We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“don,t believe all the reviews.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Golden 5 Almas Resort

Save Saved
You added Golden 5 Almas Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Golden 5 Almas Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Golden 5 City, Sahl Hasheesh Road, Hurghada 2356, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #92 of 180 Hotels in Hurghada
Lichfield, United Kingdom
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“don,t believe all the reviews.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2011

my wife and i were the only english in hotel all rest were russian,that did not bother us in the slightest,all members of the staff treated us so well we could not believe what had been written before. from cleaners to hotel management nothing was to much trouble the positon of hotel is very good right on the beach even with russians putting the towels down plenty of room.rep was brilliant and very clear on advice,my advice is to accept the russians are there and enjoy a comfortable hotel good food and service i would reccomend to all.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    15
    8
    8
    6
See reviews for
18
10
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Harlow, Essex
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2008

Just got back from a one week stay in the Almas Palace.
Firstly the hotel is not a five star or totally all inclusive. When we arrived our initial reaction was ok - rooms very good, mini bar stocked up etc but then we realised that it was a Russian hotel and I have to say that they just ate everything, piled their plates up (and wasted most of it) pushed into anywhere they wanted!
Restaurant wasn't that good with food often recycled into different variants the next day. Trying to get cups or cutlery was a big problem unless you fought it out with the russians when restaurant opened. Most of the hotel staff were very friendly - especially towards us brits - they couldn't believe we were there as they were so used to dealing with the russians!
Certain parts of the hotel are very good but other bits when you looked closer needed a refurbishment urgently.
Anyway if you don't mind mixing it with the russian crowds and aren't too bothered about good food including upset tummies then go for it as the beach was brilliant and very hot weather all week - about 35-36 degrees.
Oh and you must like very loud music all day blasting out from the swimming pool complex and the first part of the beach and boy do I mean loud! - It did stop around 4.30 everyday and was fairly quiet during the night time.
This is our third time in Hurghada and this is the poorest hotel we have stayed in but if you want to do things last minute and don't mind getting pushed around a bit then go for it.

  • Liked — Room
  • Disliked — food
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2007

Had a fantastic time at Almas Palace, many people have written bad reviews about this hotel so either they must have been very unlucky with their timing as many say their were building work, or were just given a bad room.

I have no complaints whatsoever, I went last June with my mum and i was 17 at the time. Weather was Fantastic and came back with a great tann. Theres plently to do for the kids, as you cna share with 5 other hotels theres plently of swimming pools to choose form and large water flumes. Although we stayed out at the beach most of the time, The waters beautiful and clear, for us this was just a perfect holiday to jsut relax. In the evening theres entertainment or you can wounder outside to the little shops and do some haggeling!

Food was nice although i can understand why to some people it can get a little bland and samey.

  • Liked — The beach
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2006

- Air Condition broke down
- No water in bathroom or toilet
- Lights failed
- Air Conditioning Unit leaked
- Bath leaked water all over the floor
- TV had Russian, Arabic or German channels only
- Food poisoning
- English is not well understood
- All inclusive was NOT all inclusive, had to pay extra
- Use of facilities such as mini golf or pool restricted to 1 hour per week

- Very poor travel agent - Fasttrack Holiday, certainly made fast tracks when we needed them. Failed to call us back or resolve any problems despite calling for help from a mobile

- Medhotel reps nominated by Fasttrack were even worse. They were nowhere to be seen apart from the last day despite leaving several messages. Apparently they were too busy receiving other guests and could not be bothered to meet up

- On the last day, check out time was supposed to be at noon, yet we were asked to leave at 7am

- Medhotel reps wanted additional money to drop people off at the airport and were very rude and arrogant. Try telling Medhotel or Fasttrack!

All in all, the worst possible holiday ever....

  • Tips/Secrets — Don't use Fasttrack Holidays or Medhotels
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2006

We read all the reviews before we went and thought we would take the chance too! We took our 3 year old son so took all precautions (injections, immodium and rehydration sachets). Good job we did. By day 3, we all came down with Diorrheah although it didnt stop us doing anything. The food was probably the cause as there was bottled water everywhere. Our room was superb with outstanding views of the pools and sea.

If you are a lady, beware some of the staff as they like English women!!

The cleaners are excellent and we felt safe our stuff was in their hands. We left them a good tip and told the manager how good they were. He was very pleased and came out to shake our hand.

Camel ride a must but make sure you say 1 hour (it can be done). Be careful also as they will drop you off outside the whole hotel complex and in a perfume shop (thats not part of the deal and you dont have to go in there and listen to their spiel). They are only trying to get you to buy something. You have every right to say no. The camel man is nice but does expect a tip, although not a big one!

We had a fabulous time but my son didnt like the kids club as there were mostly Germans and Russians. Lovely as they are, they dont understand much English and my son doesnt understand their language. So for most of the holiday we found shade to amuse him in.

Great for families (with older children) and couples too. Nightclubs and good choice of drinks (Wine a bit cheap, but you ddont expect too much).

For a cheap getaway, would definitely recommend.!!!!!

