We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Badly run promising hotel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Premium Grand Horizon Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Premium Grand Horizon Resort to your Saves list
Premium Grand Horizon Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Cornish Road, Hurghada 5300, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #119 of 181 Hotels in Hurghada
Tartu, Estonia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Badly run promising hotel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2015

GOOD
- The food was excellent. I would only come again for the food. A huge selection of vegetables and salads, many little cakes, only there wasn't much meat. The new year's dinner was absolutely amazing, never eaten that good in my life, everything was decorated so nicely. Waiters are friendly. Would go back just for the food.
- Very nice beach. Soft sundbeds, clean sand, drinks available from the beach bar. There were plenty of sunbeds available. Sea was warm and clean.
- Nice big room with beautiful view to the sea and garden. Gardens are also very well-kept and beautiful.
- Wifi in lobby and rooms, it is slow but at least it exists!
- When we arrived, we were served cold juice. Although we arrived before 9.00, we still got into our rooms in half an hour!
- Turning right from the hotel, there is 5 minute walk to little shops and a mall with fixed prices. Left from the hotel there's 10-15 minutes walk to Sakkala, shopping centre (by taxi 10 pounds). Location is good.

BAD
- Reception desk is so useless. The men working there can't understand English almost at all. I would fire them all. The attitude towards the guests is absolutely horrible! Never been treated so poorly by hotel staff in Egypt.
- No pool heating, although there was supposed to be. When we asked from administrator (older lady), why is that, she was so rude to us and we didn't get any answer.
- They give you this paper with meal times and facilities when you arrive. Half of the meal times there doesn't exist! There was supposed to be free ice cream and pancaces from 15.00-17.00. No pancakes and they charged 1$ for ice cream. What's the point of all inclusive then? The late dinner from 23.00-01.00 also doesn't exist.
- While I was in my room, some strangers just opened the door and walked in! They were given a card what opened MY room's door!!! This is just unbelieveable, imagine if I would've been naked. They said in the reception that it was an accident, because they couldn't check if the room was available due to blackout. So instead of sending someone to check if the room is free, they just sent new people there! We didn't even get an apology. Totally inadmissible.
- No electricity during the day, no hot water in the evening.
- When we arrived, our toilet water was running constantly. We told that in reception THREE TIMES. They promised to send someone, but it still didn't get fixed. We gave up after third time. After all it wasn't our water bill running down the pipes.
- Beds are as hard as a rock and also making loud squeacky noises. Size was good though.
- Left 10 pounds to room cleaning guy and he didn't even clean the floor. Covers were not put on the beds. 10 pounds is the minimum wage paid for working 20 minutes in my country (Estonia) so it seemed like a fair deal to me. When I left 20 pounds, everything was as clean as a whistle.
- No windows on the hallways, so the wind was constantly blowing through the door. Only one elevator was working.
- Plates look so old like they come from 15th century. No glasses, they serve drinks in little 100ml plastic cups. Imagine all that waste! I advise to take your own cup.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    37
    13
    19
    34
See reviews for
74
19
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2015

I am not a spoiled traveler and I adapt easily to any kind of situation, but really I don't even know where to start with this place.
The lobby, spa, beach and every common space is dirty, sad and half broken.
The buffet restaurant, which is the only food option you have, looks like a jail refectory but I expect the food in jail to be better than this: bad white rice, bad chicken and some bad vegetables were offered at every meal. Drinks are included in the All Inclusive: fake cola, sprite or fanta, beer (the beer is fine) and horrible wine, all served in small sad plastic cups. Even if you are willing to pay extra, nothing else is available.
No room service is available, and there is no wi-fi. No hot water in the rooms. No parking available for the guests (we had to leave our car in the no parking street outside). No elevator to get to the rooms. No animations - this might be a good thing, the only animator we met was really creepy and probably stoned - apart from a terrible disco next to the buffet area, full of drunk Russians, who appear to be the only guests in this hotel.
SO even if you're looking for a cheap place DON'T come here, give Hurghada up and change destination.
If you have a car, and you can go out for every meal and stay in other beaches during the day, still I wouldn't understand why you should come here but please at least get a superior room - they're fine.

Room Tip: superior rooms are ok
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AminaAly, Manager at Premium Grand Horizon Resort, responded to this review, January 12, 2015
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry that you did not find that the hotel in the lobby all new furniture, the hotel has a great team of animators that entertains our guests unobtrusively and our guests always respond well about them. The hotel has elevators and they are working properly but the hotel has no parking and it is stated in the description of the hotel. Unfortunately, we had some problems with electricity but at this time we are engaged in the removal of all defects for a comfortable stay at our hotel. Looking forward to seeing you again in our hotel.
Sincerely, representative of the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Al Qahirah, Egypt
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2014

The hotel seems to have bunch of problems with either finances or local authorities (or both) that affected all aspects of life within the resort.

electricity:
The Hotel is running on Generators all the time (unlike what the hotel management claims). This means that:
- No electricity in rooms during day time (only two plus available for a suite)
- No heating:
- Pools are NOT heated (despite that we confirmed on that before going)
- No hot water in room in all times
- Lack of towels as the dryers as NOT working (according to workers)
- At night you get electricity in all the room (maybe because generators are rest and NOT hot).

