We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice 3 star hotel, but don't have great expectations in winter time” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Desert Rose Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Desert Rose Resort to your Saves list
The Desert Rose Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Safaga Road, Hurghada, Egypt   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 182 Hotels in Hurghada
4.5 of 5 stars 828 Reviews
Bucharest, Romania
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“nice 3 star hotel, but don't have great expectations in winter time”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

We were during Christmas period, all inclusive, and if I make comparison of the costs vs. offer, is quite reasonable. In season I guess is more expensive, now I think worked with less than 25% capacity.
As was only 1 week period, we preferred to use only the resort facilities, so no other visits or extra-programs.
This should be the 5th time we are going in Hurghada, started from 2005.
As accommodation: large rooms, with TV - satellite, AC, fridge, safe-box, all utilities; the baths & toilets are obsolete, some revamping should be required. Also, a better choice of cosmetics would be welcome.
As cleaning services: even is supposed to come daily to clean the rooms, due to the lack of personnel we preferred to be made on 2 days basis (to clean a room during afternoon rest time for a family is difficult so we did not accepted to come around 3 - 3.30 pm when we were sleeping)
As food: "cantina" type, cooked & stewed food (as meat mainly chicken, but also fish and minced meats - no any lamb or mutton, 2 times in 7 days some beef) , different salads, dessert based on creams and butter. exception of chicken, no other grilled stakes. Take care what you eat, if you mix them wrong, may get stomach problems, as happened with 2 of my family members.
As beverages: only if you are a real drunker you can swallow so called whiskey, brandy, rum or gin. My personal opinion is that the producer makes them with the worst type of synthesis alcohol and are the cheapest money can buy. Beer has a lot of carbon dioxide, but also a lot of water, too. Try the wines, are the most suitable (table type ) . If you want something better, you have to pay for it. As non alcoholic drinks, carbonated drinks or orange, apple, pineapple juices, on dispensers. Different (good) tea selections, instant cafe. As policy no beverage in cans or bottles, for free.
General services: all staff are very polite and ready to help ; for me, as I considered out of season, their mistakes are due to the shortage of personnel only.
Beach, swimming pools: nice & clean, with very nice view and arrangements, unfortunately was practicable only the pool with heated water (but for me not enough, was still cold); as the location is on the way to the sea, are some cold winds, too. In season are 2 more pools, an Olympic one and a very nice another, with bar, etc. Also is an aqua park available.
Entertainment: some young persons, in the team 90% only Russian speakers (but normal, as you will see below why); little bit unprofessional' s, but as said, was no season.

As general overview, from 2005 up to date, the quality of the services and food in Hurghada (including beverages) are going down. Maybe is because of massive Russian & Ukrainian investments that are giving permanently a huge flow of tourists from these countries (so no problems of competition) and good prices. As noticed, more than 95% are coming from former USSR, and Russian language is spoken and written everywhere. As those people know how to enjoy a vacation is Ok for me, but as English speaker sometimes is rather difficult to get me understood in the hotel or in the area .

Anyway, overall I was satisfied and really enjoyed the few days of vacation.

Room Tip: as the resort is very large, choose or ask for a room near the facilities you intend to use during t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

828 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    478
    197
    76
    41
    36
See reviews for
345
169
16
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
vilnius
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

It was nice vocation good economy class 5 star hotel. In other words it was clean and simple. Food is average but you will not be starving. A lot of desert, every day different cousine, but taste same :D

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Latvia
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

We where in Desert Rose from 19.11.-26.11.
1. weather within these 7 days was more bad than good. Mostly windy, just 2 days was OK and in one of these days we took private boat and enjoyed this excursion together with 5 friends. Everyone was satisfied, so I also offer You to rent a private boat for 5-10 people and You will enjoy every minute of that day.
2. hotel was OK, and as this wasn't my 1. time in Hurgada, I knew, what to expect from hotel and my expectations was true. Hotel was clean, theritory huge with pools, but only one was full with people. Olimpic pool and pool near reception was almost all time empty from people.
3. Food and local spirits (All inclussive). Food was ok, and there was plenty of choicess to take every meal. Local spirits as local spirits and we preffered take either beer or rum with cola. Only 2 days before leaving we tried jin with tonic and this also was OK.
4. we stayed at 6th corpuss, room was clean and everything was fine except door between rooms and our neighbors putted alarm clock every morning 7:00 and then every 5min delay within 1h and that was annoying.