Enjoy and take big sun factors with you. In the 40s every day and not a cloud in sight. Your room will become your best friend if you dont like the heat

Stayed July 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOUTH LANARKSHIRE
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2006

We booked this at the last minute and despite reading the reviews of others of this hotel and the other four in the complex I could thoroughly recomend this hotel. It may not be 5 star but makes a very reasonable 4. The staff go out of their way to be friendly and helpfull. On our arival we had asked for a sea view we were given a room looking out of the back of the hotel towards the desert with a scartching of a sea view. On going to the reception we were offered the keys to two rooms with pool and outstanding sea views. The staff even moved our luggage The room was air contioned with carpets it was cleaned every day with fresh towels and bed linen the beds were even turned back for our return. The Al Mas Palace is right on the beach and benits from the sea breeze. This is very nice when lying on the sun beds. They supply matresses and towels for the sundeds at no charge or you can go the pool which is much warmer and there are water slides. The sea is crystal clear with a protected coral reef with fish great for swimming and snorkiling.. The only down side is the food on what was an excellent week. It is not the quality buut how or what they wash the veg ect in befor you get it you can end up with dehli belly. Being all inclusive you can eat at any of the other 5 propertiews and i can recomend the orange restaurant at the Diamond or the Golden 5. The drink is all from bottles so there is no dodgy draft THAT APPLIES TO BOTH ALCOHOLIC AND NON ALCOHOLIC. The mini bar in the room is stocked each day with soft drinks ans bottled water. Not many Brits mainly German and Russian who are brash and ignorant particuarly with the staff. For what we paid this was excellent value for money. I have travelled extensively including what are described as the places to holiday and i could thoroughly recomend this before some of them. IF WHAT YOU ARE LOOKING FOR IS FISH AND CHIPS OR ROAST AND YORKSHIRE PUDDING WASHED DOWN BY BEST BITTER OR HEAVY TRY BLACKPOOL.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2006

Great holiday if you pay cheap. After reading another review on the Almas Palace I nearly cancelled our booking - am very glad we didn't. Had 1 week stay and everything was spot on.. Food was great - buffet style, but lots of salad, fresh vedgetables and spicy chicken which was fab. The staff in the kitchens / dining areas were meticulously clean. The service recieved was beyond reproach. The room was comfortable - not 5 star but clean and tidy all the same. My view is, if you arrive with no pre-conceptions, you won't be dissapointed - as long as you can survive 500 germans, plus 200 russians on the beach at 10.00am dancing like madmen to the Crazy Frog theme tune.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden 5 Almas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden 5 Almas Resort

Address: Golden 5 City, Sahl Hasheesh Road, Hurghada 2356, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#51 Top resorts Hotel in Hurghada
#61 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Golden 5 Almas Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Category: 5 Stars Check in :14:00 Check out :12:00 Location:Overlooking the city lagoon and red sea, beach, artificial lake along with green landscape and gardens , & the mini golf.Accommodation: Bars:Palm Beach bar (charged as per consumption)Cuisine: Beverages (Imported & local alcohol drinks tea, soft drinks) & snacks for all Hours: 10:00 am - sunset"Sinai" bar, (All Inclusive) overlooking the lagoon Cuisine: Beverages (Alcohol local drinks , coffee, tea, soft drinks)Hours: 10.00 pm - 02.00 am Cafe "Troitoire", (All Inclusive) overlooking the lagoon Cuisine: Beverages (Alcohol local drinks , coffee, tea, soft drinks) for all inclusive guests Lounge bar in the lobby, "charged as per consumption "Cuisine: Light snacks, light meals & beverages Hours: 24 hours SYLT "All inclusive " Beach bar Cuisine: Beverages (Alcohol local drinks , coffee, tea, soft drinks) & snacks for all inclusive guests Hours: 10.00 am - Sunset Fish market restaurant Cuisine: Seafood Serving: a La carte Hours: 12:00 pm - Sunset & 07:30 pm- 09:30 pm main building and 5 bungalows, 2 floors each.Total of 276 rooms (varies between 35 and 42 m2) including:42 connected rooms."Panorama" main restaurant: 350 seatsCuisine: InternationalServing Breakfast, Lunch & DinnerPergola "Sea Rock" restaurantCuisine: InternationalServing: Lunch, snacks & beverages for all inclusive guestsHours: 10.00 am- SunsetMost of 1st floor rooms have terrace, and most of 2nd floorhave balconies.All rooms are equipped with: satellite-TV & radio, individualadjustable air condition . Bathrooms feature bathtub ,weighting scale, telephone, Hair dryer, Minibar, safe box,daily clean linen & electricity: AC 220 volts Services & Facilities:24-hour room service 24-hour concierge Laundry service: charged as per consumption , price list available in the room Conferences Facility:Paradise conference room:capacity of 300 persons , Paradise VIPs Lounge: 150 seats.Internet cafeLimousine serviceBeauty salonLobby shopsOn request doctorTour & travel desk Babysitting on request ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Golden 5 Almas Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Mas Palace Golden 5 Hotel Hurghada
Al Mas Palace Hurghada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden 5 Almas Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.