We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the most kashmar "bad hotel" hotel in the world” 1 of 5 stars
Review of El Samaka Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added El Samaka Beach Hotel to your Saves list
El Samaka Beach Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sheraton Road, Hurghada, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #169 of 177 Hotels in Hurghada
cairo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“the most kashmar "bad hotel" hotel in the world”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

i was there from 2 years ago, and i spend there the most bad time in my life, food was with poison, and i after 2 days eat there i become sick and doctor told me that you are poisoned from food, also rooms very dirty and when you open air condition you have 2 options frozen or become hot. about stuff sometimes you not see them, and when you see them and call them they always not answer, and i still do not know if they are not listen or they ignore the guest, about reception there is a telephone but not work to not bather them by call when you need something because i understand that receptionist likes to relax also as guest, that is all what i want to say, and i advice any person to go to any hotel except this horror hotel

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    10
    14
    11
    29
See reviews for
10
19
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

I am quite happy to read such a bad comments because thought maybe only we had that terrible experience in this hotel.
During our 2 weeks trip to Egypt we stayed in different hotels and all of them were fine except this one, room was not too bad but the athmosphere at the reception as well as in the restaurant something unbeliveable. Food horrible as well.....what they did think? Who a hell gonna eat cooked potato and cabbage for breakfast? not even a simple normal roll or bread and something to put on!!! We ended up having breakfast on the street and dinner at the pizzeria not far away.
Obviously the staffs were able to speak only russian and not other language.
I have written a complain to our tour operator even wanted to changed this hotel at that moment we arrived even we had to stay only 3 nights overall that was definitely the worst experience in our life and if i can give you an advice dont you ever think about to go there, there are so many good hotels in Egypt!

Room Tip: Maybe better rooms are at the back garden close to the sea but around the bungalows the garden was f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasov, Romania
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

I "landed" here thanks to Tez Tour as I booked Desert Inn,but when we arrived at Desert Inn the representative said it is closed and that I would stay at El Samaka as in fact "it is the same";it turned out that it was not the same at all !!! I've never seen a more dirty and miserable hotel lobby;but this was not all...when I went to the restaurant for the first meal in the evening ,I got shocked literally....such a dirt,disorder and bad smell I've never seen in my life;there were lots of Egyptians who waisted a lot of food,there was food everywhere,on the chairs,on the floor,it was simply horrible !!! everything was sticking and the staff couldn't keep the pace cleaning up the tables;and the bad smell,just undescribable!!! it is not admitted that any tourist agency should sell this hotel !!! the next day,Mr.Hassan,the representative of Tez Tour came at 12,45 pm and I told him that that if he doesn't moves me immediately from this hotel I shall arrive at home after 14 days either dead or heavily ill;so after numerous phone calls and delays,as he always said to call him again and again,finally the next day,on Monday August 29 th,almost two days after arrival,at 1 pm he told me on the phone to pack my things,take a taxi and go to Jewels La Perla,which is a hotel in the second line,but he didn't tell me that the beach of this hotel is two kilometers far away from the hotel;so I went by taxi to Jewels La Perla and as I was not told about the taxi prices,I paid instead of about 20 LE, some 10 Euros,which means 80 LE,slightly four times more;and this is just the first part of the story,or I think it fits better the name of Odyssey;the second and third part of the review follows at Jewels La Perla Hotel and Sand Beach Hotel Hurghada

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2010

just got back from this SHOCKING PIGSTY OF AN ATTEMPT OF A HOTEL..food is discusting..the room was a hut in the garden,with noise all day and night from workman and russians shouting..the DINING AREA was thilthy we even saw a waiter brush the food on to the floor to clear a table.cant even get a coffee after breakfast thay told us to go down the road.WE WERE ILL FOR 4 DAYS.every local said its the worst hotel in hughgarda..we went all inclusive but ended up going out paying for food..STAY AWAY FROM THIS UNCLEAN DIVE CHEAP IS NOT ALLWAYS CHEERFUL,BELIEVE ME..

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ogre
Level Contributor
45 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2010

We were lucky as we got a room 50 from the sea. Beautiful sea view. Hotel has also a nice garden with birds that make nice sound.
I like snorkeling and I didn't have to travel far from hotel to do that every time - in few minutes after I left my room I was in the sea to see colorful corals and fish. Better snorkeling of course is deeper in the sea, but you must take a boat for that.
Food was typical for hotels in this area. It was not allowed to bring food and drinks from the street, but after few days the guard recognizes you and it is possible to come to an agreement.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2010

Ok, firstly, we WANTED a cheap and cheerful holiday, and booked with a little less thought that what we should have.
The hotel itself is 2 star at best if comparing to a typical UK hotel, so do not be fooled by 3* rating.
The hotel itself offers very little in the form of entertainment/excursions and what they do have is poor/overpriced.

I am not going to rant and rave about the bad things, as like the titls suggests, "we got what we paid for"
Weather and beach is great. Boat trips are good, Snorkelling is great (not hotel)
Food is dire, hotel staff are useless, we were the only English speaking couple, and the Russian are certainly....lets say "odd"

Would never go back here, and probably not to Egypt to be honest, but i am sure there are fantastic places to go, this is just my opinion!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
60 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2010

As others already explained:
Rooms - very poor, dirty, linens in gray colour, furniture - more than 30 years old;
Bathrooms - average size, but dirty and badly maintained
Restaurant – split in 2 parts one for 4 star hotel El Samaka Comfort and the other for El Samaka beach which is the 3 star hotel. The food is very poor. Not many vegetables and fruits. Main courses were mainly with rise and potatoes. Since my stay there I am not a big fan of rise…. Had to eat rise for a whole week…
Reception – very impolite! We had a booking for a trip to Cairo. The same night the clock was changing. The receptionist didn’t take into account that fact and woke us up 1 hour earlier. As we had to wait more then 1 hour for the bus to come and asked for coffee, but it was refused.
We paid about 400 EUR for a HB week. The Russians were paying half price for All inclusive!!!
Avoid this hotel at all price!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hurghada hotels
3.3 mi away
Beirut Hotel
Beirut Hotel
#103 of 177 in Hurghada
3.5 of 5 stars 83 reviews
2.9 mi away
Zahabia Hotel and Beach Resort
0.6 mi away
Al Mashrabiya
Al Mashrabiya
#125 of 177 in Hurghada
3.0 of 5 stars 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Panorama Bungalows Resort Hurghada
0.4 mi away
Sun & Sea Hotel
Sun & Sea Hotel
#106 of 177 in Hurghada
3.5 of 5 stars 45 reviews
0.5 mi away
Swiss Wellness Spa & Resort
Swiss Wellness Spa & Resort
#50 of 177 in Hurghada
4.0 of 5 stars 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Samaka Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Samaka Beach Hotel

Address: Sheraton Road, Hurghada, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #169 of 177 Hotels in Hurghada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — El Samaka Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 190
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your El Samaka Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Samaka Beach Hurghada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Samaka Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.