We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Makadi magic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Grand Makadi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Grand Makadi to your Saves list
The Grand Makadi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Makadi Bay, Hurghada, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 182 Hotels in Hurghada
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Makadi magic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

Well we had the best week away from the British snow well exceeding our expectations, and experience at other all inclusive resorts. The staff were polite and friendly and did not look for tips all the time as there are tip boxes which are shared with back of house staff too. The food range was excellent, heaps of fresh fruit and veg and they never ran out of tonic to go in the gin for a sundowner! (Unlike the Hilton!). The resort is at one end of a string of Red Sea resorts and you had access to them all to use pools etc - there is a fab infinity pool! The house reef is very new and stable and was excellent for snorkelling. I was able to see a huge range of fish just in waist height water - simply stunning.

The Italian and Lebanese restaurants were superb and we ate there most evenings. It was also super to have wifi access in the reception area.

The pools are huge and super to swim around - mostly the water was heated but there was a cooler day or two. The Lagoon restaurant was super for breakfast and lunch, or other pool and beach options exist with scrummy food.

There was a fair range of entertainment during the day - Pilates in the morning, all over body workout later and Zumba in the afternoon. The entertainment team were charming and fun despite very low attendance for many events.

We were blessed with superb weather for the time of year which was a blessing but none the less we shall be returning again without doubt.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

790 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    368
    240
    121
    40
    21
See reviews for
188
422
12
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wirral
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Before I start my review I must admit that both the holiday cost overall and the weather has influenced this report somewhat!! My wife and I flew back after a lovely week at the Grand Makardi with Monarch into Manchester last Friday 25th Jan, 25c in Hurghada when we left and 0c and 4 inches of snow on arrival in the UK.
The positives, as stated by other reviewers you pay your money you take your chance, we paid a total of £760 for an all inclusive week with flights, transfers and an upgrade to a junior suite so not much to complain about there then. The hotel is about 10 years old and is very clean and tidy no litter and the gardens and beach areas are kept immaculate by very attentive staff. The pool is huge and there are hundreds of sunbeds to sit on and even more on the beach. The whole week's holiday for us and other folks we spoke to was enhanced by all the very willing and helpful staff. Who I might add have wall to wall smiles even when serving our German friends of whom the majority seem not to have the simple words please and thankyou in their native tongue! Luckily enough there was not a Russian to be seen!
The rooms are huge we were downstairs ( Suite 1015) with a very large patio overlooking the pool/gardens. The bed was enormous and the towels and bedding were changed every day.
I strolled around the whole complex comprising of 4 hotel/spas and with there being excellent facilities spread all over the site coupled with the fact that the complex's location is a tad isolated
there is no real need to venture out unless you want the main trips eg Luxor, Cairo or diving trips etc. The 4 restaurants on site provide generally a good varied selection of meals but a special mention to the Lebanese (Tarboush) one for good hot portions and variety. Again the staff in there were excellent even with their attempts to teach me a "smattering" of Arabic and part ex my wife for 2 camels. There are bars open to obtain a copious amount of cold bottled water FOC 24 hrs a day.
The negatives. There are not many mainly down to what we paid for the week, but the rooms and corridors are dark we required the lights on all day in our room and a slight refurb would be nice, but the cleanliness outweighs that. The staff are attentive but the room cleaners, bell boys and a few others always on the look out for tips could annoy some people, but the hotel is well aware of this and allows every food and drink facility to place a tip receptacle for you to drop a few egyptian pounds in. The staff work very hard for low pay and an egyptian tenner (£1) goes a long way for even better service. The food served at most outlets is on average not very warm and if you don't attend the self service (Lagoon) the portions are on the small side. The Lebanese was the best restaurant for hot meals and generous portions.The drinks are supplied by all bars around the pool and ground areas in miniscule plastic cups so again to prevent loads of trips from bar to sunbed double up your order or provide your own plastic container to replace the thimbles they provide! The hotel is low rise (2 or 3 floors) and I did not see any lifts at all so if you are not good at climbing up and down stairs to access the main entrance and lobby bar areas you may need to check this out.
Overall the hotel is a good 4+ star not 5 but excellent value for money in friendly and warm surroundings, Red Sea holidays provide a good overall service but Ishmael their rep is a nice lad but he does go on a bit eg the welcome meeting we escaped after 45 minutes. So go on give it a try and spend a week there.