Now about not so good things.
1. Russians. Everywhere russians with their menthality and behavior. Mostly in russian trip advisors there is reviews, where russian tourists where upset with bartender and other staff, but there is a reason for that. Russians there are 95% and they think that they are centre of earth. If in their Magnitagorsk they are plumbers or cow milkers, than being in Hurgada, they act like a star, where everyone should do as they like. Therefore moslty hotel staff are not so happy to serve russian, but if they find out, that You are tourist from Europe, everything will be fine. My review title includes name Rusgada. I hear this name from our taxi driver, who told that Hurgada now is not anymore Hurgada, but Rusgada, because russians are Hurgada everywhere.
2. Animation. More amateurish thing I hasn't seen and also, everything made for russians. In central bar, every evening was live music 80% in russian 20% in another language, karaoke with drunk russians what was totally annoying thing.
3. main restaurant. Nothing against food, but again against russians. I felt like being in some food service for homeless persons, where they should fight for their food. Almost everyone was carying 2-3 dishes fully loaded and when they finished their meal, table looked like 3 world war survived. One thing I was confused was that I meet there several ladies wich putted food in their bags and took out from restaurant, don't know why, as food in this hotel is available for free almost 24h per day. Funny from one side and sad from another was one lady who grabbed fool hands with tea bags and putted all in her bag. WHY??? for bringing it home or what?
4. do not buy excursions from Marine tiger or something like that. We bought fishing at last day and after we where disappointed all. Nothing from offered and when we asked boat captain, where are promissed things he was confused about that and told, that Olga and Jamaica lies to get fulls like we are on boat. So, I honestly recomend not to take excursions from these 2 people. I recomend such thing as private boat, where You can enjoy several things: fishing, snorkeling, tasty lunch with fish You catched, Paradise Island and beautifull see. We took this excursion from TezTours and this was only 600$ as we where 7 people.

At the end, I would like to tell everyone. If You are able switch off and not to see russians and their behavior, hotel is nice and You can enjoy your vacation.

Room Tip: we where at corpuss 6 and I was satisfied with that
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

Desert Rose is really an oasis in the desert. Stayed there from 8 to 18 of September. A very clean and green territory, three big pools and a very picturesque lagoon will make you forget about all city rush and your hard work. This is the place where a lot of Russian tourists stay so all the staff speaks Russian well. Also Desert Rose provides many tours for Cairo, Luxor, Nile, diving, fishing, hamam, underwater travel in a submarine, parasailing and so on. You will never feel bored here because animators make you involved in all kind of activities. Food variety is quite well and you can choose between different countries food every day. It was really unforgettable holiday for us. Thanks to Desert Rose Team!

Room Tip: Rooms of the 6000 building are closer to the sea than all the rest but front rooms face the discoteq...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmed K, Rooms Division Manager at The Desert Rose Resort, responded to this review, October 8, 2011
Dear Guest.

Thank you very much for your feedback noted with regards to your recent stay with us.
We are fully confident that only through our guests' comments and constructive feedback we would be able to improve our services and fulfill our guests’ needs.

For any future bookings please email (rd@desertrose-resort.com) and it will be my pleasure to assist you for your next trip and stay with us.

Best Regards

Ahmed Khairy
Rooms Division Manager
The Desert Rose Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

Briefly we stayed here for three days as part of a package tour to Egypt (which was lovely overall and everyone should go) and we were part of a group of 24 Canadians. Other than us, the rest of the guests were russians, and the entire resort catered to them from the food to the language being spoken by many of the hotel employees. If this doesn't bother you, than no problem, though I occasionally got tired of being called "droog" by the staff. The only place it really got to us, though was in the food, which was uniformly bad, except for some of the egyptian specialities. Stay away from the awful wine as well. Stick to the beer.

The largely russian clientele made for a few quirks to the place: you CANNOT bring a bag/purse/backpack into the dining areas as they are afraid you'll stuff it with food from the buffet. Ice cream is avaible at no cost FOR KIDS, and ONLY certain limited hours of the day. Lots of other quirks like this: for an all-inclusive, there seemed to be a lot of extras you had to pay for.

Food at the sitdown specialty restaurant, for which you pay extra, was pretty good! I'd eat there every night if you've got the cash.

Internet access is expensive and poor.

Staff was pleasant, no complaints, especially the staff at the specialty restaurant.

Rooms were clean.

Pools were mostly unheated and freezing.

