We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand Makadi, is it grand?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Grand Makadi

Save Saved
You added The Grand Makadi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Grand Makadi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Makadi Bay, Hurghada, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 176 hotels in Hurghada
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Grand Makadi, is it grand?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Having discovered after 40 odd years that i hate the Xmas period, i decided to try something different, so off to the Travel Agent to find somewhere hot, it was either Egypt or the Canaires, having been to the Canaries before i decided its Egypt, and when i plan a last minute holiday i don't want to leave anything to chance so i come to tripadvisor to get a heads up on the available hotels.
Firstly i have never read reviews of a hotel on this site without reading some bad feedback, so i go with the majority and in this instance i'm glad i did.

On arrival at the airport i was greeted by Red sea reps which was reassuring, if only to point us in the right direction, the transfer to the hotel was pleasant without any other stops(have you ever been away and the bus stops at 6 or 7 hotels before you get to yours!!). On arrival at the resort first impressions were good, it was getting late and we had been up from 5am,so we were a bit tired and hungry. The staff took care of the baggage while we went in search of food, and we weren't disappointed one step into the courtyard and we were greeted by waiters of the Italian restaurant, they showed us to a table and we ate freshly cooked stonebaked pizza with our choice of topping, perfect start.

Our room 1225 was spacious and clean, the bedding was fresh and the beds massive, the view wasn't the best as it overlooked the hotel lobby but i decided this wasn't important, but i'm sure if i asked for a different room i would have got one. Only downside to the room was the bathroom, it was tired looking and the bath was painted, the shower area was small and the plug in the sink didn't work(fixed day after), the separate toilet was welcome.

So far so good, and it stayed that way

The food was excellent wherever i ate, the problem was booking the restaurants as it wasn't explained to us properly. If you go here follow this advice.
Breakfast. Italian or Lagoon no booking necessary.
Lunch, Caribbean, Italian, Lagoon or the starfish near the beach, my boys enjoyed the chicken kebab stand again no booking necessary.
Dinner. here is where it gets complicated, if you want to eat in the hotels 4 restaurants, book them during the day except for Lagoon(bbq and buffet) where bookings are never necessary. If you want to eat in the other 5 restaurants in the the Mall, then you need to book them at reception area between 1 and 2pm, our mistake was not booking for the week because on the third day we were told all the restaurants were fully booked for the rest of our stay, i thought you could only book for the same evening, that said we did get in the Lebenese and the Italian without a booking. Not all items on menu are AI, but we got by without paying extra.
My favorite was the Caribbean, food was delicious(HOT TIP if you find a restaurant you like.. a small tip can go a long way).The staff remember you.

Drinks were ok, pretty much the same as all AI holidays i have been on.
Service was excellent, the staff were very nice
Hotel was spotlessly clean as were the restaurants, the poolside and the beach area.
The pools were cold, but the sea was warm.
The beach was what you made of it, you could walk out on a jetty to the end of the coral reef and experience some pretty amazing snorkeling, especially if you ventured out a bit.
If you walked down to where the Sunwing is, there is a sandy beach where you can sunbathe all day or you can relax on the private loungers by the rocky areas.
Beach shoes are necessary as is a snorkel, £4 and £8 in the hotel shop, don't buy from the beach shops, they rip you off.
Don't book a taxi from the hotel, just walk outside the resort, there are taxis waiting night and day for less than half the £50 we were quoted in the hotel, there is also a free bus to Hurghada, but again you need to book well in advance(at reception) as it gets full quickly. Another tip, visit the old town rather than the grand resort, its an experience you will never forget, oh and the spice shop you will be taken to, the saffron is the real deal, i got him down to £4 Egyptian per ounce(40p). By the way barter for everything, its expected.

Tips are pretty much a way of life in this hotel, take loads of $1 bills, for the sake of £30 its worth it. I reiterate, the staff remember you!!!!!

I didn't know what currency to take, my advice.. anything, maybe all of it, but take it, all rooms have a secure safe
US$ in airport and tips
£sterling for anything
£Egyptian for anything
Euro for taxis
No matter what you take its excepted, but you can only change money in the hotel and the ATM is expensive



The only downside was the hotel is looking a little tired and there was nothing in the way of entertainment at night time and the kids got bored, so its best to go bed early and get up early as there is much more to do when the sun arrives, like snorkeling before breakfast.