Room Tip: Always take advantage of the upgrade to the junior suite, and if you are cheeky ask for a pool suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottinghamshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We have just returned from the Mikadi, my Wife and I thought the hotel represented the best value for money we have had.We had a junior suite on the ground floor , which was spacious. The staff were excellent ,(give the waiters etc a pound now and again and they will go out of their way to help )The food was good in the buffet restaurants, we also ate in the Italian , Indian and Chinese restaurants in the mall, which were very good, if limited on the all inclusive menus.We snorkelled off of the jetty, which was brilliant.We thought Red Sea holidays were very good in their organisation too.Having said all of the above, I would say 3.5 to 4 star would be the correct rating. But unbeatable value for money

Room Tip: book a junior suite on the pool/beach side , only £50(approx) a week more than standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
high peak, england
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

We booked our holiday through travel zoo/red sea holidays at the bargain price of £351 and think it was worth every penny. We travelled as a family group aged 19- 33 yrs myself & husband and 2 sisters. Both having worked in the hotel industry I have learnt to take hotel reviews with a pinch of salt, but became concerned by some of the previous reviews on here, my advice is to pay no attention to them... We had a great week.
We stayed in 2 junior suites both of which were clean and although the shower did break in one room this was quickly replaced after speaking with reception. Our towels were replaced daily and beds were made daily.
The pool looked lovely although very cold ( the heating system was broken) a quick word with George our rep & he arranged for us to use the pool at the sunwing hotel for the week also with all inclusive!
The beach is coral so beach shoes are a must, the sea is lovely and warm and if your brave enough to snorkel you will see the amazing underwater sights, we would snorkel / swim off the pier. We saw dolphins, sea turtles, great barracuda, lion fish and many more infact something new every day. We did the snorkelling trip offered by Red Sea holidays which was a fab day out although we reckon we saw more fish at the hotel reef.
Evening entrainment is lacking at the hotel but this did not bother us as we would sit and play cards or go on the wifi in the bar area. The bar staff were great and a few dollars a day ensured we were never without a drink. The food at the hotel was better than we expected lots of choice & we enjoyed the dine around option and we also did not expect the restaurants to be waiter service. Our favourite was the 'tarboush' Lebanese restaurant a great choice for a vegetarian & meat eaters. We ate breakfast at the lagoon buffet restaurant & lunch was at one of the beach snack bars. We had one meal in the Indian restaurant in the mall and managed to eat off the all inclusive menu lots of choice again for a vegetarian.
Overall we had a fantastic week at a Bargain price, maybe the hotel is not 5* but the service definitely was......would we return again?.....we're already looking for another bargain.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We have just returned from a week in Egypt at the Grand Makadi. What an experience. This was a complete chill out week for us although we were unsure how warm it was going to be. The Red Sea holiday company were absolutely brilliant in the way they looked after everyone. We were in a Junior suite on the ground floor. This consisted of a very large bedroom, plus lounge and a sun lounge under cover and a terrace attached with our own sunbeds. We were provided with clean towels for both pool and for use in our suite changed every day. Situated close to all the pools and lounging areas set in beautiful gardens with flowers and palm trees etc. The dine around system was fantastic. Since this was an all inclusive break there was a fantastic choice of places to eat. The Lagoon full international buffet/Tarbush Lebanese/Leonardo italian/ Starfish for burgers and snacks. at the end of the complex was French/Chinese etc. Also little food stations were situated along beach area for icecream and kebabs etc.
Food in all restaurants was first class. As well as all this there was also tea and cake at 3.30pm. The bars were virtually open all hours serving local alcohol/soft drinks etc.
The weather on top of all this was beautiful from about 9.30 in the morning until around 4.00pm when it became cold very quickly.
I would thoroughly recommend this hotel and would definately stay there again.Everything was provided for in this hotel and there was actually no need to go outside the complex if you didnt want to. The hotel has its own beach area providing sunloungers and windbreaks fully serviced at all times by the bar staff.This beach is coral. Dont forget your water shoes.
All the pools were bitterly cold although some brave souls did go in. I think heating was turned off as it was end of season. Still small price to pay for this fab break.

