We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand Mikadi Great Coral Beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Grand Makadi

Save Saved
You added The Grand Makadi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Grand Makadi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Makadi Bay, Hurghada, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 181 hotels in Hurghada
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Grand Mikadi Great Coral Beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Read all the reviews.Ok not a 5* but I have come to expect that in Turkey /Eygpt that a 5* is not a 5* but a 3*.
Hotel had fabulous coral bay which made up for all the other area's that didn't live up to scratch.
Had a Fabulous time .

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
teldieb, General Manager at The Grand Makadi, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear guest
Thank you very much for your review
We are very pleased that you experienced a fabulous time while staying with us
I happily accept your value of our house reef and I believe we are very fortunate to have such unique coral reef with its breathtaking marine life directly at our door-step
Once again I am glad you enjoyed your overall holiday
We look forward to accommodating again, kind regards
Tamer El Dieb
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

729 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    352
    213
    111
    36
    17
See reviews for
173
395
10
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

They advertise this hotel as a 5 star hotel !! IT´S NOT !!!... Overall a fair rating of this hotel would be between 3-4 Star whereas the bath in the room gets 0 stars....Also the reception does not give the impression that they take women seriously which was annoying and something one could expect

Arrival:

We arrived around 2.30 AM in the morning with a very tired girl who is 2 1/2 years old. The Red Sea staff member (s ) showed zero concern nor acted as he had any decent training in hospitality service. He decided to show two other couples their rooms before attending to us leaving us alone waiting with our fatigue child.

The room, a junior suit was quite large. Ok clean wise but the furniture look tired and in decline and the worst part was the bath which was only to be used for shower as it was really really disgusting.

The food was ok however the breakfast is a major disaster. The hotel also offers food outside the hotel as part of the all inclusive - The Indian was terrible ! Tried the ala carte Chicken Vindaloo which was around 7 Euro and a major disappointment - it contained 4 small chicken pieces and potatoes and a sauce which certainly was not indian - Go for the chinese place which was friendly and served good food.

The Swimming pool is large and nice I must say but also showed signs of decline - The beach was also nice but would not recommend this place for families with young kids as there is no sand and only only rocks.

The staff was ok - Would recommend to tip if you want to see a smile.

Last not least, the people working in the reception area was not friendly nor does it feel like they take women seriously.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
teldieb, General Manager at The Grand Makadi, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for you review and for sharing with us your valuable comments
Firstly I would like to express my sincere apologies for the inconvenience you and your child encountered during check-in. I deeply regret we were unable to transmit our true standards in customer service and guest satisfaction.
Please note that all your comments have been closely monitored and are received with major concern, while I assure you my priority in resolving all aspects that reflected your overall stay
Meanwhile, if you are to reconsider and return to the Grand Makadi, I would be grateful if given that opportunity and I personally will assure you the most pleasant experience possible
Again, thank you very much for your feedback and kindest regards
Tamer El Dieb
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Est Anglia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We wanted a relaxing, sunny, all inclusive holiday, with value for money, and we got it at the Grand. Everything mentioned in previous reviews here is more or less correct - a bit of tired furniture in bathrooms, or missing tiles in swimming pool etc. BUT... the whole experience, the hotel position, cleanliness, reef snorkling, gardens, ambience, food choices, & amazingly friendly staff at all levels, is SUPERB. The general manager regularly walks around his hotel in a kind and friendly manner, making sure his guests have the best holiday experience possible. We could mention by name plenty of staff members who took care of our needs, but actually every single one of them was courteous and helpful wherever and whenever we encountered them. It was a joy to spend a week in this hotel, the staff make it so, as well as the most pleasant fellow guests you could wish to meet. Try it yourself, you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Our junior suite was in the BEST location, with a sunny morning balcony which was huge. Room no 215...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
teldieb, General Manager at The Grand Makadi, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you so much for your review and for your very kind recommendations.
I would personally like to thank you for complimenting our product and the entire team of staff.
I am delighted your overall experience was a joy and likewise it was certainly a joy and a pleasure having you among us. We appreciate your trust in our services and establishment, and we eagerly await your return to the Grand Makadi where you will be guaranteed our highest levels of service and hospitality
Again, thank you very much and kind regards
Tamer El Dieb
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I think it is wrong to call this a 5 star, however it is decent enough for the money. I would expect a pool that does not have tiles missing, a bath that does not look like it has been on a scrap heap for 20 years and if they say they will fix a broken shower within an hour I would like it fixed before I leave!
That aside the staff are very good, it is a stunning looking hotel at night and we enjoyed it. The food was OK but it is geared towards the Germans rather than English but I always found something I liked.