And take your own kettle and coffee, cause Egyptian coffee is disgustingly different in my point of view.
Pack plenty of reading material and coloring books for kids, you cant buy them in Egypt(unless your German). No English newspapers. I made good use of the 20 kg of baggage allowance.
If you like a drink, buy the 2 for £20 spirits at the Airport on your way in and just enough ciggies for your holiday, cause premium brand spirits are £80 per bottle in the hotel. On the way home buy your Duty Free at Hurghada Airport, Golden V is $36 for 1/2kg and L & B are $19 a sleeve, Hurghada's departure lounge is an experience in its self.

Dont be put off by bad reviews for this hotel, there are always people who will find something to moan about, i think some actually look for the negatives. We experienced one couple who did complain at every given opportunity and although it was mostly fueled by too much drink, it was embarrassing to watch them. Quite how the night reception staff put up with it, i dont know.

Special mention to Said on reception, very helpful and knowledgeable, thanks for making the stay more memorable, also Akram who was most helpful.

Would i go back to Egypt?, probably not, for me its a one off holiday, but if i did, i would go back to this hotel resort without question.
BTW if your still reading this review and not fallen asleep, i have saved the best tip for last. Once you have booked this hotel, email them asking if the poolside villa is available for the duration of your stay, if it is book it, its FOC and an amazing eye catching room.(steps from your terrace to the pool).Good luck on that though cause there is only one.

All in all, an excellent holiday.
Dec 21-28

Room Tip: Go to your allocated room, if you dont like it walk around the hotel find one you do like and ask fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

771 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    389
    221
    111
    34
    16
See reviews for
167
370
10
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wirral
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We stayed at The Grand Makadi from 21/12 - 28/12 for a lovely Christmas break. I prefer this location to Sharm el sheikh and plan to come back here in a couple of months.

All the staff were charming and friendly and went out of their way to make our stay comfortable. Some people complain about the tipping culture that goes on but I say what's a couple of pounds to these guys who work non stop throughout the year on a weekly wage that wouldn't last us a day over here. We took English and Egyptian money, lower denominations and plenty of pound coins should have you being treated like a king at all times. (Watch out if you use the ATM - we were charged £8 by our own bank for each withdrawal so I'd recommend getting money before you go)

I would also like to say that I had (stupidly) lost my iPod in the hotel but was amazed that one of the restaurant staff had handed it in to reception and I got it back in perfect working order. It was nice to know that there are good people who do the right thing out there. I thank them for that.

Grounds of the hotel were kept well and all the outer toilet areas were kept clean all day and night.
There is some kind of refurbishment going on discreetly across this hotel. Some rooms look modern and fresh, where as ours was a little tired looking and the bathroom was poorly fitted and painted and very smelly due to a very mouldy shower curtain hanging over the bath. I was told the block we were in were next on the list list for a revamp. Other than that, our room (1244) was big and spacious with a huge bed, working air con and lovely balcony overlooking the pool area of The Makadi Palace. The daily cleaning of the room was up to standard but on first impressions there was a lot of dust along frames, mirrors and little nooks and crannies, not major I know, but if Red Sea holidays want to claim its a 5 star, then starting with the basics should be top of the list.

I loved all the food. Especially the daily BBQ stations dotted around at lunchtimes. Good choice of drinks on the menu and for the sports fans, there is a great sports bar down at the mall in the makadi complex. You have to pay for your beers here but was a good place to start the evening with a couple of drinks and the staff were all very friendly.

Take good swimming shoes as the beach is quite rough and walking into the sea is sharp with coral. Well worth it. We bought ours for £5 a pair in local shops. The beach was also very quiet as the hotels were not to full capacity so it was great. Plenty of loungers to choose from.

Overall it was a nice relaxing break. I'd ask for a refurbished room next time. Hopefully sooner rather than later.

