselves to dining on the beach which was really special and the additional cost minimal. Definitely recommended. All this said the buffet style was also available with masses of choice and good quality food.

We are not big drinkers ~ the odd beer, occasional spirit but mainly soft drinks and water. The bars were always well stocked and the availablity of bottled water was exceptional. Waiter service in the bar areas was very good. The pool less so but the beach (where we always prefer to spend our time) was exceptional. Ahmed, regularly refreshed our drinks (approx every 30 minutes), always remembering what we wanted and providing service with a smile and always, always attempting to make conversation with us in English.

ENTERTAINMENT
The entertinment was passable. Generally consisting of a couple of 'pub singers' who forgot the words frequently and generally lacked professionalism. Definitely not what I would consider 5 *. I considered taking the mic away from one of them at one point~ I could definitely have done a better job (now there is a thought). There was a acrobatic act which was enhanced by the fact that a little girl performed with her dad (always good for an 'ah' moment) and the belly dancers and whirling dervish weren't bad. It was, however, a bit repetitive seeing the same acts twice or even four times over in 2 weeks).

The days were quiet on the beach, but that suited us fine. In fact I walked around the bay a little way to another resort where music was blarring out and I decided instantly that we had made the right choice. There was always gentle music playing in the lobby and bar area which was pleasant and not overbearing. This could not be heard at the pool though which might have been nice.

INTERNET
A bit unpredicatable during busy times. But you know what, I was on holiday and glad of the excuse to switch the rest of the world off for a while.

TRIPS
We only went on one organised trip. That was to Paradise island. It was a great day and a trip that I would recommend. All English passengers and a competent and confident tour guide. Abu, was excellent and catered for the needs of all of his guests giving, even novices confidence to have a go at snorkelling.

We did take the shuttle bus to Hurgharda but were a little disappointed. We both admitted to feeling a bit hassled in the street but maybe we are just too soft (never have been good at all this haggling lark).

The availabilty of this FREE bus which runs in and out of Hurgharda twice daily (for an afternoon or an evening trip) is a real bonus for those who do enjoy getting out and about.

ADDITIONAL RESOURCES
one of the great things we did was have a massage every other day. It was an additional cost but well worth it. This really complemented the restful and relaxing holiday that we were looking for. Highly recommended. They do canvas on the beach but there is never, ever any hassle, you just say no and that is accepted.

There is a beauticians on site. Pedicure's, manicure's, hair, threading etc. Like the massage team, they also canvas on the beach but again no hassle. The beautician's is a busy little room so if you are expecting to be pampered you will probably be disappointed. It is functional though and they pride themselves on doing a quality job for both men and women.

THE BEACH
The beach is sandy but remember this is a coral area so it is quite coarse. YOU WILL NEED WATER SHOES IF YOU WANT TO GO INTO THE SEA. The coral can be quite sharp. the water is shallow and then drops off the edge of the reef quite sharply. Perfect, if like us, you enjoy snorkelling. Perhaps not so good if you have small children who you want to let swim in the shallow. It doesn't really exist; but the pools are great for that.

We were extremely well looked after on the beach. Kerem, acknowledged everyone as they arrived and brought the cussions to the chosen parasol. What a great guy. Always up for conversation (fairly fluent in both German and English) and going out of his way to ensure that we were comfortable.

THE POOLS
The pools are great. Given the size of the hotel you might expect that they are busy. This is not the case. There is loads of room in pools and there are plenty of sunbeds and parasols to go around (absolutely no need to be up at 3.30am to reserve ha, ha - although one particular nationality seemed to still feel it necessary).

TIPPING
Never once did we feel under pressure to tip. On the ocassions that we did, the amount (however minimal) was accepted with appreciation and thanks. There are general tipping boxes around the resort if you prefer to give something to be shared among the staff.

OVERALL
Overall, we had a great holiday. The minor disappointment we felt on arrival paled to insignificance. When I consider it in relation to the remit we first gave the agent, our expectations were easily met and in the main exceeded.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Grand Makadi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Makadi

Address: Makadi Bay, Hurghada, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Hurghada
#26 Romantic Hotel in Hurghada
#30 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
#35 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
#35 Family Hotel in Hurghada
#40 Business Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grand Makadi 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Grand Makadi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Makadi Hotel Hurghada
Grand Makadi Hurghada
Grand Makadi Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grand Makadi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.