Food:
- Food is average
- Breakfast is good in terms of quality, variation and quantity
- Lunch is acceptable
- Dinner is good, but with small variation.
- Soft drinks are bad and cheap (even to Egyptian lower standards)
- Milk is continuously lacking and when available is mixed with water !

Workers:
- All workers are helpful to Egyptians.
- They seem to be overworked and suffer from lack of resources or maybe money
- Hotel management responded well to our continuous complains and simply relocated us in another near by hotel (also called premium !)

I would like to thank Mrs. Magda that she stepped in and helped to resolve part of their problems by moving us to another near by hotel.

Room Tip: Go for family rooms as they are spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2014

The hotel is a half-built.Dirty red fabric wrapped around the outside.The first impression was horrible seeing this Fabric.They gave me a number which was situated outside the main building.We were on the top floor and the elevator did not work.Could not sleep at night because no conditioner worked.Number changed after 3 days when the money I paid.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AminaAly, Manager at Premium Grand Horizon Resort, responded to this review, January 3, 2015
Dear Mariam,
Thank you for your feedback. We apologize that we could not satisfy your stay in our hotel. During your vacation in August at the hotel were some difficulties. At this period the hotel eliminated any inconvenience for a satisfactory holiday. Looking forward to seeing you again.
Sincerely, representative of the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2014 via mobile

Pleasant people and atmosphere. Good service and tasty food. Towels and bedding fresh changed every day. Very friendly local people. Me and my friends were pretty happy with night attractions. Would go again. Many thanks xxx

  • Stayed September 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AminaAly, Manager at Premium Grand Horizon Resort, responded to this review, December 7, 2014
Dear Karolina,
Thank you for your feedback. We hope to see you again in our hotel.
With kind regards and best wishes, a representative of the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tutayev, Yaroslavl', Russia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2014

Thanks for your hotel for my incredible recreation! My family and I are very grateful for you. Everything is excellent: delicious food, the hotel rooms are always clean, polite staff. I hope we will be back

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AminaAly, Manager at Premium Grand Horizon Resort, responded to this review, November 25, 2014
Dear Nataliya,
Thank you for your feedback! We are glad that you enjoyed our hotel. Looking forward to welcome you again at our hotel. Best wishes!
Sincerely, representative of hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2014 via mobile

Great hotel..., friendly and helpful staff, tasty food, very nice rooms ... Stayed there for 10 days with my family... Everything was as it should be!... Wonderful place for a holiday... Recommended! :)

  • Stayed October 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AminaAly, Manager at Premium Grand Horizon Resort, responded to this review, November 25, 2014
Dear Karolina,
Thank you for your feedback! We are pleased that you were satisfied with your stay in our hotel. Looking forward to welcome you again.
Sincerely, representative of the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Premium Grand Horizon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premium Grand Horizon Resort

Address: Cornish Road, Hurghada 5300, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 Top resorts Hotel in Hurghada
#76 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
#82 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Premium Grand Horizon Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 560
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premium Grand Horizon Resort is a 4* deluxe hotel located in Hurghada and is an ideal paradise. It has its own spacious private sandy beach from where you can overlook the Red Sea in all her beauty. We take pride in providing you an exceptional service with distinct hospitality and personal flair. Its large outdoor swimming pools are surrounded by shaded loungers. Hurghada International Airport is a 20-minute drive away and Hurghada city center is within an easy 10-minute drive from the resort.Whether travelling for business or family vacation our spacious and comfortable rooms and suites will give you a warm welcome, they all have air conditioning and a private bathroom. Premium Grand Horizon Resort is offering various restaurants with a wide variety of palatable culinary delights.With our fully equipped meeting room and business center, Premium Grand Horizon Resort is suitable for meetings, conferences and special events. We are also offering many other facilities to enrich you stay in our resort.If you want to escape from the stress of everyday's life, our spa provides a wide range of massages and beauty arrangements, which includes a sauna and a Jacuzzi. You will find a playground and an aqua park for our younger guests.International buffet dishes and à la carte specialties are served at our several restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Tingo, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Premium Grand Horizon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montillon Grand Horizon Beach Hotel Hurghada
Grand Azur Horizon Hurghada
Grand Azur Horizon Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Premium Grand Horizon Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.