Room Tip: Don't except room 2055 it has a nasty bath and a broken shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
teldieb, General Manager at The Grand Makadi, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for you review and for sharing with us your impressions
I truly regret our product did not meet your personal expectations and apologize for the inconvenience you encountered with your room. Please note all your comments are received with major concern and assure you your previous accommodation unit will be subject to immediate refurbishment
Thank you and kind regards
Tamer El Dieb
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Firstly you will be dragged to a seminar the morning after your stay. I would avoid this as it will be a total waste of your time and is designed to scare you off excursions not provided by Red Sea Holidays. They will try to persuade you you must only take their trips, when there are plenty of other decent and better priced elsewhere. The rest of the meeting is to advise you to buy sea shoes and what the best time to go out in the day to avoid heatstroke and the like. If you take the very reasonably priced shopping trip for a tenner be aware that this consist of hard sell trips to 3 different wholesalers in direct affiliation with Red Sea Holidays in an attempt to get you to buy expensive oils and perfumes etc. You will be driven to the middle of nowhere in a ropey coach and forced to sit through a kind of timeshare presentation. Not a nice experience at all. Should you have any problems with your room such as blown out lights, or no air conditioning do not worry, someone will be along to fix it just as soon as you check out! Very handy. The entertainment is dire, the food utterly awful and I'm not picky. Like many I was ill for the majority of the holiday. Both ends. They will tell you it's the climate, but believe you me you will be being poisoned by the disgusting food left on display for hours on end. If you do get to the rocky beach you will discover you will get no relaxation as every 5-10 minutes someone will try very very hard to hard sell you a massage for around £80. The hotel is in the middle of nowhere, so there is no escape. Do NOT go with the taxi company in the hotel unless you want to pay 5 times more than the local rates and be aware that you will have a long walk out of the resort to get a local taxi as Red Sea Holidays do not let any other taxi firms into the complex. If you are a drinker you can get beer, wine and spirits only at the main bar and the restaurant on the beach, but all other bars and beach waiter service will only bring you warm beer in tiny cups which is very annoying for a so called 5 star all inclusive. Honestly this trip did just cost £300 each and the room was fine despite the broken things, but it was a truly awful holiday due to the food, illness, cross selling and complete boredom being in the middle of nowhere.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
teldieb, General Manager at The Grand Makadi, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for expressing your personal impressions
I regret to hear of your disappointment and feel we have let ourselves down by failing to demonstrate our strengths. As we welcome all constructive criticism regarding the hotel I remain certain the team and I will strive to resolve your mentioned concerns and likewise improve our product
Thank you and kind regards
Tamer El Dieb
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