Room Tip: Just make sure you ask for refurbished room. We didn't realise until the end of our hols.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doncaster
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Hotel in a great location, staff are excellent, would put as four star no five star. Took my mum we were there for two weeks, had a few problems with rooms which eventually got sorted. The rooms need a little upgrading. Returned home on 21 December so the hotel was getting ready for Christmas which looked very inviting. If I had my choice again I would stay at the makadi palace or spa.
Great holiday though so relaxing

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wirral merseyside
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Just got back after spending a week here with my family. My daughter came with her friend as it was her 21st. This is a lovely hotel, we found the staff really friendly and lots of nice places to eat. The rooms are a little dark but very spacious and cleaned to a high standard every day. We had a room on the second floor overlooking the pool. My daughter was sent a letter from management to wish her a "Happy Birthday" Then in the evening a large cake was brought to her and the staff sang...really nice touch. My daughter and her friend said it was the best AI they have been on. I would go back again to this hotel as it was an excellent value for money :-)

Room Tip: Second floor overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Just back from Grand Makadi - 2 weeks with a weeks nile cruise in the middle.Wasn't too sure what to expect given the feedback on here. Couldn't fault it, food plentiful, great staff and an oasis of tranquility. 30 degrees every day but a walk along the jetty cools you down. Our standard room was spotlessly clean and more than big enough. Grounds are immaculate and very well maintained. The food at the Mall was excellent and the four on-site restaurants provide more than enough variety.

The hotel was 40% full at best so plenty of space around pool and on the beach.

For our first all inclusive holiday we were very pleasantly surprised and would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

The only down side is the reps trying to flog you beauty treatments all the time. Watch out, they promise you the earth and deliver next to nothing. They soon learn to ignore you though.

For anyone wishing to book a trip to Cairo by plane its £203 with red sea holidays at the resort.

Go and enjoy yourself and ignore the negative feedback on here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skåde, Arhus, Denmark
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Excellent!!
We have just had the pleasure of staying at the Grand Makadi for 2 weeks from the 19/11 and until the 3/12, 2012.
We were 2 grownups friends from Denmark (girls), who traveled by ourselves.
The hotel is excellent and has all the possibilities for an exclusive and relaxing holiday with a professional and service minded staff in absolutely beautiful surroundings..
Grand Makadi is in quiet surroundings, where in the beautiful and peaceful spot you can enjoy everything this hotel has to offer. If you want more lively evenings with disco, the Makadi Palace is just next door. But still there is entertainment every night under the stars at the area of the lobby bar.
It also has an excellent reef just outside the beach – remember to wear shoes!! The beach area has small coves so you don’t feel too crowded even when it’s full. And remember to see the sunset from the beach in front of Sunwing Hotel (5 minutes walk allong the beach). It is so beautiful, setting behind the mountains in breathtaking read colors.
The staff and management make sure, that you feel very welcome everywhere you go.

We would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who is considering a trip to Hurghada area and who prefer an exclusive oasis outside of the usual stressful situations of sellers that you often see in Arabic countries.
The hotel is approx. 30 km south of the airport, and there is a free of change bus 2 times daily to Hurghada if you like to shop.

Marita & Lise

Room Tip: Rooms facing Palace and close to the beach will give you the oppertunity to see the sunset every nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