Beach was nice, with surprisingly good snorkelling on the Red Sea side of the lagoon.

I wouldn't go back, but if you land here on a tour or whatever, there's much to be made the best of.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmed K, Rooms Division Manager at The Desert Rose Resort, responded to this review, October 8, 2011
Thank you very much for your feedback noted with regards to your recent stay with us. we do apologize for the unintentional inconvenience that might have been encountered.

On the other hand, kindly note that we reviewed all your comments regarding your stay with us, knowing that we do take all comments seriously and appreciate all the feedback we can get. As a management team, we do take all comments seriously and share them with our staff, so we may resolve any and all issues. Accordingly, all points raised on your post have been taken seriously into consideration with a very high attention and concern in order to avoid such incidents to re-occur in future.

We are fully confident that only through our guests' comments and constructive feedback we would be able to improve our services and fulfill our guests’ needs.

Once again my deepest thanks for your feedback and for taking the time to post your comments which definitely will help us in our ongoing efforts to improve our service.

It would be my pleasure to further discuss your experience with me or any of our hotel Management team. Please send an email with your contact details and phone number to (rd@desertrose-resort.com) so we may address it with you directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
168 helpful votes 168 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

We stayed at the hotel at the very beginning of May 2010. The teritorry is rather big. Sinse it was very windy there were always heavy waves in the sea. But there is also small lagoon there, where you can easily swim even if it's a windy day. You can also learn surfing there.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nis, Serbia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

This summer from 11th June until 25th June we stayed at lovely hotel Desert Rose(Hurgada,Egypt).Me and my family(husband and son 2 years and half age)have unforgettable holiday.Everything was great.Rooms are clean and big,you have enought place to put all your luggage and wardrobe in to the closet.Specially bathroom is much more bigger than we have at home.
Everything is well organised.Hotel has main building(reception) and 5 buildings around(24h staff is taking care about you and your needs).If you need doctor you just have to have insurance and you want pay.They give you local remedy,but dont doubt,they are very good and quick.
If you want to buy souvenir,no need to go out of hotel.Here you have around 10 shops to buy everything you want.and every Friday infront of main restaurant you can buy original Egyptian carpet from wool or leather.Offcourse you have to bargin.
This resort is like small town,you want meet the same people twice.
What to tell about food-24h French,Italian,Asian,Sea food every dinner different and delicious cakes,fruit yogurt...Best cappucino is on a Beach bar.
Beach is also large lagoon and beach at the open see and very,very clean with full time animations-bally dance and latino dance lessons,aqva gym...
Everywere you look you see paradise,palms,gras,flowers,blue water(from see or 3 pools or aqva park)Perfect well done-BRAVO!
Desert Rose is 5 star hotel and deserves every star he has.It is not just for family holiday (has kids club,mini disco at night,baby poll with play ground)It is also great for couples because is very romantic at night with candels in a bar near pool.It is great for single young people because disco is working every night from 11pm-03am,and during day you can play tennis,minifootball,learn windsurf or just lay laisy on a beach.
I would recomend this hotel to everyone.Visit Desert Rose you want regret!I am looking forward to come back.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Desert Rose Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Desert Rose Resort

Address: Safaga Road, Hurghada, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Hurghada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Hurghada
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Hurghada
#13 Best Value Hotel in Hurghada
#13 Family Hotel in Hurghada
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Hurghada
#17 Luxury Hotel in Hurghada
#24 Romantic Hotel in Hurghada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Desert Rose Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 912
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Desert Rose Resort Snorkel, dive, wind surf, and soak up the warmth of the Egyptian sun in The Desert Rose Resort located in Hurghada, offering its guests the ultimate beach holiday on the Red Sea. Just a fifteen minute drive from Hurghada Airport, The Desert Rose is a 300,000 square meter iconic luxury 5 star resort, accommodating its guests in a fabulous selection of 872 spacious guestrooms, 40 suites, and 5 sea-facing villas with spectacular views of lush landscaped gardens, swimming pools, aqua park, lagoon, and the azure sea. The Desert Rose Resort's 1 kilometer pristine beach, and its idyllic 40,000 square meter natural lagoon with golden sands is a choice location for enjoying a unique stretch of private beachfront, providing a wonderful environment for activities or simply relishing the stunning year round unbeatable climate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Desert Rose Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Desert Rose Hotel Hurghada
Desert Rose Hurgada
Desert Rose Hurghada
Desert Rose Hotel
Desert Rose Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Desert Rose Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.