My wife and l stayed at the Grand Makadi from the 5/4/2013 to 12/4/2013 . First impressions of this hotel as you arrive in the fading light of an early evening flight from Gatwick were "This is looking good", the front of the hotel is quite a grand affair with a small fountain and an entrance where you must walk through a small columned arch into a very nicely presented reception area. You are greeted by a member of the reception staff and a cold drink whilst you check your bags off the bus and draw your room key and then check the bellboys know your cases and your room.We were then shown up to our room (2245),We had asked for a high floor, sea facing quiet room. Well you could just about see the sea in between the building and trees in front of the room.
The room on first impressions was what we expected but the furnishings were looking quite tired
and in need of some T.L.C. . The bed was massive and very comfortable, unfortunately as in most hotels they insist on using foam pillows which were not very practical when the temperature is approaching the 30's . There was a quite an old t.v .hidden in a unit at the end of the bed with only one English channel (BBC World),This gave us the first clue as to which guests were the majority.I did mention this to a very nice lady in guest relations and we then had fox movies . Not that this is a very important point , we didn't go away to watch T.V.
In daylight next day you could see plenty of cracked tiles stained woodwork stained bath/shower
there was also a water stain on the quilt.The shower was not particularly efficient , the pressure varied from cold to luke warm to scalding hot but rarely constant(watch the kids).Our toilet was temperamental and would not always refill after flushing. We had a junior suite which gave us a bit more room which was useful but overall l would say the room was not of a 5 star quality as advertised. The room was clean as was the linen , Towel changes were regularly including being offered clean pool towels every evening , You did need to be in your room at 6.30 though to catch him.. l think the room however only received a cursory once over by the house keeping staff during the day.Although it was very clean.
Once out in the grounds the hotel is just what you would expect , the grounds and gardens are very well tended with lots of shade . What was strange is that you are not allowed sunbeds or towels on the grassed areas around the pool.
The pool itself is kept clean and tended to in the early hours before the invasion begins . It does say no reserving of sun beds but this does inevitably happen . There are plenty of sun beds to go round and there's always the beach.The only thing l would say about the pool is that it does need some repair work done to the tiling , lots missing !The temperature of the water was quite cold when you first get in but ok after a swim.temperatures in the high twenties to low thirties .
The beach is quite hard compacted sand and is covered with sunbeds and shades of the permanent kind with each one having its own wicker windbreak which was quite useful as we had one or two days when the wind whipped up quite a bit . Some of these are rather old though and could do with replacing.
There is a brand new pier which you must walk along if you want to snorkel on the reef , its a must ,loads to see, also lots of jelly fish , the non stinging variety . A lot of the reef is protected and marked out with signs to warn you off . Beach shoes are a must .
The pool service is good plenty of staff around offering drinks , the beach massage staff are a bit eager to get you in and are trying 2/3 times a day until after maybe the third day and they get the message then if you're not interested . (Around £50 for back neck and shoulders!!)
There's plenty of choice for food with the italian and Caribbean restaurants open for breakfast and lunch plus the lagoon restaurant buffet and a bar- b- que grill(koftas and chicken).
With 24 hours notice you can book a table at all of the restaurants for your evening meal , this includes a chinese , indian ,french , italian or egyptian restaurant in the mall 5 minutes walk outside.Get your bookings in early first night is best cos they go quick . All the above are available on your all inclusive with a couple of choices you can pay extra for . There did seem to be a shortage of fresh fruit available which really surprised us only oranges and grapefruit cut into quarters , you had the occasional banana if you were quick . We found the best food was in the Lebenese with the staff in Lebenese dress and very attentive. The buffet does get a bit tedious but that's how buffets go .
The Grand Makadi is the oldest of a group of three hotels adjacent to each other the other two being the palace and the spa , spa being the newest not yet completed . What was strange is the fact that the other hotels could use there all inclusive for drinks and come to watch our entertainment but this did not work the other way round . You will have to pay an upgrade drinks package to use the other hotels facilities . Consequently when there was entertainment unless you got there early you are hard pushed to find a seat .
The majority of the staff around the hotel were very good with one or two exceptions , some of the reception staff could be slightly offish as could one of the bar floor walkers but he was the same with his staff , l won't mention him by name . One of the staff in the italian restaurant we promised to give a mention Omar Ramadarn , excellent , he'le appreciate that as he tried to cover up his name badge all night , sorry Omar l did warn you .
To summarise the grand makadi is a good hotel in need of some TLC you will not be disappointed but don't expect real 5 star , maybe just 3 star . This is purely on account of the need to upgrade most of the furniture including sunbeds and pool tables and the need to repair the pool tiling .

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

A nice hotel with friendly staff who would go out of their way to help. Food was good with plenty of choice and different restaurants to eat in. Accommodation was good but the junior suite was mis-described, there was no separate bedroom which I would expect in a junior suite. Plenty of sunbeds available throughout the day. The pools need a bit of maintenance with missing tiles and grubby paint. Overall, a good place to stay but only rate it a four star hotel by European standards.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Grand Makadi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Makadi

Address: Makadi Bay, Hurghada, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Hurghada
#27 Romantic Hotel in Hurghada
#31 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
#35 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
#38 Family Hotel in Hurghada
#42 Business Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grand Makadi 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Grand Makadi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Makadi Hotel Hurghada
Grand Makadi Hurghada
Grand Makadi Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grand Makadi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.