The worst 5 Star Hotel I have ever visited. We did formally complain and met with the Rep, the Manager of the Hotel and the Catering Manager. (I’ll give their reply at the end)
The Hotel is very tired and poorly managed. Our room was huge but due to so many items being worn or cracked and well past their sell by date it felt very grubby. Other people we subsequently met were moved and in one case to another Hotel.
There are a lot of restaurants but only the one buffet style where you could simply help yourself to food. That was the Laguna and that was awful just like eating in a crowded cafe. The food was poorly presented, often cold and with little variety. Breakfast cereals were cornflakes or chocolate cornflakes and very limited fresh fruit. (no bananas at all and melon on one day) There was no toaster, this was being repaired. ( in a 5 * you buy or lease another) We simply wanted some muesli and fresh fruit as an option, there were loads of meats ,cakes and eggs. You would not go hungry but a very poor choice of food. Every morning we joined a queue for cups and saucers being ignored by most staff. It was obvious they are short of cups and saucers but there was no management presence on any morning. When crockery did arrive ,very often just the cups no saucers ,several of them were chipped or cracked. Not a 5*
The Italian restaurant was better for breakfast and I think this was due to an effective manager/supervisor always on site.
The onsite restaurants that you had to book to eat in the evening were very average and with the set menus you could only chose one meal. In addition far too many dishes required you to pay an additional charge-quite ridiculous. I can understand extra for a fillet steak or King Prawns but not for anything else. Simply do not provide them as an option. I do not want 2-3 meals but I do like to sample 2 or 3 small portions at times as per most all inclusive holidays-not possible. I reserve my harshest food criticism for the restaurants in the Family Mall some 200 yards away. It’s a cracking concept to get you off site but it does not work if the service/presentation/quality is unacceptable.We were told that they were always very busy and that we should book in advance. We did ,we booked 5 nights because the onsite offerings were so bad. Monday night at the Mumbai, small portions, average taste, rude service and too many dishes at extra cost, even an ice cream for dessert not in the AI package! Tuesday we thought it can’t get worse so went to the Yam Yam, wrong, do not go I could expand at detail but please believe me it was totally unacceptable. The Mall itself was very quiet and I’m not surprised as to why.
The staff attitude at the Hotel and the Mall fell way below standard and we felt that we were an inconvenience. There seems to be this A.I. culture that staff do not have to bother with customer care. This is not all staff of course but far too many in our opinion.
We were both and still are ill through a stomach bug , most unpleasant. We were not alone as at least two others were affected. My other half was in bed in the room for 36 hours, we both had the runs for 3 days and were really worried in having to fly home with that problem. In the reps welcome meeting he warned about illness advising people not to over indulge in food, booze or the sun. We did not as the food was awful, the booze disappointing and we are not heavy drinkers, just having a couple in the evening. No issues re the sun with factor 25 and only 4 hours a day. So I’ll leave it to you to decide on how we contracted this. The rep also gave advice about tipping, you can give £1-2 every now and again to your cleaner who may then do a little extra in your room. I think he meant design the bedclothes etc. Then at the end of the week leave £5-10 as the staff only get about £50 a month from Red Sea. I’m all for tipping when I receive excellent service but I am not prepared to subsidise Red Sea Holidays. That company should pay their staff a proper wage. I’m sure if I checked their profits there is room to do that and is not right for holidaymakers to be put under pressure. Far too much tipping culture from beach/pool/bars/bellboys/luggage etc,really fed up with it. I would recommend whacking £20 a head to the holiday cost and that’s sorted - NO TIPPING.

I’ve left a lot of minor things out because its long winded enough and I don’t want to continually nit pick but overall it was an unpleasant stay apart from the weather.

Managers/Rep responces- The staff were coming to an end of a contract and we are not employing all of them again. This may well address the “attitude” of some.
We only have a budget for 2 cereals, try the Italian for fruit. ( !!! )
We can move you to a better room. ( too late and not acceptable , the rooms should have been checked prior to arrival and taken out of use )
We were given an upgrade for eating in the Grand Makadi Palace next door for our last 2 days. This is much better for food however due to illness only one of us could eat. It is not acceptable that the two 5* Hotels differ significantly in their food quality .
We were offered a free massage-again could not take this up due to illness.
I’m not confident that effective actions will be taken to improve the Hotel in the short term and would recommend you choose wisely.
There were a lot of Germans in the Hotel and I enjoyed their company. I just wish the Brits were more like them in not putting up with poor service.

Room Tip: Just check your room thoroughly on arrival. Most of us are tired after a long journey but complain s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Grand Makadi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Makadi

Also Known As:
The Grand Makadi Hotel Hurghada
The Grand Makadi Hotel
Grand Makadi
Grand Makadi Hurghada
Grand Makadi Bay
Grand Makadi Hotel
Address: Makadi Bay, Hurghada, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Hurghada
#5 Romantic Hotel in Hurghada
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
#28 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
#38 Family Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grand Makadi 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Otel so you can book your The Grand Makadi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grand Makadi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.