Room Tip: Ground floor corner suites are large and sunny and closer to all amenities
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We have just returned from the grand, had a lovely holiday, the staff could not do enough for you and the red sea rep was very informative. Check in the best I have seen. Now for the points which I feel you as possible holiday makers need to know.
Food you won't starve. Plenty of different choices but it's only warm and the cold meats and cheeses, mixed salard arrays are left out unrefridgerated so the meat and cheese curl up in the heat. This could be the cause of many tummy bugs.
Now for the beach. The fish are beautiful a must see its clean and well attended by the guys around. Beach shoes are a must, it's so uneven to walk out to the reef especially when the sea is in as you have to feel the way. You can not sit in the sea to relax or let the children out for a play it's a old coral bed. But a wonder sight.
The pool is huge and very cold this time of the year so we never got a chance to swim in it. But I would advice you to wear your swim shoes in the pool as there is quite a lot of broken and missing tiles.
This is our 1st time to Egypt, would we go again, may be but not to the grand or the other joining hotels as the beach was the biggest let down.
If you have booked you will enjoy it. These are just a few things I think you need to no. Have a good holiday it's what you make of it

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Not being familiar with all inclusive deals, we were not sure what to expect. The hotel describes itself as 5 star which it clearly is not, more somewhere beyween 3 and 4 star. Having said that for the price and being all inclusive, this was fantastic value. In the amount of bottle water that we consumed, if we had been paying for this it would have cost a significant part of the whole cost of the holiday.

The food was not 5 star but there was plenty of choice in the restaurants within the hotel and in the nearby mall. We were advised to book ahead to ensure we got where we wanted to be. In the mall, some if not most of the dishes were extra and we ended up cancelling two bookings for this reason. The hygiene standard is well known to be questionable and we saw examples of this. Many of the guests did get upset stomachs and you need to be prepared. The Carribean restaurant was great and we really enjoyed the food there.

The local beer Luxor was drinkable and free all day and evening. The local wine came in 10 litre boxes and was a passable swilling wine. Botteld wine both local and imported was not free and pricey. There were also local spirits and cocktails but we did not try these.

The whole complex has a number of hotels, three of which are Red Sea and there is nothing else there except the small mall and sports facilities but as all we wanted was a quiet break this was not a problem for us. There were a number of trips available if you wanted them.

We were there in low season and the hotel was quiet but could cater for many more as the hotel site is vast with lots of sun lounges. Wheh we arrived, iy had been cold and in the evenings you needed a coat or warm clothing. They did put out four patio heaters which helped. The swimming pool was freezing and was hardly used during our stay. They sea was warmer but the snorking at the end of the pier not great.

We used the gym on three days which cost £5 per person per day but it was well equipped with top gear so no complaints.

In summary really good value for AI although not 5 star and a little run down. Enjoyed the relaxation, the food, the space and the (mostly) friendly staff.

Room Tip: Do you have a choice?
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Grand Makadi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Makadi

Address: Makadi Bay, Hurghada, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 Best Value Hotel in Hurghada
#34 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
#39 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
#41 Family Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Makadi 4*
Number of rooms: 302
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Booking.com so you can book your The Grand Makadi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Makadi Hotel Hurghada
Grand Makadi Hurghada
Grand Makadi Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grand Makadi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.